We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Findlay House

Save
Share
29 Findlay Dr, Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 0G6 Canada
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (20)
Dining (24)
Room & Suite (8)

About

#5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Collingwood
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
86Reviews1Q+A22Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 47
  • 16
  • 9
  • 5
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
beachbum1414 wrote a review Sep 2019
Toronto, Canada31 contributions128 helpful votes
As written in many reviews below the host lacks customer service and is extremely rude refers back to the price which is a lot more money than it is worth. You cannot speak to Tanya without her being warm and supportive which again many reviews state below. As soon as we pulled into the drive way we knew that we had made a big mistake booking here. The yard was not taken care of and you can see there was just no care to the place. Inside was not very tidy. There was hair in the bath tub which clearly wasn't cleaned that day. Expedia does not portray how this place actually looks. Over all within pulling into the driveway then speaking to the host right away ruined what was suppose to be a relaxing night. I would not recommend this place at al.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
JenA wrote a review Jul 2019
12 contributions3 helpful votes
reasonably close to down-town. Quiet stay in a suburban neighbourhood. House is nicely set up for a comfortable stay. Bikes are welcome which was great for us on our bike tour. Breakfast was fine and our morning host was friendly. Calling in to check-in was easy.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Manju C wrote a review Jun 2019
Toronto, Ontario, Canada2 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed here for 2 nights for the MAY 24 long weekend. Tanya is an excellent host, easy to communicate and book with. Her home is gorgeous. We arrived just after 11pm. There is street parking and the driveway allows parking for up to 6 vehicles. It is located on a very quiet street and very close to Walmart, dollar tree, and other amenities. The main door is locked using a pin pad. Key in the code provided by Tanya and you are good to go. We highly recommend staying in the Annex room, which is in the basement. Lot of privacy, a large spacious living room, a quaint yet modern bathroom and access to the bar. You may bring your own wine and food and may store it in the refrigerator upstairs. Free WIFI is also present. They have cable and access to tons of channels, they also have lots of movies and DVDs as well. The bedroom in the basement is a double bed* with a large closet and a tall dresser. There is also a night stand and fresh towels and bedding. The room also came with a folder of recommended places to see, visit, dine at, shop.at,.etc which was very helpful. (*the mattress is on the soft side, and swallows you when you sleep. Ideal for one person but if there are two people, be prepared to sink in. I think it might be time for a new one. I also recommend they get rid of the plastic tree and put a fan in there to help circulate the air) Please book what time you would like breakfast as there are other people staying as well and it ensures less crowding. Breakfast ends around 10.15am but they are also flexible, depending on your situation. If you miss breakfast, A&W is around the corner. Breakfast by Kerry is standard - scrambled eggs, roasted potatoes, a piece of ham and some oranges. The backyard is spacious and comes with a firepit and patio. Feel free to dine outside when the weather is nice. This house is only a 10 minute drive away from Blue Mountain and 5min away from Wasaga beach. There isn't a safe or lock box on site, so we kept important items with us when we were out and locked our door. That's a personal preference. The area is very quiet and a safe friendly neighbourhood. I didn't see a wheel chair ramp, but there are only a couple of stairs to climb at the front main entrance. Overall, a great experience and I highly recommend everyone stay here. We look forward to visiting again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Johnny C wrote a review Mar 2019
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada126 contributions64 helpful votes
and I cancelled from Expedia, it is well before free cancellation time,they wouldn't refund me. still in the process of getting my money back. Wouldn't recommend such a practice. Expedia is no help either.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tanya C, Owner at The Findlay House
Responded 21 Mar 2019
Dearest Guest, We do not charge credit cards prior to our cancellation policy as it is done automatically through our systems. It is unfortunate that you are writing a review based on never staying with us and are only upset because you cancelled within ours and Expedia’s Cancellation regulations. To my knowledge it is March 21st, 2019 and your booking was December 30th, 2018. Trying to recover funds 3 months later is a bit strange and we do not hold rooms during the Christmas / holiday season nor increase prices. Your room rate was $105. We do wish you all the best but will connect with Trip advisor regarding your review as you never stayed with us. Nor contacted us directly to find solution. Best wishes always, The Findlay House
Read more
megz wrote a review Jan 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying at the Findlay House in the Annex room for New Years Eve. We had a wonderful stay! The host was so friendly and kind, the house and room were clean and the breakfast was absolutely delicious! I know we will be back to visit again soon! We were very happy with our stay. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioCollingwood
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Findlay House
Which popular attractions are close to The Findlay House?
Nearby attractions include Crock A Doodle Blue Mountain (7.9 km), Georgian Trail (2.4 km), and Sunset Point Park (2.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Findlay House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Findlay House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Findlay House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Findlay House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brunello at 27 on Fourth, The Tremont Cafe, and Fish & Sips.