Canadas Best Value Inn St. Catharines

Canadas Best Value Inn St. Catharines

420 Ontario St Queen Elizabeth Hwy Exit 47, St. Catharines, Ontario L2R 5M1 Canada
Traveller (46)
Broken security clasp, piece of styrofoam stuffed in where previous lock had been.
Room & Suite (45)
Pool
Pool & Beach (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#6 of 6 hotels in St. Catharines
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value

If you’re looking for a budget friendly hotel in St. Catharines, look no further than Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines.

While staying at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, visitors can check out British Methodist Episcopal Church (1.6 mi) and Niagara Artists Centre (1.8 mi), some of St. Catharines' top attractions.

As your “home away from home,” the hotel rooms offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available.

Guests have access to 24 hour front desk and newspaper while staying at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines. In addition, Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines offers a pool, which will help make your St. Catharines trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

If you’re looking for a wine bar, consider a visit to Dani's Bistro & VQA Wine Bar, which is not far from Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines.

Should time allow, Royal Henley Park and Jaycee Gardens Park are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

The staff at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Breakfast available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
24-hour front desk
Outdoor pool
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi, Urdu
Hotel links
Special Price:5% Off Or More

Location

420 Ontario St Queen Elizabeth Hwy Exit 47, St. Catharines, Ontario L2R 5M1 Canada
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 39 out of 100
39
Buffalo Niagara Intl Airport
51.1 km
See all flights
Niagara Falls Intl Airport
27.3 km
See all flights
242Reviews5Q+A48Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 71
  • 64
  • 30
  • 31
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Barry J wrote a review Jun 2022
156 contributions40 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Not a complete disaster, but this place is over-priced. Look carefully elsewhere before deciding to stay there. This is an older property with a generous amount of rust. While the property has had some renovations, the work seems to have been done by the lowest bidder. Maintenance does not seem to be a priority. Had to give the room door a kick to get it open. Security clasp was completely broken and useless. A piece of styro-foam had been stuffed in where the previous door lock had been. Bathroom door knob was about to fall off. I fixed that for them. Toilet seat was so loose you felt like you'd slide off. I fixed that too. There was no desk or table at all suitable for using a computer. Bed was clean and comfortable and the air conditioner worked on a day that was 33C (92F). Internet speed was adequate for my purposes. The property charges you a $150 security deposit, which they say will be refunded within 3 business days. Young man at desk was very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Patrick GREWAL, Owner at Canadas Best Value Inn St. Catharines
Responded 28 Jun 2022
Thank you Barry for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Barry I guarantee you that of the 7 properties in St Catharines we are the most competitively priced. You will have noticed this when you booked. As you stated we are doing many upgrades to the property and will continue to do so throughout the year. We recently changed all our flooring, bathrooms and door locks. I apologize for the loose bolts, I wish you had advised us and we would have been able to have it tightened immediately. I am also pleased to hear that you also enjoyed the a/c, bed and cleanliness of our establishment. The deposit is a standard measure in the hospitality business and will be reflected back onto your credit card. It is only to ensure no smoking/damages in the room. Hope to see you in the near future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
johnny d wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I come every few weeks to visit my girlfriend and this place always accommodates me. Being a frequent now they are able to secure me my room of choice most of the time. Lately they have been so busy and still have done wonders for me.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
atjtetmt wrote a review Jul 2022
Kankakee, Illinois305 contributions121 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
They're redoing this motel and trying to make it nice. The shower in our room was the best on our trip. We just stayed one night and it was good for that. It was nice having a fridge in the room. The A/C was nice and cool.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Patrick GREWAL, Owner at Canadas Best Value Inn St. Catharines
Responded 9 Jul 2022
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us atjtetmt! We look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Happy Eaters Pz wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I couldn't fault the place. I had trouble with my booking via booking.com & they helped with that & left us settle in even though they hadn't yet received our booking. The family are lovely & very professional. Our room was well equipped for what we needed, no coffee or tea making facilities but, there is a McDonald's just a short walk away open from 6am. No bother at all. Great place for a beer next door in the sunshine, and more just up the road. Outdoor pool lovely and clean. Bus stop right across the road, even though next to a busy road it was nice and quiet. Air con fully functional, what more could you ask for! Wish we could have stayed longer but sadly had to return to work in the UK.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Patrick GREWAL, Owner at Canadas Best Value Inn St. Catharines
Responded 12 Jul 2022
Thank you Nicole for your review. We are SO glad we were able to help you out as we know you were so worried about your booking not coming through right away. We enjoyed having you and hope your trip back home was safe and pleasant. We look forward to seeing you in the future next time you are back over in Canada!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Me M wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed a night at St Catherine’s location Canadas best value inn and never got my deposit back. Nor have the hotel got back to me. Room was paid in full and deposit was by debit card. Upon check out the man told me it was refunded, I’ve stayed in hotels before and asked should I not insert my card for you to refund my money? He said no showing me a receipt saying refunded. Once home I looked again to see it said refunded to a Mastercard, I don’t have a credit card nor did u pay with one. Hindsight always 20/20 right? I don’t live near the hotel of course and have tried to contact them for my refund with no reply. I suppose further action will need to be taken. Lesson learned and I will get my money back and never go there again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Patrick GREWAL, Owner at Canadas Best Value Inn St. Catharines
Responded 20 Jul 2022
Hello Patricia, I would firstly like to apologize for the frustration you are facing with this deposit situation. Your reservation was pre-paid and we only took a security deposit for the incidentals. I saw the confusion as on our system it showed the refund had been processed on July 3rd 2022. This is why when you spoke with my colleagues they told you it had been reversed. I have contacted the bank today (July 19th) and checked on your refund. The reason the transaction failed was because it was a debit card. Nowadays most debit cards we process are debit visas and automatically get refunded within 4-5 business days. Yours in this case was only a debit and therefore on our side was refunded but bounced back. The front desk staff that was on shift that day believed it was a visa debit card and therefore advised you that it would automatically go back. I have made him aware of the issue as he is new and advised him that cards that are just debit cards need to be refunded at the machine. To clarify the Mastercard on file that is a card we charged for your prepaid booking. This is why you did not have to pay us instead we charged the online booking agency. (this was their credit card). I have called the bank today and have made them push the payment through. I do apologize for the mix up and again want you to know I am personally handling it. If you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to email me here or text back to my personal cell number. Thank you Manny CBVI St Catharines
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nawar R wrote a review Jan 2022
Reading, United Kingdom10 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice quiet place for a quick stop. Affordable prices, convenient location, clean spacious rooms, and courteous staff make it a perfect bang for the buck. Parking was free as well unlike all of Niagara Falls.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Patrick GREWAL, Owner at Canadas Best Value Inn St. Catharines
Responded 18 Jan 2022
Thank you Nawar_R_77 for your feedback. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shubhangi wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean Clean and Comfortable. Outside needs a bit of love, but inside, 5/5. New showers and large TVs. It's a winner for me. Great support i received at the front desk. Very clean place! Thankyou for having me.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scott S wrote a review May 2012
Owen Sound, Canada2 contributions13 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We knew this hotel as Travelodge which we stayed in in 2010 it was very dirty and unkept. We were not happy and planned not to return. This year on our holiday we were in same location looking for a affordable hotel to just sleep before our continued journey, we noticed that the Travelodge was now called Canada’s Best Value Inn, with a big new sign so we decided to give another try.
We were very pleased with the rate, very affordable and the room was renovated, clean, with king bed towels were very white, new and soft. The bed was very comfortable and the room had all new furniture. The staff were very pleasant and informed us this was new owners and they were cleaning up this hotel. It was nothing like our previous visit at the Travelodge. We would recommend Canada’s Best Value Inn to anyone looking for reasonable rates and comfort.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: 128 was our room :)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeremy M wrote a review Jun 2012
Roseville, Michigan1 contribution10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I wrote a review already but it appears to have not posted. I was in Port dalhousie on a fishing trip over the May 24 weekend. I stayed at Canadas best Value Inn for the duration of the trip with my buddies. We had a nice large room on the HWY side with 3 beds. Since we had 4 guys, we were also given a cot at no extra charge. Was quiet and comfortable, and it came with free breakfast as well. We will be staying there next trip up that way for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robin B wrote a review Jun 2012
Toronto, Canada6 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved the location and the staying in for the father's day weekend.

It was cozy and very comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JCH asked a question Aug 2018
Ontario, Canada12 contributions10 helpful votes
Have all the rooms been renovated?
Answer from Maureen H
London, Canada9 contributions9 helpful votes
I lived in St. Catharines for 20 years and never saw the Northern lights. You would have to drive many miles north to see them. As far as town lights are concerned you would not have a problem.
Answer from lexiy173
Toronto, Canada
maha habaybeh, peter habaybeh, justin andrew habaybeh, justin habaybeh, maha teresa habaybeh
Answer from otje2015
Groningen, The Netherlands1 contribution1 helpful vote
sorry, i have not seen the special room for disabled persons. allthough i am using a walker i still can walk a bit the stairs. the special room was not free, when i was there. charlotte
micheleX3405ET asked a question Jun 2015
Kingston, Canada1 contribution
How far in time to Niagara Falls, AND also to Niagara on the Lake
Answer from MannyGrewal1
St catharines
Hi MicheleX3 we are roughly 15 minutes away for Niagara Falls and roughly 10-15 minutes to Niagara on the lake. If you require any additional information feel free to contact us.
Rahul Kaul wrote a tip Aug 2022
New Delhi, India4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"first floor"
Read full review
Todd A wrote a tip Mar 2020
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Poolside is my favorite side to stay on"
Read full review
Curious63862137066 wrote a tip Jul 2019
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"What is this box for?"
Read full review
mark M wrote a tip May 2019
Carnegie, Pennsylvania16 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"visit the hotel before you booke, it may be OK for you, next time I will pay the extra $10 night and stay elsewhere"
Read full review
Tracy Y wrote a tip Mar 2019
Alexandria, Canada21 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Close to highway so easy access."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St. Catharines area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$609 - HK$1,092 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
travelodge st. catharines hotel st. catharines, st. catharines travel lodge, travel lodge st. catharines
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Travelodge St. Catharines
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioSt. CatharinesYork - Haig
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CANADAS BEST VALUE INN ST. CATHARINES HK$609 (H̶K̶$̶6̶8̶8̶)

Frequently Asked Questions about Canadas Best Value Inn St. Catharines
Which popular attractions are close to Canadas Best Value Inn St. Catharines?
Nearby attractions include Royal Henley Park (1.2 km), Della Terra Fresh Olive Oil & Balsamic Tasting Bar (1.2 km), and Aerosports Trampoline Park - St. Catharines (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Canadas Best Value Inn St. Catharines?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Canadas Best Value Inn St. Catharines?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Canadas Best Value Inn St. Catharines?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Canadas Best Value Inn St. Catharines?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Canadas Best Value Inn St. Catharines?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Amore, The Lemon Tree, and The Upper Deck Taphouse & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Canadas Best Value Inn St. Catharines?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Canadas Best Value Inn St. Catharines?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Canadas Best Value Inn St. Catharines?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Hindi, and Urdu.
Are there any historical sites close to Canadas Best Value Inn St. Catharines?
Many travellers enjoy visiting British Methodist Episcopal Church (2.8 km), Homer Lift Bridge / Welland Canal Bridge #4 / Queenston Street Bridge (5.0 km), and Old Courthouse,st. Catharines (2.7 km).
Is Canadas Best Value Inn St. Catharines accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All St. Catharines HotelsSt. Catharines Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in St. CatharinesHotels near Canadas Best Value Inn St. Catharines
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire