We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coastlands Umhlanga

Save
Share
329 Umhlanga Rocks Drive, Umhlanga 4319 South Africa
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
Trip.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (147)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (27)

About

#1 of 10 hotels in Umhlanga
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Full view
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
592Reviews4Q+A80Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 218
  • 210
  • 88
  • 41
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
Popular mentions
Ash wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
Warning guys! Please stay away from going to coastlands in Umhlanga they have faulty boom gates that will close on your vehicle and whentime comes for them to pay the damages they dont take your calls and they keep mentioning to call head office. 4 weeks ago I visited the hotel with my family, upon entering the gates closed on my vehiclr and damaged the roof of my vehicle. The maintaince manager who is good for nothing told me not to worry their insurance will have this sported out. Its now 4 weeks later and i have heard nothing. The sraff is rude ane abrupt like they are overworked and under paid. Thats what happens when families employe families. They dont give a damn about your customer's and they can get away with their stinking attitude.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Manager, Marketing at Coastlands Umhlanga
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Ash We would like to apologise for the inconvenience and we would like to inform you that we have escalated your complaint to our board of directors. We will obtain all the necessary details and information pertaining to this incident and we will be in contact soon.
Read more
Zainy wrote a review Dec 2020
7 contributions
Our bathroom had a blocked drain which gave off an unbearable stench. We asked to be moved the following day but by 4 pm the following day, the new room was still not ready. After putting up a fuss , finally we settled in. The breakfast unfortunately is not up to standard. The cheese in the omelette was unmelted; I had to inform the waiter that the platter of watermelon had gone off; and we had to wait for over 20 min for tea. The restaurant is grossly unstaffed in termed of waiters .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Manager, Marketing at Coastlands Umhlanga
Responded 5 Jan 2021
Thank you for stying at our hotel and for your valuable feedback. We apologise for the inconvenience. Due to lockdown regulations, coupled with our efforts to curb the spread of COVID-19, we are only allowed a certain number of people in our restaurant and we are therefore limiting the number of staff members that can be on duty at any given time. We have escalated your feedback to senior management of the hotel for urgent attention. We look forward to welcome you again soon.
Read more
Dikeledi N wrote a review Dec 2020
Pretoria, South Africa7 contributions
The hotel is beautiful and has friendly and helpful staff. The food is out of this world,and the location is just perfect. We could see the sea from our room,the view was everything.One the waiters was taking good care of us,and he even recommended nice chilling spots near the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Manager, Marketing at Coastlands Umhlanga
Responded 5 Jan 2021
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to Umhlanga. We are pleased that you had a pleasant and memorabel experience and that you enjoyed our facilities and service. We look forward to welcome you again soon.
Read more
Mostert585 wrote a review Nov 2020
Pretoria, South Africa59 contributions14 helpful votes
Great room - very spacious, large safe, extra large shower, king size bed, very clean. The street below is noisy in the early morning (traffic), so having a room on a high floor really helped. We checked in at 21:00 and found that the towels had not been replenished. There was just one towel in the room. Also, the in-room coffee station had not been replenished. We called housekeeping, who apologised and promptly delivered more towels and coffee and coffee creamer. We arrived hungry. The in-room info said that snacks and salads are served in the bar 24 hours a day, so we headed there. However, the friendly barman told us that since the Covid pandemic lockdowns, they do not serve snacks in the bar. It was a disappointment. It would be available as room service but we didn't feel like sitting in the room and eat. There was only one chair in the room in any case. Despite the initial setbacks, we still had a very pleasant overnight stay. It was good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Higher rooms are more quiet when the morning traffic starts.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Manager, Marketing at Coastlands Umhlanga
Responded 5 Jan 2021
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to Umhlanga. We are pleased that you had a pleasant and memorable experience and that you enjoyed our facilities and service. We are pleased to hear that we were able to act quickly to any requests that you may have had and we apologise that we were not able to serve you snacks at the bar as per the lockdown regulations. We look forward to welcome you again soon.
Read more
Karyn G wrote a review Sep 2020
76 contributions26 helpful votes
We decided to try Coastlands as I had heard good reports about the Spa. My mother and I both had a wonderful spa treatment and the views from the breakfast room Saffron where lovely. Easy check in and staff were friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Andre Van Wyk, Marketing at Coastlands Umhlanga
Responded 5 Jan 2021
Thank you for your valuable feedback and for visiting our hotel. We are pleased that you had a pleasant experience and that you enjoyed our spa treatments and breakfast. We look forward to welcome you again soon.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$52 - US$102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalUmhlanga
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Coastlands Umhlanga
Which popular attractions are close to Coastlands Umhlanga?
Nearby attractions include Gateway Theatre of Shopping (0.4 km), The Barnyard Theatre (0.5 km), and Gateway IMAX (0.5 km).
What are some restaurants close to Coastlands Umhlanga?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mozambik Gateway, Circus Circus Cafe, and Butcher Block.
Are there any historical sites close to Coastlands Umhlanga?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Ramakrishna Centre of South Africa Durban (5.1 km).
Does Coastlands Umhlanga have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.