We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
La Route de Vinchelez, St Ouen, JE3 2DB
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • All employees are fully vaccinated
  • Proof of vaccination required for guests
Updated 01/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 01/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 20 Specialty lodging in Jersey
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Palms is simply a small quiet campsite where we cater mostly for adults looking for a peaceful relaxing holiday or staycation. Children are welcome, however, please take note that we have no facilities for them (No play area, games room, no cycling or frisbee/ball games on site. Children are to be amused on your own pitch or off site). We like to point this out so that families are not disappointed. Our quiet times are between 10:30 pm and 7:30 am. Our aim is for our guests to enjoy a bit of calm away from home. If our site appeals to you, we look forward to hearing from you. We are the only campsite in the west of the island, and are nestled in the heart of rural St Ouen, close to the beautiful and famous St Ouen’s Bay and the picturesque Greve de Lecq bay. We offer you the opportunity to relax, rest and reconnect with yourselves and to enjoy time and space so often missing from our hectic daily lives. You can pitch your Tent, Motorhome, Campervan or Caravan on our quiet secluded pitches and just relax and breathe. We also have an open area with non-designated pitches available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing

Location

Contact
La Route de Vinchelez, St Ouen, JE3 2DB
15Reviews0Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Alex M wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
What a fantastic place - the owners are extremely friendly and accommodating - especially the Lady I spoke to (who’s name I forget) she was very friendly and gave us the warmest welcome we could’ve hoped for. Facilities were clean and well maintained and the breakfast in the on site cafe was delicious. Pitches are nicely sized, and power was provided - all for a reasonable rate. We will certainly be back as soon as possible. Thanks for a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
danish14 wrote a review Aug 2022
Aarhus, Denmark95 contributions67 helpful votes
Stayed in this campside for a week. What a place. It was very clean and it is a quiet place. We were allowed to put up our tent even though we got there early. The owner was very sweet and helpful. We did not use the pool, but it seems very lovely. Unfortunatly the cafe had to close for a few days, so it became very quiet after that. But we enjoyed it anyway. I can highly recomend this campsite, If I ever go back to Jersey, I will definetly stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janie Pinglaux, Owner at The Palms Campsite
Responded 28 Aug 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review. We hope to see you again another time. Best wishes, Janie & Frankie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alison B wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Thank you for a glorious two weeks in Jersey. Having been unable to come sooner due to Covid Janie couldn't have been more welcoming when we finally arrived! The site is in a perfect location for getting around Jersey either on foot, bicycle or car. There were glorious beaches all in close proximity and the pool was lovely to cool down in at the end of the day. Janie couldn't have been more accommodating, even kindly opening the pool bar, on a Sunday, for us to sit in to watch the Women's European football final. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jers3ygirl wrote a review Aug 2022
bristol31 contributions21 helpful votes
We took the caravan over to Jersey for the first time! I have family and friends still on the Island so the campsite was an ideal base. I also use to live in one of the properties next door so it was difinately like comming home! The route up to the campsite from the harbour is on main roads and is fairly direct. (google earth the route will give you and idea ) We had a lovely welcome from Frankie who showed us our pitch which was a good size and filled us in on what we needed to know, we also met his wife later who was lovely. The cafe on site was lovely with fab food, we did breakfast and lunch which was lovely -great for meeting friends. We did try the pool but it was chilly! Everyone on site was lovely. It was quiet, tranqual and peaceful which was exactly what we wanted. Toilets and showers very clean - only minor niggle was nowhere to dry and put your clothes after a shower. Lovely area to explore, Greve de Lecq is lovely - try Colleens cafe. Smugglers Inn at Ouaisne bay and a walk along the beach in the evening. St Ouens Bay is nearby good for walking the dogs and Sands is good pitstop for breakfast. Plenty of cycle routes and the coastal path to walk. Another nice walk is Val de La Mare (Arboretum) theats a short 5 min drive from the site one right hand side of the road. The bus stop is just outside the site to go into town for a wonder and we also had a go on the 4 wheeled bikes along the Esplanade which burnt a few calories off! We pretty much ate out most of the time or tea provided by mum and dad aslo washing! There is not washing facilities on site but you can pay to have your clothes washed etc. There is a Laundrette at Red Houses and at First tower. One thing we did do was pay for an extra day on site as we were on the night Ferry , which turned out to be a life saver as Ferry delayed so we could chill on the site rather than wait for ages at the Harbour. Also be prepared if you take a caravan to have to reverse on to the boat. The ferry on the way back we drove on but had to reverse back into the lane- Took my husband 10 mins to calm down afterwards!! We would definately recommend and come back again to this site.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
tina d wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We stayed at the palms campsite last month for 2 weeks. We cannot say enough good things about this campsite. Spotless clean a great atmosphere ,a lovely pool and on site restaurant. We had a lovely welcome by the campsite owners janie and frankie who were so helpful during our stay. The bus stop to st helier is only a short walk from the campsite and the nearest beach greve de lecq a few minutes drive away. ( 10 minute walk). We travelled from ireland and it was worth the 2 ferries with our lovely dog milo. The restaurant the oasis was fantastic. Great food and value for money. We look forward to returning to the palms very soon 🌴 Tina & rob dublin ireland
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janie Pinglaux, Owner at The Palms Campsite
Responded 6 Aug 2022
Hi Tina & Rob, thank you for your lovely review. It was so lovely having you here and Milo! Your friends are missing you now :) Take care and we'll see you again I'm sure. Janie & Frankie xx
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
joy w wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We have recently returned from a wonderful 12 days staying at the Palms Campsite Jersey Channel Islands. The campsite was extremely clean well kept maintained and quiet. The owners Janie and Frankie were incredibly pleasant and friendly people who went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible! We can’t recommend this campsite enough. We shall certainly return hopefully later this year in October. Joy and Alan
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janie Pinglaux, Owner at The Palms Campsite
Responded 28 Jul 2022
Hi Joy & Alan, It's always an absolute delight and pleasure to have lovely guests staying with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about our site and ourselves. We will look forward to welcoming you back anytime. Take care, Janie & Frankie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ninka wrote a review Jul 2022
Auckland, New Zealand7 contributions7 helpful votes
The place and amenities were very good but the owner keeps walking around looking for things to tell people off about. Remarks like "That drink you've got there is not in glass, is it?" (it was in plastic) "You can't tie your dog up there, and it better not bark", (it was sleeping in the shadow while we were setting up our tent) You can't, you can't, you can't... before you even do anything "wrong". He's got completely the wrong attitude and had a massive go at his wife for all of us to hear. His behaviour damaged what would otherwise have been an excellent 5 star experience. The grounds are tidy, pool is great and the cafe and karaoke bar are all good fun. Rest of the staff are friendly and helpful. It's a 20 minute stroll to the beach, or to the pub and supermarket.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janie Pinglaux, Owner at The Palms Campsite
Responded 26 Jul 2022
Hi Ninka, Thank you for your 4 star review and the positive comments. Shame about the negative bits. Unfortunately we don't permit dogs (who wasn't part of the booking) to be tied to our willow hedging as it could get damaged. Can't comment about the glass/plastic (unless you were by the pool maybe?, we do ask for plastic around the pool for obvious reasons). Glad you enjoyed the pool and our guest bar too. We do try our best to keep our guests happy. Take care.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephanie U wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Thank you, dear Janie and Frankie, for a wonderful week on Jersey! We enjoyed the camp site (all very clean, wee kept, quiet in the evenings, great restaurant!!) as well as the rest of Jersey (nature, public transport, the Zoo, the sights in general) immensely and will definitely be back! Frankie and Janie were wonderful hosts who take good care of the place and make you feel very welcome and taken care of! Have a lovely summer! Arne and Steph from Luebeck.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: It's a campsite, not a hotel, so rooms can not be rated here.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janie Pinglaux, Owner at The Palms Campsite
Responded 26 Jul 2022
Dear Arne & Steph, thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you had a lovely stay and we look forward to seeing you again sometime! Take good care. Janie & Frankie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael B wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
This was our first time in Jersey, and we had the best time. The Palms is a lovely campsite, with friendly helpful owners who made us very welcome. The site was perfect for our needs, only a short pleasant walk to the lovely Greve de lecq beach which has restaurant's and cafe's. There are also bus stops just outside the camp, and the buses are easy to use to get anywhere on the island. It is also perfect for cycling from, as there are safe and easy to use cycle routes all over the island. The on site cafe the Oasis was also friendly and served delicious food. The only minor niggle were the showers, which were quite small and there was nowhere to put your things while you were getting dried, but if you timed it while it was quiet, it wasn't a problem. Overall a great site and we will definitely be back!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janie Pinglaux, Owner at The Palms Campsite
Responded 26 Jul 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back another time. Janie & Frankie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
foghorn172017 wrote a review Jul 2022
Barry, United Kingdom59 contributions51 helpful votes
Clean, well laid out, great size pitches, on site cafe/restaurant, small but ample swimming pool but a sort distance to a very nice beach (within walking distance for you youngsters) but best of all its so easy to find. I took a long twin axled caravan and had no problem accessing the site. Some of the other Jersey sites are down narrow lanes. All the staff we had contact with were very helpful.The shower cubicles are a bit small and you have to step out to dry off but that's the only minor negative.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Janie Pinglaux, Owner at The Palms Campsite
Responded 26 Jul 2022
Thank you for your lovely review! Your feedback has been noted regarding the showers. Hope to see you again. Janie & Frankie
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
LOCATION
United KingdomChannel IslandsJersey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing