We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Blvd. Kukulkan, Manzana 52, Km 11.5 zona hotelera, Cancun 77500 Mexico
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
US$265
View deal
Expedia
eDreams
Agoda.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (7121)
Room & Suite (1068)
Videos (2)

About

#21 of 273 hotels in Cancun
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located on the best beach in the hotel zone, where the beautiful white sand and the incredible turquoise blue sea of the Caribbean emerge in one. Its location, design and wide range of services, make of NYX Cancún, a Paradise for families, couples, or groups of Friends to enjoy unforgettable days of rest. The Hotel NYX Cancun has 196 rooms and suites beautifully designed with unique details, equipped with everything that’s necessary to guarantee an unforgettable vacation of pure rest and maximum comfort. On top of the unbeatable location of these rooms, it provides spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea and the Nichupté Lagoon.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Aerobics
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Airport transportation
Car hire
Spa
Couples massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Lagoon View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish

Location

85Good for walkers
Grade: 85 out of 100
34Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
19Attractionswithin 0.5 km
9828Reviews730Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 6,426
  • 2,008
  • 703
  • 317
  • 375
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mark R wrote a review 5 Feb
1 contribution
Poor beach management. First time having a complaint. Taking towels and belongings off beach while at breakfast. They did not deal with people reserving beach chairs during the night. They penalized, removed our belongings during breakfast. Breakfast buffet opened at 0700 we were at the beach at 0730. we returned to the beach at 0830 and our belongings where gone, and someone else where in our chairs..
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: poor beach management
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Relaciones Publicas Cancun, Director General at Hotel NYX Cancun
Responded yesterday
Dear markrK8131LU, Thank you for sharing your valuablre review. We hope that you were able to enjoy all the good services that we have to offer. An apology if you have difficulty trying to get a sunbed. We have a total of 216 bed chairs for free. There is no enough space on the beach area, to have 1 sunbed per guest We have a beach and pool rules, on which we will be more firm, since there was a lack of empathy from the guest this season: it is not possible to "reserve" a sunbed for more than 30 min without use and not before 8am. In order to give the opportunity to all of our guest to make use of the sunbeds, and thus avoid sunbeds set aside for several hours without use. This information it is given upon arrival and it is displayed at our pool and beach area. We hope you can visit us agian, to offer you a better experience. Warmest regards. Guest Experience Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
melmo1 wrote a review Aug 2022
Woodstock, Canada243 contributions309 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
My friend and I booked this hotel somewhat last minute. We are both regular visitors to Mexico, I had mostly been staying at higher rated all inclusives in the Mayan Riviera area but we wanted something more central, walkable and closer to the airport for this trip. We chose NYX for those reasons. I was a BIT nervous because this is only (generally) rated a 3.5 star but I was very pleasantly surprised! It should definitely be rated higher. We arrived around 8pm in the evening. As this is a smaller resort...the bus dropping us off couldn't fit in the driveway so they left us on the street. We had to roll our bags up a ramp ourselves to get to the lobby. The person checking us in offered an upgrade to a master suite for $40. I didn't ask if that was $40/per person, per day..per week...because at that moment I wasn't really interested. We were taken up to our room quickly by a bellman. We had booked a sunset suite and I will say, don't google that on youtube (other than mine!) and expect your room to look like those ones....those videos must be of master suites. Anyway, to me a suite should have a sitting area...this really is just a large hotel room (so kind of wished I had asked more questions about the upgrade!). But it is a very nice, modern, clean and large hotel room. A sitting area would have been nice but everything worked out fine without it. They only have king beds (a bit of a down side for friends travelling) and it was comfortable, lots of pillows. TV had an incredible number of English channels. AC worked well and the shower had lots of hot water. Only small issues with the rooms...the wristband key card took on average 3 times to get the door to open and some outlets didn't work. The last point on the room...I had messaged the hotel to advise it was my friend's birthday and they truly went above what most "nicer" resorts do...they decorated the room both on our arrival date and her birthday, put a sigh on the door and delivered cake and sparkling wine both days. Very impressive! The hotel itself has a sort of...hotel with an all inclusive plan feeling rather than an actual all inclusive resort. This was fine for us but if you are looking for things like night time shows, a kids club, 24 hour drinks/food, coffee shop...they don't have those here. As long as you know that going in, really not a concern. The grounds...I'm just going to say if you have ANY issues with mobility or stairs, this really isn't the place for you. It is sort of built in a hill so...you have to walk UP from the road to get in at the front and DOWN to get to the beach and main pool. A lot of stairs and Mexico clearly doesn't have any laws about hand rails or width of stairs. Again fine for us but important to note. There are elevators that go from the lobby to the room floors and they work relatively well (though oddly not connected to each other so..if you hit the 1 button it is just for 1 elevator). Just as a note, they use energy saving lights in the hallways...when the elevator door opens at night you are basically stepping into darkness....the lights turn on pretty quickly but it's pretty creepy for those few seconds! There are 2 pools but really only one gets used...which is a shame. The one right off the lobby is classified as the "quiet pool" and it definitely is quiet. There is maybe 8 chairs around it total (and there is room for many more). Also no where to get a drink on this level during the day. It's a shame because I think more people would use it if there were chairs and a place to get a drink. The pool itself is actually a bit bigger, more shaded and way more refreshing than the main pool. It also has a really cute hot tub area that seems to get very little use. The second pool is down the stairs towards the beach...this is the main pool. It is pretty small (so again not many chairs...but there isn't room for more). We managed to sit by this pool for 2.5 days of our week stay (because it was so hard to get seats and also it is really hot/not much shade). They have music playing, activities during the day...definitely more of an all inclusive vibe. The a few more chairs down to the beach which is lovely. Depending on the day it ranged from clear and calm to wavy and seaweedy. We spent most of our time at the beach and loved the bar/food service (which was very goof most days). The food and beverages....honestly everything was very good. As most of the restaurants people can just walk in and pay to eat at (like not just hotel guests) the food quality is quite high and the servings are much bigger than your usual all inclusive (lesson learned when we WAY over ordered at the Italian). Breakfast was buffet only in the lobby. it was okay...pretty small..I am not a huge fan of buffets in general but always found stuff to eat. Lunch you can have in the beach restaurant or order from your beach chair. It was from a menu and was generally very good. Dinner for a week stay you can make reservations at the Italian twice (we went once), the Hibatchi once (we didn't use this) and then the Japanese you can sit at the sushi bar (HIGHLY recommend) or a regular table (also good) as many times as you like or the beach restaurant (rotating theme menu with a small buffet for appetizers and dessert. I was a bit disappointed in the Italian (nothing wrong with it at all, I had just read really strong praise for it and was expecting to be wowed). The Japanese was honestly some of the best sushi I've had (we ate there twice, try to hold out for the sushi bar!) The beach restaurant was very good , not a huge menu but we always found something to eat (usually had 1 vegetarian, 1 meat, 1 chicken, 1 seafood option plus the little buffet area). Drinks....they really need to post signs showing what is included in the all inclusive and what isn't. Not having that laid out put their bartenders in some awkward arguments with guests asking for premium stuff that wasn't included. It's a shame that more higher end stuff wasn't included but even without it the drinks were good. Always freshly made, no pre-made slush and very cold. The one thing I would point out about the bars, they do close early (the Magic Bar by the pool closes at 10pm and the lobby bar closes at midnight). I wish the Magic Bar stayed open until midnight (or at least 11pm) because the lobby bar, while it is nice, is very small and totally inside. It can feel loud and crowded (and honestly I know everyone is sick of covid but I still prefer to be outside as much as possible). As an alternative, they could put some tables outside by the quiet pool (which is attached to the lobby) so people could sit out there and use the lobby bar. Last but not least, the staff. All of the service was VERY good....from the bartenders to the wait staff to the cleaners. Everyone was friendly, attentive and seemed to enjoy their job. I will say once we checked out....they cut your wristbands off (but let you keep them and stay at the hotel until 5pm). When the servers saw those cut wristbands...the level of service got noticeably less attentive. I can't say as I really blame them but it's kind of a sad last impression of what was otherwise awesome service. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for something well priced in the hotel zone and you are okay with not having ALL the amenities a traditional all inclusive has. It is a perfect home base to explore the area from and still have all your food and drinks included. I would definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Upgrade to a master suite if you want an actual suite (sitting area)
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
16 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Relaciones Publicas Cancun, Director General at Hotel NYX Cancun
Responded 11 Aug 2022
Dear melmo1, Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review. We are overjoyed to read that you had a great time with us, specially that you had enjoyed the attentive and friendly services that our staff offered you at all times. We appreciate the good comments regarding your comfortable room and the details that was sent for your friend birthday. It is gratifying to read that you had enjoyed the delicious quality and variety that our bars and restaurants offered you. Indeed, we have a lot of stairs, however we also have ramps around the hotel in order to make an easier access to all of our guests. Your comments are really important to us, because it helps us to improve our service. We hope you can visit us again and pamper you even more. Warmest regards. Guest Experience Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stephanie m wrote a review 5 Feb
Eduardo was amazing!! He was fast, friendly and always accommodated us with everything we needed. Eduardo was working very hard with lots of tables and was able to still provide the best service. Everyone here is amazing and works extremely hard.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Relaciones Publicas Cancun, Director General at Hotel NYX Cancun
Responded yesterday
Dear stephaniemJ907YN, Thank you for sharing your kind review. We are really glad to read that you had a great time with us, specially that you had enjoyed the attentive and friendly service that our staff offered you at all times in order to pamper you. We hope you can visit us again, and make you feel at home. Warmest regards. Guest Experience Manager,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Voyager12790790095 wrote a review 5 Feb
Thank you to my friands Victor Francisco and Rodrigo.to make oui holidays wonderful, we made bracelets Witherspoon the.boy and the.volley-ball Was so funky, thank you so much! We going to Come.back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Relaciones Publicas Cancun, Director General at Hotel NYX Cancun
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Voyager12790790095, Thank yo for sharing your kind review. We are really glad to read that you had a great stay with us, specially that you had enjoyed the friendly service and activities that our entertainment team offered you, giving you a fun experience. We hope you can visit us again, to pamper you even more. Warmest regards. Guest Experience Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JEVGENIA D wrote a review 5 Feb
2 contributions
First off all we would like to thank all the staff for their kindness, professionalism and an extra smile. Yelena, the head of the reception made the last day of our vacation magical, thank you for your seance of hospitality! What a nice experience at Nyx Hotel, took us several month to choose a perfect location for us to stay in Cancun, and you have reached all of our expectations. The food, tree restaurants to offer different experiences, special thanks to Oscar at japanese restaurant for an amazing show. The Magic bar near the pool with the animations and the barman who just knew what you would enjoy, the beach with the palm tree, Spa on the beach with the kindest praticiens you may find, the cleanliness of the room and the property all together. The hotel is lively, but not too nosy, perfect for a couple escape. Thanks again and we will definitely see you soon!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Relaciones Publicas Cancun, Director General at Hotel NYX Cancun
Responded 2 days ago
DearAPED76, Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review. We are truly happy to read that you had an excellent stay with us, specially that you had enjoyed the attentive and friendly service that our staff offered you at all times in order to make you feel welcomed. It is gratifying to read that you had enjoyed the delicious quality of our restaurants and bars. We appreciate the good comments regarding the relaxing service that our spa offers, as well as the cleanliness of our facilities. We are looking forward to seeing you again, and pamper you even more. Warmest regards. Guest Experience Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dalyab wrote a review 5 Feb
2 contributions
This is my second time coming to nyx. Foods amazing. Staff is wonderful. Eduardo was my all time fave waiter. He’s so attentive and kind. Ask for him at breakfast. I will definitely be coming back! Love it here!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Relaciones Publicas Cancun, Director General at Hotel NYX Cancun
Responded 2 days ago
Dear dalyab2022, Thank you for sharing your kind review. We are really glad to read that you had a great time with us, specially that you had enjoyed the delicious quality of our restaurants, as well as the attentive service that our staff offered you at all times. We hope you and visit us again, to pamper you even more. Warmest regards. Guest Experience Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin E wrote a review 4 Feb
Great location with friendly staff , Jhoan Dedies is a great bartender that made our first experience in Mexico a great one. The rest of the staff treated us like family even if for a short time. We will be back!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Relaciones Publicas Cancun, Director General at Hotel NYX Cancun
Responded 2 days ago
Dear B4864IDmartine, Thank you for sharing your kind review. We are really happy to read that you had a great time with us, specially that you had enjoyed the friendly and attentive service that our staff offered you at all times in order to pamper you. We are looking forward to seeing you again, and make you feel at home. Warmest regards. Guest Experience Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mariec162023 wrote a review 2 Feb
Montreal, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
Really love it but they really need more chairs at the beach. Food is awsome, the service and the room are WOW. They don’t have a lot of show in the evening but a little band each day was correct for us.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Relaciones Publicas Cancun, Director General at Hotel NYX Cancun
Responded 2 days ago
Dear mariec162023, Thank you for sharing your lovely review. We are really glad to read that you had a great stay with us, specially that you had enjoyed the beauty of our beach area, and the delicious quality that our restaurants offered you. It is gratifying to read that you had appreciated the attentive and kind service that our staff offered you, as well as your comfortable room. We do have more sunbeds, an apology if you have difficulty trying to get a sunbed. We have a total of 216 bed chairs for free. There is no enough space on the beach area, to have 1 sunbed per guest. We have a beach and pool rules, on which we will be more firm, since there was a lack of empathy from the guest this season: it is not possible to “reserve” a sunbed for more than 30 min without use and not before 8am. In order to give the opportunity to all of our guest to make use of the sunbeds. We hope you can visit us again, to pamper you even more. Warmest regards. Guest Experience Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ina P wrote a review 1 Feb
While the beach and hotel were beautiful, it was the service staff who made the trip extra memorable. The massage therapists (Raquel and Javier) the waiters at Umami, the staff at breakfast, the deck and the beach were exemplary. Fabiana, Joel, Antonio, Carlos, Daniel, Sophia, Isis and Gamaliel, Edgar (beach) and Eduardo (to name a few) were so helpful and kind.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The beach chairs get snagged pretty early so you have to ensure you get up early to reserve your...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Relaciones Publicas Cancun, Director General at Hotel NYX Cancun
Responded 6 days ago
Dear 65inap, Thank you for sharing your kind review. We are really happy to read that you had a great stay with us, specially that you had enjoyed the attentive and friendly services that our staff offered you at all time in order to pamper you. It is gratifying to read that you had enjoyed the beauty of our beach area and the good services that we have to offer. We hope you can visit us again, and make you feel at home. Warmest regards. Guest Experience Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HotLipsXOX wrote a review Jan 2023
Seattle, Washington7 contributions2 helpful votes
We enjoyed staying at the NYX hotel. We will probably be back. GREAT food!! My only frustration is not having enough beach lounges for as many guests they allow. But if you go early in the morning, you can claim a lounge for the day.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Relaciones Publicas Cancun, Director General at Hotel NYX Cancun
Responded 1 week ago
Dear ELISABETH H, Thank you for sharing your kind review. We are really glad to read that you had a great time with us, specially that you had enjoyed the delicious qualiy of our restautans. An apology if you have difficulty trying to get a sunbed. We have a total of 186 bed chairs for free. It is not possible to add more sunbeds, as there is not enough space on the beach, without obstructing the walkway. We have added a new beach rule, it is not possible to "reserve" a sunbed for more than 30min without use and not before 8am. We hope you can visit us again, to pamper you even more. Warmest regards. Guest Experience Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$130 - US$388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
avalon grand cancun hotel cancun, avalon grand resort, cancun avalon grand hotel, avalon cancun, avalon resort cancun
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooCancun
NUMBER OF ROOMS
196
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL NYX CANCUN - Updated 2023 Prices & All-inclusive Resort Reviews (Mexico)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel NYX Cancun
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel NYX Cancun?
Nearby attractions include AMMA Club (0.3 km), Playa Caracol (0.4 km), and Forum Beach Cancun (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel NYX Cancun?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel NYX Cancun?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel NYX Cancun?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel NYX Cancun?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel NYX Cancun?
Conveniently located restaurants include Umami, Restaurante Chianti, and Tacos Villanos.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel NYX Cancun?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hotel NYX Cancun have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel NYX Cancun offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel NYX Cancun?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel NYX Cancun?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel NYX Cancun?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Zona Arqueologica El Rey (4.9 km) and Scorpion’s Temple (0.5 km).