Holiday Inn Express & Suites Welland, an IHG Hotel

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Welland, an IHG Hotel

Traveller (8)
All the essentials you need for a great stay.
Room & Suite (37)
Enjoy omelets & fresh cooked sausage for breakfast.
Dining (25)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#2 of 5 hotels in Welland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to the 100% smoke-free, new Holiday Inn Express and Suites Welland, nestled in the heart of the Niagara wine country, conveniently located at Hwy 406/Woodlawn, Welland. Free on-site parking for all registered guests. Start your day off right with our complimentary Express Start® hot breakfast bar, with a wide selection of popular items. Unwind and refresh in our indoor swimming pool or burn off those extra calories in the state-of-the-art Fitness Centre. The 24-hour Business Centre and free Wi-Fi will keep you connected to friends, family, and the office, while our on-site guest laundry facility will prove to be a welcomed feature for those who prefer to pack lightly. Flexible onsite meeting and event space, available for up to 60 people. Minutes from the majestic Niagara Falls, Shaw Festival Theatre, Fallsview Casino and the Welland Canal connecting Lake Ontario and Lake Erie.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
13Reviews0Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 7
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Vinay M wrote a review Mar 2024
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates6 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed in IHG-Welland for almost 7-10 days on various days between 17th and 31st January 2024. We have enjoyed our stay, Good , Spacious , Clean rooms. Good breakfast, Location of the Hotel is also good. A Wallmart just infront and so many restaurants within 2-3 Kms. Staff are also good , Cheerful and helpful. Especially Manager Mr Joe. He is showing special attention to each guests by always enquiring about our comforts during the stay. Only suggestion we would like to make is probably assigning couple of staff exclusively for prompt room service.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joe A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Welland, an IHG Hotel
Responded 27 Mar 2024
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are glad to hear Joe's morning engagement to every guest made your stay memorable. We have also put into consideration your suggestion and made change to our housekeeping team. Please visit us in the future to see the changes made since your last stay. Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
terrykV2382UH wrote a review May 2023
Kingston, Canada2 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is clean and very nice. Good complementary breakfast.
No real room for having buses and no designated spots.
Also there should always be a supervisor on a floor with school kids. Group of boys were running around and door knock late at night. Had to call down a couple of times.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alex_Larissa wrote a review Sept 2022
Toronto, Canada83 contributions100 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a nice solitary inn not far from Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada.
It is a bit solitary, there is no public transportation around, but, if you have a car, this is a great choice.
The hotel is at 15 minutes of driving from the falls. The service is excellent. The staff is polite and respondent. The continental breakfast is standard but very good. The rooms are comfortable. The pool is small but nice. I'd recommend you bathing after your tiring trip. The mattresses are so comfortable that 6 hours of sleep will be enough to be fresh for the whole day.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jonathan George, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Welland, an IHG Hotel
Responded 20 Sept 2022
Dear Alex, Thank you for taking the time to write a Review from your recent stay with us. I am so glad that you had a good stay and found our staff friendly and courteous. Our rooms are very comfortable and I am glad you enjoyed our complimentary hot and cold buffet breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back! Sincerely, Jonathan George General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scout wrote a review Sept 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had hopes for this hotel as it is relatively new. Looks were certainly deceiving.

I overlooked the higher price they tried to quote me than what was advertised on their website. When I pointed the lower price out, they "honoured" the price they advertised.

Unfortunately, there was evidence of the past guests in every area. The carpet was stained, there were dirt and crumbs from food on the chaise lounge, there were rings from glasses on both bedside tables and the bathroom vanity, there were glass rings on the vanity as well, there were whiskers all over the vanity and the sink. The bed sheets were wrinkled and soft, like they were slept in and not crisp like you expect from fresh laundered sheets.

Our message light on the phone was blinking when we returned from supper. The button on the phone to retrieve messages was not working. I called the front desk to inquire how to retrieve message and was told "we THINK the phone is broken". When I challenged them on is it broken or not as messages are important to me, I was told they THINK it is broken. No followup whatsoever.

The breakfast was ok for a Holiday Inn... nothing special.

We make a monthly trip to Welland and we will avoid this hotel in future. I suggest you do the same if you are worried about cleanliness, health and safety for you and your family.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jonathan George, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Welland, an IHG Hotel
Responded 29 Sept 2022
Dear SherrybL5273NE, Thank you for taking the time to write a Review from your recent stay. I am so sorry you encountered these issues. Being a new hotel we pride ourselves on our cleanliness and great staff. I have taken your comments to my Team for I know we can do better from the great comments that we have received on cleanliness and friendliness. I am sorry again that we let you down on your stay and we will do better on your next stay with us. Sincerely, Jonathan George General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
samnad_bos wrote a review Sept 2022
Boston18 contributions32 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family stayed here last week as part of a large wedding party. From the first day, the owner was awful. Every guest in our party had a bad experience with him. He asked my friend to leave the lobby because her baby was crying. He told my son who was coloring quietly at a table to pack up his things and leave. My friend’s room was dirty when she checked in (beds unmade, bathroom smelling, garbage strewn) and the owner was unapologetic. At the end of the stay, when one of our party tried to speak to him about the unacceptable level of service, he told her he didn’t wish to speak with her and walked away!! The block reservation was entirely mismanaged, with people being charged regular higher room rates instead of the agreed upon block room rates and the owner informing one guest that there were no block rate rooms left whilst charging the family of the groom for an unused room. Completely dishonest, unfriendly and uncooperative manner.
The redeeming feature of this hotel were the warm staff and new rooms. But for any kind of business event or wedding or family event with more than one room being booked, the owner needs lessons on how to manage his business.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jonathan George, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Welland, an IHG Hotel
Responded 20 Sept 2022
Dear Samnad_bos, I am so sorry you did not have a favorable stay. If at any time you would like to discuss this further with me please do not hesitate in contacting me at the hotel, 905-735-9999. Thank you for staying with us and I apologize again for the issues that you had. Sincerely, Jonathan George General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pat S wrote a review Nov 2021
Edmonton26 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent 9 nights and $1,400 at this hotel and my room was not cleaned once. I was told that maybe, after a week, it would be cleaned. It was not. They said it was “because of COVID”. In my opinion, they should be cleaning more often “because of COVID”, not less. A brand new hotel with nice rooms but really poor service.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Check St Catharines or Niagara Falls. They are not too far away.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jonathan George, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Welland, an IHG Hotel
Responded 8 Dec 2021
Dear pats102, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is reviews such as yours that we can improve our service and product. I apologize that you did not have a good stay, I have reviewed your comments with the Team to ensure that this experience does not happen to any other guests. We have since reviewed our policy on cleaning stayovers for our extended stay guests to ensure this does not happen again. If you would like to discuss this with me further do not hesitate to contact me either by calling or by email, gm@hiexwelland.com. I hope that if you are visiting the area in the future you will give us another opportunity. Sincerely, Jonathan George General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marie S wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved our stay at Holiday Inn Express Welland. The hotel is new and very well equipped. So impressed with the accessibility of the pool. The rooms were clean, the staff was helpful and accommodating. Special thank you to Nathan for giving a warm, friendly and fast check in. Next time I'm in the region I definitely plan on staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jonathan George, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Welland, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 Aug 2022
Dear MariesH5094XN, Thank you so much for the wonderful comments and review of your recent stay. I am so glad that you had a good stay and liked our amenities and our rooms. We will look forward to you coming back! Sincerely, Jonathan George General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy C wrote a review Oct 2023
20 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
New and modern hotel with great amenities. Breakfast is included. They have a pool and gym.

Clean rooms, friendly staff. You are greeted on arrival and when you leave.

Great location near the Hwy and shopping (should you forget something at home)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
troytek wrote a review May 2022
Port Hope, Canada20 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This brand new hotel is staffed by the best people ever. Super friendly right down to the maintenance man. I stay in hotels every week for business and this place is my number one in Ontario. Very well managed and I hope to see the same people next visit. Scotty , your the best !
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jonathan George, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Welland, an IHG Hotel
Responded 20 May 2022
Dear Troytek, Thank you so much for writing a review of the hotel. I am so glad that you had a good stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back! Sincerely, Jonathan George General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aleisha O wrote a review Nov 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent! Zero complaints! This hotel was clean and comfortable, front desk staff was super friendly. We will stay here again when we are in the area. Breakfast was excellent as well! 5 stars for us!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Pat S wrote a tip Nov 2021
Edmonton26 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check St Catharines or Niagara Falls. They are not too far away."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Welland area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$835 - HK$1,599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wellend
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioWelland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS & SUITES WELLAND, AN IHG HOTEL HK$954 (H̶K̶$̶1̶,̶0̶1̶6̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Welland, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Welland, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Welland Canal (3.7 km), Barefoot Bushcraft (5.7 km), and Merritt Island (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Welland, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Welland, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Welland, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Welland, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Welland, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Matteo's Ristorante, M.T. Bellies, and The Pelham Street Grille.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Welland, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Welland, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Welland, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites Welland, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Welland, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Courthouse, Welland (3.5 km) and St. Johns Common School 1804 (6.3 km).
All Welland HotelsWelland Hotel DealsHotels near Holiday Inn Express & Suites Welland, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire