We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara

Save
Share
Av. Lopez Mateos, 830 - Fracc. Chapalita Guadalajara - Jalisco, Guadalajara Mexico
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Book now with 10% off!
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Expedia
Booking.com
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
traveler_photos_ffffe986 (977)
room_amp_suite (261)
videos_ffffdbd1 (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#16 of 154 hotels in Guadalajara
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara is located in the heart of Guadalajara, in the most exclusive area of the city, 3 km from Expo Guadalajara and 6 km from historic centre. In Guadalajara the architecture bears witness to its colonial past and blends with modern life. Guadalajara International Airport (GDL) is approx. 22 km away. This hotel is ideal for both leisure and business travel and boasts free WiFi, an outdoor pool - heated in winter -, spa and 24h gym. The 550 modern designed, elegant decorated rooms offer maximum comfort as well as relaxation, and in our 16 stylish and modern conference rooms with capacities for up to 1,300 persons you can successfully organize your events and meetings. We also offer our guests 2 restaurants, 2 bars and a takeaway corner.
Read more
room_amp_suite (261)261
Full view
Property amenities
hotel_amenity_paid_private_parking_on_site
amenity_free_internet_title_ad3
hotel_amenity_outdoor_pool
amenity_fitness_center_title_ad3
hotel_amenity_bar_lounge
hotel_amenity_airport_transportation
amenity_business_title_ad3
hotel_amenity_conference_facilities
hotel_amenity_parking_garage
hotel_amenity_wifi
hotel_amenity_pool_beach_towels
hotel_amenity_heated_pool
hotel_amenity_restaurant
hotel_amenity_breakfast_available
hotel_amenity_breakfast_buffet
hotel_amenity_breakfast_in_the_room
hotel_amenity_poolside_bar
hotel_amenity_car_hire
hotel_amenity_banquet_room
hotel_amenity_meeting_rooms
hotel_amenity_spa
hotel_amenity_facial_treatments
hotel_amenity_massage
hotel_amenity_baggage_storage
hotel_amenity_concierge
hotel_amenity_currency_exchange
hotel_amenity_non_smoking_hotel
hotel_amenity_butler_service
hotel_amenity_24_hour_front_desk
hotel_amenity_dry_cleaning
hotel_amenity_laundry_service
hotel_amenity_ironing_service
Show more
Room features
hotel_amenity_air_conditioning
hotel_amenity_housekeeping
hotel_amenity_room_service
hotel_amenity_safe
hotel_amenity_vip_room_facilities
hotel_amenity_minibar
hotel_amenity_refrigerator
hotel_amenity_flatscreen_tv
hotel_amenity_iron
Show more
Room types
tags_category_tag_non_smoking_rooms_1
hotel_amenity_suites
hotel_amenity_family_rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
hotel_style_tag_6296
hotel_style_tag_11286
Languages Spoken
hotel_amenity_english, hotel_amenity_spanish
Hotel links
Special Price:Book now with 10% off!
1459Reviews26Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 825
  • 425
  • 92
  • 35
  • 82
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
B J wrote a review May 2021
Long Beach, CA81 contributions96 helpful votes
It’s only been our first night here out of a total of 4 nights. So far, so many events/facts to give this place 1 star. Given Mexico’s standards (I come here a lot), the Riu Guadalajara falls FAR short of what it could be. — upon check-in, they tried to downgrade me to a room without a couch, whereas I had reserved the more expensive room with a couch. Obviously thought I wouldn’t know the difference. — upon arriving to our room (Room 3401, in case management even cares to follow-through), it REEKED of cigarette smoke. Had to change rooms. House-keeping/management fail to allow this room to be in this condition, when the entire hotel is NON SMOKING. — moved to Room 3501. Shower soap (dispenser in shower) did not work. I had to fiddle with it for a while and take it apart. Apparently, housekeeping had installed a new soap cartridge but not taken off the cap! Another fail. — “Lounge” for Executive rooms is TRULY disappointing. NO WINE IN STOCK AS PROMISED I Had to ask front desk. It took 15 minutes for me to sit there like an idiot in silence (no music or ambiance of any sort in there). It finally came, but at that time my wife had joined me so I politely asked foe one more glass. We waited for about 25 minutes. The guy never came back! Screw ir, we decided to share the one glass. It was HORRIBLE. Charles Shaw is 100,000 better. Fail! Don’t offer wine I’d you don’t have it, or if it’s that horrible. — Ice — I tried to get Ice, but it was 1 floors down. Elevator wouldn’t work, as keys are programmed only to your specific floor. In found some stairs and took them instead (oh, and so then I was wondering why anybody could still get to any floors via the stairs??). I got to the ice machine but it was empty. Has nobody come across this situation here or anticipated that people want ice and this their keys should be programmed accordingly?? — No ice in hand, I went to my room to call the front desk. Nobody answered. Ring ring ring. I tried some other Numbers on the phone with no success. I tried the front desk four or five more times over 15 minutes. No answer. I gave up. — next day, I got a cup of coffee from that sad lounge. I made my way to my room. (This just happened 15 minutes ago) as I type this review. I was stopped by an employee and told I could not take the coffee to my room. (Note: it was only ONE cup of coffee, no other plates or spoons or food or anything.). I was made to walk that cup of coffee back to the lounge and leave it there. Ridiculous and infantile. I’ve never seen such low service at supposedly a nicer hotel. — Pool — worse than Motel 6. Or maybe the