We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay

Save
Share
1681 Cowichan Bay Road, Cowichan Bay, British Columbia V0R-1N0 Canada
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
FindHotel
Agoda.com
Etrip
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (129)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (5)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay is idyllically nestled in the Cowichan Valley, between Victoria and Nanaimo, in the seaside village of Cowichan Bay. With its eclectic collection of shops and restaurants and the wharves filled with sail boats, fishing boats and floating homes, Cowichan Bay is one of the most picturesque, secret locations on Vancouver Island. The Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay offers 56 spacious suites, all facing the ocean. Each is equipped with a master bedroom, bathroom, and a comfortable living and dining area. And most suites are equipped with a complete kitchen! Whether you’re looking for an outdoor adventure, romantic getaway, family vacation or a special wedding destination, The Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay can deliver in comfort and style.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Car park
Wifi
Pool with view
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
337Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 98
  • 128
  • 62
  • 27
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Linda B wrote a review Today
10 contributions
We was pleasantly surprised with our stay at this hotel. Yes the furniture needs refurbishing but the room was big the beds very comfortable and clean. We had a room which overlooked the Bay. What a view to wake up to. The staff were really helpful and gave good advice of where to go. Cowisham Bay was lovely to walk along
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Flyod Greta R wrote a review 27 Sep
Woodstock, Canada24 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed 2 nights at the Ocean Front. We had a refurbished room with separate bedroom and living area. It had a fully equipped kitchen, but we only used the fridge and microwave. Keurig coffee makers were supplied and extra coffee available in the lobby if needed. The views of the harbor and Cowichan Bay are majestic at all times of day. It is any easy walk into town and a superb bakery opens at 8:00 am if you wish baked goods for breakfast. The in-house restaurant requires reservations and has a magnificent view of the harbor at night. The food there is quite good and local BC wines are available. Next door is the Masthead Restaurant which also has an excellent menu. On our second night there, friends of ours also stayed at The Ocean Front but their room was not nearly as nice as ours. It needed quite a bit of work. Not sure how to guarantee a good room. This hotel is a good location for exploring the Cowichan Valley and Duncan. Several wineries are close by, and Duncan is worth a visit. There is free parking, and the staff are very accommodating. If in the area again we would certainly stay, there but be sure to get a renovated room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cori Lloyd-Walters, Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Responded yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to share! Our room photos online and our front desk agents can assist if you would like to book a renovated rooms. To book one of these rooms, you must reserve an executive suite or patio suite. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
m k wrote a review 3 Sep
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Firstly, the staff at this hotel are very friendly and helpful, which these days, is hard to get. Our oceanfront room had an amazing view of the beautiful bay. It was outdated but large - 1 room with a bedroom and 2 queen beds, the other with kitchen and living room. It even had a stove and apartment sized fridge, though I wasn’t inclined to cook. One thing it was missing was A/C which, for most of the year, might not be required but we were there in a heat wave. Opening the siding glass doors helped a lot because of the cool breeze coming off the ocean. I plan to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cori Lloyd-Walters, Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We do have 2 floors of renovated suites at this time, our patio suites and executive suites. We plan to update and renovate the property each winter season, plans we feel behind on due to the pandemic. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JeffsBusinessTravel wrote a review Aug 2022
Seattle, Washington3 contributions4 helpful votes
Beautiful view of the bay from the suite but that's about it. We arrived quite late and when I asked for a late checkout, they said, "nope." Even a fully-booked hotel can usually accommodate a late checkout. Breakfast was late and undercooked. They charged us extra for a third person in the suite but only provided two towels and one bar of soap and didn't put the linens on the sofa bed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cori Lloyd-Walters, Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your experience! We have been fully occupied for quite some time which makes late check outs difficult to accommodate as someone has reserved that room and expects it to be ready in time for their arrival. Oftentimes, that guest is also asking for an early check in, it is tough for us to accommodate everyone. Our apologies that your breakfast was disappointing, I will share this with the restaurant owner. We do have additional occupancy charges when there are more than 2 people in a one bedroom suite or 4 people in a two bedroom suite. Our front desk is open 24 hours a day and will deliver any items that you may need directly to your room, including additional linens or amenities.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mrsdast wrote a review Aug 2022
Port Alberni, Canada49 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
I’m sorry, but it seems like everybody blame things on Covid, We haven’t been anywhere 3+ years and we wanted to make our 30th Wedding anniversary special but the room was highly disappointing,. The pictures that we saw on the webpage of the room we’re not the room that we received so you can understand us being highly disappointed we have been to many places on the island and never ever had this issue or is poor of a room as this place. The room was dirty, needs fine cleaning! Run down appliances and furniture! No air conditioning or extras, but was told after we could have asked, you should not have to ask for things that should be there or guess….. the tables was wobbly did not sit flat, yea bag is all the was to chin it for no wobble. Windows were dirty, curtains ripped, very little kitchen dishes and utensils etc. No paper, pen or phone book, no information about local stores, restaurant or wifi. We had to phone or ask for this or ask staff. The bed was so soft. The staff said the bought new mattresses las year, but they seemed very worn! All in all the rooms were very disappointing, 900 for 3 nights that in Clyde’s taxes, but to us was very over priced and sucked!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t book unless you ask what room your getting, ask questions people!!!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cori Lloyd-Walters, Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Responded 22 Aug 2022
Our apologies that you feel we fell short during your recent stay with us. Hospitality continues to be short staffed and many properties fell behind on renovations due to COVID, we are sorry if you do not think this is a reality, but it is our reality. There are many articles online and in respectable magazines, newspapers etc that confirm this. Many industries have bounced back, but hospitality has not. We do not control how third party websites display our pictures, but we have double checked and they are all correct, do you know which website you booked through? Our property is unique as we have 2 floors of renovated rooms and 3 floors of rooms slated for renovations, which are much more budget friendly than the renovated rooms. You paid $188/night during the busiest season which is comparable to other properties for the same value, considering the views, size of the room and location. If you paid more than that, it was commission payable to the 3rd party website you booked with. Also, comparing rates from 2019 to now is not fair in any industry, prices do increase and hospitality is not an exception. We have removed many items from the room to avoid having to dispose of them or sanitize them in between guests as this is recommended by WorkSafe BC through COVID safety protocols *which are still required for us to operate. The WIFI password was on your room key card and our front desk has restaurant and activity information available for you (if we had in room directories, they would have to be throw away versions to protect the safety of our guests and we do not feel this is environmentally conscious or responsible.) My suggestion to you in the future is to call the hotel directly to book to avoid disappointment.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brandon Foreman wrote a review Jul 2022
Ao Nang, Thailand15 contributions21 helpful votes
So we arrived and checking in was relatively painless. Wanted a hot tub so rushed to get there before they closed at 9pm and the hot tub was cold. Restaurant was closed and we were told that if we wanted breakfast we had to order in the evening as the restaurant did not open till 11am. In the morning I called the front dest for some conditioner and the lady said yes of course but I had to come to the desk to get it myself. No room service available. All in all the room was nice and the view was nice but the amenities and service was lacking
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cori Lloyd-Walters, Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Responded 26 Jul 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience Brandon! The restaurant and the hotel continue to have staff shortages that have affected the restaurant hours of operation and hotel operations. All rooms have shampoo, conditioner and soap in the rooms prior to arrival, my apologies we were unable to deliver extra conditioner. Sometimes (in the late hours of the evening and the early hours of the morning), if our front desk is busy, the agent is unable to leave the desk unattended. We hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JJR wrote a review Jul 2022
Victoria, Canada21 contributions42 helpful votes
Cowichan Bay is stunning! The view from this hotel is amazing, and the staff were very nice indeed. Our suite was spacious and the bed was comfy. The suite was recently renovated; however, it still showed its age (chipped bathtub, kitchen outlet not secured to the wall, portable air-conditioning units venting into the walls, older, wrinkled, and broken drapes etc. In the kitchen, we had one very small pot, no mixing bowls or paper towel, we had an iron but no ironing board. The stove top was stained/dirty with food burnt on it, and when we pulled out the folding couch, it had cereal and crumbs on the bed. The website said the pool was closed, however, when we arrived it was open and we hadn't brought bathing suites. The outside grounds are in need of some TLC and I suggest they remove the old bathtubs piled up at the side of the property. Its a non smoking hotel and grounds; however, there's a designated smoking area right beside some of the rooms and smoke wafts in, and folks seemed to smoke where ever they wanted to outside. As I mentioned, the staff were very nice, the location is amazing, the little shops and village is lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cori Lloyd-Walters, Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Responded 6 Jul 2022
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience! We do keep a reduced number of items in the room to help prevent the spread of COVID. We have an entire room full of extra supplies that are available upon request from our front desk, we will deliver them directly to the room as needed. Being an older concrete building, the portable air conditioners are the best we can do. I have shared your feedback with our housekeeping and maintenance teams in an effort to improve our future guest's experiences. We do continue to have lower than pre-pandemic staffing levels and we are actively trying to rectify this.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kelly S wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom50 contributions64 helpful votes
The view from the room was lovely, it was great to watch the boats coming in and out. The room itself was a good size and had a separate living area. The whole place looks dated and this is reflected in the rooms. Compared with what I paid elsewhere, this place seemed expensive for what it is. There was also no kettle in the kitchenette.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cori Lloyd-Walters, Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Responded 15 Jun 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience Kelly! We have started renovations, with 2 floors of rooms completed as well as the restaurant. Our plans were delayed for a couple of years due to the pandemic, but we hope to complete the renovations over the next few winter seasons. All suites should have kettles in them, but in the event there is anything needed that is not in the room, our front desk is open 24 hours a day and can deliver whatever is needed to the room for you. We have an large storage area full of extra kitchen supplies that are available to our guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
robynrY7432HR wrote a review May 2022
Thunder Bay, Ontario8 contributions1 helpful vote
Front desk staff friendly and helpful. Rooms very spacious with all amenities. Beautiful views of the harbour from our room, complete with frolicking seal! Close to good eating or drinks, as well as restaurant on site and spa! Would stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cori Lloyd-Walters, Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Responded 24 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience Robyn! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Irene M wrote a review Apr 2022
Sicamous, British Columbia, Canada10 contributions1 helpful vote
Nice clean hotel, gorgeous view and good priced. Went for my husband's birthday and they gave him a gift bag and card which was so nice. The restaurant and the fish dinner was awesome, even a free birthday drink too,! Friendly staff. It is an older hotel but nice,,the bed was the best sleep weve had in a long time, very quiet too, would definitely go back Small quaint shops and a nice walk
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cori Lloyd-Walters, Sales at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Responded 21 Apr 2022
Thank you for celebrating with us! We also appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We hope to welcome you both back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$134 - US$173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
oceanfront suites at cowichan bay hotel cowichan bay, oceanfront grand resort marina, oceanfront grand hotel marina
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Oceanfront Grand Resort & Marina
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandCowichan Valley Regional DistrictCowichan Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay?
Nearby attractions include Cowichan Wooden Boat Society (0.4 km), Cow Bay Pub (0.07 km), and Cowichan Bay Fishermen's Wharf Assn (0.07 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include True Grain Cowichan Bay, Masthead Restaurant, and The Vine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.