We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ibis Phuket Kata

Save
Share
88/8 Kata Road Karon, Mueang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100 Thailand
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotels.com
Expedia
Trip.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (779)
360
Panoramas (5)
Room & Suite (202)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 03/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from ibis Phuket Kata
Updated 03/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#30 of 58 hotels in Kata Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Looking for top value Phuket accommodation Bright, light filled and modern. Trendy, fresh and fun. Ibis Phuket Kata sits fiveminutes from the clear waters of Kata Beach. The hotel is ideal for families and couples alike with shopping, dining and nightlife just moments away. 258 rooms, 24 hour service, snacks and drinks. Surf, swim or soak up the sun in this friendly oasis - the perfect hideaway when relaxation is at the top of your list.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Poolside bar
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Thai
848Reviews29Q+A62Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 248
  • 349
  • 150
  • 55
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ivan wrote a review Jan 2021
Phuket, Thailand24 contributions40 helpful votes
Ibis brand as usual amazing! Worth to stay, in budget price you get 4 star facilities. Pool and restaurants are just perfect. Prime location, close to the main Kata road and the beach, just few minutes walk. Transport is easily available for all must visit places in Phuket. Check in was smooth, we got high floor with mountain view. Breakfast is also delicious, even in a Covid time they keep high class breakfast. Can mention Khun Nuch whose was good and well competent. Highlights that hotel is dog friendly! Recommend to everyone and we will visit again soon!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Wasuwat Limsuparhat wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions4 helpful votes
The hotel was nice and quiet, but still kept really clean and well maintained. The staffs Oil, Bow, May, Wan, Nano and especially Pod were very helpful in guiding us through our first time in Phuket. Cheers ibis. Keep up the good work. I would love to stay here again next time when I come to Kata.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Dennis N wrote a review Feb 2020
Wakefield, United Kingdom12 contributions28 helpful votes
Breakfast not brilliant as one day it was cold half cooked fried eggs or cold boiled eggs. Other hot choices were mainly Asian food but most guests were European. Most people did not use tongs to pick up bread, croissants or slices of cake. Bar & food prices were not competitive. As with all Ibis, the rooms are small & not really suitable for people with 2 suitcases & 2 travel bags, probably better for business people taking a 1 or 2 night stay. We always took off our shoes/sandals just inside the door but always ended up with dirty socks or bare feet. Don't they mop or vacuum the floors? We had a room overlooking the pool but it also overlooks a building site. There is a free shuttle to the beach but,if you miss it, the shortest way is to exit the hotel, cross the main road & turn right. Follow the road for about 400m & you will come to a path alongside what smells like an open sewer, take this & it will lead you to a nice beach. Very good staff in the hotel, but place was not our cup of tea.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Management7020, Guest Relations Manager at ibis Phuket Kata
Responded 4 Mar 2020
Dear TingleyLad! Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Phuket Kata! We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please take our sincerest apologies. Please be sure that we will highlight with our chef the information regarding cold dishes. We can not control all our guests though we have sign with reminding to use tongs. It is true that all rooms in ibis hotels are the same standard size, but we also have Family room type which is bigger and has build in bunk bed. May be next time you could try another room. At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Jane Guest Service Manager
Read more
Michael wrote a review Jan 2020
Woking, United Kingdom255 contributions179 helpful votes
We have stayed at numerous Ibis hotels under Accor management throughout our travels and we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It was somewhat reasonable, but probably the worst Ibis we have stayed at, which have gone consistently downhill since Bangkok were we stayed in a nice Ibis (see our other reviews). The rooms are bright and clean. The aircon was good and our room had a, small, balcony overlooking the pool which was nice, and ideal for hanging out swimsuits and towels. However our shower and water pressure wasn't good at all and needs to be updated. There were good amenities in the room, a safe, TV, fridge, complimentary bottles water, but the toiletries do lack, although I guess this is a budget hotel. The swimming pool is nice and a good temperature with plenty of sun loungers available. However there is no wifi connection by the pool which is bizarre as it is next to the reception area and this is annoying if you want to use the internet by the pool. The hotel is close to Kata beach which is ideal, and a 10 minute walk to food markets and convenience stores. The issue with this hotel is the lack of communication and effort to provide a comfortable stay for guests. During our 3 day stay we had a number of issues: 1. We had no electricity from 9am-5pm due to maintenance works on one day. There was no communication or sign to inform guests that there would be no electricity, so we woke up to no aircon, no plugs working and limited breakfast options in the buffet, including no coffee. Only when we asked reception did they respond "no electricity all day", followed by a sign posted by the lift at 11.30am, two hours and a half after the electricity had been cut (so much for anyone's refrigerated items...). There was no apology for the inconvenience or effort to communicate this to guests which is just poor customer service. Additonally, there was no replacement foods or apology for missing breakfast items. 2. The next day we had no wifi. Once again there was no communication to guests about this, and so only after asking reception why there was no wifi did they reply "wifi is broken". No effort to apologise for the inconvenience or to give a timeframe for when it might be working again. They then told me and my boyfriend 2 different things a few hours later. He was told it was broken indefinitely, yet when I asked 2 minutes later they gave me a password and log in on a printed piece of paper? So the wifi connection chips and changes throughout your stay; just poor customer service once again. The wifi connection in our bedroom was also terrible for the whole stay, it only worked 1 metre away from the door so you had to stand by the door if you wanted to use your phone. 3. The breakfast buffet was also rarely replenished and I had to ask multiple times for bowls or cups so that I could eat breakfast. I received a fed up response from staff, for politely asking if I can have a plate as there are none left... 4. When we checked out the receptionist 'forgot' to return our deposit to us, but remembered to give us an envelope with promotional material in. Therefore I had to go back to the desk and ask for my 1500 baht deposit back. If I hadn't checked the envelope we would have checked out with no deposit back. 5. Basic room services like replenishing loo roll were neglected on occasion. 6. On the same day as the electricity was cut, one lift was out of service all day, with a lot of people staying at the hotel (we were there until Christmas Eve), it meant waiting for a lift for ages at some point, as they appear not to have any stairs either. Overall the rooms are adequate, the pool is nice and glthe hotel has a good location. However, there are a number of things which need to be improved regarding customer service and communication. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to others because of this.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Varun G, General Manager at ibis Phuket Kata
Responded 9 Jan 2020
Dear MR_Travels1920 , Thank you very much for taking your time to review the property. Please accept our sincere apologizes for the shortfalls you experienced . Allow me to clarify , yes indeed there was an unexpected power interruption during your stay this was due to an issue with the main supply line affecting the entire area under Kata Municipality and unfortunately we didn't receive any prior notice for the same . Once we received a confirmation from the local energy dept we were in a position to make the appropriate announcement . As for the WIFI issue we had a scheduled upgrade of services which was clearly communicated in notices at the front desk counter and lift landing area. I'm happy to inform that this update has improved connectivity and speed at the property. Once again I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused. Please be assured that I have taken note of the rest of the issues you highlighted as well and appropriate corrective steps are in place to prevent any future occurrence. We really appreciate your feedback as this enables us to improve our product and services. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Varun George Kuruvilla General Manager
Read more
saurabh5sk wrote a review Oct 2019
Shillong, India3 contributions7 helpful votes
The hotel do not have bell boys to fetch your luggage during the check out and check in. In addition they are very rigid in accepting security money by means of credit card guarantee or in Thai Bhat but i was offered freedom of depositing money in INR during our saty in Mercure Makassan and IBIS Krabi. The packed breakfast requested by us was also in very small quantity. Only excellent service was the travel desk managed by Mr. dean who used to offer competitive price for sight seeing and airport transfer.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Varun G, General Manager at ibis Phuket Kata
Responded 7 Nov 2019
Dear Saurabh5sk, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the ibis Kata. ibis is a limited service economy hotel provide great accommodation at an extremely competitive price point. Unfortunately bell service is not part of our brand standard . A deposit is indeed required this is to cover any incidental charges that may occur during the course of your stay. On the contrary we are glad to learn that you liked the warm & friendly service extended by our tour counter. Varun George kuruvilla General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$31 - US$88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ibis phuket kata hotel kata beach
LOCATION
ThailandPhuketKaronKata Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
258
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about ibis Phuket Kata
Which popular attractions are close to ibis Phuket Kata?
Nearby attractions include Tailor Pro (0.2 km), Brother's Collection Kata (0.3 km), and Art Space Gallery and Music Bar (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at ibis Phuket Kata?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at ibis Phuket Kata?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at ibis Phuket Kata?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a poolside bar, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at ibis Phuket Kata?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to ibis Phuket Kata?
Conveniently located restaurants include Magic Masala Indian Restaurant, Odysseus Greek Organic Restaurant, and New York Burger Co..
Are there opportunities to exercise at ibis Phuket Kata?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does ibis Phuket Kata have an airport shuttle?
Yes, ibis Phuket Kata offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at ibis Phuket Kata?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at ibis Phuket Kata?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Thai.
Is ibis Phuket Kata accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.