Matfen Hall Hotel

Matfen Hall Hotel

Matfen Hall, Matfen Village, Matfen NE200RH England
Traveller (300)
Dining (27)
Room & Suite (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Matfen
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Matfen Hall Hotel, Golf and Spa is conveniently located just 15 miles west of Newcastle in the charming village of Matfen. This former stately home is set in 300 acres of landscaped gardens, parkland and woodland and has been a popular Hotel since 1999. Enjoy true Northumbrian hospitality at Matfen Hall; the Hotel offers 65 bedrooms, individually decorated in both traditional and contemporary styles. Our Spa offering - The Retreat - boasts a swimming pool, thermal suite, jacuzzi, gymnasium and tranquil treatment rooms with a divine range of luxury products. Our Golf Estate includes a 27-hole course, par 3 course and driving range open to members and guests alike. Our brand-new Cloisters Bar and Restaurant serves a Grill and Seafood menu. The Emerald Restaurant offers an exquisite fine dining experience, whilst Needham is open for drinks and sandwiches, and the Orangery delivers a traditional Afternoon Tea. Perhaps the jewel in our crown however is the Hotel’s Gothic Great Hall.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Golf course
Patio
Highchairs available
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Polish
215Reviews0Q+A50Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 136
  • 21
  • 30
  • 18
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
BoeingBoy wrote a review Oct 2022
Congleton, United Kingdom233 contributions150 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What can one say about Matfen Hall but ….Wow!

My wife and I make a retirement hobby of visiting large country hotels and are used to seeing some of the best accommodation in the UK, but Matfen is on another level. A fabulous Grade II listed main building with annexes for spar and golf. Recently refurbished to a standard that makes the cost unimaginable! This is a hotel punching at the top end of the market and getting it right!

On parking at the front door, our welcome was immediate with a young lady coming out to the drive and whisking our bags onto a trolley to have them sent to our room. Check in was in the main hall with the offer of a welcome drink and our room (one of the luxury suites) was on the South Side overlooking the golf course and estate. The standard of furnishing was extremely high and was completed with a welcome bag of Matfen products and items of interest. All in all the whole process of arrival was faultless.

After a brief walk around the adjacent village we looked forward to dinner in the Emerald Room. This did not disappoint with service, food and wine being perfectly served. After dinner coffee and liquors were taken in the magnificent bar next door.

Breakfast was excellent with a refreshing change in that our main meal had obviously been perfectly cooked to order. In just about every way it was impossible to fault the hotel.

Sadly however, there was one hiccup in that our central heating failed and we had to rely on two electric fans to get us through the night. To the credit of the hotel they did try their best to investigate and rectify the situation, but to no avail. I suspect the problem lay with the renovation and extension work that is still underway next door. To their credit, without us asking, they offered to downgrade the cost of our room to their smallest room rate, which in effect covered our entire dinner and drinks bill meaning we only really paid for the room.

Summing up. It’s obvious that an enormous amount of effort has gone into renovating Matfen and I hope it finds success in the future. We thank the staff for a wonderful stay and should we wish to revisit the area we will look forward to returning.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: None. It's perfect!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oddbins wrote a review Mar 2022
Altrincham, United Kingdom56 contributions59 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed recently at Matfen Hall for 3 days and enjoyed this beautiful hotel and the excellent hospitality offered. The hotel has been tastefully renovated over the past 18 months or so and boasts lavish public rooms and sumptuous bedrooms. The "Luxury" bedrooms are extremely generous in size (the bed is enormous and the headboard is the largest I've ever seen!) and the ensuite bathroom is huge with quality fittings, meaning that the room rightfully earns its "luxury" label.
The food in the hotel offers an adequate but not extensive choice of menu options - it seems they have chosen to focus on a few key dishes rather than trying to over-reach. Put simply, the food was very good.
A special mention must be made of the warmth of hospitality and level of service provided by each member of staff, all striving to make guests feel welcome and valued.
There is a spa and pool, and championship golf course on site, together with substantial grounds to wander and of course there is stunning and historic countryside on the doorstep to explore and enjoy, so plenty of choice.
Some renovations appear to be ongoing with no expense spared so this hotel is going to continue to go from strength to strength. I can't wait to come back and visit one day soon.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mancunian wrote a review Jun 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom198 contributions49 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment the car pulled up at the entrance to this beautiful building and a young man opened my door, took care of our luggage whipping it up to the room and showing us into reception where Kim greeted us so warmly and booked us in efficiently, we knew it was as good as other 5 star hotels. However, we were to find out it was superior to some 5 star hotels.
The building itself is fabulous, built in such a beautiful area of Northumberland. The restoration is first class with a lot of thought keeping modern day comfort whilst retaining the character of the building. The grounds are just superb and to sit on the terrace with a glass or a cuppa on a blue sky day is just heavenly.
All rooms were kept so clean (thanks to unseen staff) Just cannot fault any part, it was a pleasure to look around all the different rooms downstairs.
The bedroom we were given was the bridal suite, WOW, oh Rebecca thank you so much. The room is just outstanding with a lovely view. And thankyou for sorting out various things for us Rebecca, so grateful. The bed and the pillows were just so comfy that I took the name of them (pillows), The Fine Bedding Company, (bed) Hypnos, and ordered the same on return home as it was like sleeping on a cloud.
All the young men and ladies working in the bar were so friendly and welcoming as were all staff members I came into contact with.
The food from either restaurant or room service was enjoyable and of a good standard. A Romanian manager (can't pronounce his name my apologies, but it began with letter R) allowed me to order what I needed to eat due to special diet, thank you, sign of a first class hotel.
Desmond greeted us each day with a cheery smile and a chat whenever he saw us as did Chris, allowing us to feel special as if we were remembered.
We had the pleasure of listening Lucy playing the piano on our last evening. She is one talented lady and was just as friendly and accommodating as all the other staff members who I cannot name as there were just so many. But those people whose names I have mentioned deserve a pay rise for going above and beyond.
You have a fantastic hotel, and staff, who put their guests first. The service was first class, please don't change a thing. We loved every day with you and hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The rooms are very warm overlooking the golf course with the sun on all day. Draw the blinds.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shieldslass wrote a review May 2021
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom46 contributions21 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited Matfen Hall for our wedding anniversary. We had heard the hall had been renovated and going off the pictures on the website we were very excited to stay.

On arrival we were taken aback by the hall and the decor as it was stunning, we couldn't wait to see our deluxe room however that is when our excitement ended, our room (15) which we paid £299 for and was meant to be deluxe was very small and cramped as was the bathroom. The bed was a double not a king and the decor was tired. We thought we had been put in the wrong room as there are some 'classic' rooms which are cheaper which probably would have been bigger than this. The room was so cramped it was sweltering hot even with both windows wide open and would definitely have benefitted from an air con system. We have stayed at other stately homes and halls for less money and had much better rooms, even the premier inn rooms were bigger than this.

We had our meal in the Needham restaurant which was again renovated beautifully but sadly the food was bland and not the standard you would expect for the price our breakfast however was very tasty.

I have given 2 stars:
1 for the renovation efforts in the restaurants and bars and 1 for the staff and servers who were polite and chatty especially Desmond who was always going above and beyond for us.

It is a real shame that not much effort was put into renovating the 'Deluxe' rooms. Matfen Hall has the bones of a luxury hotel but based on the room and price we paid unfortunately we will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't bother paying extra unless you get a premier room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter Dawson, General Manager at Matfen Hall Hotel
Responded 4 Jun 2021
Dear Amanda_d88, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay although I’m disappointed to note you were rather disappointed. I’d very much like to understand more about your visit and if you have a few minutes, I’d be very grateful if you’d drop me a short line at your earliest convenience at peter.dawson@matfenhall.com and I’ll respond to you immediately. Yours sincerely, Peter J Dawson General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
louari wrote a review Sept 2023
Solihull, United Kingdom465 contributions190 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Just checked out of a 2 night disappointing stay.
Firstly the new refurbishment is absolutely stunning! Really beautiful interiors.
However what a shame the rooms and service & are a million miles away from the newly luxurious splendour…..

Our room. - room 28 was not only small & incredibly stuffy but we’d been allocated a wheelchair access room with a bathroom sink that would only be suitable for one of Ken Dodd’s Diddymen….! Ridiculous!
No air con or fan. Just one very small window which, when you left it open you were awoken at 7am to the very noisy sound of barrels & trollies being dragged along the gravel below your window.
Attention to detail was absent in so many ways.
Little things like after bed turn down a bottle of water left on each side of bed (a nice touch) but no glasses to drink out of?
Biscuits on 2nd night but not first.

Cold water tap would heat up overnight so boiling hot water when turned on.

Twice we visited reception and there was no one to be seen, they all appeared to be behind the door having a grand old time. Had to wait for them to appear…..heaven forbid they actually had guests to inconvenience them.

Service at breakfast this morning a complete joke. Lots of young staff who would glide past with their eyes 👀 gazing ahead to avoid eye contact should the guests dare to ask for basic things like butter (toast had been delivered 20 mins earlier) or indeed actually dare to ask for a breakfast order to be taken, which incidentally we had to get up & approach a huddle of staff to ask for just that.

Pool is lovely. Spa great. Not enough sun-loungers. These all appear to be allocated to day spa guests from 10am onwards. So unless you act like a German in Benidorm and sneak down before 10am to pop your belongings on one you won’t get one.
Spa treatments wonderful but a little overpriced at £140 for an hours facial.

I honestly don’t see the point of a multi million pound refurbishment if money isn’t being invested in staff training (which very obviously it isn’t) .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
worldtravellerrrrrrr wrote a review Aug 2021
Yorkshire22 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked matfen hall for 2 nights, relatively late as our other accommodation had let us down. We opted for a luxury room and this was the right choice for us as we love a huge luxurious room!
First impressions count; we were extremely impressed by the staff on reception and, entering through the great hall is wonderfully beautiful. We were assigned room 4 which was superlative with top quality fixtures and fittings. Clearly no expense has been spared with the recent refurbishment. Breakfast was good. The evening meal in the orangery was OKalthough choice was limited and the restaurant meal though expensive was worth it for the beautiful surroundings. We loved the pool which we had to ourselves! We enjoyed our stay so much that we have booked to return at the end of August, let's hope our next luxury room is as nice as room 4 & that we enjoy our one night stay just as much. Many guests were grumbling about the 10% service charge, so be aware of this but this is the way of the world these days.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer K wrote a review Oct 2021
Ryton, United Kingdom2 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Attended for our 10 year wedding anniversary. Totally disheartening from what was a special place to us to be given such a poor service and experience. Extremely poor customer service throughout and spa experience (atmosphere) not relaxing at all, might as well have invited masseuse into my own home for a better spa like atmosphere. Relaxation room cold, far too light and no music or refreshments available. No customer service to check ok, or offer drinks almost non existent Massage room cold, bright and noisy not a calming serene atmosphere like most spas. Very expensive for service and experience they are offering. Don’t be fooled by the “retreat” name or brochure- it’s reflection in reality is the complete opposite. Would not recommend the spa at all - cheaper spas within the area offering much much more.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chez wrote a review May 2021
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom203 contributions185 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from 2 nights at Matfen Hall, this was expensive £249 each night and this was classic double. On arrival we were greeted and luggage taken out of car and checkin was very good, the service we were given was fab, we were shown around personally and ro our room. This was room 30.

The room was ok, it was cool, and ok size, all toiletries, water supplied, 2 gripes our TV remote not working then our phones were not either, Husband went down guy came and remote sorted very quickly. The phones not at all, I phoned reception in mobile, we were given a phone from hotel as a new system was not working. This was great until housekeeping removed thus and 2 keycard which we needed and no need for this. The shower was good, apart too high to step in and out nothing to hold onto it.

We ate in Orangery on Sat night and thus was good, the choice off starters not great so we opted for dessert instead. Breakfast was good fresh hot choice was good. The cold stuff was not and I expected this to better for the price. The staff and service excellent. We opted for Sunday lunch and thus was good, I think they forgot us, but it was all good.

We went for swim, and pool and changing rooms were very good. My only gripe was Jacuzzi, this is not helpful if you have slight mobility issues there was nothing to hold on too and was stepped, if I got in I was it getting out, all that is needed is a rail in and out. This needs addressed. The staff were all very good.

Spa treatments were ver expensive nothin under £115 for. 1 hr, I then saw mini massages etc £55 so opted for this, they accommodated me as so busy. As I can’t do stair Tver treatment room all level 1 no lift here. The managed to go I. At level 1 which was very good and accommodating 5* service and person doing my treatment was fab by.

Our bill for 2 nights all foid was £690 so not cheap, we paid as not going abroad, but would want points addressed and sorted before I would lay again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check out disabled in pool.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
103chobbs wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Pulled up at reception, bags taken from us, saw again in room after checking in with a complimentary rum cocktail in the wonderful bar. Both rooms were huge and beautifully furnished. All staff attentive and able to do all that was asked of them including the heating engineer getting the bedroom to a comfortable temperature later on in the evening.
The Spa was inviting, a good sized pool and quiet so able to do lengths. The Sauna was hot and felt like a "proper" sauna, though the jacuzzi was difficult to activate and on a very short timer. Paid extra for a massage which was lovely.
A problem with flies everywhere but the time of year I guess.
Ate in the restaurant on two of the 3 day stay and enjoyed the luxury of the restaurant, in the library. The choice was limited, 4 starters, mains, desserts but everything was tasty and I enjoyed eating. If you are not a fussy eater you would enjoy any of the food.
There was a wedding on during the first day of our stay but it didn't impact on us during the day, could hear the disco in the evening.
I would love to stay again and hope I will.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BlackCountryDan wrote a review Sept 2021
London, United Kingdom61 contributions47 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for a wedding in September, the venue and the grounds are amazing but it really was very overpriced and dated.

It ended up costing us just over £440 for a double room for two nights, it felt like a dated mid nineties hotel lots of florals but definitely not worth what we paid.

We did have access to the Retreat Spa which was pleasant but that's about it.

Nothing wrong with the venue at all, I just felt like we were taken for a ride.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Request a room over looking the golf course
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Trevor G wrote a tip 13 Jun
2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Eat else where, there is plenty of good pubs and restaurants in this area"
Read full review
Dawn R wrote a tip 5 Jun
Newcastle, United Kingdom9 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book well in advance for a wedding or even a special weekend/overnight stay - food in the Emerald room is a must!"
Read full review
Neil A wrote a tip May 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check room for service level and housekeeping."
Read full review
Eithne M wrote a tip May 2024
23 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking great - unless a wedding is on."
Read full review
Sharron S wrote a tip Apr 2024
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This hotel is such a treat. Absolutely wonderful in every way! Lots to do in tbe vicinity. Beaches... beautiful little towns and villages."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Matfen area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$2,132 - HK$2,679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
matfen hall hotel matfen, matfen hall newcastle upon tyne
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNorthumberlandMatfen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MATFEN HALL HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Matfen Hall Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Matfen Hall Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Belsay Hall, Castle and Gardens (6.4 km), Go Ape Matfen (0.6 km), and Aydon Castle (6.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Matfen Hall Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Matfen Hall Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Matfen Hall Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Matfen Hall Hotel?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Matfen Hall Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Pine, Robin Hood Inn, and The Errington Coffee House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Matfen Hall Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Matfen Hall Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Matfen.
Are any cleaning services offered at Matfen Hall Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Matfen Hall Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Matfen Hall Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Polish.
All Matfen HotelsMatfen Hotel DealsHotels near Matfen Hall Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire