The Swan Inn by Innkeeper's Collection

The Swan Inn by Innkeeper's Collection

10 Lower Street, Horning, Norwich NR12 8AA England
Traveller (88)
The Swan Inn by Innkeeper's Collection Double room
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#2 of 2 B&Bs in Horning
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Dating back to 1696, The Swan Inn by Innkeeper's Collection provides a great base for exploring the Norfolk Broads, Norwich, and Norfolk. With breath-taking views over the River Bure, this bed and breakfast hotel in Horning offers the best value accommodation, allowing you to enjoy a comfortable night's sleep, as well as a delicious menu of seasonal pub food, fine wines, and cask ales, all served up in a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Whether you’re visiting the area for business or pleasure, The Swan Inn by Innkeeper's Collection is fully equipped to allow you to dine, relax, and sleep in true comfort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Room features
Desk
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

10 Lower Street, Horning, Norwich NR12 8AA England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 58 out of 100
58
Norwich Airport
12.3 km
See all flights
223Reviews1Q+A62Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 50
  • 74
  • 36
  • 28
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
chilliexx wrote a review Sept 2023
Upton upon Severn, United Kingdom198 contributions131 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Reading recent reviews I think some people need to do their homework before booking hotels.The Swan is a very, very old building and access for those with mobility issues can be a problem. Also lack of parking isn’t the hotel’s fault.also I would imagine that the amount of bugs isn’t something the hotel can control either!
There is an ongoing problem with leaking which I assume is possibly due to the age of the building, it was a problem when we stayed but the staff were brilliant and it didn’t affect our stay directly.

Room 8 was lovely, great view. (Also saw room 2 which is great and would definitely book that room next time). Bed was comfortable, bedding was lovely and pillows were soft and squishy. Room was spotless and the tea/coffee tray was well stocked with extras available on the landing. Loved the fact the room had a sofa as well as a chair.

Breakfast was disappointing, small portion sizes (vegan) beetroot hash (which to my mind has no place on a breakfast plate), 1 hash brown, spoonful of bean, half an uncooked tomato and three mushrooms.

All the staff were helpful, friendly and welcoming. Kayleigh (sp?), Tracey, Alex and Dave were all really lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: room 8 or 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Swan Inn by Innkeeper's Collection
Responded 9 Sept 2023
Hi Chilliexx, Thank you for the lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to you visiting again. kind regards Tracey
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Blerke wrote a review Jun 2021
Birmingham UK401 contributions143 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here in room 1 the family room which was lovely and very spacious. There was a separate sitting area where you could relax in comfort and the views out to the river and gardens were fab (see picture)
Breakfast wasn't included within the rate and we decided ​to eat elsewhere as there was plenty of choice around.
Bathroom was fine and the room was clean.
If you were unable to find a parking space around the hotel itself, then the hotel paid for your parking on the public car park seconds away.
Cost £149 which we thought ok for such a big room
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: choose the family room for size and views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Swan Inn by Innkeeper's Collection
Responded 20 Sept 2021
We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us! We look forward to welcoming you back with us in near future, Kind Regards Vinnie The Swan Inn Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stevetlewes wrote a review Nov 2021
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom62 contributions56 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The major downside of this hotel is the noise. Music presumably from the bar was clearly audible in our room until past 11pm on both nights of our stay. Given the bar itself was pretty quiet it seems completely unnecessary to play music at this volume given the disturbance to guests paying £125 a night in the rooms above. We wouldn't return here for that reason.
On the plus side, the rooms were comfortable although very hot, and the food and service in the bar was pretty good. Poor selection of beers for a free house though
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Swan Inn by Innkeeper's Collection
Responded 22 Nov 2021
Hi Stevetlewes, I am really to saddened to read this review and discover the music was an issue for you, I do sincerely apologise for this and having known this we would have resolved this issue for you there and then to prevent any disturbance to you! It is pleasing to hear that you found the room comfy and that you enjoyed dining with us. Due to it being quieter for us now in the Winter we only chose to have 2 beers on at this moment in time to avoid any unnecessary waste. Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry your experience was disturbed and affected because of the volume of the music downstairs. We will bear this in mind for all future guests staying with us upstairs Kind Regards & Best Wishes Vinnie Shift Supervisor at The Swan Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hgfdssed wrote a review Aug 2020
Carlisle2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at above hotel for a 4 night break. The location is great but the accommodation was terrible. The TV did not work and they could not fix it. The room was never serviced due to Covid restriction, which meant we had to ask for toilet roll, coffee and milk. During the evening there was constant banging of the doors until 11pm.
The morning breakfast was delivered in brown paper bag with a couple of muffins, apple and bottle of water. You could have a cooked breakfast at extra cost.
The staff were more occupied with people using the pub and restaurant than the residents staying
Covid has changed a lot of things and this business is not giving the service and applying resources to supporting the staying guests
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Owner at The Swan Inn by Innkeeper's Collection
Responded 4 Aug 2020
Hi Hgfdssed, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. We would like to have a better understanding about your experience. Please reach out to us at 01692 630316 at your earliest convenience and we will do our best to resolve this with you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura B wrote a review Jan 2020
Catfield, United Kingdom5 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfortunately the food was poor quality and disappointing.

I had a burger and admittedly the burger itself was lovely. However the chips with it were cold and the garlic prawn skewer was simply five cold prawns in a bowl that didn’t even taste of garlic.
Mums warm sandwich was also cold, with a cold lump in the bread therefore Appeared partially frozen, chips were also cold

Dads steak and ale pie consisted of hardly any meat but main problem was cold chips again and cold vegetables

Nobody checked on our table as we were eating despite the place being empty however we were asked if everything was ok upon our table being cleared which in fairness was instant.

Being too polite we said it was fine. When asked again we told the truth that the meals were very average however we did not wish for any money back because we were very hungry and therefore ate it, upon reflection I should have refused to pay for the prawns as five cold prawns in a bowl is not what you expect when it’s advertised as a skewer of garlic prawns.

Edible , overall taste was ok, but the fact the food was cold when the place was empty is not ok and you would expect the chef to have more pride in what is being sent out, as a professional chef you cannot send out a poor meal without realising you have done so
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Swan Inn by Innkeeper's Collection
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Laura B, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location. I was not made aware of any issues with regard to anyone being unsatisfied with their meal however if you would like to contact the Manager at Swan Inn on 01692 640316 and let me know about your experience I will look into any issues you raise with me to get them resolved. Kind regards The Swan Inn management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SuzyQdublin wrote a review Aug 2021
Dublin, Ireland120 contributions50 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had already started our road trip in the Uk (from Ireland) when we received an email saying they couldn’t honour our booking because they had no bedsheets. We could come if we brought our own linen…..we were booked in for a Saturday night and it was not easy to find other accommodation at such short notice. I accept the Pandemic has caused problems but I thought the Lodge might have invested in new extra linen rather than expect their customers to do so. We also had to cancel our restaurant booking nearby as a result…
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mandy P wrote a review May 2022
5 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Liked · The view, comfortable bed and clean room.

Disliked · This was booked as a special birthday treat for my partner for a night with a trip on a river boat. I was unable to have a shower in the morning as shower tray filled up during my partners shower and was not draining to the point of flooding over the floor and extremely slippery. We were both in our nightwear so unable to go the 2 flights down to the reception and it took 40 minutes for this to drain, by then it was time to pack and vacate the room. I reported the problem whilst putting some luggage in the car and was told they would get maintenance to look at it. As we only stayed 1 night this was not much help to us as we both wanted to be able to use the shower facility before leaving the hotel. The housekeeper who checked us out by taking the key told us she knew there was a problem with the shower for over a week or so. No drinking water available in the bedrooms and the bedroom was very hot!! I complained at the time and after in writing but just keep being fobbed off and apologies for not reading my emails properly, for the price of the room, the customer service and the faulty facility a real disappointment on what was supposed to be a memorable special occasion.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Swan Inn by Innkeeper's Collection
Responded 10 May 2022
Good evening Inspiration561082, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. I understand from your prior emails that you do not normally like to complain, but your feedback is extremely valuable to us. It is very disappointing to hear that you had such a poor experience during your stay, as we know that we can provide a much better service and we do hope that you will still visit in the future. Wishing you all the best, Tom - Shift supervisor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lady Jacq wrote a review Aug 2020
Ware, United Kingdom207 contributions113 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Not impressed - the room was poky, not what was expected for the price charged. To use the toilet, you had to back onto it as it was shoved into a barely accessible corner, you also needed to beware of the vanity unit which jutted out in front of the toilet, being careful not to crack your head open on it.

Breakfast was a takeaway bag of muffin, cereal bar and apple - not the best post-lockdown breakfast we have had, but certainly the worst. The hotel is in a lovely location but that is all it had going for it. Waiting time to order anything was long, then waiting time ro get what you ardered was even longer. Customers arriving after us were served ahead of us, the whole thing was rather shoddy and didn't seem to have been very well thought out.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Owner at The Swan Inn by Innkeeper's Collection
Responded 13 Aug 2020
Berylthesilverperil, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jet35878978907 wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 1 night in August. Lovely setting by the broads, the staff are very polite and welcoming. The rooms were comfortable, shower worked well. The walls are very thin though! Don’t expect a great nights sleep as you hear what everyone else is doing and saying!
The breakfast was poor for how much you paid. I ordered ‘pancakes with pancetta’ for my kids - when they arrived I could not even cut through them, I sent back both orders, asked for them again to be told by the way that the chef said they will come out exactly the same. If that is the case, you need a new chef! These were packet bought pancakes and thin streaky bacon for just over £7 a portion.
Our stay was ok, but management, please revise your breakfast menu and breakfast chef……
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Take some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper and go elsewhere for breakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Downba wrote a review Jul 2020
Thurrock, United Kingdom236 contributions81 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here the room was quite basic but very clean. The view from the room was lovely which made our stay. The guy which I think was the manager was very accommodating he looked after us very well. Service was quite slow but to be expected in these times. The hotel and pub is a bit tired looking, garden area lovely right on the river. We ate in the Swann which was very average, steak was ok though
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Owner at The Swan Inn by Innkeeper's Collection
Responded 31 Jul 2020
Hi Downba, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. If you ever need anything else from us, please feel free to give us a call or stop by. Have an awesome day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
donandjoycelyn asked a question Jul 2018
Alvechurch, United Kingdom4 contributions7 helpful votes
Do the rooms have a hairdryer and tea making facilities
Answer from Fruitgum1955
Ramsey, United Kingdom53 contributions43 helpful votes
Oh yes .
John V wrote a tip Apr 2024
Bath, United Kingdom40 contributions25 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Breaking the law, poor management."
Read full review
Finnster_EM wrote a tip Sept 2023
Suffolk, England22 contributions25 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking can be tricky, but generally as long as you’re not blocking anyone in - you’re fine! Provide your registration on arrival."
Read full review
chilliexx wrote a tip Sept 2023
Upton upon Severn, United Kingdom198 contributions131 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"room 8 or 2"
Read full review
LikeToTravel wrote a tip Jul 2023
London, United Kingdom174 contributions190 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't buy breakfast as part of your stay. The food is terrible and service shocking."
Read full review
Susan R wrote a tip Jul 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else !"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Horning area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$694 - HK$1,217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkNorwichHorning
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SWAN INN BY INNKEEPER'S COLLECTION - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Swan Inn by Innkeeper's Collection
Which popular attractions are close to The Swan Inn by Innkeeper's Collection?
Nearby attractions include RAF Air Defence Radar Museum (1.1 km), The Museum of the Broads (7.8 km), and Salhouse Broad (3.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Swan Inn by Innkeeper's Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Swan Inn by Innkeeper's Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Swan Inn by Innkeeper's Collection?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Swan Inn by Innkeeper's Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include A Slice Of The Broads, The Old Mill Café Bar, and The ThaiWay.
Is The Swan Inn by Innkeeper's Collection located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Horning.
Are there any historical sites close to The Swan Inn by Innkeeper's Collection?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hickling Broad (7.7 km), St Benet's Abbey (4.7 km), and St. Helen's Church (3.2 km).
Does The Swan Inn by Innkeeper's Collection have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire