We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pentire Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (443)
360
Panoramas (10)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!2, 3, or 4 nights from £79 per person inc. breakfast extended to inc Easter
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#17 of 38 hotels in Newquay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from the town centre, we enjoy far-reaching views across Fistral beach. The River Gannel estuary and southwest coast path are on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, walkers, families, or groups. We're dog-friendly too and facilities include an onsite bistro, hair and beauty salon, and a friendly bar. Licensed for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for weddings and receptions.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Game room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Polish
Hotel links
Special Rate:2, 3, or 4 nights from £79 per person inc. breakfast extended to inc Easter

Location

60 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NU England
The Pentire Hotel
1,490Review26Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 647
  • 495
  • 219
  • 82
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
linda c wrote a review 16 Apr
Portsmouth, United Kingdom155 contributions50 helpful votes
Stayed here years ago but looked tired and needed update. Great refurb job, contemporary and tasteful. nice areas to relax, bedrooms with lovely views of fistral beach. Lovely staff, nothing too much trouble. Food in "sixty" bistro was excellent, well priced and good portions.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pool could have been warmer
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Howard Evans, Other at The Pentire Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others. Great to know that you like the many investments and upgrades we have been undertaking; our heated indoor swimming pool is our most recent refurbishment completed. Sixty Bistro remains a popular dining option for guests and locals alike, with a daily changing special board offering additional, seasonal menu choices. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JulieB95 wrote a review 1 Apr
Doncaster, United Kingdom179 contributions131 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Hotel: a little out of the way but a bus stop outside. Lovely pool for a swim and pool table, ping pong and giant connect four. Spotlessly clean throughout. Comfy bed and good shower. Staff: Fantastic! Everyone makes time for a friendly word no matter how busy! An absolutely fantastic team! Special shout out to the young lass in the bistro who is a credit to herself and the hotel! Food: Great breakfast and the food in the bistro is well cooked, good sized portions and a very fair price. Bar prices are not over priced either!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Howard Evans, Other at The Pentire Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of our hospitality with highlights including our fantastic team, great breakfasts, food from our 'Sixty Bistro', plus our heated indoor pool and games facilities. Our prime coastal location is one of our key strengths, offering easy access to world-famous surfing beaches and dramatic South West Coastal Paths (SWCP). Positioned on the Pentire Headland with Crantock Beach to one side, and Fistral Beach to the other, the hustle and bustle of the busy town centre is approx 1 mile away, or 20 min walk, or 5 min taxi ride - close enough for late-night party owls to dip into, but far enough away not to be disturbed. We hope to welcome you back and thanks again for your lovely comments.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sarah H wrote a review 6 Apr
10 contributions4 helpful votes
Bit of a mixed bag but overall good. Not sure would stay again given the choice in the area elsewhere but with little improvements could be spot on. Pros. -Staff are very friendly and helpful. -Room is basis bit has everything you need for your stay and is clean -Facilities are great, little one has been in the pool.every day -Excellently located for walks across the headland and reguksr bus service into town if needed -Lovely views of Fistral - food in the restaurant was fabulous. Couldn't fault. - Breakfast lovely and fresh.good value at £10 per adult, half price under ten and free for four and under- Dog and family friendly Cons - The main bar areas, reception and restaurant look modern and fresh but the rooms are tired. In need of general freshen up. Mould in bathroom arpund seals and shower door. Nothing major but just little things. - Gap under door meant light was literally streaming in from the hallway. Had to block with a towel. - No warning of a function on Saturday evening to give us time to prepare for this. Music from noisy disco could be heard in room and guests from function let children run wild round the corridors screaming and shouting which wasn't conducive to getting our toddler to sleep. Appreciate the hotel has limited control over this but think a warning would have been proffessional and perhaps a sign by the stairway telling revellers to be mindful of others could have encouraged respect. - Awful mattresses. Like sponges, so soft that every move made you feel as if you would roll out. Poor night's sleep and quite achey the next day. I don't want to do this hotel a disservice as the staff are wonderful and work so hard to make your stay great however there were just a few things that let it down for us.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Howard Evans, Other at The Pentire Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for offering us these comments, which we will be sure to share with our team directly. Good to know that there were many positives about our hospitality and friendly service. We apologise if a few inconsiderate guests attending a function caused a disturbance to your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to offer important feedback and we hope you had a safe onward journey.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dotty1973 wrote a review Mar 2024
42 contributions18 helpful votes
Stayed here as part of the Shearings tour, had a lovely stay, rooms are clean and comfortable. Food is really nice for what we had and paid for. Soups were lovely every night and so were the other main meals. I had a salad one night which was pretty dismal, so maybe make salads slightly more appealing. Just a small stroll around the corner to the Fistral beach and about a 25 min walk into Newquay town. All staff work so hard and very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble, so a shout out to all the staff and how hard working you all are. Enjoyed my time here in Newquay and at the hotel. Room 301. Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Nice location close to the beach.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Howard Evans, Other at The Pentire Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for your feedback. We are proud of our friendly and professional team and it's so rewarding to receive your lovely comments. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lesley Y wrote a review Mar 2024
11 contributions3 helpful votes
Just got back from a 3 night stay.. Had a fab time.. Room spacious and warm with plenty tea coffees etc.. Nice large bathroom with bath.. And lovely countryside views.. Twin room 119..hotel lovely staff very friendly and helpful.. Breakfast outstanding and sea views from breakfast room.. Sixty bistro really nice food amazing.. And offers veggie n vegan alternatives.. Lovely swimming pool and towels provided.. Beach 5 mins walk and newquay centre nice 30 min stroll away.. Would recommend this hotel and will defo return again.. Thr was free parking for the she stay and also free WiFi.. Bus stop to town right outside door..
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Howard Evans, Other at The Pentire Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
It's great to receive your glowing comments and we're delighted you enjoyed all aspects of our hospitality. We appreciate you recommending our hotel to others and look forward to extending a warm welcome to you in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
emma wrote a review Mar 2024
Herefordshire, United Kingdom360 contributions105 helpful votes
The not so good bits The exterior of the hotel is very dated and does not give a good impression. Whilst parking is free there was always a squeeze for a space. The lady on reception when checking in was friendly. We went to our room and things went downhill from there. The room was poorly painted entirely grey and furniture was mismatched. It was not the cleanest and there was not much room (I was 8 months pregnant so not even more difficult for me!). The room was incredibly hot so my partner asked for a fan from staff. His interaction with staff when asking for a fan and later on an ironing board was greeted with abruptness like he was asking too much from them. The bathroom there was a massive modern mirror that seemed completely out of place with the rest of the fixtures. The shower does not indicate which way to turn on, or which is hot or cold - so I ended up accidentally scalding myself during our staff which really shook me up. Prior to our visit I enquired about wedding information as we are looking to get married in Newquay. My email was passed onto the wedding coordinator who never contacted me. But to be honest we were completely put off by our stay that we would not look to get married there. We had breakfast daily and the tables were too close together in the restaurant and it felt like you were sat on top of other people. When we asked if we could be placed elsewhere, (I mean I had a massive baby bump, I needed some space) we were again met with distain from staff, like it was a massive inconvenience to them. (We are polite non many people so it was not pleasant to experience). The pool looked lovely although we did not use. We did play pool one night and had the games section but to ourselves which was nice. We did eat in the bistro on one of the nights and the staff serving in there were lovely and the food was also good.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Howard Evans, Other at The Pentire Hotel
Responded 12 Mar 2024
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy our hospitality and hope that you had a safe onward journey
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tina O wrote a review Mar 2024
Salisbury, United Kingdom56 contributions17 helpful votes
Friendly, helpful staff. Good food in the Bistro at a reasonable price. Nice pool. Good location. Downside ….. dogs allowed in the Bistro being fed by their owners which put us off going again. Squeaky floor boards which meant when the people above us were up at 6am constantly walking around until breakfast at 7.30am meant we were awake too. Unfortunately meant us coming home a day early
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Dog friendly which means they are allowed in Bistro and can be heard barking in the hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Howard Evans, Other at The Pentire Hotel
Responded 9 Mar 2024
While we are pleased that you enjoyed good food and friendly service from our team, we are genuinely sorry if you were disturbed by noise originating from another guest room. Our helpful team would normally have offered a different room to resolve immediately. We do not permit any dogs in our main hotel restaurant, however, we do allow guests with well-behaved dogs to dine in our public bar and public Sixty Bistro area. It's good to know that our price point was reasonable and that you were also happy with our heated indoor pool facility, and our prime coastal location. May we assure you of our very best intentions and hope you had a safe onward journey.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wendy C wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions
+1
Stayed here for a 4 night break for my husband’s birthday .As a surprise friends were joining us there . Staff were polite and helpful and the lift to the 2nd floor was great . We had dining credit so had 2 nights in the bistro . Food was excellent and good choice . Highly recommend the mackerel pate Young lady in there was rushed off her feet ,bless her . Breakfast was of good standard and service brilliant. We loved the pool ,warm in the water and out . Made use of the pool table and table tennis on a wet afternoon . Our room was adequate but detail to decor was lacking , workmanship of bathroom needs attention as do many areas in the hotel .Looks like jobs have been half done or done poorly . Great location for exploring the area . We would definitely go back if they had an offer on again . Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: To use the pool book in at reception and they will buzz you in . Plenty of parking Hilly 10 min...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Howard Evans, Other at The Pentire Hotel
Responded 8 Mar 2024
Thank you for offering important feedback, which we will share with our team directly. Great to know you enjoyed polite and helpful service, excellent food from our Bistro, and brilliant breakfasts each morning during your 4-night birthday stay. We are delighted that you would definitely return to stay with us again - and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MaestroPlymouth wrote a review Mar 2024
Plymouth, United Kingdom89 contributions50 helpful votes
Brilliant break here. Took up the offer of two nights which included food credit. On arrival warmly greeted by reception staff. The hotel facilities were explained and also a lift to all floors, great start. Had dinner in the Sixties Bistro on both nights and the menu attractive, food quality excellent and the only thing picky was the quantity, far too much on the plate, neither of us could finish. Breakfast was great! so much choice and I can believe their boast of being award winning. Already thinking of another break here
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Howard Evans, Other at The Pentire Hotel
Responded 8 Mar 2024
Thank you. Delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of our hospitality, together with food from our Sixty Bistro during your recent 2-night stay. We look forward to welcoming you back for another brilliant coastal break. Thanks again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Emily P wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
My husband booked for us to stay for a few days in a dog friendly ocean view room for my birthday. My parents also came down and had their own room on the top floor. We all loved it. The hotel is nicely decorated, the staff are genuinely friendly and the food was honestly delicious. When we stayed there was a large function on, however, the staff were still attentive towards us, our food was still delicious and we had the best stay. Special shout out to Elizabeth - she was particularly lovely and happy to chat to us about the hotels background and things to do in Newquay! We loved it so much we’ve booked to go back in 2 weeks time! The rooms are pleasant, the shower is simple yet powerful - everything you need! What really makes the Pentire enjoyable is the staff and the quality of the food!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Granted, it maybe doesn’t look as ‘boujee’ as other hotels in the area! However, having been to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Howard Evans, Other at The Pentire Hotel
Responded 5 Mar 2024
Thank you for offering us some really lovely comments regarding our friendly team, together with the hospitality and delicious food you enjoyed during a recent visit. One of our greatest pleasures is welcoming back the familiar faces of guests returning to stay - it's one of the most compelling compliments we can receive, and we're thrilled that you have already rebooked to come back in 2 weeks. Thanks once again. We can't wait to welcome you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newquay area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$572 - HK$987 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pentire hotel newquay
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallNewquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE PENTIRE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews (Newquay, England)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Pentire Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Pentire Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Crantock Beach (0.5 km), Fistral Beach (1.1 km), and Indoor Bowling Newquay (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Pentire Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Pentire Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Pentire Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Pentire Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Fish House - Fistral, Sea Spray Fistral, and The Offbeat Bar Crantock.
Are pets allowed at The Pentire Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Pentire Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Pentire Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Trerice (5.7 km), The Huers Hut (1.8 km), and Holywell to Crantock circular walk (2.7 km).
Does The Pentire Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.