We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention

Save
Share
13 Izumikawa, Rusutsu Village, Rusutsu-mura, Abuta-gun 048-1711 Hokkaido
Hotel Website
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia
ZenHotels.com
eDreams
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (683)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (315)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 3 in Rusutsu-mura
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
About 90 minutes by car from Sapporo city and New Chitose Airport. Hokkaido largest all-season resort is full of fun! In summer, the lush, green Rusutsu Highlands exudes a refreshing ambiance. We invite you to enjoy all the various activities and nature experiences set among Hokkaido's unspoiled natural environment, together with attractions like the Amusement Park and the expansive golf courses beside the hotels. Why not reward yourself to a getaway at Rusutsu Resort and discover the very best of Hokkaido? In winter, with 4 gondolas and 14 lifts servicing the 3 peaks, the skifield is home to 37 runs that range from gentle, wide slopes where everyone can safely ski and snowboard right up and challenging runs that satisfy advanced skiers. Rusutsu Resort combines dynamic, full-fledged winter sports with outstanding hospitality.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Game room
Golf course
Horseback riding
Ski rentals
Ski school
Skiing
Tennis court
Water park
Bicycle tours
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Table tennis
Waterslide
Children's playground
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Strollers
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Hot spring bath
Massage
Open-air bath
Ski In / Ski Out
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Shops
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air purifier
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Sofa
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Japanese, Korean

Location

Full view
77Somewhat walkable
Grade: 77 out of 100
17Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
2Attractionswithin 0.5 km
804Reviews56Q+A82Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 252
  • 396
  • 102
  • 38
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Allezlesrouges wrote a review Mar 2020
Cork, Ireland66 contributions64 helpful votes
Very large resort hotel, essentially in the centre of Rusutsu. This is a fairly sprawling place with a Disney feel to it. I would say that it is suitable for families with small children. Also very expensive, but I suppose that is Japan!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Web Sales Team Rusutsu Resort Hotel and Convention, Sales at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention
Responded 19 Oct 2020
Dear Allezlesrouges, We sincerely thank you for choosing Rusutsu Resort and appreciate your post about your stay with us. However, we are apologize for the slow reply. We hope you had enjoyed staying at our hotel, one of huge snow resorts in Hokkaido, Japan. We will keep making our best efforts for all guests to stay more enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you again in future. Warmest regards, Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention
Read more
anitah wrote a review Mar 2020
Honolulu, Hawaii132 contributions59 helpful votes
This was our 5th time staying at the Rusutsu Resort Hotel and Convention Center. As you might guess, we really enjoy our visits. The skiing is convenient (ski-in/ski out) with 3 mountains to choose. The new onsen in the North Tower was so relaxing and beautiful with indoor and outside pools. And of course we love the option of eating at the many restaurants in this hotel or taking the monorail to the Westin for more selections.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Stay in the North Tower and request a room facing the mountains which are more picturesque and...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Web Sales Team Rusutsu Resort Hotel and Convention, Sales at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention
Responded 19 Oct 2020
Dear anitah, We sincerely thank you for your continuous stay with us and appreciate taking your precious time to share your experience with us. However, we are apologize for the slow reply. Hopefully, you had enjoyed skiing in the beautiful nature here, in Rusutsu. We are glad to hear you felt relaxing at our new public bath, "Rusutsu Onsen - Kotobuki" located in the North Wing. We will keep making our best efforts for all guests to stay more enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you again in future. Warmest regards, Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention
Read more
emiww wrote a review Feb 2020
Hong Kong2 contributions1 helpful vote
I am a guest of the North Wing from 16th to 20th Feb. On 19th night at round 10:30 to 11:00, I visited the Kotobuki Hot Spring and encountered some unhygienic and dangerous actions that I believe requires your immediate attention. I spent most of my time at the outdoor open-air baths, and there were two Chinese women with a kid. 1) As soon as they entered, the kid was swimming in the onsen. 2) They were talking out loud in the bath 3) The kid was standing at the outer rim of the open-air baths 4) One woman kept encouraging the kid to jump onto the pile of snow that's along the tree-fence outside the open-air bath. The kid was naked, and the bath at the 4/F. 5) The kid was picking up the fallen snow from outside and putting it into the bath 6) Their actions had quickly scared away at least three local-Japanese guests and eventually me. 7) If I remember correctly, the kid's long hair was not tied up. This is a ski resort, and I am already not much complaining about the extremely poor wifi, smelly toilet and not well tidy room-cleaning. However...the things that happened in the public bath got my last nerve. I feel very disgusting when seeing their action and decide to leave the immediately.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Web Sales Team Rusutsu Resort Hotel and Convention, Sales at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention
Responded 19 Oct 2020
Dear emiww, We sincerely thank you for your continuous stay with us and appreciate taking your precious time to share your experience with us. However, could you please accept our sincere apologies for the slow reply. We deeply sorry for all inconveniences caused you mentioned, including making you upset due to undesirable manners by other guests at a public bath "Rusutsu Onsen - Kotobuki". We had shared your feedback with the related department to try to encourage appropriate manners to all guests who use public bath. We are tying to improve our service quality in future as much as we can. Again, please accept our sincere apologies for your stay. We will do our best to make your stay as comfortable as possible the next time. Warmest regards, Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention
Read more
DanielH wrote a review Dec 2019
Lausanne, Switzerland2 contributions1 helpful vote
This was probably the worst stay I’ve ever experienced in all my years of traveling to Japan. For a family-oriented resort hotel (upscale, upperupscale?), many aspects were simply unacceptable. The general service quality and offering relative to the ADR charged was poor (midscale-like) and predominantly characterized by a distinct lack of attention to detail and English-speaking proficiency from staff members. Considering the hotel target segmentation is mostly leisure, family, as well as foreign guests, the hotel is sorely lacking the expected service quality and offering. The only positive is perhaps its proximity to the ski slopes, where ski-in ski-out is available. However, I would add that the nearby Westin is just 5 minutes away connected by a mini monorail as well as regular bus service. So if you’re looking for proper brand standards, strong English proficiency, and great service, and you don’t mind paying a little more, you would be much better off staying at the Westin. But let me explain what happened. My family and I stayed for 4 nights at the south-wing of Rusutsu Resort Hotel. We’re 4 and stayed in one room (the hotel charges per head). Of the four beds in the room, one of which provided was a sofa bed, and let’s just say that bed was beyond sleep-able. You can clearly feel every spring underneath when you lied down, which could’ve been easily fixed if the housekeeping staff had added some bed mats beforehand (attention to detail). When I went to complain, clearly distressed from the poor night of sleep I had just had, the hotel staff promptly said they would fix the issue, however, not one word of apology was offered, and that I feel is inexcusable. The hotel has a decade-old card policy of only 2 cards per room (honestly, where’s the capex??). If I am paying per head for a room, I expect the right to access my room unhindered, but ofc this was not the case. One day I returned from skiing before the others, and I didn’t have a card. I went to the front office staff asking for a card to access my room. The front office staff without explaining anything handed me a new card. Little did I know, he had cancelled both previous cards, which consequently left my other family members without access and only one card for the 4 members of my family. This is ridiculous and of course I only found out when I desperately needed to access my room, only to discover I needed to head back down to the front office. When I complained, once again no apologies were offered… What a waste of time. On my final day I brought all 4 suitcases down to the bell desk. No one was around. I asked front office staff where is bell staff to keep luggage? All he said was “no”. (For a leisure family ski resort hotel, no bell luggage service? This is frustrating). When I asked front office what then I should do? They offered one word “coin locker” and pointed in the direction of the coin lockers. Ok fine. I go there with my family, tried every single coin possible, wasted more time, only to then find out you needed a token from the front office. To add insult to injury, I then discover, the family friends we were travelling with were able to keep their luggage at the bell desk. Now I’m seriously questioning their service standards, whether there is any at all. At this point I was honestly angry, I called for the front office manager. Mr. Yuji [-] came to speak with me (unfortunately he did not speak English either, however another staff helped translate) and I told him all the issues I had experienced. At last the first apology for all my complaints. He apologized sincerely, offered lounge access and also took care of our luggage. However I worry that nothing will change beyond that…
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Dear DanielH@yoboomy3, We sincerely thank you for choosing Rusutsu Resort and appreciate taking time to share your experiences. However, we deeply apologize for the inconvenience caused during stay. We really regret you could not slept well and relaxed on the extra bed, and staffs served you were lack of hospitality and ability to communicate you well enough in English. Regarding extra beds, we definitely will consider replacing new ones as soon as possible. We had already shared this significant feedback from you with related department including the Front Office Manager and re-educated our staffs to improve service quality and hospitality. Again, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this time and it would be great to have next chance to welcome you back in future. Warmest regards, Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention
Read more
SuzyZoo wrote a review Dec 2019
Gold Coast, Australia32 contributions21 helpful votes
My family enjoyed our stay here. We rented ski equipments and went skiing. There’s a children’s area where they can use sled and tube however chargeable at 800yen per person. There are lots of convenient/ souvenir shops within the resort. The kids played at the game arcade. Carousel ride is free for all. The room is clean however look a bit tired. Time for some renovation. Overall we love the resort.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention
Responded 1 Jan 2020
Dear SuzyZoo, We sincerely thank you for staying at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention and appreciate your feedback. We are glad to hear you and your family had enjoyed staying with us and had great winter experiences, here in Rusutsu. Regarding the room, we will share your your feedback with our management team for the better hotel experiences to all guests. We will keep making our best efforts for all guests to stay more enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you again in future. Warmest regards, Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention
Read more
J&J wrote a review Aug 2019
Seattle, Washington1 contribution
We had recently booked a vacation to this "resort" and we were very disappointed by the poor experience we had. First of all, the "warm and friendly hospitality" we have grown in love within Japanese hospitality seems to be completely missing. We were treated most of the time as just another guest with the staff having absolutely no interest in how our stay went. What upset us most was when we were checking out, whereby the staff simply folded our receipt lobsided and threw it on the counter. Overall, a huge disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Most of the rooms are old and dated. Not sure if there's a recommendation.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention
Responded 12 Aug 2019
Dear travelhound2019, We sincerely thank you for choosing Rusutsu Resort and appreciate taking your precious time to share your experience with us. However, we sincerely apologize for your disappointment due to staffs’ attitude and lack of hospitality. We definitely share your feedback with each related department to re-educate our staffs on the basis of hospitality. Again, please accept our sincere apology and we appreciate your valued feedback that gave us a chance to improve quality of our services, and we are glad to have next chance to welcome you back in future. Warmest regards, Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention
Read more
UA-2-million-miler wrote a review May 2019
Hong Kong, China82 contributions15 helpful votes
Stayed at this hotel 4 years in a row for skiing because of the snow quality and food (king crab leg) during winter season. They are what Rusutsu Resort is famous for. I was very disappointed that King Crab Legs (Tarabagani) were no longer available at Oktoberfest Restaurant during buffet dinner and the price of the dinner buffet is still higher than previous years. Snow crab legs were still served but they are not as tasty as king crab legs. I won't stay there again because the management knows that the hotel will still be full during Christmas/New Year and Chinese New Year periods and the hotel wants to cut down the cost and maximize the profit by not serving King Crab leg at the buffet dinner. I'm telling you that you are very wrong and you make repeated guests disappointed and angry! This old, outdated hotel now has not much selling points and there are not much of reasons for your loyal customer to come back again! Next winter season I plan to stay somewhere else much cheaper room rate with rental car and come for skiing only during daytime and have dinner somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention
Responded 10 May 2019
Dear UA-2-million-miler, We sincerely thank you for your continuous visit to Rusutsu Resort and appreciate taking your precious time to share your experience with us. However, we deeply apologize for disappointment due to no more serving king crab legs at Oktoberfest, a buffet restaurant. We will definitely take this significant feedback from you into our consideration for the best experience of all guests who stay with us, and we are glad to have next chance to welcome you back in future. Warmest regards, Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention
Read more
beachgoer1000 wrote a review Mar 2019
37 contributions19 helpful votes
We went there for our 2 year old as previous ski trips he couldn't really do much at all and we felt bad. And we found a winner and will definitely go back again. The hotel is old and rooms are typically small comparing to western standard but it has many facilities which are great for family with little kids. It's truely ski-in ski-out, having a ski locker,ski hire and you can find many English speaking instructors for both ski and snowboard. And the best thing is it's so less crowded than Niseko. You do as in a well established Japanese ski resort have many Japanese school trippers but those kids are so well behaved and so orderly you won't worry a thing. Couple mornings we were be able to on the fresh groomed slopes just by ourselves! You won't get that in Niseko ever again! There are definitely more courses on the mountain Isola side accessible by gondolas. Inside the hotel they have a heated wave pool with giant slide as well as many shops and restaurants, music fountains at night,a Carousel! game arcade and my little boy had great time just running around in the shirts without going outside and enjoyed his days. Foods are great.We paid bit extra to have half-board and which is way worth it. There are a couple convenience stores outside as well to get cheaper drinks etc. 24 hour self laundry, ping pong games are also available. Actually,you will have fun there yourself with or without a little kid. It might not to cheap but for all the convenience and less people it is way worth the money and a good experience for the whole family.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention
Responded 3 May 2019
Dear beachgoer1000, We sincerely thank you for choosing Rusutsu Resort and appreciate taking your precious time to share your experience with us. We are glad to hear you and your family enjoyed not only skiing but also staying with us, including entertainment facilities inside the hotel. During green season (from late April to late October), amusement park opens and various summer activities available. If you have another chance to visit Hokkaido, please try staying with us during summer, cool and comfortable season. We will keep making our best efforts for all guests to stay more comfortable and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again, hopefully near future. Warmest regards, Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention
Read more
trishg2000 wrote a review Feb 2019
Skennars Head, Australia4 contributions3 helpful votes
We have stayed at Rusustu Resort Hotel for the past 12 years and generally enjoyed the experience, but there are a few things which really annoy us. Every year we request a slope facing room, but it falls on deaf ears. We have often been placed in a poor room with a view of the car park and poor wi fi. Most hotels warmly welcome back loyal guests and try to accomodate them accordingly. We only ever ask this one request and deem it not too demanding. The room is quite comfortable and they have definitely improved the beds ( which used to be rock hard- for an older westerner). The breakfasts a rare superb and we have found the staff friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention
Responded 2 May 2019
Dear trishg2000, Firstly, we apologize for the slow reply. We sincerely appreciate your continuous visiting us and your feedback this time. We are happy to hear you had enjoyed staying with us and winter experience here, in Rusutsu. However, we apologize for the inconvenience you mentioned. We would like to manage to accommodate a request from you as much as possible, so could you please send us an email directly, writing to "Web Sales Team" and mention about this feedback on TripAdvisor (with your nickname on TripAdvisor). We will keep making our best efforts for all guests to stay more comfortable and enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you again next winter. Warmest regards, Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention
Read more
Anotherkiwitraveller wrote a review Feb 2019
Auckland, New Zealand125 contributions47 helpful votes
Don't listen to the naysayers. This place is great. Ski in ski out. Great service. The hotel is massive, you need a map to get around. There is a monorail to the Westin which gives you a few more restaurants. It's next to an amusement park and almost has one inside. Yes it verges on tacky but it is actually brilliant - a bit of nostalgia. Also the rooms are huge.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RusutsuResort, Web Sales Team at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention
Responded 2 May 2019
Dear Anotherkiwitraveller, Firstly, we apologize for the slow reply. We sincerely thank you for choosing Rusutsu Resort and appreciate your positive feedback. We are especially glad to hear your comment "Great service", and hope you had great winter experience here, in Rusutsu. During green season (from late April to late October), amusement park opens and various summer activities available. If you have another chance to visit Hokkaido, please try staying with us during summer, cool and comfortable season. We look forward to welcoming you again in future. Warmest regards, Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$82 - US$142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rusutsu hotel rusutsu-mura, rusutsu resort hotel and convention, rusutsu hotel mura, rusutsu hotel convention
LOCATION
JapanHokkaidoAbuta-gunRusutsu-mura
NUMBER OF ROOMS
530
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention
Which popular attractions are close to Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention?
Nearby attractions include Rusutsu Resort Ski (0.2 km) and Rusutsu Resort Amusement Park (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rusutsu Sakaba, Hokkaido Buffet Oktober Fest, and Japanese-Style Pub Kakashi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention have airport transportation?
Yes, Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Rusutsu Resort Hotel & Convention?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.