We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort

Save
Traveller (436)
Pool & Beach (45)
Room & Suite (43)
Ratings and reviews
Certificate of Excellence
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good25%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“scuba junkie”(252 reviews)
“dive sites”(51 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Internet
Free Breakfast
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Bar/Lounge
Private Balcony
Free Parking
Pool
Room Service
Suites
Fitness centre
View all hotel information
Location and contact
Mabul Island, Pulau Mabul, Malaysia
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
356
128
20
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
356
128
20
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscuba junkiedive sitesmabul beach resortturtle hatcheryfishwell oiled machinemarine lifefun divesbuffet stylevip roomgreen turtlesgreat divebig thankslocal communitydevil raysmy advanced open waterbeach clean ups
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 518 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had an absolutely wonderful holiday at Scuba Junkie Mabul Beach Resort. The diving sites are amazing and the guides are highly professional and fun. The resort itself in clean and lovely. Special thanks for being so environmentally aware. Seeing the baby turtles hatch was...More

Thank Anu K
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had such an incredible time with Scuba Junkie at their Mabul resort. We stayed for 3 nights and so wish we could've stayed longer. The minute we stepped off the boat after a very bumpy transfer from Semporna everything was fantastic. It was really...More

1  Thank Ellie249
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

We had a great stay with Scuba Junkie! Everything was super easy, from the diving to the accommodations to the transportation, they really have their act together. The Dive Lodge in Semporna is very basic, but the rooms were nice and clean and the staff...More

Thank mkatzman222
Reviewed 6 June 2018

This is my second trip to Mabul and my first with Scuba Junkie. And I am glad I chose to stay with SJ this time. The aircon rooms were basic and clean. The beds comfy. We find the room’s soundproofing was pretty good. It was...More

Thank wsh1210
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

I had an incredibly amazing time with Scuba Junkie on Mabul! They‘re organization is just perfect, the food super-delicious and the diving gear on fleek. All dive masters are very competent and take good care on the environment and their divers. I was diving with...More

Thank Nadine K
View more reviews
About
Number of rooms
24
Price range
US$43 - US$45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
24
Price range
US$43 - US$45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Number of rooms
24
Price range
US$43 - US$45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
24
Price range
US$43 - US$45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Beachfront
Free Internet
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Airport Transportation
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
24
Price range
US$43 - US$45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Number of rooms
24
Price range
US$43 - US$45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
24
Price range
US$43 - US$45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Pulau Mabul
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (436)
Pool & Beach (45)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (10)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Xiaohuimoh
10 April 2018|
Answer
Response from Leslie B | Reviewed this property |
No. The rooms are clean and very basic. You should ask if they can make a hair dryer available.
1
Vote
UngFoy
6 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from clarey87 | Reviewed this property |
Hi there. Go to Mabul yes, but if you did not pre-book your Sipadan permit it IS possible to still dive in Sipadan by getting a permit on the spot. Unfortunately, Scuba Junkie is not the best option to provide a Sipadan... More
0
Votes
1963WorldTraveler
30 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from A J | Reviewed this property |
I would highly recommend the air conditioning. It is much more manageable and comfortable after diving all day. You don't want your body to be stressed diving because you didn't sleep well -- if you're on the fence -- just... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"The Bungalows are beautiful and very large and a good bet if you want a bit of luxury on your dive trip."
Read review
"defintely stay in a private room as you get the best position on the island and room to hang out all your wet..."
Read review
"Doorms are fine at the right side as you are away from the roosters from the vlilage"
Read review
"A friend complained of noise in the dorms, but we only stayed in a private room, which was definitely a good..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing