We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

GR Caribe by Solaris

Save
Share
Blvd.Kukulkan, Km 20.5 Lote 64B, Bis. 2a Etapa, Seccion A, Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500 Mexico
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia
Official Hotel
US$156
View Deal
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (4194)
360
Panoramas (15)
Pool & Beach (899)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 21/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from GR Caribe by Solaris
Updated 21/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#26 of 250 hotels in Cancun
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GR Caribe by Solaris, Deluxe All Inclusive Resort, features a unique and elegant Mediterranean architecture, stylish interiors in a casual and relaxed atmosphere. A Luxury family friendly resort that has it all. The property features 200 luxurious guestrooms and suites, most of them with breathtaking ocean or lagoon views. Imported drinks and use of all facilities and services of sister resort Royal Solaris Cancun (located next door).This private resort is unique in its kind in all Cancun and the Mexican Caribbean. A Luxury family friendly resort that has it all. Free Wi-Fi. The hotel will charge an additional fee of $25.35 MXN (Mexican pesos) per room, per night. This is a municipal tax due to environment sanitation.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Mini golf
Babysitting
Parking
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
4,424Reviews371Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,445
  • 1,202
  • 405
  • 203
  • 170
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
tikntimebomb wrote a review Yesterday
DeSoto, Texas83 contributions64 helpful votes
Been choosing this place for the last 4 years and each time I am beyond satisfied. This time was wonderful as well. You can tell everyone did their best to make this a top notch resort. The staff was very attentive and respectful. The housekeeping staff kept our room clean every day. They were on point as always. Jeyson at the pool bar was very funny and was always there to fill our drinks and anything else we needed. Irma, the bartender made the drinks delicious and she made them fast. She was very friendly and had a wonderful smile. Even the towel lady Carina had a great smile and she worked tirelessly to make the pool area look great and the guests happy. Fernando, the activities host was very funny and even though GR Caribe's pool area was not as festive as Royal Solaris, he made us all laugh and have a good time with his music trivia. He had a great personality and smile. Riky at Cafe Solaris was so friendly we wanted to take him home with us! Oliver, the other activities person was really funny and made us all enjoy his bingo time. Darvin at La Fuentes was very nice and attentive as well. All in all the whole staff at both hotels were very friendly and helpful. If I could make a suggestion about the bracelets though? Maybe use the paper ones next time. I scratched myself so many times with those plastic ones. Also the men's restroom by the check in counter was awful. It smelled horrible. Other than that, this place will always be called home. Thanks GR Caribe!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
hubertusjules wrote a review 5 Mar
Hartford, WI9 contributions14 helpful votes
The staff at the GR Caribe and the Royal Solaris are all outstanding, With Covid, sanitizing and mask wearing were always the standard. The assisted buffets and pool snack bars made us feel safe and well taken care of. Our experience with the covid testing went smooth but I thought it could have been explained a little better at check in. The food at Marco Polo and Veneto were a little sub par this year compared to previous years, the variety seemed very repetitive. Our waiters Mizrain and Louis Madrigal were so nice to us and we enjoyed their humor and great service. Shout out to Natolli at Las Fuentes also for great service.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Kristen S wrote a review 4 Mar
2 contributions2 helpful votes
I would like to provide a review of my recent trip to GR Caribe. Per their posts on Facebook and similar information on their website, covid tests are provided for a 4+ night stay. We stayed Thursday-Monday, Feb 18-22. Upon checking in late Thursday afternoon, we inquired about getting our covid test scheduled. GR Caribe referred us over to the Solaris and said they were open 930-5pm. Not a problem. Friday afternoon we went to schedule our covid tests and were told there were no appointments available for Saturday, they do not perform tests on Sundays and could not/would not accommodate us. They also told us that covid testing was only provided if available, which is NOT what is advertised. Also, they are only doing covid testing 9a-12p. How is this even remotely enough time to accommodate two resorts worth of people? The girl at the covid desk wrote down the name of a local pharmacy and said we could take the city bus to get tested without providing further information. I spoke with Stephanie Munoz, manager, who was not helpful and frankly, rather ambivalent about the covid testing policy stated by the facility. We were essentially told it our problem, not theirs, "Sunday's don't count" when it comes to providing testing, and that they would not be paying for us to leave the resort to get our own tests that the resort was supposed to otherwise provide! Also, Monday was not even an option to get tests done prior to our flights as all the resort testing says 24-48hrs for results. We spent 2.5hours of our vacation and resort time outside of the resort to get tests that were supposed to be included in our visit. This situation was poorly handled by management and patrons are being misled by the information provided by the resort prior to arriving. We should have been given guaranteed appointments on the day of check-in. This was our third year at this resort and we have always enjoyed it and had great experiences. Unfortunately, given the way this situation was handled and how we were treated, we will be looking to try another resort for our annual February trip.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hoteles Solaris de Mexico, Director General at GR Caribe by Solaris
Responded 3 days ago
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. We are deeply sorry to hear about the inconveniences you had this time here with us, please accept our apology as this is not the service we strive to provide.We are currently working in the Covid Test Process to improve the aspects you mentioned. Please be sure that all the comments we receive from our guests we use them as a guide to improve our services in the areas that we need the most work. We hope that despite the inconveniences you have enjoyed the other amenities that characterize us; like the family activities and the great view of the Caribbean Sea. We hope to see you again to improve your perception. Best Regards General Management
Read more
Be_Coul wrote a review 3 Mar
10 contributions
+1
GR CARIBE BY SOLARIS is one of the best resorts I have ever visited! They deserve so many compliments. The hotel was in the heart of the hotelera zone, making it easy to get around, and easy to navigate transportation, and excursion pick ups. There were activities for everyone to do. The activities included Kayaking, bingo, shows/performance, jet skis, to jungle and boat excursions, and many many more. There is never a reason to feel bored at this beautiful location. The all inclusive option is great due to a ginormous selection of eateries across both resorts, as well as a lathe selection of non alcoholic and alcoholic drinks, plus 24/7 room is also fantastic. Everything is offered at this location, literally everything. The staff is fantastic! They’re professional, courteous, friendly and super inviting. Enrique (the bartender) and the waiters (Elit especially) of each restaurant are phenomenal! The staff is proactive and try to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. If you are thinking about booking this location, do it! You will not regret it!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Hoteles Solaris de Mexico, Director General at GR Caribe by Solaris
Responded 4 days ago
Thanks for taking the time to share your very detailed review regarding your stay. We are so glad to receive your very positive comments, we work very hard to have everything perfect for our dear guests and therefore appreciate your recognition to our efforts. We will keep improving everyday to always surpass your satisfaction during each visit. Thanks for mentioning the names of our staff members who went above and beyond with their service, we'll make sure to share them your compliments with a proper recongition from our end as well. Thank you so much for choosing us, please come back soon! Best regards, General Management
Read more
VanillaEisch wrote a review Feb 2021
South Lyon, Michigan2 contributions4 helpful votes
Pretty much everything was wrong with this place. When we checked in, the manager offered us an "upgrade" to the resort down the street, one of their sister properties, that was supposedly a better room with a terrace. So we got shuttled over there. After a long check in process by a woman who seemed totally indifferent, we made our way to the room. Wow. The room was dingy, drab, musty and looked like a Motel 6. We went back downstairs and told them that wasn't going to fly. So they had to check us out, refund my card, find our luggage, and get us shuttled back to the Caribe. This whole process took about 1.5 hours. Once back at the Caribe, no apology given and we were sent off to our new room. This one had a fan in the bathroom that sounded like power tools and a sopping wet floor. I got a call to come back to the front desk, as they had grossly over-charged my credit card (at both hotels). While getting this matter cleared up, I asked about scheduling our Covid tests. The desk agent said I had to walk over to the other hotel to speak to someone there. (no offer to call there for me to help set it up). So, I trekked over there, looking for this person. I walked up to a desk near the lobby where two employees were talking. Neither stopped their conversation to acknowledge me. I waited and waited... it was like I was invisible. Finally a different employee walked over to see if he could help and he informed me that the Covid agent had left hours ago. So, another wasted hour of the day. Sub par accommodations, sub par customer service. Definitely look elsewhere- this place is not worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Look elsewhere!
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hoteles Solaris de Mexico, General Manager at GR Caribe by Solaris
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you had during your stay, we are truly sorry we didn't meet your expectations with our facilities and our services. We have shared all your feedback to the different areas for immediate actions where needed. Best Regards, General Management
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$146 - US$319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gr caribe by solaris cancun hotel cancun
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooCancun
NUMBER OF ROOMS
200
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about GR Caribe by Solaris
What are some of the property amenities at GR Caribe by Solaris?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at GR Caribe by Solaris?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at GR Caribe by Solaris?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at GR Caribe by Solaris?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to GR Caribe by Solaris?
Conveniently located restaurants include NAVIOS Fusion Mexican Food, El Galeon del Caribe, and Km 19. 5 Restaurant & Bar Cancun.
Are there opportunities to exercise at GR Caribe by Solaris?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does GR Caribe by Solaris have an airport shuttle?
Yes, GR Caribe by Solaris offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at GR Caribe by Solaris?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does GR Caribe by Solaris offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at GR Caribe by Solaris?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to GR Caribe by Solaris?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Zona Arqueologica El Rey (2.9 km) and Scorpion’s Temple (7.2 km).