We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Devonshire Fell Hotel

Visit hotel website
Traveller (203)
Room & Suite (39)
Video (1)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Located in the pretty village of Burnsall, The Devonshire Fell Hotel lies in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, nestled among rolling hills, country lanes and dry stone walls. The property has free WiFi and there is free parking. There are 16 bedrooms at the Devonshire Fell, each boasting their own individual character, with many affording breathtaking views of Yorkshire countryside. The reception area and bar is vibrant and cosy, with colourful armchairs where guests can unwind with a drink. Guests can relax in the 2-AA Rosette restaurant and soak up the striking views as they dine on mouth-watering dishes made using locally sourced produce. The local area is a paradise for walkers and their dogs, which are equally welcomed and stay for free. Many ancient castles, country houses and UNESCO World Heritage Sites are within a 30-minute drive.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Room service
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
River View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
625Reviews
250Photos
4Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 360
  • 171
  • 71
  • 18
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My husband and I have just spent an enjoyable break here. The room was spacious with décor that matched the previous Devonshire Hotel we stayed in at Beeley. Spotlessly clean, nice crisp bedding and the bed was really comfortable. The staff were really friendly, nothing was a
Read more
Hotel's Favourite
We stayed here last week for 5 nights. What a lovely hotel, very clean, friendly helpful staff, excellent food, superb views. They were very welcoming to our little dog too. The hotel covered everything I expected for the price paid. Spacious room, nice bath sheets (not usual
Read more
Response from jennifer G, General Manager at The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Responded 8 May 2018
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write your fantastic feed back,and for choosing the Fell for your break away. Myself and the team are thrilled you had such a great time and hope we see you again soon . Kind Regards Jen Gleeson General Manager
Read more
Last time we stayed here in 2017 we were very disappointed by the whole experience which was such a shame as we had always enjoyed our stays here over the previous 15 years. Great to see improved hotel management which meant better organisation. Special mention to David as he
Read more
Our first experience of The Fell, provoked by an unmissable special offer. First, to mention that the weather was spectacular for our visit, which made the whole of Burnsall, and the valley look wonderful, and fairly quiet...we imagine this spot could get very busy. Next, to the
Read more
Response from jenniferG5794, General Manager at The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest Firstly thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review , we certainly have had some beautiful weather lately which makes it all the more pleasurable to enjoy the great walks we have on our doorstep and take in the views I am pleased you had such a lovely stay with us and enjoyed all aspects of what the fell as to offer from the service to the food , we do have a selection of pillows on request and I take on board your comment regarding the slippers and will look into implementing these in to the rooms, we do not have little safes in the rooms , however we do have gun safes in all the rooms which can be used for your valuables if needed . Once again thank you for your lovely comments and we hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Jen Gleeson
Read more
My husband and I stayed for three nights from Friday to Monday last weekend. All I can say is that it is one of the very best hotels we have stayed at for many reasons. Our two dogs accompanied us and this was an added bonus as my husband always hates leaving them at home when
Read more
Response from jenniferG5794, General Manager at The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Lynda Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review, I have shared your comments with the team whom are all thrilled you had such a wonderful stay at the Fell We look forward to seeing again soon Kind regards Jen Gleeson
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Our bedroom suite
Photo provided by managementThe Devonshire Fell Hotel
View
Photo provided by managementThe Devonshire Fell Hotel
Fell view superking room
View from ground floor conservatory
PreviousNext
1234568
I haven't actually enjoyed a treatment at the Devonshire Arms Spa but I've been in and looked around. Looks so inviting, and they have lovely range of treatments to spoil yourself. I expect you'd have to book ahead as it seemed popular when I visited. Hope this helps
0 votes
Show all answers
No, sorry. Ours was a large room.
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi, Staff very friendly, we have stayed at this hotel and the Devonshire and all staff are very friendly. I think the spa may be out of bounds for children as its quite small and changing facilities are fairly limited and on a different floor level to the spa. we have stayed with our dogs and they have been most welcome. Beautiful setting and the walks are outstanding.
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi Randy, Thank you for your question. We are more than happy to accept bags to be delivered so that's no problem at all. We are on the Dales Way - it passes right through the village. I will check our availability for you and let you know if we have any rooms available for you. if yo uhave any further questions please do call us on +44 (0) 1756 729000 Kind regards David Cook General Manager
0 votes
"Fell view rooms and river view rooms are available"
"I would imagine that all the rooms are of a similar high standard."
"Front rooms have lovely views"
"All rooms are individual"
"We stayed in the Suite. (part of our package) but all our family and guests loved their rooms. We booked the whole hotel."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$170 - US$346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the devonshire fell hoteldevonshire fell hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireYorkshire Dales National ParkBurnsall
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing