Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Carretera Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
Traveller (11228)
Panorama at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro
360
Panoramas (16)
Pool & Beach (2991)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#32 of 51 all-inclusives in Punta Cana
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Enjoy the authentic Caribbean at an exclusive, adults-only resort. Its small details make big your stay and the personalized service you receive will make you feel as if you were in heaven. Exclusive suites, innovative restaurants, dreamlike swimming pools…relax in this tropical paradise and enjoy the best vacation you’ve ever had. Have an extraordinary experience, and leave the worrying to us; we’ll take care of you
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Casino and Gambling
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Golf course
Mini golf
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Nightclub / DJ
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Carretera Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 23000 Dominican Republic
9,491Reviews1,299Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 5,167
  • 2,465
  • 1,046
  • 429
  • 384
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Clo3422 wrote a review Jan 2020
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom25 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our first holiday in the Dominican, initially was impressed on arrival room spacious and hotel and gardens were kept clean and tidy. The room was in need of some modernisation with a basic shower that frequently ran hot and cold. The bed was comfortable and big but the room was quite noisy usually from staff shouting and banging which started around 6am. Did get a lot of disturbance by cleaners coming in the room at random times during the day especially our first morning which after a late 10 hour flight we were woken at 8.20am and on one occasion a maintenance man saying he needed to fix the air conditioning even though we hadn’t reported a problem. I’d say the staff were 50/50 with friendliness which didn’t improve despite tipping. One particular man in the piano bar was consistently rude. The room clean seemed to get worse as the second week went on even though I tipped every day with missing towels and no effort. The food was ok and hit and miss depending on the restaurant you went in one waiter even told us not to bother ordering the salmon burger in the rodeo restaurant as it wasn’t very nice?!? We did prefer the buffet restaurant over the sister hotel even though we had gone there specifically for the adults only section. I think tea and coffee should be self service at breakfast I was never offered milk with my tea so had to get my own glass of milk and we were constantly flagging down a waiter for drinks. We also had a young foreign couple two doors down smoking cannabis on the balcony so hence why I wouldn’t say this is 5 star luxury the clientele did let the hotel down. The beach was ok but didn’t have much depth due to a lot of palm trees so if you wanted to be by the sea there were very little sun beds left. The pool area was full at 8am with the usual sunbed towel reservations but generally did improve in the afternoon so we didn’t really struggle for a sunbed. The on-site medical shop is very expensive as we discovered so take a lot of medication just in case. Finally we did discover a cigarette butt in the flower display on the table at breakfast but never had an other issues with cleanliness. Overall ok but due to the cost and time for someone travelling from the UK I would say try somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Catalonia_Caribbean, Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Responded 2 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, We thank you sincerely for visiting us. It is truly a pleasure to welcome you. I would like to extend our apologies for the inconveniences you’ve encountered. Our goal is always to offer you a high quality and personalized assistance throughout your stay. For that matter, we have already take in consideration all your remarks in order to improve our services and, therefore, your general experience. We remain always at your complete disposal. Warm regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tomcat737 wrote a review Feb 2020
Trenton, Canada15 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Came with my wife last week of Feb. Was here some years ago on the other (family) side and liked it then and was compelled to return to the adult side as it is much quieter.
NO REGRETS. This property is very nice, clean, comfortable and close to the airport (15 minutes). The staff are mostly very helpful and cheerful. No real pressure to participate in any activities which are minimal. No sales people or timeshare BS. This place is quiet and laid back. If you want to party hard then this is not for you! There are a multitude of restaurants to choose from and you DO NOT have to reserve. Food is great. Keep in mind that these resorts have to cater to many different palates- so there will be things which may not suit you- but there was always much to choose from and no reason to go hungry. No issues with sickness (do NOT drink the TAP water) and they supply you with TONS of bottled water. Ice cubes are fine. The room was fine with some minor issue with a broken door handle which was promptly repaired. The beach was OK but there was some sea grass which they cleaned up regularly. The ocean water did have some of that grass but the water was fine and warm not a real issue for us.
Shout out to Erik (animation Team) and Miguel (Catalonia Bavaro side Bar) AND
the young lady at the Check-in (can't remember her name but she was expecting!).
Overall experience was great and when we go back to the DR, this will be our go to for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JFernandez wrote a review Oct 2020
New York City, New York47 contributions46 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
To start, our reservation was at the Catalonia Punta Cana (Fri-Mon stay), when we arrived they checked our temperature and gave us hand sanitizer. ALL staff have their mask on at ALL times. When checking in, we noticed A LOT of locals arriving as well. I know the country is promoting internal tourism so I sort of expected this specially for the weekend. I asked to upgrade to the Catalonia Royal (a little pricier because you pay per night and per person). We decided to get a suite with it’s own semi-private pool (extra $75 per person per night), and let me tell you it was the best decision we made! The Catalonia Royal was practically empty! The staff was incredibly attentive and simply amazing! There’s buffet for breakfast where everyone must take a disposable glove to serve themselves. Shoutout to Nilsa! Best waitress ever! Also Luis 1, Juan, and Luis 2! Super nice guys.

Food: Reservations are required for dinner. Tapas was very tasty. Sea blue was delicious. The Thalassia buffet had plenty of options and lots of typical dominican food at all times. Food sometimes would be a bit salty, but that wasnt an issue. Gregory at the omelette station for breakfast was great! Servers go out of their way to help you. No snack bar! Luckily our room included room service from 8am to 10:30pm. You must enter the restaurant with your mask and if you’re getting up to get food you must have it on.

Bars: always empty, lots of options. Great bar tenders.

Beach/pool: we stayed mostly at our private room pool which was amazing plus the jacuzzi. But the main pool was always practically empty and lots of cabanas and lounges. The beach was a disappointment! It’s hurricane season so there was tons of seaweed! But very quiet to tan and enjoy.

Spa: amazing 50 minutes massage! So relaxing!

Overall: the room was amazing, worth the upgrade. Hotel staff were phenomenal. TAKE LOTS OF SINGLES $$$ these workers deserve it or go to reception they’ll give you change (thank you Elizabeth and Enrique)! Will definitely return just to relax and be in a peaceful quiet resort like this one.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Responded 19 Oct 2020
Dear Jinnette, Thank you for your wonderful review. It has been an honor to have you as our distinguished guest and be part of your vacation. Our main goal is to provide the best guest experience and we are glad to know that we were able to exceed you expectations. Regarding the beach, we regret that during your stay the sargasso environmental phenomenon has not allowed you to enjoy our beaches, no doubt our staff makes a great effort to try to keep our beach clean, however there are days when the wind and tide do not allow us to maintain, it as we would like. We look forward for your future visit in order to create another wonderful holiday for you. Best regards, Social Media Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DonnaLaurie wrote a review Jan 2020
London, Canada2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
this was my second time in the DR, first at this resort and it was amazing. Nelson made sure we were checked in and all was good, he checked on us through the vacation to make sure we were happy. We stayed on the adults side with full access to the family side. The rooms were impeccable, the bars and entertainment fantastic, especially the poolside bar where Andy served, he is just an amazing and charismatic bartender. The food was great at all the restaurants but we enjoyed the Japanese restaurant the most, but seriously there is not one complaint i can make about this resort or our time at it... everything you could ever ask for! The landscape is great, very pretty... please make sure to tip the hard working folks who tend to the landscape here, they were so shocked and appreciative of my tip gesture, they help make this resort as beautiful as it is! The beaches were very well taken care of and what i liked the most was that you could walk safely along the shoreline for miles and miles (great if you are an avid walker like myself). I would go back in a heartbeat.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: try for a room in the buildings further from the pool for noise levels during the day
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James B wrote a review Dec 2020
Orlando, United States3 contributions9 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First I'd like to acknowledge that I get that the resorts are dealing with the operational hurdles that Covid-19 is placing on them. That being said Covid-19 doesn't effect the customer service we should be receiving.
Due to the lack of full capacity the resort was not opening all its' restaurants. This made making a reservation difficult. The staff did not try to see what other places were open at our desired time at its property or the sister property next door. We were the ones saying" how about this one of how about that one"
Not once during our 5 day stay did a waiter come by and get a drink order from us when at the beach or the pool bar. There was plenty of staff around but none came by.
Beach: Weeds everywhere. We arrived on a Thursday and left on Tuesday. The weeds were raked off the beach on Tuesday when the resort was pretty much empty. Why not rake if off for the crowed weekend, why not rake it each day as the other resorts down the beach do? The weeds make the first 10' of the water nasty as well.
Small Bills: The front desk never had change for us to be able to tip. This is very frustrating since we love to tip our favorite servers. it is too hard to travel with 2-3 hundred in small bills and the staff should demand that the front desk have small bill for us to convert!
This was our second time staying at the Royal. Both times we had an upgraded suite with private pool(3404 & 3414) but I am afraid it is time to try another resort. The Royal is showing its age and it seems the other resorts down the beach have more amenities to offer.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Responded 9 Dec 2020
Dear James, We would like to thank you very much for the time you took to share your feedback. Our guests comments and observations, such as yours are vital for improving the details in our services. Please receive our apologies for the mishaps you encountered. Our resort has always characterized for delivering excellent customer service, and we can assure you it is not our standard. We will review in detail your remarks with our Team, and work to prevent similar reports from our future guests. Regarding the beach, we regret that during your stay the sargasso environmental phenomenon has not allowed you to enjoy our beaches, no doubt our staff makes a great effort to try to keep our beach clean, however there are days when the wind and tide do not allow us to maintain, it as we would like. Please be assured that your suggestions will be taken into consideration and that we will do our utmost to improve wherever we can. Once again, thank you for choosing our hotel, we hope to have another chance to have you here and make it up for you, with the flawless experience that you were hoping for. Sincerely, Social Media Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
VeganGirlLove wrote a review Mar 2020
Stoney Creek, Canada140 contributions34 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful Adults Only resort, with family resort next door. I must admit, the beach is not my favorite, but what the beach luck the grounds of the resort make up for it.
This hotel is À la carte dining only. As a vegan traveler, I didn’t have too much of a trouble finding something on the menu, but you can only eat so much of the same thing every day. What I would recommend is to connect with the chef, and he will be more than happy to create something just for you. However, be cautious, not everyone understands fully what Veganism is, so make sure to stress when ordering that you don’t want anything with eggs, butter, cheese, meat, etc. My waiters, sadly I can’t remember their names, were just amazing, just out of this world. Best service EVER! By the second day they already knew what I had for breakfast and made sure soy milk was on the table for my coffee. Truly made me feel special.
Kudos to the management for hiring such an amazing staff. The experience for the travelers is unforgettable.

As mentioned before, the grounds are beautiful and clean. We stayed in the Privileged Duplex Suite & Swimming Pool room, definitely recommend splurging. Having your own full-size pool is an experience you will never forget. The room has two floors, full on bathroom living room on the main floor, bedroom and half bath upstairs.

Overall, I had an amazing experience from the beginning to the end, and I will be returning hopefully soon.

Much love
AK
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We stayed in the Privileged Duplex Suite & Swimming Pool room, definitely recommend splurging.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
evansv20 wrote a review Jun 2021
New York City, New York16 contributions16 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked Catalonia Royal Bávaro to celebrate my birthday . I honestly was excited because I stayed at the family side 3 years ago and had a great time so I wanted to try the adults only side .

I booked the duplex swimout, the room the really nice but the toilets barley worked . The toilets had low pressure , we had to fill them with water in order to flush properly.

There’s no music being played by the pool or throughout the resort so it’s EXTREMELY quiet .

I really wanted to enjoy this resort but there were a few racist and rude staff members and even guests. I experienced a group of guests by the pool randomly making racist remarks towards my skin color. Tonight my boyfriend and I booked dinner on the family side at rodeo steak house . We got seated at 9:20PM got our drinks at 9:40pm , one waiter approached us to take our order . Before we could get a word out he walks and away never to return . When we finally were able to place our order , we waited and waited and waited and never got our food.

We watched a couple next to us get their appetizer, entrée and dessert. I watched waiters look at our empty glasses multiple times and just kept walking to ask the guests next to us if they wanted any refills . I’m not sure if this was because we were the only black couple sitting in that section but we were completely ignored the entire time . We decided to leave , so we never got a chance experience the steak house .

The only staff member that was amazing was our cleaning lady.

I travel three times a year and never felt this discrimination before . I’m honestly very disappointed , I will not return and I will Not recommend this resort to friends and family .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Responded 8 Jun 2021
Dear Eva, Thank you for your review. Our main goal is to provide a wonderful vacation experience to all of our guests, and we deeply regret that we did not exceed your expectations with our service. We care that our guests receive a great service, friendly, respectful at all times, and without distinction. We constantly train our Team on customer service skills, emphasizing on those aspects, and the most positive comment we have received since our opening is about the great attitude from our Team. Please receive our apologies if we did not make you feel welcome or well catered to. We will review your comments with our Team, and emphasize our standards on our training programs. Hopefully, we can welcome you back to deliver the kind of experience you have come to expect from us. Best regards, Social Media Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carl R wrote a review Dec 2020
St. Petersburg, Florida375 contributions94 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro December 10 - 13. I booked on trip.com and paid $88 plus tax for about $110 per night for 2 people. The airfare to Punta Cana was significantly cheaper than the airfare to Santo Domingo so it ended up being a very economical trip. The resort is very nice, great people. I stayed in 707 which is halfway between the buffet and the pool. One of my only complaints is that they are not running the carts that transport people around the resort. So truthfully if you get a room near the beach it is a hike to the buffet. So if you have mobility issues, it's a problem. The buffet was large, but only less than half the stations had food. However, having said that, the selection was excellent and the food delicious. For lunch today I had a fantastic Paella and a steak and a filet of fish! Nice selection for lunch. Bases on price alone this resort is hard to beat. Be aware when you come into the airport Uber is blocked and is forbidden from coming into the airport. So you are forced to take a taxi. They started at $35 for the less than 5 mile trip to the resort, but after some negotiations I ended up getting a taxi for $20, but truthfully thats an outrageous price for that trip in this country. But all in all I would suggest this resort.
If you are wondering about covid precautions, everyone is wearing a mask and they are very diligent about that. Coming into the restaurants they take your temperature and give you hand sanitizer. They give you disposable single use plastic gloves at the buffet. I felt they were doing everything possible to be as safe as possible.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Responded 12 Dec 2020
Dear Carl, Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments regarding your recent visit to our resort. We are happy to read that you we were able to exceed your expectations with our exquisite culinary offer and security protocols. Thanks for your observations. We will share your comments with the involved department. We look forward to see you once again in the future for another great vacation. Kind regards, Social Media Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew M wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro resort July 5-10, 2020 for our one-year anniversary trip. We were a bit nervous to travel with the pandemic going on but I’ve got to say we were blown away by the staff’s accommodations and preparedness (especially considering tourism in the DR had just opened back up again on July 1.) We arrived at the resort and were met at the gate by security and were relieved to see how secure the resort was. We checked in and were served a cold beverage and were then escorted to our room. The room was lovely and had been thoroughly cleaned. All of the staff were wearing masks and hand sanitizer was easily accessible anywhere that you went. You could tell the staff was going the extra mile to assure the patrons that they were doing everything they could to combat the spread of covid. We actually felt more safe from the pandemic on the resort than we do back home in the states. Since the resort had just opened up, we were one of maybe twenty couples staying at the resort so it felt super exclusive. Only about half of the restaurants were open at any given time but the staff did a wonderful job in directing us to which ones were accessible on any particular day. The staff greeted you with hand sanitizer when you walked in and the food was spectacular! We enjoyed every single meal that we had!! The pools and the swim-up bars were very clean and the bartenders were very helpful and courteous to our every need. Go see Daniel, he was EXCELLENT and made sure we always had a full, cold drink in our hands. He kept the Bahama Mamas and Presidentes coming! There was always something to do as well. They offered bingo, Spanish lessons, yoga by the pool, and more. Oliver did a SUPERB job coordinating all of the events and activities and always made sure that everybody felt included in whichever activity we were participating in! Overall, we came away extremely impressed by this resort and it’s staff during these tough times. It left us intrigued as to what the experience would be like when there is no pandemic and everything is open and running full steam ahead. We will most certainly be back in the near future and would highly recommend this resort to anybody considering a nice getaway to Punta Cana, DR. Thanks to the staff for an unforgettable first year anniversary!!

Andrew M.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Responded 25 Aug 2020
Appreciated Andrew, We feel honored to be part of a special ocassion like your anniversary. Reading all the highlights that you remarked is the best reward that we can receive from our guests as a result of our staff commiment, that´s why we will share your comments with our team in order to encourage them. We hope this is not your last visit and could welcome you once again with a cold bear and Banana Mama soon. Regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
degrawm wrote a review Aug 2020
Buckeye, Arizona451 contributions139 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here in at the end of July during all the COVID-19 crises. Hotel was very efficient with keeping things clean and people safe. All employees wore masks at all times. Dining areas were sanitized, we felt very safe here. The staff was beyond friendly. When we were hit by the tropical storm staff made sure that food was brought to the room and made sure we were fed. Hotel was a little on the old side, but for the cost of the trip, everything was wonderful. The whole resort was clean and the beaches were gorgeous. We definitely didn't want to leave. We read bad reviews on this resort and they are so off the board on this. This place was wonderful. The resort wasn't totally full, so it was even nicer not to have things over crowded. Only thing was not everything was open, but thats ok we had fun anyway. We are definitely coming back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Social Media Catalonia Hotels and Resorts, Marketing at Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Responded 26 Aug 2020
Dear Degrawm, Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments regarding your recent visit to our resort. We are happy to read that you truly enjoy the had a great experience and we were able to exceed your expectations with our exquisite culinary offer and friendly service. Thank you for recognizing the outstanding service provided by our staff in our areas, this will be shared with our team and certainly will motivate them to continue creating lasting memories to our guests. We look forward to see you once again in the future for another outstanding vacation. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Lise L
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hi, The exclusive area is for people who have purchased either the Gold, Silver or Platinum membership in the exclusive club. Someone from the concierge desk in the lobby may approach you to attend a breakfast. If you do agree, be ready to attend a sales pitch to become an exclusive member from Catalonia. Depending on your travel needs or plans, this may be worth it, however, be ready to spend 2-3 hours for this. If you choose not to go, the privilege area on the beach is right next to the exclusive area. They changed the sign on the beach so now it's easy to see. Either way, we had a great time at the Catalonia in Punta Cana and wish you the same. Just as a side note, the Rodeo is excellent as is the Thalassa. Sea Blue at lunch is great (this is next to the Infiniti pool). The buffet for breakfast and lunch are also great. If you don't mind spending a bit extra - the romantic dinner on the beach is amazing.
Answer from Frank M
Milton, Canada2 contributions23 helpful votes
you can walk the 9 but not the 18
Matt D asked a question Jan 2024
Ste. Anne, Canada3 contributions5 helpful votes
Was the resort a true adults-only, or a adults only section of a larger resort
Answer from Lise P
Ottawa, Canada10 contributions6 helpful votes
the resort is huge. I it as if it is 2 resorts in one: he family side and then completely apart is the adult only section. Those in the adult only section can access the family side but the family side can't come on the adult side. Royal Bavaro Beach, Golf and Casino Resort (Family side) and then you have the Catalonia Royal Bavaro (true adults only side)
Curious30885240300 wrote a tip 1 Jun
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"GO TO MEXICO, OR ANYWHERE ELSE"
Read full review
Ramiro S wrote a tip May 2024
Orlando, Florida116 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The casino agents gave us very good service"
Read full review
Jacqueline G wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Seaweed season was unexpected. Ask your agent"
Read full review
Rae M wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plan your dinners far in advance. Don’t try to set up anything romantic here. Double check your card transactions and their conversion math."
Read full review
King K wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beach has lots of seaweed and smells like dead fish in the afternoon. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Punta Cana area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$1,500 - HK$2,312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
catalonia royal bavaro hotel punta cana, catalonia royal bavaro punta cana, royal catalonia bavaro
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicLa Altagracia ProvincePunta Cana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
255
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CATALONIA ROYAL BAVARO - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Catalonia Royal Bavaro
What are some of the property amenities at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Catalonia Royal Bavaro have airport transportation?
Yes, Catalonia Royal Bavaro offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Catalonia Royal Bavaro offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Catalonia Royal Bavaro?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is Catalonia Royal Bavaro accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Punta Cana HotelsPunta Cana Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Punta Cana
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire