We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Vill: Jaikot, Gaja, Tehri, Garhwal 249146 India
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (1)
Room & Suite (12)
Pool & Beach (1)

About

Location
Service
Gaja, an untouched destination in the Tehri district, is known for its blessed serene surroundings and its perfect location nestled in the lap of the Shivalik ranges of the Himalayas. The place is also known for the stunning views of the mountains and valleys accompanied with beautifully pleasant weather conditions. The famed sunrise point of Gaja offers unmatched views of the sunrise in the hills.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Breakfast in the room
Picnic area
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Iron
Room types
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

Full view
Contact
Vill: Jaikot, Gaja, Tehri, Garhwal 249146 India
Getting there
Dehra Dun Airport24 kmSee all flights
8Reviews1Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Vishwa M Joshi wrote a review May 2019
Shimla, India1 contribution
perfect destination for all visitors who want to rejuvenate in the lap of Himalaya in its untouched scenic beauty with chanting valleys and peaks all-round and charm of Mother nature in an unforgettable destination and a value for money. It's a must visit destination for every type of visitor whether for entertainment or exploring the Beauty of Himalaya. The sunrise from Gaja presents a perfect view and the staff is highly professional with unmatched hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Akriti wrote a review May 2019
1 contribution
It is a wonderful place to visit with family and friends ,quiet and calm in the laps of Himalayas with a wonderful view of the snow clad mountains all around. Also the rooms are in a very good condition. The weather is also very nice . Must visit 😊😊😊😊 !!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
VASUKUMARMODA wrote a review Jan 2019
New Delhi, India29 contributions4 helpful votes
Confortable and cozy place. Bit far away from tehri dam, but at a good location. Best for group of people. Rooms are well arranged and equipped with basic necessities. Food is freshly prepared with limited choice, but tasty and healthy.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Deepak bhatt wrote a review Jan 2019
1 contribution
Good service perfect view from room at best prive thankyou for making our trip memorable . The food was taste staff was veri polite and it was eassy to reach to hotel . They guided us so well about nearby places
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SapphireRetreat7, Owner at Sapphire Retreat
Responded 10 Jan 2019
Thank you Deepak for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience. We are improving our facilities constantly and hope you will visit us soon to experience them. Regards, Sapphire Retreat
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HATHI E wrote a review May 2018
1 contribution
Hotel Denied for Room check in... No sign board. Contact no @ MMT app wrong. Location wrong. Between forest. Hotel management is bed. With family @ night 11 Am check in denied with family. Bad experience with make my trip.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sushant_j wrote a review May 2018
Gurgaon, Haryana, India71 contributions31 helpful votes
This place is a serious No No. You will be in for so many surprises that you will wish you should not have been on vacations altogether. Please don't be fooled by the low prices that this is offering. You will not even get what you will pay for. This place is really not a hotel. These are few rooms alongside a baraat ghar (Cheap banquet hall hired by local villagers for marriage etc.). And an NGO runs here by name of "Matra Chaya". There is no board of this hotel outside and the locals know this place by name of this NGO only. And this place is good 1.3 Kms away from the Gaja village. And as pointed out by many, the google pointer of this place is wrong. The correct GPS location for those who still wish to venture is 30.259, 78.421. Since my issue with this place are so many, I have made them in points: 1. For those wanting food in a hotel, they serve it only in a dining hall which is in a basement of the adjacent building. Eating anything in the rooms is strictly not allowed. And no point of confronting. They give you full option to leave the place but cannot allow eating in room. The reason is that you may dirty the linen. 2. The dining hall is really filthy. It is is full of dirt and what not. The table where you are expected to sit and eat had so much of dirt, it was not funny. And if you ask them to clean, they clean it with such a cloth that cleaning makes no difference. 3. There is no sense of hygiene anywhere. If you see the washbasins or any place, it really is very bad. The chairs to sit are broken and dirty. And there is no cleaning whatsoever. Basically there is no attitude of cleaning. 4. There is no electricity backup. So, if during the daytime the light goes, you have to sit in the heat. And if it goes in the night, sit in the dark. Or wait for a candle to arrive if they care to. 5. The housekeeping doesn't happen properly. A part time lady was given the job and she probably did not feel like coming all days. And whenever she came, the cleaning happened in the evening in front of you. Not when you are away 6. Though the bed was good, but the pillows were very bad. Please carry your own if you have to. 7. Similarly, the toilet was clean, but the soap were very bad. And there was no water pressure at all. You cannot take a shower there. You have to use the bucket for a bath. No other option. 8. They do not have a concept of changing towels on their own. But they did change it when we requested them. 9. One of the biggest issues there was the attitude of the sole caretaker. He was the gate keeper, the cook, the attendant, the food server and everything else. And you cannot complaint against anything. Because for everything, his answer was to ask us to talk to Delhi (the marketing office from where we did the booking). And ironically, that office was only concerned about the money. They just have a landline that is answered only from 10 to 6, Monday to Friday and no point of contact after that. No one to listen to you. A very sad state. It really makes you feel cheated and sorry for yourself. You will make a fool of yourself in front of such people. 10. There is no tea/coffee maker provided. You have to go down and have it. 11. As mentioned before these rooms are actually of the banquet hall, so if there is a wedding there, you can actually forget your dinner and the breakfast the next day even if you have paid for it (like us). The simple reason in our case was that the caretaker got drunk and did not care to even listen. Now how can one reason out with a drunk person? Moreover, whether you like it or not, you will mentally be made part of the event. Because even till late in the night, all their noise including that of DJ will enter your room and your ears at full volume. There is no escape from it. So, if you are to go to this place, please pray that there is no wedding at the same time. 12. Last but not the least. Or rather scary... We had paid 50% at the time of the booking and the balance was paid after check-in. And their marketing office probably forgot to update about this to the caretaker. And while we were leaving the hotel, the caretaker demanded the money again. On telling him that we had paid and also showing him money transfer proof, he still wasn't convinced. Moreover he locked the main gate and held us hostage for good half hour on pretext of payment. When we threatened him of police action, the gate was opened. Thankfully, it got sorted afterwards otherwise could have become ugly. This incident happened at 8AM. And his plan was to stop us till 10AM so that he can cross check with their marketing person. I just hope such a thing doesn't happen with anyone else. All I can say is, please stay away from this place for your own safety.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Just don't go.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sohail Akhtar wrote a review Apr 2017
Noida, India8 contributions1 helpful vote
Rooms are big and modern, very good view of valley from the property. This property is away from town/population. They have kitchen and cook what you order no special menus. The hotel is around 1hr 30 min from Tehri Dam water sport point, Nice drive. Over all enjoyed the stay , they have arranged small bon fire for us.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Delux room is very big.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sendy0205 wrote a review Nov 2016
National Capital Territory of Delhi, India10 contributions12 helpful votes
We book this hotel from Delhi office I like the location and VIEW of hills from the hotel and room , food quality also very good, staff was friendly ,we enjoy tracking and water sports near the hotel ,
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PRICE RANGE
US$36 - US$62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaUttarakhandAlmora DistrictGarhwal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SAPPHIRE RETREAT - Prices & Hotel Reviews (Garhwal, India)

Frequently Asked Questions about Sapphire Retreat
What are some of the property amenities at Sapphire Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and room service.
What food & drink options are available at Sapphire Retreat?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Sapphire Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sapphire Retreat?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sapphire Retreat offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sapphire Retreat?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.