We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blvd. Kukulcan Km 20 Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500 Mexico
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Package deal
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/04/21
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/04/21
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (9275)
Room & Suite (2203)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 17/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sun Palace
Updated 17/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#4 of 253 hotels in Cancun
2020 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
As the first couples' only resort in Cancun, Sun Palace is the perfect retreat from the every day stress. This oasis for couples lies along the coast overlooking the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Conveniently located at just 15 minutes from the airport, this property provides service and amenities of the highest level. We invite you to enjoy this old favorite in a whole new way. A stunning coast line serves as a dramatic backdrop for this recently renovated resort featuring 252 richly appointed guestrooms. Five restaurants and three bars cater to a full range of tastes and moods. Golf enthusiasts can play all year round at the nearby Moon Spa & Golf Club which houses the only Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course in Cancun. Expert hands deliver spa services to those who seek a serene and rejuvenating experience.
Read more
Room & Suite (2,203)2,203
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Steam room
Adults only
24-hour security
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Room service
Seating area
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Package deal
7,784Reviews1,175Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 5,878
  • 1,350
  • 389
  • 105
  • 62
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
dogladyhb wrote a review 17 Apr
rome24 contributions18 helpful votes
First I must say I take offense at anyone giving resort anything less than a perfect score. We have been members for over 10 years and love sun palace. The staff and resort are as close to perfect as you can get. We are coming again in December and can’t wait! When I read some of the less than perfect scores of sun palace I just have to snicker....we could travel anywhere and so could the two other couples that we travel with. We choose to visit sun palace every year and reinvest in our membership. We own our own company and understand the business model of how to continue to be successful. We do it with just two people. Sun palace does it with an entire huge staff....
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Emily J wrote a review 17 Apr
New York City, New York4 contributions2 helpful votes
I don’t normally write poor reviews. If something is good, I’ll say so. If I have a negative experience, it really has to outweigh the good for me to give the resort a poor review. Over the last ten years or so my husband and I have visited Mexico 1-2 times a year for 4-5 nights. It’s our de-stress, disconnect, and do nothing but relax trips. We like all-inclusive resorts because we can just lock up the credit cards and everything is taken care of. Normally we travel as a couple only, but this trip we travelled with four other couples. So we were able to compare notes. One couple are Palace Members. They weren’t happy either. The other couples also had just so-so experiences. Check-In: pleasant experience. We were offered an upgrade for $95 per night, which included (among other throw-away things like upgraded shampoo and a cheap aromatherapy machine((eye-roll here)): bigger room, bigger balcony, better view, a bottle of premium liquor, a bottle of wine in the room, a 25-minute back massage per person, access to the VIP lounge and VIP section at the beach. We like to have a great view, a big room, and access to a quiet lounge so we went for it. Come to find out our room and balcony is the exact same size as the other couples who didn’t upgrade and they also had a bottle of wine in their room, but we were two floors up. One couple who didn’t upgrade had a higher floor. The only thing the others didn’t have were snacks in the room. Our “snacks” were two tiny bags of chips and a small bag of peanuts (even though we registered with the hotel as having nut allergies). The one bottle of “premium” liquor we asked for that we were due as part of the upgrade package was “out of inventory.” It’s starting to get a little comical at this point, but I’ll get to the premium liquor issue later in the review. My husband went to the VIP lounge at around 7pm our first night and there was no one there! Meaning no bartender: no drinks. My husband went to concierge to discuss the upgrade package, but the deflection practices were hardcore at the front desk, and it’s not worth it to us to spend more than a few minutes arguing. We just want to enjoy our vacation. So we let it go. Cleanliness: all staff wore masks. Most guests also wore masks, but there were a few who did not, but they were very few. My biggest concern was the bathrooms at the pools. Each time I was in there no one was wearing a mask accept for me. It’s an enclosed space so that was a little uncomfortable. There also weren’t signs for masks requirements at these restrooms. The only signs I saw were for inside the main building. We were asked to use hand sanitizer when entering restaurants. I expected to see more proactive cleaning, but I didn’t see any of that. For example: this hotel is vertical so we all had to use the elevators to get to our rooms. I expected to see someone clean the buttons at least once during the day of the 5 days I was there. Not once. And they were covered in fingerprints. The phone in our room was also dirty. Like it hadn’t been wiped down ever. Even pre-covid I would be grossed out. Spa: again, part of our package was two 25-minute back massages. My husband isn’t really into massages so I asked if I could combine the two into one 50 minute massage. I got a hard no on that one. That’s just silly. It takes more time and effort for two short massages than one longer massage. Overall the spa was lovely and the staff was very nice. Food: some was 7 out of 10. Some was 10 out of 10. Some was 4 out of 10. The buffet turns into the Mexican restaurant at night, and that was the best meal we had. Everything else was just kind of “fine.” Staff: 10 of 10. Truly the best. Super nice and accommodating. Antonio is the buffet is a real charmer and he goes above and beyond. This brings me to my next point, which based on how awesome and accommodating the staff is, can’t really be their fault. It must be a hotel directive. Ordering drinks: at most of the bars the actual “premium liquor” is hidden behind other bottles. If I saw a premium liquor on display it got to the point that I was really surprised because they are hidden at every bar. And if you asked for a premium liquor there was a sense that they had to give it to you because you asked, but that they would get in trouble for it. As if they would be reprimanded if the bottle wasn’t full enough at the end of the night. Those bottles also disappeared very quickly and you would be told there is no more left. Context: for the most part I’m not ordering top shelf liquor. Vodka sodas, mimosas, things like that. I’ll order maybe 1-2 margaritas a day, but for those I want top shelf liquor. I think this whole 5-day trip I probably ordered four margaritas in total. This brings me to one of my most frustrating experiences where I was flat-out deceived. I was at the swim up bar. They were pretty slammed so there were other bartenders from inside helping out. The pool bartenders wear blue and the guys who were helping out were wearing white. My husband and I had just gotten to the pool. I asked for two margaritas with Don Julio Reposado from one of the bartenders in white. He had a look on his face so I decided to watch while he made the drinks. Normally they make the drinks at their station. He didn’t do that. He went behind a pillar so as to be somewhat hidden. He took the Don Julio off the shelf, unscrewed it, and placed it next to our glasses. He then took a different tequila and poured it into our drinks. He capped the Don Julio and put it back on the shelf. The Don Julio was never poured. I made a decision right then to take the drinks, but call him out on it. I’m not one to make a scene and create negativity for the people around me. I simply said to him that I’d take the drinks, but that I saw what he did. He flat out denied it and walked away. When the crowd died down and he went back inside, there was no more Don Julio. It sure goes fast when you’re not even pouring it. This happened our last day at the resort and unfortunately sealed the deal on me having to write this review. All so they could save two shots of tequila. And if you thinks any of this is because we don’t tip, I assure you we do. Check-out: hard sell by the timeshare people for a return trip. ONLY $1200 + taxes for four nights to use within the next two years. $750 in resort credits. They were asking $299 up front to secure this deal. And you would have to sit through their timeshare “presentation” which is only 90-minutes. Everyone knows it’s not 90-minutes and they pass you around to 4 different levels of salespeople before they let you leave. This is not a good deal. Pass.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Laureen wrote a review 16 Apr
1 contribution
Just spent a fabulous week at Sun Palace...Super clean and safe..food was amazing..and our favorite wow " That Bar" spending our nights with Mario ..Jose.. and Franco..super kind and friendly evertime, and we consider them out new best friends. All the staff was amazing..Orlando and Endino took care of us all day at the pool, cocktails and lunch. ...and so many others to mention. Please thank them all for us. We most certainly will be back!! Thank you for having us..!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Response from , Propietario at Sun Palace
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Laureen0822, Thank you very much for choosing us as your holiday destination. We are honored to read that during your stay we were able to meet and exceed your high expectations with our cleaning protocols, drinks and the excellent service of our amazing staff. We appreciate your recognition to Mario, Jose, Franco, Orlando and Endino's service, as this is what we aim for, to provide a memorable experience to our guests! We look forward to welcoming you again! Best regards, Walter Barbieri General Manager Sun Palace
Read more
meowmeow_7 wrote a review 15 Apr
Saint Paul, Minnesota21 contributions22 helpful votes
We just spent 6 days here. If you're looking for a resort with not a lot going on (which is what we wanted), this place is for you. Room: No complaints. Clean, comfortable with nice amenities. It's curious that the room was first stocked with Chi products but was restocked with their spa products. Beach: The first two days it was great. Then the waves and wind took away most of the sand and left about a five foot drop down to the water level. So that left the... Pools: If you don't get up early and claim a chair by one of the pools, especially the party pool, you're out of luck for the day. There are signs posted that state that items will be removed when unattended for an hour, but that never happened. The pools themselves are nice and the entertainment staff were great. Food and drink: Amazing food. Great variety and service was usually excellent (although I could have done without the "yummy, yummy, yummy" when a waiter put my plate down). For drinks, if you want the top shelf liquor, you must ask for it or you'll get the in-house stuff. Shows: Don't miss the fire show on the beach. The others were on the cheesy side in an outdated and stuffy ballroom. Membership: It's easy to avoid the membership sales pitch. We were cornered once and after a few nos, we were left alone. COVID precautions: This is why we choose this resort. Everyone was mask-compliant and I felt 100% safe both personally and in terms of COVID. Getting around Cancun: Take the $1 red bus instead of a taxi.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Response from , Propietario at Sun Palace
Responded 2 days ago
Dear meowmeow_7; First and foremost, thank you for your preference in Sun Palace and for taking the time to share your experience at the resort. At Sun Palace we strive to provide quality service beyond our guests’ expectations; your feedback allows us to strengthen the areas that need our attention. Furthermore, we are very happy to learn that overall you had a pleasant stay and you were able to enjoy our facilities, delicious food offerings and the service from our amazing staff. We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you the positive Palace Resorts experience you have come to expect from us. Respectfully, Walter Barbieri General Manager Sun Palace
Read more
Marnel G wrote a review 11 Apr
Pahrump, Nevada2 contributions
We were scheduled to come the week of our 20th anniversary last October. Instead I spent our anniversary in the hospital and was diagnosed with leukemia :-( Our anniversary trip is now rescheduled for May 12-19, 2021. I can't wait to write a wonderful review. This will be our 18th visit to Sun Palace and absolutely love this resort. Thank you for making the refund process so easy for us last October. See ya soon!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from social media Palace Resorts, Dueño at Sun Palace
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Marnel G; First and foremost, we thank you for choosing us to enjoy a splendid vacation. We regret to hear what happened to you, we wish you a prompt recovery and we are very honored to know that you will visit us very soon, rest assured that you will enjoy an unparalleled experience at Sun Palace. See you soon! Cordially, Walter Barbieri General Manager Sun Palace
Read more
US$281 - US$577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
sun palace hotel cancun, cancun sun palace
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooCancun
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sun Palace
What are some of the property amenities at Sun Palace?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Sun Palace?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sun Palace?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Sun Palace?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sun Palace?
Conveniently located restaurants include NAVIOS Fusion Mexican Food, El Galeon del Caribe, and Km 19. 5 Restaurant & Bar Cancun.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sun Palace?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Sun Palace have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Sun Palace offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sun Palace?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sun Palace offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sun Palace?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Sun Palace?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Zona Arqueologica El Rey (3.3 km) and Scorpion’s Temple (7.7 km).