We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A superb privately owned hotel situated in the town centre with 45 En Suite rooms fully modernised and tastefully decorated, with telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, T.V, Hairdryer, trouser press. etc., Excellent menu's available including a la carte evening menu, off road secure parking. Convenient for all local routes and town facilities such as law courts, civic centre.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Public Wifi
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Budget
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
75Somewhat walkable
Grade: 75 out of 100
48Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
6Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
29
42
40
40
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
29
42
40
40
71
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 222 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

We were a group of 24 from our local NHS Retirement Group and returned here for the second year for our pre Christmas lunch get together. The lunch was excellent again this year and everybody really enjoyed their choices from the menu. In fact there...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Cherylwelshgirl
Reviewed 4 days ago

Very comfortable one night stay at the Castle hotel in Merthyr. Room was clean,very spacious and had everything that you needed.The hotel itself is a bit old-fashioned but the owners are doing their utmost to renovate it.The staff were extremely welcoming and the kind lady...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Gweriniaethwr
Response from castlestreet, Manager at Castle HotelResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for your kind words and high scores. I am so glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that all facilities and services offered have been to your satisfaction. I hope we will be able to welcome you back...More

Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

This place was a nightmare from start to finish however at first we did try to make the most of it. That was until the night staff gave our room key to a middle aged man who proceeded to let himself into our room at...More

Date of stay: October 2018
2  Thank Retro_planet
Response from castlestreet, Manager at Castle HotelResponded 3 November 2018

Dear Retro_planet, Firstly I would like to point out that you have stayed with us for two nights and you have never with one word mentioned the cleanliness, the windows and the hot pipes to any of the members of staff you cam in contact...More

Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

Me and a friend found the castle hotel on the internet while we were on a roadtrip through the United Kingdom. After a long drive from Weymouth(England) we arrived at the castle hotel. The first thing that we noticed was that there was no free...More

Date of stay: July 2018
1  Thank 875lucasve
Response from castlestreet, Manager at Castle HotelResponded 7 November 2018

Dear Lucas, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I can assure you that we do not free car parking on our website or any other third party websites so I am unsure where you got the information from. The...More

Reviewed 17 September 2018

If it were in my power I would give the Chef at this Hotel a Michelin Star or at the very least a 5 Rosette standard! He/she definitely knows how to make ordinary ingredients extraordinary. I certainly wouldn't think of putting a chutney with Scallops...More

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Meurig63
Response from castlestreet, Manager at Castle HotelResponded 7 November 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words and high scores. I am so glad that you have enjoyed your meal with us and that all facilities and services offered have been to your satisfaction. I hope we will be able to welcome you back...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Nicholas M
16 August 2018|
Answer
Response from Tariful H | Reviewed this property |
Hi Nicholas, We didn't bring any bicycle with us. However, they have a big storage room inside and on their website it is shown that there is free storage for bikes. However, you can contact them for further details... More
0
Votes
Katie O
8 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from castlestreet | Property representative |
The multi-story car park is free from 6pm - 8am Monday- Saturday and closed on Sundays. If you wish to park your car there from 8am until 6pm then it costs £3.50 per day. The multi story car park locks every night from 8pm... More
1
Vote
Vix0707
26 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Andrew R | Reviewed this property |
No but it is very good value
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Book somewhere else!!"
Bayleywillow
2 Sep 2018
Read review
"Excellent location"
tarifulh2018
7 Aug 2018
Read review
"Book at own risk, check bedding!"
amyd669
15 May 2018
Read review
"Only ate there"
K722LHstevenc
23 Apr 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$67 - US$83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
castle hotel merthyr tydfil
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouthern WalesMerthyr Tydfil
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing