We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Double Black Hotel

Save
Share
4977-1 Wadano Hokujo, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301 Nagano Prefecture
Hotels.com
Expedia
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (63)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (12)

About

#15 of 125 hotels in Hakuba-mura
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Cosy and friendly 24 room boutique hotel, nestling in the picturesque forest of Wadano, within an easy walk of Happo/Wadano villages and the fantastic Happo One mountain ski area - site of the main ski events for the 1998 winter Olympics. A full range of amenities is on offer, including: • Each room has western style beds /ensuite, serviced daily • Fully licensed Restaurant/Bar/Lounge • Free mountain pick up & drop off service • Free transfers to and from Hakuba Station • International TV • Free wireless internet • Games room and children's play area • Onsen bath • Washing/drying facilities Our friendly staff will help you get the most from your stay with us. Giving you advice on local activities, places to eat and things to do when you're not on the slopes so that your stay is as enjoyable and fulfilling as possible.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Bar / lounge
Game room
Ski rentals
Free shuttle or taxi services
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Skiing
Shuttle bus service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese

Location

Full view
85Good for walkers
Grade: 85 out of 100
30Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
5Attractionswithin 0.5 km
151Reviews3Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 98
  • 37
  • 8
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Carmivore wrote a review Mar 2020
Brisbane, Australia11 contributions20 helpful votes
This hotel is lovely. The staff are all young people and very friendly and super accommodating. Must speak English and/or Japanese. Our room was a good size and clean. The bathroom is not generous but good pressure and hot! We are in one night and the food was really good. We had breakfast included and it was well worth it. Loved double black we’d go back for sure! Carmen
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Andrew H wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
The bed was super comfortable. Rooms are small but neat and tidy. Nice view out onto the snow. The location is about a 10 minute ski down from the closet lift. Lots of restaurants and bars around but the in house meals are best value for money. Good wine list so its easy to relax after a day skiing. Room is shower only but there is an onsen downstairs which is open daily
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for adjoining rooms if you are traveling in a group.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
nowayjoseNewYork wrote a review Feb 2020
new york15 contributions5 helpful votes
I had a great stay at Double Black. I came here with my family and had a blast. Breakfast was great and coffees were delicious. Dinner was amazing and I recommend the scotch fillet. Our bartender Abbey was always looking after us. Our kids loved the staff and everyone at Double Black was always going above and beyond. I want to thank Matt and Sehrish, as I had a medical issue they helped sort out. The reception team was the best I had ever come across in Japan. The rooms were warm and the onsens made a great way to end every day of skiing. Definitely booking next year.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Rami G wrote a review Jan 2020
Canberra, Australia7 contributions2 helpful votes
Had 7 great nights here. While the snow conditions weren’t great the hotel and staff were excellent. First it’s location in the Wadano Forest was wonderful, beautiful and peaceful, unlike other parts of Hakuba. Next the rooms were a decent size by Japanese standards and so never felt too squeezed. The Lounge/bar area has a nice feel and is a good place to laze around when not riding. They even have onsen you can book at certain times for private family sessions which is highly recommended after a days skiing. The one downside is neither skiing or dining options are within realistic walking distance. However the staff run you around to the local resort and to restaurants and shops so all good. Dinner at the hotel was excellent and we ate there 3 times. There are also two good bistros, one pub style the other Asian fusion, at the nearby Wadano Gateway hotel which is an easy walk so covered us for the week. Perhaps the best thing was the staff. Matt and his crew were the best, nothing was too much of a problem for them they even offered to run some friends of ours, who were hanging out with us, back to their hotel one evening when their cab didn’t show up. 10/10 DB.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from DBHMark, Owner at Double Black Hotel
Responded 26 Jan 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for the compliments It is always a delight to us to hear that someone had a great ex[experience staying at Double Black Hotel. We are very proud of Matt and Sehrish and their dedicated team and I know that they will appreciate your kind words Warm regards Mark
Read more
Southbank67 wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia50 contributions60 helpful votes
Pretty disappointing for the 14th ranked accommodation in Hakuba. First some positives: - Reasonably good meals at night. A little too much salt used. Given how poor the bacon and sausages were in the morning we initially avoided eating here - Good showers, clean rooms, drying room - Really good staff - Nice pick up and drop off service The negatives: - LOUD boiler which is constantly turning on and off 24 hours per day. Management’s response “we can give you earplugs”. Total incompetence - Management offered to book our ski lessons when we booked our rooms. I had to follow up twice to get this done. In the end we were lucky to get some private lessons because they were mostly booked out. My suggestion is you handle this yourself. Again - incompetence. - Breakfast. - Dining area completely lacking any soul or charm. As another reviewer said - you just don’t want to spend any time there. - Lack of “luxuries” like soap holders for showers or thermostatically controlled room heaters. - No blankets, only duvets - we sweltered at night even with the heater set at lowest setting - Male onsen has a bad smell The current owners of this property (who just sold it) live overseas which explains the lack of hands on management and attention to detail. This hotel suffers from poor management but I suspect this will be addressed when a real business person takes over ownership of the property.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$165 - US$225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
JapanChubuKoshinetsuNagano PrefectureKitaazumi-gunHakuba-muraOmachi Onsen / Hakuba happou Onsen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Double Black Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Double Black Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Happo-one Nature Study Course (0.4 km), Hakuba Ohashi Bridge (0.5 km), and Glad Quad (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Double Black Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Double Black Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Double Black Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Double Black Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mimi's Restaurant and Bar, Hummingbird, and Maeda.
Is Double Black Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Hakuba-mura.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Double Black Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to Double Black Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ushikata Inn (6.6 km) and Aoni Shuraku (5.0 km).