We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fernery Lodge & Chalets

Save
Traveller (340)
Room & Suite (138)
Storyboard
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good24%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“gravel road”(26 reviews)
“indian ocean”(29 reviews)
“dolphin trail”(20 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveller rating
491
186
51
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
491
186
51
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgravel roadindian oceandolphin trailstunning viewsoff the beaten trackmountain bikesgarden routethe cliffmain buildingour honeymoonamazing locationbeautiful placeshort drivetwo nightsself cateringstayed longera wonderful stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 753 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

We absolutely loved our stay. The friendly staff, wonderfully delocious food and cosy cabin made us regret that we only stayed one night. The beautiful surroundings and constant sound of the water and birdlife made it a relaxing stay! Maybe there coud be a warning...More

Thank Hendriet P
Response from TheFernery, Guest Relations Manager at The Fernery Lodge & ChaletsResponded 4 days ago

Good morning Hendriet We hear this constantly! :) One night is just not sufficient to take in the extraordinary beauty, commune with nature and peace that is found at The Fernery. It is always so good to get away to a place of quiet and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose The Fernery to spend 2 nights to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. We received a warm welcome from the staff who looked after us during our stay and made our visit very special. We stayed in Aquarius which was...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Veronica W
Response from TheFernery, Guest Relations Manager at The Fernery Lodge & ChaletsResponded 1 week ago

Greetings and well wishes, VeronicaW It was such a pleasure having you as our guests, and especially on a special occasion such as yours. Congratulations again on your Golden Wedding Anniversary. Thank you for this great review and for having chosen to spend your time...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The lodge is situated in the most beautiful surroudings with spectacular views.We had rain overnight and the roof unfortunately leaked very badly onto the chalet floor. Staff could have been a little more freindly... They were polite, but no smiles...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank matthewwhittal
Response from TheFernery, Guest Relations Manager at The Fernery Lodge & ChaletsResponded 1 week ago

Good morning Matthew Thank you for your review and for selecting to spend time at The Fernery on your trip to the Garden Route. Every effort is made to ensure our guests leave feeling it was a perfect stay and we will continue to work...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice main building with bar and dining areas. Staff are very pleasant and helpful . The food was good. The disappointment was with the 6 km of road to the Fernery which turns into a quagmire following heavy rain and is best suited to rally...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John R
Response from TheFernery, Guest Relations Manager at The Fernery Lodge & ChaletsResponded 1 week ago

Good morning JohnR Thank you for your review and for your comments and feedback. Unfortunately the cellular coverage and state of the road is beyond our control. The road has been re-gravalled and rolled, making it a smooth trip for our guests. As it is...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a fantastic stay at the Fernery, unfortunately it was only one night, but everything was perfect and to be honest would have been difficult to improve upon. We have however promised ourselves a return visit but next time for longer. I would recommend...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Mark H
Response from TheFernery, Guest Relations Manager at The Fernery Lodge & ChaletsResponded 2 weeks ago

Greetings MarkH This is such a great review. Thank you, indeed! It is always an extra thrill when we read that our guests plan to come again. We look forward to welcoming you back. Travel safely and take care. Kind regards, Diane

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Storms River
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hot Tub
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$158 - US$298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$158 - US$298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (340)
Room & Suite (138)
Dining (29)
Pool & Beach (10)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Karin H
24 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from TheFernery | Property representative |
Good day Karin H. We are able to do your laundry at your request, and the costs for this are itemised for each item. The list is available at reception when you check-in. We are always happy to assist with any guest request... More
0
Votes
A09871234
14 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from JohanG77 | Property representative |
Good Day The drive to Storms River village, where the canopy tour starts, is less than 30 minutes. The outdoor jacuzzi is open 24 hours. During periods of low occupancy, we do switch one of the two jacuzzi's off to save... More
1
Vote
TDRoux
26 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from JohanG77 | Property representative |
Hi TDRoux In the Forest has a view of the river and you can braai on your chalet deck. The road is passable for all vehicles, smaller cars just need to drive slowly in places. We look forward to hosting you. Regards. The... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Definitely a chalet for total privacy."
Read review
""Lourie" chalet was well located, others up-river have less spectacular views. We preferred the..."
Read review
"Luxury B&B Apartments are spacious and comfortable (although furthest from facilities and sea) - great..."
Read review
"Ask for a room with a view. We had room 5. No view. But a beautiful room. Luckily the deck nearby had..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing