We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Carretera Macao Arena Gorda S N Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23301 Dominican Republic
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Additional 5% off
Hotels.com
Expedia
Barcelo.com
Trip.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (11312)
360
Panoramas (99)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Occidental Caribe
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#82 of 149 hotels in Punta Cana
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Finding an ideal family-friendly all-inclusive resort in Punta Cana does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Occidental Caribe, a nice option for travellers like you.

As your “home away from home,” the all-inclusive resort rooms offer a flat screen TV, a minibar, and air conditioning, and getting online is easy, with wifi available.

Guests have access to 24 hour front desk, room service, and a concierge while staying at Breezes Punta Cana. In addition, Barcelo Premium Punta Cana offers a pool and breakfast, which will help make your Punta Cana trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

If you like Mediterranean restaurants, Barcelo Punta Cana Hotel is conveniently located near Passion By Martin Berasategui at Paradisus Punta Cana, Kukua Beach Club, and Aqua.

Occidental Caribe puts the best of Punta Cana at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Room & Suite (1,682)1,682
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Babysitting
Parking
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Water park
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
Languages Spoken
French, Russian, Spanish, German
Hotel links
Special Offer:Additional 5% off
13,385Reviews1,254Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 5,338
  • 3,719
  • 2,068
  • 1,185
  • 1,076
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Victor L wrote a review 20 Feb
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic8 contributions6 helpful votes
I don’t normally use social media to make comments about anything but this time I could not wait to get home and take my time to write it down about this place . We arrived to this place on February 09/02/21 to 11/02/21 and they welcomed us with a nice welcome drink As soon we arrived there we were following al the protocols due to COVID then we got room early got our clothes changed and went to the pool and we met Michael veloz animation assistant manager who gave us a warm welcome animation team were great We loved the food here drinks, shows,staff,and the hotel Before we arrived we were kind of nervous but once we got there and saw everything they way they follow up we are ok . I will definitely come back here this places deserve 5 star review 🇩🇴🇩🇴🇩🇴🇩🇪🇩🇪
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Katie D wrote a review 6 Feb
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic10 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
I've been to a few resorts in Punta Cana, and Occidental Caribe was a great combination of quality and price. It's not the most expensive, so it's also not the HIGHEST quality of them all, but overall it is clean, has good food, has all the amenities you could want in a resort. It is totally worth its price, and I would return. ---- I also particularly enjoyed the activities the Animation team put on and their general rapport with guests. Raisa and Nissa were there the whole week to keep us company, get us dancing, and teach us how to play dominos like Dominicans. Thank you for the great service!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Alvaro Fontenla, Owner at Occidental Caribe
Responded 2 weeks ago
Estimado Cliente Agradecemos sinceramente el tiempo que invirtió en compartir su opinión después de su visita a nuestro hotel. Las opiniones de nuestros clientes son de suma importancia para asegurar el cumplimiento de nuestros estándares de servicio en todo momento. Le damos las gracias por señalar la limpieza de nuestras instalaciones, siendo plenamente consciente de que este es un aspecto de vital importancia para que nuestros huéspedes se sientan cómodos en nuestro hotel. Nuestro personal de limpieza lleva a cabo una limpieza a fondo de nuestras instalaciones y habitaciones cada día. También es bueno saber disfrutó de las delicias culinarias preparadas por nuestros chefs profesionales que siempre se esfuerzan por ofrecer una amplia variedad de comidas típicas con el fin de complacer a todos los paladares. Gracias por informarnos de que fuimos capaces de conquistar el suyo. Una vez más le damos las gracias por compartir su experiencia con nosotros y esperamos poder servirle de nuevo pronto. Álvaro Fontenla Director Occidental Caribe
Read more
BIlly wrote a review 16 Feb
Saint Clairsville, Ohio1 contribution2 helpful votes
We took 5 of our kids there in Feb 2021. The grounds and resort itself are very pretty. The pools were nice and clean. The beach are was beautiful too. Anyone that says the staff was rude had to have been rude to them first. We were always greeted with a friendly hola and always treated with respect. The bartender Omar saw us wandering on our first day and offered help. We were looking for somewhere to eat and he gave us drinks and some info. Very nice guy. The rooms were ok. Water pressure was poor in ours 3203, but the others were good. The rooms were clean and updated. The biggest problem we had was the lack of info for guests. There’s no info in the rooms on the restaurants, grounds, shops, or room service. If you wanted to know anything, you had to go to guest services. They were very helpful, but it was weird not knowing what restaurants were open and what times. Because they were different than what was on their website. I get not having every restaurant open each day with such low capacity, but find a way to inform your guests. The food was mostly good. Small portions but that’s to be expected. All in all a very nice vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Alvaro Fontenla, Owner at Occidental Caribe
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. You can be sure that your comments will be taken into consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the problems that arose during your stay, we hope to continue being an option so that we can have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Álvaro Fontenla Director Occidental Caribe
Read more
Anni Valoy wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
The food was the worst part, was horrible, u had nothing good to eat and also was not enough. The guest service was not good. And people were awefully rude. Talked in the most horrible way to the guests. HORRIBLE!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Alvaro Fontenla, Owner at Occidental Caribe
Responded 4 weeks ago
Estimado Cliente En primer lugar gracias por la cortesía de su tiempo por haber elegido Occidental Caribe. Reciban nuestras más sinceras disculpas por no cumplir con sus expectativas con respecto a la gastronomía. Los departamentos implicados han sido informados acerca de sus comentarios y estamos seguros de que nos ayudarán a mejorar. Trabajamos muy duro, tratando de superar las expectativas de los huéspedes y su opinión nos ha estimulado para continuar esforzándonos para lograr su satisfacción si decide honrarnos con una nueva visita. Leemos con gran preocupación sus comentarios sobre nuestro personal, ya que, debido a su servicio, han sido elogiados repetidas veces por su profesionalidad y amabilidad, por lo que lo que usted escribe no es habitual para nosotros. Apreciamos que haya tomado el tiempo para relatarnos su experiencia personal y le aseguramos que su opinión será transmitida a todos los jefes de departamento para la evaluación y posterior toma de decisiones que sean necesarias. Una vez mas, muchas gracias por elegir nuestro hotel en esta ocasión, esperamos volver a tener la oportunidad de servirle en un próximo futuro. Álvaro Fontenla Director Occidental Caribe
Read more
Evelyn P wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Check in: slow and not friendly or welcoming, they do not guide the guest correctly about the facilities or activities, you need to research on your own. The same to reserve the restaurant, they only told us yes for a night of three that we stayed and it was super slow for half an hour to make a restaurant reservation. Room: the one they assigned us, had the air cond set up at 25, it won't lower the temperature, and it was in heating mode, they left the bathroom wet when they cleaned the room. Food: has no flavor, tastes bad as if they didn't even use salt, you see it pretty and then when you try it tastes flavorless to nothing, the bacon over cooked, fried food has burnt oil flavor, long lines to eat, we ended up eating bread and cheese because we wouldn't do the long lines. Don't expect shrimp or anything interesting on the buffet. Drinks: the cocktails leave a lot to be desired, the watered down pina colada doesn't even look like what it should taste. Almost non-existent waiter service, no one came to ask what you want to drink or anything, the tables are never made, if you ask for something they tell you sorry I can't right now, I'll come later etc ... and there you wait, it was frustrating, there should be more waiters for the buffet, same with the waitress at the pools and the amphitheater bar, you call them and they can't never say yes, always running and ignoring you, they leave you waiting. The amphitheater bathrooms always dirty. Pools are good, only bad thing about it is that the swimming bar was always left alone, nobody to serve you, beach is ok, it is near the hotel but it is too rough. In short very bad experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Alvaro Fontenla, Owner at Occidental Caribe
Responded 12 Jan 2021
Estimado Cliente Although we are quite surprised and dismayed by the content of your review regarding your holiday at our hotel, please rest assured that your comments have been taken onboard and revised by the entire Management team, however we would like to take this opportunity to clarify certain aspects of your review as a simple matter of exactness of the information reported. It is with great concern that we read your comments about our staff mostly because their service has been praised many times for their professionalism yet genuine friendliness and we assure you that what you described is not the norm for us. We appreciate you taking the time to notify us of your personal expérience and rest assured that your review will be discussed with all departmental managers for evaluation and action as needed. We are sorry to read that our buffet offer did not meet your expectations in terms of flavor, our professional Chefs strive to impress our guests with high standards and the possibility to savor the best of our local cuisine as well as a great selection of international delights. However as we receive guests of all nationalities and ages, we try not to over spice the dishes in order to please all palates, for this reason there is a wide spice station included in our buffet for our guests to help themselves and season their dishes to their liking. Our pool bar is not working due to the sanity measures. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Álvaro Fontenla Director Occidental Caribe
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$103 - US$209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo punta cana hotel punta cana, breezes punta cana, barcelo punta cana resort, barcelo premium punta cana, barcelo dominican punta cana, punta cana barcelo
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Barcelo Punta Cana
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
798
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Occidental Caribe
Which popular attractions are close to Occidental Caribe?
Nearby attractions include Hard Rock Casino Punta Cana (0.9 km), ORO Nightclub (1.0 km), and Little Switzerland (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Occidental Caribe?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Occidental Caribe?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Occidental Caribe?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Occidental Caribe?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Occidental Caribe?
Conveniently located restaurants include Montserrat Manor Restaurant, Toro, and Los Gallos.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Occidental Caribe?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Occidental Caribe have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Occidental Caribe offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Occidental Caribe?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Occidental Caribe offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Occidental Caribe?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Spanish, French, German, and Russian.