We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
144 Saint-Pierre Street, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia
Le Port Royal
US$227
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
FindHotel
ZenHotels.comUS$307
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (513)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (294)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#23 of 105 hotels in Quebec City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining. A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. Hardwood in all the suites. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided. In the morning, guests can have elaborated continental breakfast at the Pub du Vieux port or delivered to their room if requested. The contemporary Pub du Vieux port boasts stone walls and plenty of seating. The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Full body massage
Valet parking
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French
1188Reviews30Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 596
  • 401
  • 114
  • 51
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
globalocal wrote a review 15 Aug
Graz, Austria32 contributions57 helpful votes
I returned to hotel Port Royal as I liked it a lot in my last stay few years ago, this time it was a true disappointment and I will certainly not return. Try to get rooms on the side of the entry/parking, or at least avoid room 110, otherwise expect to be welcomed by strong smell in the room from the fast food shop on the ground floor and to be woken at 0540am when the delivery truck starts delivery to it. Expect to have a view on the gas station behind the hotel with the occasional truck letting the engine run for 20' Don’t trust statements from receptionists that breakfast would be included in your room rate when it isn’t: the waiting time in the restaurant is prohibitive and the service poor, better breakfast can be found down Rue St Paul. Don't expect too much service-orientation from the staff. In my view the place is not worth the money, benefits from the glory and shine from past days and the fact that Québec will always be a sought for destination so they don't need to care too much for the individual traveller as they will be booked again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: ask for rooms to the front/parking or Rue St-Paul
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Agnes Marsoin, Directeur général at Hotel Port-Royal
Responded 3 days ago
We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and take note of your comments. Best regards Agnes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amos1073 wrote a review 14 Aug
Kingston, Canada44 contributions32 helpful votes
We stayed four days at Hotel Port-Royal. The Hotel is steps away from the waterfront and is in lower old Quebec city. Our room, 319, had a view of the harbour and as well some street front cafes. It would be considered a boutique Hotel, we had a king size bed, spacious bathroom, and small kitchen. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and it was quiet. We were within walking distance of a bunch of the tourist area, and definitely the cafes. We are English speaking, had no difficulties with language barriers. Hotel staff were very friendly staff and helpful. Caution, adding the breakfast package is very expensive and attached restaurant had difficulty producing food in a timely manner. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, next time we would bring/purchase breakfast items and use our kitchen.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Top floor rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Agnes Marsoin, Directeur général at Hotel Port-Royal
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your kind comment. We look forward to seeing you again. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly to let us know your preferences Best regards Agnes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gayle F wrote a review 6 Aug
Ottawa, Canada2 contributions
Hotel was in the old port. It was our first time staying in that area. It was clean, comfortable. The layout was a little quirky but that added to it. Parking was available but tricky, but they had a valet that parked it for you so it wasn't a problem. We had a room with a kitchenette. The only negative I had was the lighting in the bathroom. . Staff was great. Friendly courteous and informative They couldn't do enough to assist you. This applied to both reception and the restaurant. We had dinner in the restaurant (Louise's) and the food was a little pricey but good and the service was amazing. The hotel was close to many shops and pedestrian only streets .Easy walking distance to the funnicular to get to the top at the Chateau Frontenac. . It was also near 2 sets of steps if you preferred to walk. up to the old city. Would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Get the room with the kitchenette if you would like to make simple meals
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Agnes Marsoin, Directeur général at Hotel Port-Royal
Responded 1 week ago
We thank you for your excellent comment and take note of the points to improve We look forward to seeing you again Best regards Agnes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keen_Traveller071 wrote a review 4 Aug
Toronto, Canada82 contributions34 helpful votes
Was not worth the price for us. Although the hotel was not full, we were given a pretty terrible room, #202 I think, that had a pillar right in the middle. You could barely access the kitchen and 1 foot from the bed was this pillar you walk right into at night. It also smelled intoxicating, seemed like someone had broken a bottle of perfume in the room, and it was so strong we both had headaches. The front desk generally was very helpful and the parking was good. But the room assignment means we won’t be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking was good. Front desk was helpful but never returned emails.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Agnes Marsoin, Directeur général at Hotel Port-Royal
Responded 1 week ago
We apologize for not meeting your expectations and take note of your comments Greetings Agnes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cheryl P wrote a review Jul 2022
Buffalo, New York2 contributions
Great hotel experience! The staff at the hotel and restaurant were top notch! Friendliest personnel we have ever experienced at a hotel. Check in was quick and the valet parking was was so convenient. The room was large,comfortable and very clean. Hotel is located by the marina but in walking distance of all the sights of old Quebec.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Valet parking available. Checkout is at 11:00 but they will allow you to keep your car on the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Agnes Marsoin, Directeur général at Hotel Port-Royal
Responded 3 days ago
We thank you for your excellent comment. We look forward to seeing you again Agnes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sadie VT wrote a review Jul 2022
Brattleboro, Vermont15 contributions
We had a very nice stay here! The hotel staff were so helpful and friendly, helping out when we had a medical situation and for the simple things like a forgotten toothbrush! We really appreciated having the kitchen facilities in our room and the bed was very comfortable. We had a window that looked out over the square, but there was very little street noise on the third floor. It is very easy to access the riverfront and the Old City. It's a short walk up the hill to that part of town as well. My only complaint would be that the gym is very outdated and the limited equipment there is not in great shape. Other than that I would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Agnes Marsoin, Directeur général at Hotel Port-Royal
Responded 14 Jul 2022
We thank you for your excellent appreciation and take note of your comment. Looking forward
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yuliyan D wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Hotel was amazing. Room was specious and clean! Check in was done extremely fast and customer service was too. All attractions are less then 10 Minutes away! Location is the best. Parking out front! Couldn’t ask for more! Will be back definitely!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking out front for a extra fee!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Agnes Marsoin, Directeur général at Hotel Port-Royal
Responded 14 Jul 2022
We thank you for your excellent appreciation Looking forward
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katrina M wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Very nice room. We had the suite with the murphy bed. Nice modern bathroom and it was very clean. Very quiet. Amazing location. Very historic feeling. Super steep staircase and a tiny elevator to reach our room. Upon arrival, the evening front desk personnel were very professional and helpful. Beware of a hefty $300.00CA smoking deposit that is refunded at check out (without checking the room for evidence of smoking. I thought that was a little weird. We are non-smokers and got our deposit back).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Agnes Marsoin, Directeur général at Hotel Port-Royal
Responded 14 Jul 2022
We thank you for your good comment. The deposit charged on arrival is mainly used to cover any additional costs such as the restaurant or the bar Looking forward
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kathleensF3730XO wrote a review Jul 2022
Medway, United States3 contributions1 helpful vote
We had an excellent 4-night stay at the Hotel Port-Royal. Our suite in the building across the street (an old renovated bank) was charming, comfortable, and had everything we needed. The location near major attractions and the bike trail was great. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning in the Louise Tavern with attentive, efficient service. All staff we encountered were very friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Agnes Marsoin, Directeur général at Hotel Port-Royal
Responded 5 Jul 2022
We thank you for your excellent comment. It's a pleasure to see you again Best regards Agnes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ddpebley wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Exceptional experience all around from the time we checked in to departure. Management and staff are very professional and go above and beyond. Suite was spacious and well appointed. Wouldn't hesitate to book again including extended stays (had full kitchen). Very well located for Quebec attractions. On-site restaurant was exceptional as well.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Agnes Marsoin, Directeur général at Hotel Port-Royal
Responded 5 Jul 2022
We thank you for your excellent comment. It's a pleasure to see you again Best regards Agnes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$175 - US$325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel port-royal quebec city
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecQuebec CityDowntown Quebec City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Port-Royal
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Port-Royal?
Nearby attractions include Old Quebec (0.4 km), Place Royale (0.4 km), and Three Crow Glass Studio (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Port-Royal?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Port-Royal?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Port-Royal?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Port-Royal?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Port-Royal?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Taniere, Chez Rioux & Pettigrew, and Laurie Raphaël.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Port-Royal?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hotel Port-Royal located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Quebec City.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Port-Royal?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Port-Royal?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Port-Royal?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.