We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Save
Share
Playa de Formentor, s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca Spain
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Additional 5% off
Hotels.com
Expedia
Barcelo.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (558)
Pool & Beach (95)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#18 of 30 hotels in Port de Pollenca
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The hotel Formentor Royal Hideaway is a luxurious establishment located in the Formentor Cape, North from the Mallorca island, at the foot of the famous Formentor beach and surrounded by 1,200 hectares of Mediterranean forest. Throughout its history, the hotel has been the place of choice for numerous renowned characters as a place to repose and relax. This famous hotel is surrounded by crystal clear waters and spectacular views over the Formentor Cape bay. The Barcelo Formentor Hotel has a romantic and peaceful appeal. A special hotel due to its magnificent rooms, the soothing sound of the waves and the sea breeze that drift round in the hotel, and the peace inspired by its Mediterranean gardens and memorable views. Connect with the tranquillity and equilibrium of the pure air of the Mediterranean while you enjoy a delicious dinner. Befitting a hotel of this class, we offer you a remarkable dining experience in our 5 restaurants, each one characterised by their excellent service and high standard cuisine. The hotel also offers 5 function rooms, ensuring that each and every event held here may be unique and successful. Taking advantage of the outstanding location, the hotel organises horse-back riding and sailing, amongst many other activities – all planned for your enjoyment.
Read more
Room & Suite (68)68
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Additional 5% off
1,094Reviews25Q+A96Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 658
  • 230
  • 100
  • 65
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jet71713 wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions11 helpful votes
Fantastic Property. Overall we had a very relaxing week at the hotel. Staff is extremely friendly. The weak point is clearly the culinary variety, but not sure it is fair to criticise given current Covid restrictions. But clearly, there is room for improvement there and also the rooms desperately need an upgrade.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
870george wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions
Once more at Formentor for a few nights and once more a wonderful stay. Friendly, helpful, efficient yet discreet service (reception, meals, by the pool, ...). The gardens were magnificent and the pool seemed better than ever. The beach and the sea were as gorgeous as expected. And, even with the restrictions caused by the coronavirus context, the breakfast and dinner buffets were again outstanding.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
36sunlover wrote a review Jul 2020
Greater London, United Kingdom26 contributions16 helpful votes
Every summer we have spent at least one day on the beach at Hotel Formentor, enjoying its wonderful position, inviting sea and the fine service of the beach staff. Alas the latter was nowhere to be seen on our visit last week. Gone are the charming staff together with the complimentary bottles of iced water that once were given out on arrival. Regarding lunch, we were told that as non-residents we could not book a table but just had to 'turn up'. So when tables became free, we turned up to be told that they were being kept free for hotel residents- in case - and we could not sit there. No attempt was made to encourage us to wait or any indication of how long we might have to wait. The restaurant manager simply repeated "this is hotel policy" - we have never encountered this policy before, so if this is part of the Royal Hideaway re-branding it is very poorly conceived. And it begs the question - if the tables hadn't been reserved by hotel guests, then surely they were available to non residents? However, having read other recent comments, I am glad that we found somewhere else for lunch and didn't spend half the afternoon waiting for the bill to arrive. As it was, two coffees, a half litre of still water and a smoothie had cost 21 Euros - if the service had matched the price, I would not have felt robbed. The beach at Formentor had been a holiday staple - but no longer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Service
Room Tip: If you've read the recent reviews, you would be unwise to stay!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Experience, Otros at Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Responded 28 Jul 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing each year our Formentor, a Royal Hideaway hotel for your holidays. We are saddened to read that the adaptation of services to the new regulations and the occupation has negatively influenced your experience, the measures that not only Barceló but all the service establishments are taking to adapt its business to the new normality are designed with the aim of to offer a safe experience and that guests can be well cared for. Please rest assure that as the situation evolves we will try to find the best formulas so that our clients are 100% satisfied. Specifically, this season the Playa Mar Buffet is not open, so we have been forced to reserve some tables for hotel clients so that they do not loose the lunch booked or have to make a waiting list. We are truly sorry you did not feel attended enough in this ocassion, the team works daily to provide the best possible service to let our guests feel most valued and genuinely cared for. Despite this issue, we would like to thank you for pointing out the wonderful spot where the hotel is located surrounded by nature and near to the beach. We hope you can enjoy it as every summer. We hope you had a nice journey back home and we sincerely hop that all is not lost and that you will contact us the next time you are in town so we may offer our improved and normal services. Customer Experience Barceló Hotel Group
Read more
Mccoy7007 wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
Finely positioned hotel with excellent views over the bay in Fomentor peninsula. However, the service was extremely poor. The worst was the beach restaurant whose maitre D was surly and unhelpful. You would have through they would be going out of their way to welcome customers at this restaurant give the impact of COVID but the staff clearly have an attitude problem. Not recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Experience, Otros at Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Responded 27 Jul 2020
Dear guest, Many thanks for choosing the Formentor, a Royal Hideaway hotel for your holidays. We have taken good notes of your comments and we are truly sorry you did not feel attended enough in our restaurant, the team works daily to provide the best possible service to let clients feel most valued and genuinely cared for. Please rest assured that we will discuss it internally with our team in order to improve the service we offer to our valued guests. Despite this issue, we are grateful to know you enjoyed our amazing location surrounded by nature, a place where you are able to disconnect and relax. We hope you had a nice journey back home and to regain your trust in the future for a better experience as it should be Customer Experience Barceló Hotel Group
Read more
James-Jukes wrote a review Jul 2020
Port de Soller, Spain11 contributions3 helpful votes
The title says it all. It is quite shocking that this hotel is charging top drawer prices for such a poor experience. The place is now being taken over by Four Seasons, which is much-needed, as the current owners have clearly lost interest.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from ManagerGX, Customer Experience at Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Responded 6 Jul 2020
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing our Formentor, a Royal Hideaway hotel for your stay in Mallorca. We are sorry to read that you found certain imperfections resulting from wear and tear. Although this is not a newly-built hotel, we work hard to keep it in good condition so guests feel comfortable. We will forward your comment to the management team because customer feedback helps us to improve, and we will keep it in mind for future infrastructure renovations. On the other hand, we strive to offer the best value for guests as our prices are in line with the hotels with the same category and services located in the area. We hope all is not lost and we look forward to seeing you again so we may regain your trust with a better experience. Customer Experience | Barceló Hotel group
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$267 - US$617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo port de pollenca, port de pollenca barcelo, hotel formentor
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Barcelo Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
LOCATION
SpainBalearic IslandsMajorcaPort de Pollenca
NUMBER OF ROOMS
122
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mirador de Sa Creueta (5.8 km), Mirador Es Colomer Formentor (1.9 km), and Pine Walk (4.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Moll de Bellagio, Himalaya Indian Nepalese Restaurant, and No. 31 Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Placa Vella i Ca'n Llobera (2.9 km).