We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fern Resort

Save
Share
4432 Fern Resort Rd, Orillia, Ontario L3V 0Z1 Canada
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
FindHotel
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (199)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (356)

About

#4 of 15 hotels in Orillia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern are located along the shores of Lake Couchiching in the city of Orillia. We offer all-inclusive packages for both family vacation stays as well as meetings and conferences. All meals, use of facilities, and at specific times of the year, activity programs for all ages, children's supervision, and nightly entertainment, are included in package rates. Established in 1895, Fern has a long tradition of offering our guests excellent hospitality in a professional and friendly manner. Whether it's the traditional family vacation, a weekend getaway, or a sales meeting or corporate seminar, Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern should be your venue of choice.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Archery
Babysitting
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Bicycle rental
Boating
Canoeing
Diving
Game room
Hiking
Mini golf
Raquetball
Tennis court
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Karaoke
Patio
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
383Reviews12Q+A77Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 171
  • 122
  • 51
  • 30
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Liz Z wrote a review 1 Nov
Markham, Canada4 contributions
We decided to give Fern Resort a try for a quick mid-week getaway. Breakfasts were excellent. We opted out of lunch. We found the choices on the dinner menu very narrow. A very tough sirloin steak was offered both nights that we were there. The first night I lucked out and had an excellent trout fillet. However the second night, the choices were between a tilapia in a taco, a pasta with a spicy sauce, ratatouille, sirloin steak or a hamburger. Desserts were generally decent. I chose the creme caramel which was tasteless. I should have tried the cheese cake which looked delicious. The room we were in had a whirlpool and a fireplace. Unfortunately,there were no hand hold safety grab bars, which made the whirlpool difficult to get into for my husband who has mobility issues. He therefore was unable to use it. That is something the inn might want to rectify. The bed was described as a queen size. It was a double. We have a queen sized bed at home. This was a lot smaller. The room had a very tiny bathroom. For two nights, we managed. The grounds of this venerable resort that was started in 1892 are lovely. From the road, it doesn’t look that large. There is a mini golf course that looks like it might have been built in the 1960’s. It is not state of the art but is still fun even though the carpeting on the holes looks a little worse for wear. The 5-hole golf course is fun. Some of the numbers are missing on the flags on the greens. Still it was fun. Would we go back? A definite maybe. Perhaps if there was a room with two double beds. Perhaps if we could choose breakfast only and opt out of poorly executed dinners.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Anna Maria C wrote a review Aug 2021
Maple, Canada1 contribution
With 5 grandchildren, ages, 3, 5, 9, 12, and 13, and 7 adults. There was definitely a variety of events, for each age level. The food was also good. The staff very friendly and accommodating. The activities, varied and appropriate. The only comment that I would make, is that perhaps, the buildings need a little loving care. Such as the electric plugs, need to be updated, in that when we tried to plug our electronics, etc., into them, the plug would fall out. Also, perhaps, the front door needs a "hands free" opening device. These are a few small items that would bring it to a 5 STAR RESORT.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Lake front, for the sunset views.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
bk19 wrote a review Jul 2021
Toronto, Canada171 contributions95 helpful votes
Went to Fern Resort for the first time with family. Overall the resort is ok, a little dated with some of the buildings and due to covid, some restrictions and precautions. Most of the staff are friendly and helpful While the kids program is a good option for parents to get some R and R time, I was a little disappointed with the food. Especially the dinners. Had the steak one night and the Veal Marsala another night. Both were a bit chewy for my taste. The Caesar Salads for those two days were a bit wilted and not crisp as I had expected. Not sure I will be coming back as I think I can find a better value $ overall at a different resort for the family based on what I had paid. This is similar to some of the other reviews that I had read prior to coming here
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Collens, General Manager at Fern Resort
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for staying with us this past summer and thank you for your review. I appreciate your comments about the staff being friendly and helpful. I am always very proud of our staff but the level of commitment and dedication to customer service that was displayed by our staff this past summer, was exceptional. I am sorry your dinner experience was not positive and I can appreciate this has marred your overall getaway experience. We do review and revise our menus on an ongoing basis and comments, both good and bad are used to evaluate the menu options and drive change. I hope we get a chance to host you and your family again in the future. Take care and thank you again. Cordially, Scott Collens General Manager Fern Resort
Read more
Randy C wrote a review Jul 2021
London, Canada1 contribution
We had to cancel our reservation due to health reasons. It was disappointing enought that it was our 50th Wedding celebration. We were told our full deposit refund would be sent by cheque. It is now 5 weeks later and no money.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Collens, General Manager at Fern Resort
Responded 20 Aug 2021
I hope you and your wife were able to celebrate your 50th wedding anniversary in some capacity this summer Randy. 50 years is an incredible accomplishment. I apologize you have been waiting this long for your refund. Please feel free to contact me if you are still waiting. Take care and all the best. Cordially, Scott Collens General Manager Fern Resort
Read more
CorrinasTravels wrote a review Sep 2020
Toronto, Canada24 contributions20 helpful votes
We recently held a corporate dinner at Fern Resort with incredible success. The staff have instituted thoughtful COVID protocol and we felt very safe. The food, the location and the view were wonderful but it was really the staff that made everything go so well. Huge thanks to Jennifer Demuth.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Collens, Owner at Fern Resort
Responded 20 Nov 2020
Thank you for your review and thank you for visiting us recently for your corporate dinner. Safety, comfort, friendly staff and atmosphere have always topped the values list here at Fern. We look forward to seeing your group again soon. Cordially, Scott Collens General Manager Fern Resort
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$384 - US$679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fern hotel orillia, fern orillia, fern resort orillia
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioOrillia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
103
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fern Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Fern Resort?
Nearby attractions include Couchiching Beach Park (4.4 km), Tudhope Park (7.2 km), and Orillia Opera House (5.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fern Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Fern Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Fern Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Fern Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fern Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mariposa Market Stores, Apple Annie's Cafe, and Thai Plate Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fern Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fern Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Fern Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Fern Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mnjikaning Fish Weirs (2.4 km).
Does Fern Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.