same. But that I don’t care about (well, it’s just another reason you shouldn’t stay here.). — breakfast. Overall, I would say it is very good. Perhaps one of their strengths. LOL. But, the 3 plateaus of chiliquiles were pretty much out, and nobody replaced them even though I kept checking for about 30 minutes. I finally gave up. And this was about one hour and a half before closing time. ATTENTION MANAGEMENT — If you read ALL the issues above (except for lousy pool), you’ll see that all of it is due to poor management / training / staff / human decisions. I am very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience via Tripadvisor while staying with us. We regret to read that your first impression of the hotel has not lived up to your expectations. We are unable to derive enough information or which agency you booked through due to your anonymous Tripadvisor user name, so we always encourage guests who are still at the hotel to contact our Front Desk staff in order to resolve any issues during the stay. We truly hope you can resolve any issue with our Front Desk staff while being at our hotel and we look forward to hearing about the rest of your stay. With our best wishes we remain, Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara Online Reputation Manager
Read more
MilloROOTS wrote a review Mar 2021
Holbox Island, Mexico1 contribution1 helpful vote
3rd time, always great experience, every visit to Guadalajara I’ll stay at Riu Plaza, close to everything nice and clean suites, best service, next time I’ll bring my family and they will love it thanks to everyone
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
ur_question.prompt.11
Location
Cleanliness
Service
userrating.prompt.190
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Responded 12 Mar 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and your kind comments. As a team of staff, we strive to provide our guests with the best experience possible during their stay, so we are pleased to hear that we made you feel welcome here and your stay with us met all of your expectations. We are delighted that you had such a good time, and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Sibarita66 wrote a review Mar 2021
San Luis Potosi, Mexico121 contributions83 helpful votes
Great hotel overall! Pros - Touchless service - good buffett - friendly staff - great location Cons - Valet parking very but very slow - Front Desk a little off will stay again, no doubt, loved the view of the top floor
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Responded 10 Mar 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time during your travels with us. At the same time, we apologize for any inconvenience, and we are always looking for way to improve our product and service, therefore, your feedback is very helpful. Thank you so much for your compliments! You cannot imagine how much we appreciate your five-star review, and we cannot wait to serve you again! Kind regards Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Ksiyas76 wrote a review Feb 2021
Riverside, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
Loved it super nice view on the 7th floor... im ready for my next stay.. hope i can make it at the end of the monr (feb2021) all rhe staff was great super nice. We had couple of free items from rhe mini bar wich that was nice GREAT HOTEL!!! 👍🏼👍🏼
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
ur_question.prompt.11
Location
Cleanliness
Service
userrating.prompt.190
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara
Responded 24 Feb 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your five-star review with us. We sincerely appreciate your kind comments and we are delighted to hear your stay was enjoyable. Please come back and visit us again as it will be our pleasure to assist you in anyway. Kind regards Hotel Riu Plaza Guadalajara Online Reputation Manager
Read more
dcastelucci wrote a review Dec 2020
Guadalajara, Mexico704 contributions177 helpful votes
+1
I have mixed feelings for this hotel. Before my stay, I called them to ask if there were vegan options in the breakfast buffet. The person who took my call said there were no options, and it was a buffet so guests shouldn’t expect personal service. She was rude so I filed a complain, and the manager wrote me explaining they do have a special vegan area in their buffet and can also prepare more options if needed. When we arrived service was amazing, super gentle employees. When we arrived the next day for breakfast, the hostess followed me to explain where vegan options where and list several other options the chef offered to prepare. They were so nice to me! And the food is amazing. In the evening we called room service for ordering dinner. The person who answered the phone said they’d call back to send the menu, but never did. We ended up calling Uber eats. Then we took the blanket because it was a bit cold, and there was a chunk of hair - disgusting!!!. We called room service again and all the person said was “well send a new blanket “. No apologies whatsoever. In the next day they were super nice at the restaurant again and offered a vegan risotto the chef created, I’m still stunned by its flavor, loved it. The pool area is very beautiful and service is great - despite the presence of weird bugs. So I can say cleanness is not good, but face to face service is great and the restaurant is amazing both in quality and service
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$83 - US$218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MexicoJaliscoGuadalajara Metropolitan AreaGuadalajara
NUMBER OF ROOMS
550
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing