We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Iberostar Selection Cancun

Blvd Kukulcan Km 17, Cancun 77500 Mexico
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (7902)
Pool & Beach (1521)
Room & Suite (1157)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 08/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Iberostar Selection Cancun
Updated 08/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#51 of 247 hotels in Cancun
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Platinum level
See why so many travelers make Iberostar Selection Cancun their all-inclusive resort of choice when visiting Cancun. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a romantic setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you. Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, a minibar, and a refrigerator, and guests can go online with free internet access offered by the all-inclusive resort. Iberostar Selection Cancun features a concierge and room service, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a pool and free breakfast. If you are driving to Iberostar Selection Cancun, free parking is available. For those interested in checking out Avenida Kukulkan (2.6 mi) while visiting Cancun, Iberostar Selection Cancun is a short distance away. While visiting Cancun, you may want to try some lobster at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Harry's Cancún, Puerto Madero, or Porfirio's Cancún. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Iberostar Selection Cancun as you experience all of the things Cancun has to offer.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Golf course
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Tennis court offsite
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
VIP room facilities
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Family Resort
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
6,702Reviews1,306Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4,286
  • 1,530
  • 563
  • 164
  • 160
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Malcatte wrote a review Yesterday
Colorado Springs, Colorado1 contribution
My husband and I spent 3 stressful years without a vacation and finally decided to take a nice, relaxing trip.After a month's worth of research, we decided to go to Playa Del Carmen at the Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar. I reserved a suite on the beach front. We were so excited to just sit quietly on our patio and relax. I prechecked in as they requested and all was good. Then we got there. The guy at the gate couldn't find our names. I brushed off that sinking feeling. What could go wrong?We went to the lobby to check in. We gave our names and the resort we were staying in. The young man looked at us like a deer in the headlights He could not find our names, then went somewhere in the back. He came backand told us that the Paraiso Del Mar resort was CLOSED. I sat there dumbfounded. Fortunately, I brought my receipt. More strange looks, more running to an office as we sat there sensing something bad was happening. We weren't wrong. The young man came back and said he was sorry but the resort they booked us into was closed. The 3 that were open did not have any beach views let alone being on the beach. He said they would put us into a lovely room in one of the other resorts. Then told us he would probably have to charge us and we would have to try to get our other payment back. We were officially in vacation hell. They took us to a room similar to the one we reserved and very nice, except it was right in front of the pool where the noise was constant all day long. I wanted to cry. All of the meals were in a different building and we didn't mind the walk but we didn't get a map or anything. We wandered around completely lost. My husband was so upset the next day, he demanded an oceanfront room, while I was busy calling American Express to make sure they couldn't charge me twice. This was a mistake. Without my knowing, they booked us into the Iberostar Cancun. I had seen this one online and didn't like it because it was like the Hampton Inn. Too late. We were booked there. We arrived and taken to our room on the 5th floor with a partial view of the beach, but right in front of the pool where the music blared sometimes until 12 pm! I believe the price listed was half of what we paid for the Paraiso Del Mar! I couldn't wait to get back home. This mess was unacceptable. Iberostar said nothing when I prechecked in online. If they had notified me it was closed we would have gone somewhere else. All the staff was nice, but the food was just average.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Date of stay: February 2021
Sleep Quality
OKChad918 wrote a review 23 Feb
Tulsa, Oklahoma4 contributions1 helpful vote
I have been to Mexico often, but this trip to Iberostar Star Prestige was by far the best. From the minute we walked in, the lobby was clean and refreshing with ocean breeze blowing in. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a perfect view from our balcony and the food was excellent. Probably the best aspect of all of this was the relaxing and comfortable facilities on the beach. The couples lounge seating and beach side service was 2nd to none. Definitely will return!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Response from Quality Manager Iberostar Mexico, Owner at Iberostar Selection Cancun
Responded yesterday
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for your most appreciative review of your stay at Iberostar Selection Cancun. Our aim is to create a particularly pleasant atmosphere for our guests with our numerous services in our beautifully designed hotel so your words confirming our success are very important to us. It is nice to know that you hold us in fond memories and we hope that you visit us again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Cancun
Read more
Akif C wrote a review 23 Feb
14 contributions17 helpful votes
People! The struggle is real at this place! The pandemic birthday getaway danced between poor and average the entire time. I have visited many resorts over the years and this was our worst experience to date. I have decided to "grade" it with "average" instead of "poor" just because we are still in pandemic and that may have been taking a tool. ARRIVAL. We were told that the resort was at 30% capacity and that guests are placed in the rooms that were vacant for at least 24hrs (I guess COVID measure). So, it's beyond my understanding why not accommodate a guest who is arriving a bit earlier and issuing them a room, rather than making them wait until 3 pm?! Anyway, that was annoying but we went over it. The ROOM itself is outdated. There was what appeared to be at least 1/4 of an inch (a good 6+mm) gap between the door frame and the door on the side of the hinges. One of the shower heads was not functional, and there were only 3 towels in the room. The minibar was poor and included only a few drinks. Windows were dirty, and floors were damaged and dirty in some places. The FOOD was poor. The whole concept of not self-serving at the buffet did not make any sense. Why you ask? We'll if we all have to wear masks why can we just use utensils to take our own food? Staff is handling food without gloves anyway, they are overreaching, and it does not appear that we were better off being as limited as we were than if we were to do that on our own. I got the feeling that the resort used COVID to skim on food. Choices are very poor, and repetitive. The STAFF was ok. It's obvious that they were understaffed. You have one person running from buffet to buffet line trying to serve you. Drinks at the pool would take forever to get, etc. The POOLS looked nice, but they were below expectations. The water was COLD, I mean really COLD. While I did not expect some kind of heated pools (some resorts do have that, and I've stayed at those), I expected them to do something about that. Even hot tubs had cold water, and barely lukewarm at best at some point of times during our stay. The BEACH was one of the best I have ever seen. No rocks, very sandy, and the water had a turquoise color that I have never seen before. Just unreal how beautiful it was. I have to note at the end that I have made some arrangements with the resort in regards to my wife's birthday. Surprise cake and drinks were supposed to show up at 8 am for her birthday, they messed it up. I had to go down to the reception to intervene and they told me they will have it delivered in 10 minutes. We left the room half an hour after that and the cake was not delivered until after that. That was disappointing as it was supposed to be a surprise. Her spa day on the other hand went well so we were pleased about that part. The resort is family-friendly but we were pleasantly surprised by how quiet it was. It may be because of somewhat bad weather but people do not show up to the pools or beach until after 10 am-11 am.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Quality Manager Iberostar Mexico, Owner at Iberostar Selection Cancun
Responded yesterday
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing our resort on your most recent vacations in the beautiful Mexican Caribbean. As we always aim to provide an exceptional experience, we are truly saddened to know that your stay at our resort did not meet your expectations, please know that due to the current situation we have more than 300 measures that have been put in place in every area of our hotels to ensure our guest’s and staff’s safety. Furthermore, we take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback as it is an invaluable tool to identify the specific areas where we have room for improvement. We hope that you can grant us a new opportunity to host you so we can change your perception of our Resort. Kind regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Cancun
Read more
Nsh25 wrote a review 21 Feb
New York City, New York143 contributions21 helpful votes
The resort itself is absolutely gorgeous. The resort is stocked with hand sanitizers and the staff took full precautions during COVID to make sure everyone felt safe and secure. My fiancé and I traveled from USA with the COVID test requirement to travel back home. The resort offers complimentary rapid test, with results in less than 5 minutes. This was one of the best services provided because it saved us the hassle of having to go outside the resort to find somewhere to get a test. The rooms are definitely a bit outdated. As soon as we checked into our room, our AC was not working. The staff was quick to fix this issue, but we did notice that the room would get pretty hot again during night time. The rooms have cable TV which is great when you just want to spend some time in the room. The bathrooms are a bit dated and could use some upgrades, but overall the rooms aren’t bad. There is free room service which ends at 11PM - great options offered and the service is pretty quick! The food comes still hot! It would be great if the resort provided free snacks IN the room for times you get hungry. They do have a refrigerator with some drinks though. Housekeeping does a fantastic job of keeping the rooms clean each day. The view of the beach and pool from the room is stunning. Depending on your room and the angle of your window, you can easily watch the sunrise from your balcony! The food was good. I will say, as a vegetarian, there are limited options, but you will not starve. They have a veggie burger option which tastes very similar to a beyond burger. My partner and I tried the Italian, Mexican and American bistro restaurants. The Italian restaurant is phenomenal - please try this when you’re there. The American bistro is nice, but definitely not enough options for vegetarians. The chef was kind enough to find me a veggie burger though so major props to him! The Mexican restaurant was good and offered some delicious fajita tacos. Oh, if you’re into real hot sauce like I am, definitely ask and you’ll receive! They’ll bring out either a green or pink hot sauce which is delicious! The buffet is great too. We only went for breakfast and the staff were great. The food is delicious for breakout, lots of options (pancakes, eggs, fresh juice, bread, fruits, etc.). What I truly loved about the food was that they had gluten free and dairy free options as well! The pool is the place to be. They have numerous pools for all ages which make it great to space yourself out, especially during the pandemic. The pool bar is closed for obvious reasons, but the staff is constantly around, checking to make sure you are comfortable. The staff by the pool are great to try and keep it lively during the day. Special shout-out to Santiago, Alex and Hector for constantly keeping the fun levels high! The beach is great, but the water is too rough to get in so we just stayed by the pool. Pool chairs were always available. The drinks are extremely watered down. Don't even bother trying to get double, triple shots in your drinks because you will not taste any alcohol. The only thing worth drinking... you guessed it -- shots of tequila. Other than that, we were extremely displeased by the alcohol. The thing that I didn’t like was that for a smoke-free resort, there were people definitely smoking in public areas and especially around children. No one would stop them either. I would say the nighttime entertainment is OK. Not the best, but also understand that they’re doing the best they can during this time. The only reason I gave the resort 4 stars is because on Valentine’s Day, my partner tried to surprise me by ordering some services (chocolates, flowers, etc.) the resort had. He scheduled it to arrive at 10AM, and it never came. Then around 1PM, we return to the room to find some items that he didn’t order and some items missing from the original order. We called the front desk from our room later that night to inform them and were transferred to a department, twice, that was closed. When we confronted the resort the next day, we got a runaround of a response and instead of removing the charge for something we didn’t order, they only gave us a discount on the order. In the grand scheme of things, the price didn’t matter, but the lack of sincerity and honesty really rubbed us the wrong way. We had to speak to three different people, none of whom acknowledged the mistake. Really not a good look. This is our third Iberostar we’ve stayed at and have never experienced something like this. Overall, I’d recommend the resort, but would suggest that you be careful with what services you order. Good place to relax and unwind though.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Room Tip: I think all rooms offer ocean view based on the design of the resort. They're not really...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from Quality Manager Iberostar Mexico, Propietario at Iberostar Selection Cancun
Responded 3 days ago
Dear guest, Firstly we want to thank you for choosing Iberostar Selection Cancun for your recent holiday and for sharing your experience with us. We are really happy to read your enthusiastic comments about our prime pillars we set in place to ensure splendid vacations for our guests. Also, it has been an absolute pleasure to read your praise concerning the cuisine that you enjoyed during your stay with us. It makes us really happy to see that you noticed how important this part of our company is to us. Likewise, we truly appreciate your observations as they will definitely will help us to identify the areas where we have room for improvement. We apologize for any inconvenient caused on Valentine’s Day, despite the mishap you describe we truly hope you’ve had a lovely day. Once more we thank you for this complimentary review of our hotel and we hope to see you again in the future. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Cancun
Read more
Molly M wrote a review 20 Feb
1 contribution
I read a lot of reviews before coming to Iberostar so here is how it went! First time at Iberostar but have stayed in Cancun many times. Service was EXCELLENT. They all bend over backwards to accommodate you. Very friendly and attentive. Top notch. Food is good. Tons of options. Buffet and also the restaurants at night. Also 2 snack bars. TIP: email ahead of time to book reservations for dinner. I was so happy I did. You can always opt out and do the buffet at night too. We ate at the steakhouse 2 times - it was great. Japanese restaurant was just ok. And the American bistro was good. Each day they made fresh food at 12pm by the pool. Some seafood one day and chicken tacos another day. They don’t serve bottled water (only filtered) so my advice is to go down town in a cab and grab a case of water. Not worth the risk. Pool bar isn’t open but you can still sit there and drink but no one is bartending. There is a bar on the beach and also next to the pool. Staff and hotel is very good with handling Covid. All staff always wear a mask and make sure that you do too when necessary (like ordering drinks for example at the bar). They also have you sanitize each time you enter a restaurant. There is on site Covid testing available if you need it to fly back home. Gym is closed. They do have outdoor TRX classes though and a few weights outside. Rooms are dated in the main hotel where you can get a balcony ocean view. But definitely fine and we don’t spend any time in the room anyway. The shower was cold 2 days in a room and they upgraded us ASAP and were very accommodating and understanding. Overall GREAT time and would highly recommend!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Quality Manager Iberostar Mexico, Owner at Iberostar Selection Cancun
Responded 3 days ago
Dear guest, It has been a real pleasure to read this excellent review of your recent holiday with us at Iberostar Selection Cancunl and we appreciate that you took the time to write and share it with us. We are delighted that you noticed "how we care" that we have put in place with more than 300 measures, following the advice of our Medical Advisory Board to keep everyone safe. It is very satisfying for us that you have kept us in your fondest memories and it would be wonderful to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Cancun
Read more
US$213 - US$515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
iberostar cancun hotel cancun, hilton cancun hotel, hilton golf spa resort cancun, hilton cancun resort
Iberostar Cancun
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooCancun
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Iberostar Selection Cancun
Which popular attractions are close to Iberostar Selection Cancun?
Nearby attractions include Parque Maya Tours (0.9 km), Playa Delfines (0.6 km), and Mayan Museum of Cancun (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Iberostar Selection Cancun?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Iberostar Selection Cancun?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Iberostar Selection Cancun?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Iberostar Selection Cancun?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Iberostar Selection Cancun?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bacoli Tratoria, Restaurante Condimento, and Pina Colada Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Iberostar Selection Cancun?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Iberostar Selection Cancun have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Iberostar Selection Cancun offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Iberostar Selection Cancun?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Iberostar Selection Cancun offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Iberostar Selection Cancun?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.