We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Song Saa Private Island

Near Sihanoukville, Koh Rong 18000 Cambodia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (895)
Room & Suite (222)
Dining (125)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 7 resorts in Koh Rong
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Song Saa Private Island is a haven of sustainable luxury nestled in the undiscovered beauty of Cambodia’s Koh Rong Archipelago. With unique, world-class cuisine, stunning sunset views of the Gulf of Thailand, and an array of spa and wellness treatments, Song Saa offers the ultimate indulgence for mind, body and soul. Best of all, our commitment to environmental and community programs means you’ll be treading lightly on this special piece of paradise.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Diving
Hiking
Snorkelling
Fishing
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Couples massage
Head massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Khmer
556Reviews33Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 466
  • 47
  • 24
  • 11
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Lily wrote a review Jan 2024
Miami, Florida3 contributions2 helpful votes
The ocean view villas were spectacular. Beautiful views everywhere all over the island. Service was awesome and the different dinner destinations was a very different and nice experience. The food was mediocre at best for the caliber of resort. Dinners were better and breakfast was ok but lunch was awful. Everything you ordered from a soda to a drinks you were brought a bill to sign. It was very annoying. You were on an island you could not leave unless you left on their boat so I don’t understand why they couldn’t wait until the end to give you the final bill. With how much it cost to stay there I can’t believe they charged me $15 for a pair of two dollar flip-flops when mine broke!!! You couldn’t go in the beach, it was full of rocks and sea urchins. You had to stay in the overwater villas to jump in the water one of their ridiculously expensive Excursions. Been too many places like this other parts of the world and never again! There were even ripped chairs!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tommy Bekaert, Other at Song Saa Private Island
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Freedom63867567724, Thank you so much for sharing your experience on this platform. We're a little surprised by your rating as you gave us four stars and your opening comments were very positive about your Villa and Views. I recall meeting you during your first evening at our restaurant, where you told our General Manager and I about the Pad Thai you had for lunch, which was not what you expected as it contained grilled tofu cubes that were not mentioned in the menu. As I indicated during our conversation, we much appreciated this feedback and immediately adjusted the menus based on your advice. Except for this one meal, we felt everything else went well, as our F&B manager checked in with you and your husband on a regular basis to ensure you were enjoying our offerings. Signing the bill after consumption is a typical procedure in most hotels and resorts to avoid misunderstandings when we present your bill at the end of your stay. This also means that any minor errors, can be corrected at the same time, avoiding delays during the check-out procedure. Regarding the Flip Flops you purchased from our Island Boutique, our Guest Experience team provided you with a price before you agreed to buy them however, they were not aware you intended on receiving them complimentary. As a gesture of good will prior to your arrival, we took the liberty of upgrading your Villa from a Jungle category to an Ocean View category, where you enjoyed expansive views out to sea. There is no direct access to the beach when staying in this category due to a protective sea wall to guard against erosion. As we are an Island, our main beach conditions change regularly based on tidal levels. This change in tide will wash up small rocks to our shoreline. All non-motorized activities, including daily yoga, are free of charge; we are happy to arrange motorized activities or other excursions for you to enjoy however, these are charged due to fuel costs and post-Covid our supply chain has also increased. Regarding the ripped chairs, as we are isolated, we have a maintenance program in place to send our chairs every 1 – 2 months back to our Supplier on the Mainland for recovering and this process is subject to our occupancy. Typically, we are sending 10 chairs per cycle for recovering. It is with regret that you and your husband did not have a perfect stay, however we hope you still have fond memories of your Ocean View Villa with expansive sea views and the service offered by our staff. With best regards, Tommy (Resort Manager)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
I3968DGjamesc wrote a review Jan 2024
Leicester, United Kingdom8 contributions
This place was far more beautiful and polished than i had imagined. The rooms are amazing and in a stunning location. The boat trip over was effortless! Everything was perfect from house keeping to the restaurant. Everyone was so helpful and happy, with a special shout out to Kim who looked after us so attentively! The Scuba diving was great, with lots of different dive sites- no huge fish but nice and clear, giant Puffa Fish a plenty, with rich colourful corals and plenty of reef fish activity. The Island reef has Blue Rays which was a nice treat to see. Watersports- great Kayak trip to the Mangroves and around the Island. Wakeboarding was perfect with a nice flat sea to play on. Sol and his crew are so attentive and helpful to keep the day nice and active! Not to mention the luminescent plankton night Snorkel at the Island- its like having glowing frogspawn all over you- a very strange experience but truly awesome and unusual. So glad i visited this place for New Years Eve- they went way beyond any experience i have had, setting up so many different stations around the island with an array of different flavours of food and drink before the main event which again had beautiful food whilst watching a stunning acrobatics display. What a way to end the year and start a new one!! If you are in Cambodia, you cannot leave this off the list of your visits. Forgot to mention my wife loved the Spa here too!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: I believe that weather can hinder some activities but this is the same for any place in the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tommy Bekaert, Other at Song Saa Private Island
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear I3968DGjamesc, Thank you for sharing your Song Saa Private Island experience in such a lovely way. It was a delight to welcome you and your wife during our holiday season, and to see you both connecting so well with Kim and the rest of our team. We appreciate how you highlighted the variety of activities available to our guests on and around the island and glad to hear you very much enjoyed the arrangements we made for New Year's Eve. Please let us know when you plan to return so that we can extend our repeater guest privileges to you. With warm regards from the entire Song Saa Team Tommy (Resort Manager)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wolfgang wrote a review Dec 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We are a German family of four adults and enjoyed this vacation very much so. The cabins were excellent . The staff as well. The variation of food were incredible. The massages could not be better. We can definitely recommend this resort for you. The resort is supporting the neighborly villages on the Islands nearby. For snorkeling you need to be a good swimmer as the current along the island corals is strong. But the staff is very helpful. You can hardly find a better place than this one. But it would be good to speak English fluently.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tommy Bekaert, Other at Song Saa Private Island
Responded 2 Jan 2024
Dear Berlinopa, Thank you very much for taking the time to express your gratitude. It's great to hear you had a great stay, especially because of our varied cuisine, unique spa experiences and efforts supporting the surrounding communities. The Song Saa Foundation is actively involved in aiding these nearby communities through education, environmental awareness campaigns, and marine life protection projects. A portion of our room revenue is donated directly to the Foundation, and we provide opportunities for our guests to donate by booking specific activities provided by the Foundation Team, such as guided snorkeling trips with one of our Marine Biologists or participating in some of their Coral Reef or Plastic Free workshops. We hope to see you again someday, but in the meanwhile, we wish you all the best. The Song Saa Private Island & Foundation Family
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Angus S wrote a review Nov 2023
Castle Donington, United Kingdom202 contributions154 helpful votes
+1
Revisited Song Saa after 8 years away and it is now even more lush. Journey from Phnom Penh now much quicker on the new express way, 2 hours. Stayed in an ocean view villa, which was lovely, very comfy bed, modern bathroom. Dining at Song Saa is an experience, fabulous local food, so fresh. Thank you to Tommy and his wonderful team for looking after us so well.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
6 Helpful votes2 Reposts
Helpful
Share
Response from Tommy Bekaert, Other at Song Saa Private Island
Responded 2 Jan 2024
Dear Angusshields, What a pleasure it was to see you and your wife again after nearly 8 years! Indeed, our gardens and vegetation have become far more lush than before, creating a pleasant, cool, and protected environment. Our Ocean View villas are highly popular with visitors who prefer a little extra outdoor space to relax in. Thank you for your compliments on our local and fresh cuisine; we try to employ local suppliers as much as possible in order to lessen our carbon footprint. We wish you the best of luck and hope to see you both on a regular basis! Tommy and the entire Song Saa Family extend their warmest greetings
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cyril H wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
Dear Song Saa Team, To the Hanson and Flamez family, We wanted to take a moment to express our heartfelt gratitude for the wonderful stay we had at your tropical paradise. Your hospitality and all the experiences you offered made our trip truly memorable. We felt right at home during our visit and we're sincerely thankful for your assistance. As for activities, we highly recommend trying out the bioluminescent swim, exploring the options at the activity center, and embarking on the jungle walk leading to the waterfall – a personal favorite of ours. We're hopeful about a potential return in the future. If your journeys ever bring you to Belgium in the meantime, please know that you're more than welcome to get in touch. Best regards,
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Donald Wong, General Manager at Song Saa Private Island
Responded 25 Aug 2023
Dear Cyril H, Greetings from our Island home. Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review of your recent stay. It was a pleasure to welcome you all here. I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We are are very fortunate to live and work here and welcome guests from around the globe. It is rewarding to read that the Island team and I are doing our jobs and your encouragement will lead us to keep striving for perfection. Our efforts go beyond providing a luxury resort, as our sustainability efforts goes back to the local community providing our guests - a sense of place. We are the guardians of this Island and are mindful to keep our footprint to a minimum and care for our environment and our neighbors. In the meantime, I wish you all well and hope that one day we can welcome you back to our Paradise. Until then, my very best.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ETphonehome73 wrote a review Jun 2023
Chiang Mai, Thailand93 contributions120 helpful votes
+1
From the moment we stepped onto the Island the team could not do enough for us, preempting our needs and assisting us with ideas and adventures whilst still allowing us our privacy. Highly recommend the cooking class and to have many treatments at the gorgeous spa, cocktails on the Vista deck and snorkelling in the shallows around the pier. The team led by Tommy should be applauded with special shout outs to Cholsa, Manna at the spa, Sopy our hiking guide, Chef Bunseng and Sornleng at the restaurant. Our massive over water Villa had huge wow factor with every detail so well thought out and the rooms comfort levels are up there with the best of the best. So luxe! The property is so clean. I never saw them but there must be a small army of cleaners raking the beach and pathways every few hours as there was no debris or plastic to be found. Thank you all for making our trip spectacular. We can’t wait to go back again to this little Island of joy.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tommy Bekaert, Other at Song Saa Private Island
Responded 2 Jan 2024
Dear ETphonehome73, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your great experience on this platform! It was a delight for us to welcome you and your family and to watch you interact so well with our team. We appreciate that you emphasized all of the events we organized to provide you with an amazing stay, since this is critical information for other future guests to know. In terms of cleaning on and around the island, this is a never-ending task that requires a lot of teamwork indeed. We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future! With best wishes, Tommy and the Song Saa family
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Svenja B wrote a review May 2023
Siem Reap, Cambodia59 contributions14 helpful votes
+1
The perfect paradise Island escape. After a warm welcome at the harbor lounge and a 40 minute boat trip in a fantastic clean and safe speed boat we reached the tropical bliss island. The amazing Song Saa team gave us a lovely welcome and we felt immediately the good vibes and professional care from everyone. Can’t say how amazed we were about the Song Saa team. We stayed at one of the stunning private ocean front villas. Dipping into our private pool every morning, having an outdoor shower, hanging out at our lounge bed… always with the great view off the ocean and the house reeve. The villa was very spacious and beautifully designed. Talking about the design, lots of the beautiful outdoor furnitures at the island are made out of drift wood, and left with natural patina mixed with luxurious design all environmental friendly. The sustainability is one of the reasons Song Saa makes a difference to most of the luxurious islands. We had the chance to talk to Claire about the Song Saa Foundation and learned a lot about corals, nature, education, medical care and waist management on the Cambodian islands. There is so much love and respect for the nature and the people of Cambodia and you can feel it with every step on this barefoot island. Thanks again to Tommy and his lovely team for making our stay the most pleasant and relaxing we could ever wish for.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Go and enjoy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tommy Bekaert, Other at Song Saa Private Island
Responded 28 May 2023
Dear SvenjaB602, It is heartwarming to read such a charming reflection on the paradise island escape you experienced at Song Saa! Thank you very much for sharing and describing your experience in such a beautiful way. We really appreciate when guests interact with so much respect and warmth towards our team and to see them fully connect and engage with the unique concept of our property. A big thank you as well for taking your time to connect with Claire and her team to learn more about all the projects the Foundation is currently working on. We hope to get the opportunity welcome you again in the near future and wish you all the best. With warm greetings from the Song Saa team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Richard K wrote a review May 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
A truly wonderful experience. The location is magnificent, staff warm and engaging and oh so relaxing. Stayed 3 days, could have stayed longer. We had an ocean view villa, which I feel is the sweet spot. Jungle villas looked a little tired and the over water villas looked a little hot and austere. The service was excellent and the food delicious. Dining at different locations on the island added to the experience. Love the deep eco-friendly and socially responsible ethos. We did a tour of the local fishing village to see the work the Song Saa foundation is doing, it was touching. The only downside was possibly the price of some of the extra activities are rather steep. Perfect for honeymooners or those seeking to recharge. A once in a lifetime experience. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tommy Bekaert, Other at Song Saa Private Island
Responded 17 May 2023
Dear Richard K, Thank you very much for posting this lovely review about your experience at our little private paradise. It is a pleasure to read you connected so well with our team and truly appreciated our service and kitchen. Indeed, our exemplary concept of providing different dinning locations for each individual evening is very popular and is one of the highlights for most of our guests. A big thank you as well for spending some time to connect with our Song Saa Foundation team, visiting Preak Svay village to have a closer look into all the projects they are doing together with the Community, marine protection for sustainable fisheries and waste management to name a few of their projects. We understand your remark about the prices for the “extra activities”. Most of these extra activities involve motorized boats which indeed comes at a higher cost than the complimentary non-motorized activities due to the associated operational costs of running the boats needed for these activities. We would like to wish you all the best and hope to see you coming back some time. With warm regards, Tommy Resort Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jannyratty wrote a review Mar 2023
Knutsford, United Kingdom12 contributions12 helpful votes
Just amazing - beautiful island, fabulous facilities, sumptuous food and drink and lovely staff. There are beautiful personalised touches such as specialised dining locations Their support of the local community is fantastic with the Foundation working with the local communities and delivering marine conservation - truly paradise with a heart
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tommy Bekaert, Other at Song Saa Private Island
Responded 19 Apr 2023
Dear Jannyratty, Thank you very much for posting this raving feedback about your stay at our little paradise! It was from our side a real pleasure to host you and your husband here on the island for a few days. We are delighted to read you both fully enjoyed your stay, especially the food & beverage part as well as the overall service of our team, eye for detail related to the decorations and of course the unique experience of the different dining locations on each individual day. Thank you also for highlighting the amazing work the Song Saa Foundation is doing related to the local communities, protecting the environment and the marine conservation, this is very much appreciated. We are looking forward see you returning sometime in the near future. With warm regards, Tommy Resort Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sara192226 wrote a review Mar 2023
Dorset, United Kingdom3 contributions
Dreamy quiet island resort with gorgeous attentive staff and admirable ethos.Did feel like our own private island when we were there as always somewhere secluded to relax. and nothing was too much trouble. Hopefully the inevitable new developments on Koh Rong will be hotels with the same ethos as Song Saa as there needs to be a collective fight against rubbish and emphasis on protecting this beautiful archipelago and its people.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tommy Bekaert, Other at Song Saa Private Island
Responded 19 Apr 2023
Dear Sara, Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Song Saa in such a beautiful way! It is always nice to experience when guests are truly connecting so well with our team and concept like you guys did. You can be assured whatever happens regarding the development on the neighboring island Koh Rong, together with the Song Saa Foundation we will continue our work related to waste management, education, other environmental issues as well as the marine conservation in and around the archipelago. Thanks again, wishing you all the best and looking forward to your next visit. With kind regards, Tommy Resort Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Koh Rong area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$7,331 - HK$11,509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
song saa private island hotel sihanoukville
LOCATION
CambodiaKoh Kong ProvinceKoh Rong
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SONG SAA PRIVATE ISLAND - Updated 2024 Prices & Resort Reviews (Koh Rong, Cambodia)

Frequently Asked Questions about Song Saa Private Island
Which popular attractions are close to Song Saa Private Island?
Nearby attractions include Coconut Beach (7.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Song Saa Private Island?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Song Saa Private Island?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Song Saa Private Island?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Song Saa Private Island?
Conveniently located restaurants include Natura Restaurant, The Moon Restaurant, and The Secret Garden Bar & Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Song Saa Private Island?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Song Saa Private Island have airport transportation?
Yes, Song Saa Private Island offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Song Saa Private Island?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Song Saa Private Island?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Khmer.
Does Song Saa Private Island have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
<