We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ridge Hotel & Apartments

4608 Hokujo, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301 Nagano Prefecture
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (87)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#6 of 215 Japanese pensions in Hakuba-mura
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled in the prestigious Wadano area, only an easy, flat 200m from the base of the largest ski resort Happo One, this hidden jewel offers unparalleled Western style accommodation, luxury amenities and service. Surrounded by restaurants, bars and onsens, The Ridge is the ideal location for everyone. Complimentary buffet breakfast, plus daily shuttle service to supermarket and surrounds, and located opposite the resort bus and ski school collection/drop-off point.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free shuttle or taxi services
Spa
Concierge
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Modern

Location

4608 Hokujo, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301 Nagano Prefecture
Name/address in local language
The Ridge Hotel & Apartments
124Reviews0Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 99
  • 17
  • 6
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Missi0nary wrote a review Jan 2020
Bingil Bay, Australia409 contributions210 helpful votes
We spent 10 nights in a hotel room at The Ridge and loved it. Our room was huge; beautifully equpped and quiet as a church. Unusually for Japan, there was heaps of storage space in the room with cupboards, wardrobes and shelves a-plenty. The western breakfast buffet (which changed every other day) was good, although it might have been nice to see a Japanese option sometimes (an apparently almost exclusively Aussie clientele perhaps the reason why they don't). They have barista coffee available (at an extra cost) although we found the coffee available from the cafe in Ryhthm across the road rather better. The common areas of the hotel, while small, are delightful. The location is within a 10 min flat walk to the Kokusai lifts with a shuttle bus-stop outside the door. The walk into 'town' is a pleasant 15mins where there are heaps of eating and drinking options. The bar at the hotel (open from 4:30) is very pleasant and drinks are very reasonable priced. We ate one evening in the restaurant which was fine if unexceptional...there are lots of dining options you'll want to try anyway. Staff were all really friendly. Our room was always fully serviced while we were out skiing and left immaculate. Highly recommened and we will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
williamdjskinner wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia73 contributions22 helpful votes
This is our 4th time coming to the Ridge and it was awesome. The place is stunning and from an accommodation perspective the rooms and beds were super comfortable. The buffet was delicious and sets you up for a great day skiing or just taking in the local eateries. There are many great amenities such as ski locker area and a laundry. The staff were are so friendly that they drive you to dinner and suggest where you should have dinner. The games room is a great place for the kids to go and chill out and play games. The antlers restaurant is very convenient as well. Overall the ridge is a amazing place and a place we always enjoy returning.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Top floor are penthouses
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lynette S wrote a review May 2019
Brisbane, Australia167 contributions121 helpful votes
The staff at the Ridge were the best & so helpful during our week long stay there in mid January. We were 2 families travelling together & had booked the 4 bed apartment. Unfortunately one of the children was sick & Nadia & her staff were wonderful, organising medical help, driving the child & his parent to the local doctor & looking after all of us so well by organising ski/ boarding lessons for our group of 8, dinner reservations & supermarket runs. We had dinner in the restaurant 3 times & ate hearty cooked breakfasts every morning before heading out for a day of skiing/ boarding. Our apartment was warm & comfortable with 2 bathrooms & toilets, a full kitchen, laundry & lounge area & comfortable beds. We could walk to the Happone Skifield from the hotel & also catch the free shuttle bus a 2 min walk from the hotel. The ski locker & drying room were located in the basement & the best part was at the end of our stay, our ski rental equipment was picked up by the rental company. It was all so easy & we would not hesitate to come back & stay at the Ridge if we are staying in Hakuba.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
PerthHoliday_10 wrote a review Mar 2019
Perth, Australia88 contributions45 helpful votes
Spent 6 nights at the Ridge over Chinese new year and had a fantastic stay. Stayed in room 206, a standard hotel room, which was the only room available when we booked six months earlier. The room was great, larger than we expected and better than the pictures on the webpage. Bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of storage. The underground ski storage area and drying room was great. Although we had planned to eat out in other locations during our stay we really enjoyed the restaurant and had dinner there three nights in a row (that bread and butter pudding desert was just so good!!!). The location of the hotel opposite the ski shuttle bus and Rhythm Snow Sport (for ski hire) is perfect. The walk to ski slops is not to far either (5-10 minutes in ski boots). The best thing about the hotel were the staff, the front desk manager (thanks Nadia :) )and her team were great in helping organise things, were friendly and helpful and the free trips to the super market were really great. Wait and bar staff were really friendly. Have just booked for next year and really looking forward to staying at the Ridge again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Zoe R wrote a review Mar 2019
Sydney31 contributions20 helpful votes
I can’t speak highly enough of the team and accommodation at the Ridge Hotel & Apartments. The rooms and amenities are absolutely first class, the location is second to none but more importantly to our group was the incredible service and friendly nature of the staff who went above and beyond making our holiday memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alana r wrote a review Mar 2019
Perth, Australia92 contributions51 helpful votes
Lovely hotel. Perfect location. Great friendly staff. The facilities provided for our skiing trip were just what we needed. Ilene felt comfortable and well looked after and will be staying here again :)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
RicandFi wrote a review Mar 2019
karratha6 contributions
From the moment i stepped into this hotel i received amazing service, not only was the service amazing but the property was impeccable and location was perfect. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would be happy to recommend this this accommodation to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Hannah F wrote a review Feb 2019
13 contributions20 helpful votes
We chose the Ridge based on the good reviews on TripAdvisor - however, when we arrived at the property and shown to our room we were shocked. The rooms are of good size but basic. In particular, the bathrooms are tiny and old-fashioned. After raising this to the management, we were upgraded for 2 nights out of our 5 night stay. However, no alternate rooms were available for the remaining duration. Whilst this gesture was appreciated, it's still unacceptable to be charging this price for the type of room given. We booked for a standard 'hotel' room and were upgraded to the apartment. The apartment was great and more akin to the photos we booked off of. Be warned - if you are booking the standard hotel room, you won't seen any photos of the bathroom advertised on any of the booking sites. Instead, you will see the newly fitted bathrooms of the more expensive apartments and Penthouse. When paying upwards of 300GBP per night for a room, we were at least expecting something in the way of quality service. However, bar from 2, all the staff (all 7 of them) seemed reasonably inexperienced travellers on a ski-season. Shocking given the price-point and 4-star rating of the 'hotel'. The first night we arrived around 19:30pm and had some food in the restaurant (we were the only table). Starters were good but the chicken main had an extremely bitter sauce poured all over it, which did not taste right. Given the time and the fact we were tried after a day's travelling, we left the dish but the waitress asked us if there was a problem. We commented that the sauce tasted bitter and burnt and she asked if we would like anything else. I asked if they could just cook another piece of chicken without the sauce. She disappeared into the kitchen and emerged around 15 minutes later which a pot of the same sauce? stating that the chef said 'that's how it's meant to be'. We asked the chef to come out and try it for himself, to which he refused and said the kitchen was now closed. Absolutely shocking. Be warned that the reception is unmanned - every time we wanted to ask something or needed something nobody was there. One evening we went out for dinner and returned around 21:00 and decided to have a drink round the fire in the bar. We were slightly shocked to see the only other people in the bar - the 'manager' and her friend sitting on the sofa by the fire (whilst on duty) drinking a glass of wine and leaving us unable to sit by the fire ourselves. I seemed to have no end of problems with this place right from booking, where they charged me double for my stay then proceeded to take a few weeks to refund me. Of course it had some good points - it was on the doorstep of the shuttle which went between the various resorts, the dry-room and ski storage was spacious, the hotel shuttle pick-up and drop-off to the station was handy and the room had apple tv. Would I go back? Never. Would I recommend? No. All these things contributed to a poor experience at the Ridge. It felt more like we were staying in a high-end hostal as opposed to a 4-star hotel (with the prices of a 5-star hotel in Tokyo). My advice would be to take one of the cheaper options around with local staff and experience the warmth of their hospitality as we did elsewhere in Japan!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Escape43227068146, Manager at The Ridge Hotel & Apartments
Responded 14 Mar 2019
Thank you for reviewing The Ridge Hotel and Apartments during your recent stay in Hakuba.  We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our mountain view king hotel room on arrival. Due to the hotel being heavily booked, we had limited availability over your five night stay, however we are pleased we were able to upgrade you to our mountain view two bedroom apartment for the first two nights of your stay at no additional cost. Our mountain view king hotel rooms are mainly decorated in traditional Japanese style, with a few western touches, and photos are readily available online, including with third party websites. Once again we were sorry to hear you were unhappy with your dining experience at “Antlers” and as a result, management was happy to make all food and drinks complimentary for you and your party that evening. Reviews of “Antlers” restaurant have been consistently complimentary  throughout the ski season, and we are sorry to hear that it did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your feedback on the staff, it has been taken on board, and the issues raised have been addressed. “The Ridge” Hakuba is located in a prime position, there is much to explore in Hakuba and our staff are always happy to coordinate a personalised experience.  We have welcomed thousands of satisfied guests over the years, and our staff & management alike strive to make every guests stay as enjoyable as possible . We are disappointed your stay with us did not meet your expectations and hope for the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sam S wrote a review Feb 2019
Canberra, Australia4 contributions2 helpful votes
Fantastic first trip to Japan for a ski holiday. The Ridge Apartments provided the perfect base, excellent staff and great facilities. Made the holiday very easy with perfect advice about the different ski resorts. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Annan069 wrote a review Feb 2019
Stockholm, Sweden70 contributions68 helpful votes
+1
This hotel has everything you want from a ski resort! Nice and cosy bar with an open fire place. The hotel rooms with a small entrance hall where you can hang off your wet clothes and shoes. Nice western rooms with nice schampoo, conditioner and shower gel in the bathrooms. It’s walking distance to the ski rental shop Rythm and some of the restaurants. You can also walk to the first ski lift. The ONLY complain I have is the breakfast. It’s not so many choices. I would wish for more variations of bread, cut fruits and berries, maybe some bacon and scrambled eggs. But all in all, I can strongly recommend this hotel. The staff was super friendly!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hakuba-mura area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$1,752 - HK$2,104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
JapanChubuKoshinetsuNagano PrefectureKitaazumi-gunHakuba-muraOmachi Onsen / Hakuba happou Onsen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE RIDGE HOTEL & APARTMENTS - Prices & Pension Reviews (Hakuba-mura, Japan)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Ridge Hotel & Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to The Ridge Hotel & Apartments?
Nearby attractions include Hakuba Happo-One (0.4 km), Hakuba Mini Train Park (0.2 km), and Usagi Daira Terrace (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Ridge Hotel & Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Ridge Hotel & Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Ridge Hotel & Apartments?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Ridge Hotel & Apartments?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Ridge Hotel & Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mimi's Restaurant and Bar, Hummingbird, and Unjaune.
Is The Ridge Hotel & Apartments located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Hakuba-mura.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Ridge Hotel & Apartments?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Ridge Hotel & Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ushikata Inn (6.9 km) and Aoni Shuraku (5.5 km).
Does The Ridge Hotel & Apartments have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is The Ridge Hotel & Apartments accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.