We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mount Royal Hotel

Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (7)
Overview
138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7 Canada See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
3 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews(137)
Traveller rating
  • 92
  • 30
  • 14
  • 2
  • 3
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Show reviews that mention
  • Filter
  • English
Chantalfd_OH
10
Reviewed yesterdayvia mobile
I stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed every night.
The hotel had gorgeous decor; modern but classic and rustic. All of my needs and special requests were met, and every staff member greeted me with a smile whenever I saw them.

I enjoyed the location as there is shopping, dining, coffee shops, bars, and grocery stores all within walking distance. I stayed in a Centennial Room on the back side of the hotel; I loved waking up to a lovely view of a couple of the mountains. The room was very clean when I arrived and Housekeeping did a great job every day keeping my room clean on the couple days that I required housekeeping. I was especially thrilled when I looked at the other side of the “Do Not Disturb” sign that has a special offer for choosing the environmentally friendly option of declining housekeeping for the day (I won’t say what the special is in case the hotel changes it, but be sure to look closely at your door hanger).

There was a bit of noise, but it’s to be expected staying on Banff Ave! The hotel graciously provides earplugs to help with that, and I turned on some quiet classical music for soothing background sound.

My only tiny complaint is that there aren’t many plugs/outlets in the room, but the hotel is old so it’s not a huge deal. The nightstand has a USB port and a few extra outlets for charging things (which was great because I forgot the block part of my phone charger), but my coffee maker shared an outlet with a lamp, which left another lamp without a plug, so I had to get down and switch plugs out a couple times. In my opinion, that’s such a minor thing and did not at all detract from me enjoying my stay. I only included this to make sure you all know that outlets are sparse so don’t bring too much that requires outlet access.

Overall, I found my stay to be exceptional and would definitely stay at the Mount Royal next time I visit Banff. Sorry the photos of my view are from a cloudy day; I forgot to grab photos on the other days which were sunny and beautiful, but the view was still lovely.
Thank Chantalfd_OH
Response from PursuitBanff, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Chantalfd_OH, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and got to take advantage of our fantastic location. Thank you for your feedback as we look to improve our product and the guest experience; we hope to welcome you back to Banff in the future! Regards, Norm Duchaine Front Office Manager
Blair J
10
Reviewed 2 days agovia mobile
As a last minute decision to escape the city, I booked this hotel the morning of and was genuinely surprise at how affordable and convenient it was. The only downside was our room being so far down the hall way, almost the furthest you could get. There was also a charge to our room from Tony Roma’s that wasn’t ours, it was corrected after being discovered. Overall, the hotel was great. I liked the floorplan we had, it was very spacious. The room looked like it was freshly painted and remodeled, I’m not sure when this hotel reopened, but it was very clean and quiet.
Thank Blair J
Response from PursuitBanff, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear blair76, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to fix your billing discrepancy right away. We reopened on July 1st; we're are happy that you had the opportunity to experience the new Mount Royal, and hope to welcome you back to Banff the next time you'd like to come back out to the mountains! Regards, Norm Duchaine Front Office Manager
Suzanne
Red Deer, Canada
10
Reviewed 3 days ago
We were fortunate to enjoy a winter getaway two weeks ago. It was our first time at the Mount Royal Hotel and we found it to be exceptional. The decor was beautiful and the rooms were immaculate! We loved the simply style choices that paid homage to the beauty of the nature around us and the reflected a respect for the history of the hotel. The staff were friendly, professional, and provided excellent advise on dining suggestions in Banff. The location was perfect walking distance to anywhere we wanted to go for food and entertainment. We can't wait for another opportunity to visit!
Thank Suzanne
Response from PursuitBanff, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear SuzanneB1468, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, the historic touches we have added to our rooms and public areas, and got to take advantage of our location in the heart of Banff. I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to Banff soon! Regards, Norm Duchaine Front Office Manager
330barb
Calgary, Canada
61
Reviewed 5 days ago
Came to Banff for a couple of days to celebrate our anniversary and we were not disappointed. The Mount Royal Hotel is in the best location to walk everywhere. Anthonette went above and beyond to make our stay a wonderful experience...thank you. Staff were very friendly...the hot tub area is a nice touch....our room was so clean.
Thouroughly enjoyed our stay And we will be back...
Thank 330barb
Response from PursuitBanff, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear 330barb, Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the level of service you received from Anthonette was exceptional. We look forward to welcoming you back to Banff in the future! Regards, Norm Duchaine Front Office Manager
Freedom07297542826
10
Reviewed 5 days ago
very nice hotel, beautifully renovated, a really upgrade compared to before. the hottub area ian very nice and the location super convenient. highlight of the stay: the mattress ! best sleep of my life .
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Freedom07297542826
Response from PursuitBanff, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Freedom07297542826, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our renovations, rooftop hot tubs and our amazing beds! We hope to welcome you back to Banff in the future. Regards, Norm Duchaine Front Office Manager
PreviousNext
12345628
About
Description
For generations, locals and visitors built a community around the Mount Royal Hotel. That spirit is captured in our brand new start: a surprising, exciting take on classic Banff accommodation. While we honour our More heritage through design and décor, all-new contemporary amenities provide the very best in modern hotel experiences. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room Service
Air Conditioning
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Golf Course
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Pool
Beachfront
Spa
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
133
Price range
US$89 - US$301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Mount Royal Banff
,
Hotel Mount Royal
Location
Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
133
Price range
US$89 - US$301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Mount Royal Banff
,
Hotel Mount Royal
Location
Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Photos
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (7)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 33 nearby hotels
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
1,133 reviews
.15 km away
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
2,597 reviews
.28 km away
Bow View Lodge
961 reviews
.40 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
1,904 reviews
.43 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 158 nearby restaurants
Block Kitchen and Bar
868 reviews
.09 km away
Eddie Burger & Bar
1,195 reviews
.10 km away
Beaver Tails
566 reviews
.10 km away
Balkan Restaurant
1,344 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 153 nearby attractions
Roam Public Transit Service
388 reviews
.15 km away
Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies
521 reviews
.14 km away
Banff Avenue
1,245 reviews
.09 km away
All In The Wild Gallery
37 reviews
.15 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Rasheed A
15 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from PursuitBanff | Property representative |
Hello Rasheed, There used to be bus service from Revelstoke to Banff, but unfortunately Greyhound Canada has suspended all of their western Canadian routes; therefore there is no longer service. Regards, Norm... More
1
Vote
AlexandraTOR
13 November 2018|
Answer
Response from PursuitBanff | Property representative |
Hello AlexandraTOR, The Brewster Shuttle to the airport costs $69 + GST per person. To book the shuttle, our central reservations team would be happy to help; their phone number is 1-403-760-6932.
0
Votes
AlexandraTOR
13 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from PursuitBanff | Property representative |
Hello AlexandraTOR, The Brewster Shuttle to the airport costs $69 + GST per person. To book the shuttle, our central reservations team would be happy to help; their phone number is 1-403-760-6932.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"I understand this could get loud on weekends because of overlooking Banff Ave"
306king
29 Oct 2018
Read review
"Something away from the busy Banff Avenue."
chims99
26 Oct 2018
Read review
"Not room 314 - all others are lovely"
EileenW837
18 Oct 2018
Read review
"Don't get a room overlooking a main street."
hazelc269
30 Sep 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing