We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Av. De Los Cocoteros S/N, Nuevo Vallarta 63732 Mexico
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
traveler_photos_ffffe986 (7227)
room_amp_suite (1095)
videos_ffffdbd1 (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.


#16 of 35 hotels in Nuevo Vallarta
Travellers' Choice
The All Inclusive 24h Hotel Riu Vallarta, completely renovated in 2019, opens all year round and is located directly on the Playa Flamingos beach in Banderas Bay in Riviera Nayarit. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal because of its proximity to Nuevo Vallarta and Bucerías (2km), Puerto Vallarta Airport (PVR) (13 km) and Puerto Vallarta (22 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 678 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax in the spa or get in shape at the gym. 4 outdoor pools, 1 of them with swim-up bar, and 1 children’s pool with slides. For the youngest guests, RiuLand kids’ club (4-7 & 8-12 years old). For adults, daytime and evening entertainment, as well as discotheque and Riu Get Together Parties. For lovers of gastronomy, live cooking stations at our main buffet, as well as Gourmet, Asian, Italian and Steakhouse specialty restaurants; 5 bars and grill.
Read more
room_amp_suite (1,095)1,095
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Car park
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Golf course
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Car hire
Taxi service
Head massage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Bay View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
7255Reviews2209Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,814
  • 2,463
  • 1,129
  • 498
  • 353
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
nitab1025 wrote a review Yesterday
Modesto, California14 contributions6 helpful votes
Please don’t ignore my review. I checked in today and I am writing this in tears. My room is dirty, we used the restroom and now discovered at midnight it won’t flush. The sofa is so dirty, I will post pic. My left sink is clogged. Yes I’m complaining tomorrow AM. The food is really bad, other guests told me the speciality restaurant has the exact same items in the buffet. THREE pools are closed, including the kids pool. Wish I would of known before I booked but I got a great deal on southwest. Those positive reviews must be paid for because I cannot believe they are writing about this place. I called southwest vacations and tried to move hotels but getting someone to help you is impossible. Just don’t stay here, I ignored all the signs and here I am at midnight writing this on day 1 of my vacation. Don’t do the same and they better not take my review down! I’m here now I will post pics if needed
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Yardie281 wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
The moment I entered I was greeted and felt like family. The staff was friendly, professional and detailed about the facilities at the resort. After receiving my briefing I knew I was about to have the rest, relaxation and rejuvenation to be envied. I'm already planning to go back in August.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: June 2021
snowskier wrote a review 11 Jun
10 contributions3 helpful votes
The ocean view suite was very nice. Some of the staff were outstanding, some were unpleasant – specifically front desk. There was no enforcement of rules – smoking was everywhere. Employees lit cigarettes for guests in the pool, common areas – everywhere. No ashtray, don’t worry, cigarette butts and ashes on the ground, including all around the pools where people had bare feet. Attempted to get coffee for the room – impossible. Front desk, guest services, dial 9 – all said it will be there in 10 minutes, but coffee never came. Sometimes the room was cleaned, sometimes it was not. An adventure every day. Food is subjective – some was good, some not so good but that is to be expected as we all have different likes and dislikes. The pools – what a train wreck. The “adult pool” is the drunk pool. Each day at least one person passed out and was drug out of the water, usually 3 or 4 were hauled out. After throwing up on the loungers and deck, they were loaded in a wheel chair, with a barf bag tied to them and carted off. Sometimes the drunk didn’t make it out of the pool before barfing so the pool gets closed for the rest of the day. Go to another pool you say – well no rules for kids, no need to be pottie trained or wear swim diapers – they pooped in the pools – pools closed for the day. Then there was the day a pool drink started throwing punches at the staff, nailed the security guard twice. Drunk's family / friends (except for the one pulled from the pool and barfing) joined in and it became a bit dangerous to others. Police came and at the hotel’s direction did NOTHING, didn’t even talk to the guy. Police left and he kept swinging. Restaurant staff came out to help Riu staff, which fired up his family and friends and they all jumped in again – quite the brawl. Long story short, after several hours of watching him from a distance, the staff walked him up to the bar outside the theater, chatting and laughing and gave him another drink. Not my lifestyle and not the vacation I had envisioned.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
1 Helpful vote
Marv4003 wrote a review 11 Jun
San Diego, California1 contribution
My family and I enjoyed our time spent here, the service was great and my daughter had a blast. Numerous activities and play area for kids.The room was spacious and entire facility was clean. If they had better options for the dinner buffet it would be perfect.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: June 2021
Michelle T wrote a review 9 Jun
3 contributions2 helpful votes
The food is horrible!! The drinks are watered down to no proof! One device per room. They DO NOT give you instructions on anything when checking in. The app they want you to download is useless... Horseback riding is supposed to be inclusive... we rode the horses & was never told that it cost only to find out $25 per horse or $500 pesos per horse. COVID testing is a joke.. Line you up at bottom of hotel with NO air & herds of people. Very few understand English. There are Not around the clock snacks. No 24hr room service. The food you can get late is from a bar warmer & tastes like crap.I’m assuming it’s left over from restaurants daily. They do keep rooms clean & are friendly.. at first the beach smelled like pee.. the pools are nice...we went into town & stocked up on snacks to survive. The hustling at the airport is the worst! Visit somewhere else... we have 1 1/2 days left & can’t WAIT to leave.. Speaking to other guests & they felt the same. Don’t waste your $$$ to come here.. They give you bottles of water, as they should, but they are ALL HOT! Crazy as heck considering how hot it is here...
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Vallarta
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and providing us this valuable feedback Our goal is to provide wonderful memories, and we sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you have come to expect from our hotel. Certainly, it is never our intent to have a guest leave and feel unsatisfied with the stay, and apologize for any inconvenience. We can assure you this is not the norm as we pride ourselves in maintaining very high standards. For this reason, we take these matters very seriously, and your opinion is important to us. Please know that your comments are being addressed with our team in case our standards have not been fulfilled at some point. We would wish another opportunity to better serve you on a return visit. We would like to re-earn your trust, and know we can. Kind regards Hotel Riu Vallarta Online Reputation Manager
Read more
US$168 - US$300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
riu vallarta hotel nuevo vallarta, riu vallarta nuevo
MexicoPacific CoastNayaritRiviera NayaritNuevo Vallarta
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing