We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Gray's Farm Main Rd, St. John's Antigua
Lowest prices for your stay
US$194
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/06/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
eDreams
Trip.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1743)
Room & Suite (573)
Dining (119)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 04/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 04/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 16 in St. John's
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make Hawksbill by Rex Resorts their all-inclusive resort of choice when visiting St. John's. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a charming setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

While staying at Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, visitors can check out Fort James (2.5 mi), which is a popular St. John's attraction.

Rooms at Hawksbill Hotel Antigua provide air conditioning, and guests can stay connected with free internet access.

You can also enjoy a pool and free breakfast while staying at Hawksbill Antigua. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Hawksbill Beach Resort.

If you’re looking to experience local food favourites like shrimp, consider a visit to BeachLimerz, which is not far from Hawksbill By Rex Hotel.

At Hawksbill by Rex Resorts, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to St. John's.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Snorkelling
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Ocean View
1628Reviews231Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 572
  • 603
  • 247
  • 109
  • 97
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jasper29 wrote a review 22 May
Littleport, United Kingdom206 contributions98 helpful votes
+1
Just returned home from a thoroughly enjoyable 2 weeks at Hawksbill.. We did our research before booking, so pretty much knew what to expect. Yes it’s fairly run down in places, but my word does the location more than make up for it. Absolutely stunning Caribbean Sea views and a choice of 4 beaches. We paid the extra for a Beach room in the Palm section, purely for a better standard of room, for the beach is pretty rocky here, but a small stroll down to one end, finds a clear bit.. More often than not, we were the only people in the sea !! The staff generally were excellent and worked extremely hard to provide a great service. Unfortunately though, like most hotels, a few of the staff should really consider a career change.. Would we return ? Oh yes, for if you want a an awesome location, but are not bothered about the lack of luxury… this is the place to be…
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sam B wrote a review 20 May
3 contributions1 helpful vote
just back from a wonderful stay its hawksbills absolutely loved this hotel but i don't think i would return, the steps were the main problem there are so many and unavoidable.we also couldn't help but notice how rude and miserable a lot of the staff were,some of them were lovely but most really couldn't be bothered and made us feel like we were being a nuisance .the manager was so nice and im so happy that he looks after the cats so well, we had 2 of the cats on our bed most mornings for a cuddle(thomas and maverick) and i did shed tears as i really could i taken maverick home but knowing the hotel feed them made me feel better, the food was ok and we certainly didn't go hungry and the puddings were to die for, housekeeping was very poor, most days we wasn't given any milk so had to source our own from the kitchen which was annoying, some days no bathmat or hand towels either and very little sugar,the place is beautiful but i feel its just not for us sadly and choose your room carefully as a lot of guests were moving from the garden bungalows to the other side to the better rooms we we're in room 111
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Cathy H wrote a review 18 May
catliveshere53 contributions70 helpful votes
Confused about the mixed reviews? I was. The quality of your holiday will totally depend on the type of room you have. There are four areas. The Royal Palm sea front bungalows are right on a beautiful beach. Rooms 105 to 127. They have wifi and air con and are pretty modern. These are the best option in my opinion. AVOID the garden bungalows at all costs, hot, tatty, noisy, broken tiles, rusty bathroom fittings need I say more. No air con or wifi. The honeymoon cove bungalows are at the far end of the resort and are supposedly as good as the Royal Palm and the apartments by the main reception need updating according to the guests I spoke to but I didn’t see them. They have TVs. I don’t eat breakfast but apparently it was good with the usual continental, English and US style food, pancakes, waffles etc. Served 7.30 to 9.30. Lunch from 12.30 to 2.30 in the beach restaurant is from a set menu of sandwiches, salads, wraps, burgers, BBQ chicken, fried fish, chips etc. Most of the days we were there the grill was open, same menu with one extra daily special. Lunch was my favourite meal. Evening meal always had soup, salads, one fish and 2 meat dishes, various potato rice and vegetable options. The food was perfectly acceptable although we lucked out on our first night. As a real foodie I was disappointed that more traditional local dishes like pepper pot and curried goat weren’t on the menu but I suppose they cater for the Brits and US customers who want more bland fare. A BBQ was set up on Wed evenings BBQ chicken and ribs. I ate a lot of very nice BBQ chicken over the fortnight. If you want food available morning til night this isn’t the place, there is no snack bar or ice cream hut. Desserts were unusual, mainly tiny cakes, usually 2 cold and 1 hot, although my hubby liked the crème caramel and lemon pudding options. The daily hot dessert was very weird - bright red strawberry cobbler is one example. I asked for ice cream and was told it was only available at lunch time. Saw people being served with it on our penultimate day, gutted! But saved me the calories. Cheese and biscuits suddenly appeared at that time as well, so worth asking if that’s what you like. You will not go hungry here unless you are a really picky eater, it’s not Cordon Blu but mass catering, most people I spoke to were enjoying it very much. The management are really helpful and offered to talk with the chefs as my hubby is a veggie, they would have cooked him special food but he discovered the hot sauce and managed just fine. Drinks are plentiful in the bar, strangely you have to go to one bar during the day and another from 5pm. We were right at the end of the resort so was a bit of a trek but keeps you fit. Bottled water you have to pay extra for and it costs 8ECD nearly £3 for 1.5l. Lots of people bought it from the supermarket in St Johns at about 1/4 of the price. Worth getting your taxi driver to stop en route if you can. We loved the quiet peaceful atmosphere, stepping from our bungalow straight onto the beach. The staff on the whole were fantastic, really friendly and helpful. Service at lunchtime is at Caribbean pace - what’s the rush though, you’re on holiday. The wildlife were interesting, I’ve seen reviews complaining about the goats, the site is huge and the goats do roam from the next door farm. They don’t cause any nuisance that I could see, Mario the manager was seen shooing them out of the gate but it would be impossible to stop them coming in. Yes there is some goat poo on the grass but not on the paths or anywhere else. Beautiful little yellow birds, bananaquits, fly into room 126 to pinch the sugar packets, so cute, shutting the door keeps them out! There are mongeese and night herons as well. A few very friendly cats pop into the dining area in the evening. Cat lovers feed them scraps so they congregate round the cat lovers, ignoring everyone else. I only got bitten a few times and didn’t need to use the insect repellent I bought with us. Tanishe Ann in the little TV room is really friendly and will sort out excursions for you and has a book exchange, great for us readers. We hired a car for a day but found the roads poor and the drivers hassely so didn’t bother again. The scooter snorkelling excursion we did was amazing. There are canoes and a small cat dingy available from Francis by the beach bar. He does the towels as well. Morning is the best time to change your beach towels, they sometimes run out later. We wanted a relaxing holiday, reading, swimming in the sea and lazing about in the sun and that is exactly what we got, the pool is tiny so if you prefer sunning by the pool this probably isn’t the right hotel for you. Would I go back - yes - tomorrow please, but I need a Royal Palm Bungalow, preferably 126.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Do not book the garden bungalows unless you are happy with no air con, no wifi and very tatty....
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Lady V wrote a review 2 May
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I have stayed in other resorts on the island of Antigua before but this was the worst in my opinion. Some room do not have TV, beds are made up every day but not changed with clean linen. Clean towels are not replaced daily. See (pic below) I was served up corn beef tin key cooked in my breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Arlene Marsh, General Manager at Hawksbill By Rex Resorts
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing Hawksbill by rex resorts as your destination of choice and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. unfortunately, we were unable to exceed your expectations this trip thus affecting the full experience we would have hoped for you to have and for this we humbly apologize. The feedback you have shared has been noted and distributed to the department heads for further review and immediate corrective steps where necessary. It is important to note that our garden bungalows are advertised with No TV or AC. We completely understand that an apology does not in anyway change the past, but it is our sincerest hope you will grant the opportunity of redemption with a return visit that will certainly surpass your last and change any negative perception that you mayhave of our resort. Kind regards Hawksbill Management Team
Read more
Webelly wrote a review 1 May
Dorset, United Kingdom183 contributions74 helpful votes
Our fifth stay here! We cant keep away.Although the infrastructure is definitely showing its age the ambiance remains the same. We have learnt it is worth paying a little extra for a better room although this time there was a problem with water pressure.Sometimes a very slow drip from the shower and at other times we hit the jackpot and could rinse the shampoo out properly. Bed comfortable and great housekeeping service. We were there during a very quiet period.The food was plentiful and hot and has improved since our last stay. Also hygiene was a lot better. Evening entertainment was very limited probably due to lack of guests but we met some great people and had good fun. A bonus on the beach this year was watching the pigs having a dip in the sea. Unfortunately the beach boys on Eden beach were a real nuisance and we had to beg them to leave us alone several times. We do love this hotel for its uniqueness and will return. It's value for money especially in Antigua. No frills but comfortable friendly and has all you need for a really relaxing holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Arlene Marsh, General Manager at Hawksbill By Rex Resorts
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Webelly, It was a such a delight having you with us once again, thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Your comments and concerns shared have all been carefully noted and shared with our management team for further review and action. It was truly a pleasure hosting you, we are all looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards Hawksbill Management Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$179 - US$256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hawksbill by rex hotel st. john`s, hawksbill antigua, hawksbill by rex antigua, hawksbill hotel antigua, hawksbill beach resort, hawksbill resort antigua
LOCATION
CaribbeanAntigua and BarbudaAntiguaSaint John ParishSt. John's
NUMBER OF ROOMS
107
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hawksbill By Rex Resorts
Which popular attractions are close to Hawksbill By Rex Resorts?
Nearby attractions include Ffryes Beach (7.2 km), Galley Bay Beach (0.9 km), and Valley Church Beach (6.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hawksbill By Rex Resorts?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hawksbill By Rex Resorts?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hawksbill By Rex Resorts?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hawksbill By Rex Resorts?
Conveniently located restaurants include Stella Ristorante, Hemingway's Caribbean Cafe & Restaurant, and Roti King.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hawksbill By Rex Resorts?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hawksbill By Rex Resorts have airport transportation?
Yes, Hawksbill By Rex Resorts offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Hawksbill By Rex Resorts?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Barrington (1.9 km) and Fort James (3.9 km).
Does Hawksbill By Rex Resorts have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.