We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Matlali Hills Resort & Spa

Calle Carretera a Punta de Mita Km 0.2, La Cruz de Huanacaxtle 63734 Mexico
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/02/22
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1312)
Panoramas (96)
Room & Suite (599)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 28/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Grand Matlali Hills Resort & Spa
Updated 28/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#2 of 6 hotels in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
Welcome to Grand Matlali Hills Resort & Spa, your La Cruz de Huanacaxtle “home away from home.” Grand Matlali Hills Resort & Spa aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year Grand Matlali Hills Resort & Spa is a romantic hotel offering a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a minibar in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests. The hotel features a 24 hour front desk. Plus, guests can enjoy a pool and a poolside bar, which have made this a popular choice among travelers visiting La Cruz de Huanacaxtle. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available. Grand Matlali Hills Resort puts the best of La Cruz de Huanacaxtle at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Poolside bar
Kids pool
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Highchairs available
Car hire
Taxi service
Foot massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1265Reviews252Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 646
  • 293
  • 145
  • 80
  • 101
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Daniela A wrote a review Aug 2021
5 contributions
Location is beautiful, however the staff has been very unfriendly, the rooms are incredibly noisy. The front desk refused to give us a different room after complaining about the noise regardless of having availability online and didn't even check their actual availability. So far, not impressed for what they say to be a 4 diamond hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Matlali Resort , Director General at Grand Matlali Hills Resort & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Good afternoon Daniela, we are sorry that your perception of service was bad despite the fact that they were attended by Jesus the reception Supervisor and due to the availability of that day it was not possible to change the room to Master Suite & Private Pool, it was offered the next day and additional cost information was provided. We invite you to have the opportunity to serve them again and enjoy our new facilities from December. Kind regards
Read more
victoria261 wrote a review Aug 2021
San Antonio, Texas1 contribution
Venimos a quedarnos en Grand Matlali Hills Resort & Spa como una vacation familiar. Llegando, todos los empleados fueron bien atentos a cualquier necesitas que se nos presentó. El resort tiene una playa privada “Eva mandarín” donde el servicio es excelente aparte de la hermosa playa. Darcy fue espectacular en todo aspecto. Fue súper atento para nuestra familia de 6. Incluso, los restaurantes dentro del resort valen la pena 100%. La comida es deliciosa y los meseros/meseras todos fueron de lo mejor. El restaurante “Raixes” fue excelente. El equipo que incluye Bibiana, Darcy, Katia, Sandra, David, y Alicia fueron de lo más amables y atentos. Adicionalmente, Roberto fue excelente mesero al par de las piscinas. Definitivamente regresaríamos a quedar en este resort! We came to stay at Grand Matlali Hills Resort & Spa as a familiar vacation. As soon as we arrived, everyone was very attentive and ready to accommodate us in every way. The resort has a private beach “ Eva mandarin” with inclusive food and drinks ready for you along with a beautiful and relaxing beach. Darcy was an excellent waiter to our family of 6. He was very attentive and kind. In addition, the restaurants available were spectacular. The food was absolutely delicious and every team member was ready to fulfill all requests. The team at “ Raixes” was spectacular including Bibiana, Darcy, Katia, Sandra, David, and Alicia. They were so kind and provided excellent service. Roberto also provided awesome service down by the pool! We would definitely love to come back to this place! - Familia Watson
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Will Y wrote a review Jun 2021
Los Angeles, California7 contributions7 helpful votes
We booked a stay at the grand matlali in May 2021 for 8 nights. We took the master suite with the personal pool which seemed like a great idea at the time… Our experience went south from the moment we arrived. After traveling for several hours we arrived at check in time of 3p. We were greeted by a man who, after we checked in, sat us down for 30 minutes assuring us his pitch was not for a time share which immediately raised red flags. His friendly but pushy style haphazardly showed us all the amenities of the grounds on a map where he then began to push their upgraded resort nearby which has an even better buffet than the one we currently booked. He then forcefully pushed us to book a tour of the resort for the next morning. He insisted on 8am however I told him I would probably be hungover, then I reluctantly agreed to 9am. As we left for the shuttle to our room he repeatedly asked us to make the appointment the next day although as he told us it was not a sales pitch for a timeshare and did not tell us it was mandatory. When we arrived at the master suite we immediately noticed that our private pool had not been cleaned in some time. There were cigarette butts surrounding it and a bunch of dead bugs in the water. We made our reservations for dinner, and here is where it goes south. On the weekends - Friday and Saturday (we arrived Saturday) there are two restaurants only - the buffet and the steakhouse. They did not explain this at all. We made a reservation not knowing that we made one for the buffet. The food was inedible. Slop basically. Here is where they get you. The Asian restaurant is completely closed and the steakhouse is only open Friday and Saturday, but we were not informed of this until Sunday when we tried to make reservations for the steakhouse. Basically for five days of the week you only have the buffet as your choice for dining (the pool bar has food until 5:30p). After a horrible first meal on Saturday, we drank throughout the night and when the morning came around we were beat and the 9am non-mandatory tour came around and we slept thru the time… The man then called our room and my cell phone over 20 times! Yes you read that correctly. He repeatedly called our room until I took the phone off the hook, and called my cell phone for a non-mandatory tour we were forced into agreeing to go on. After a shocking amount of calls We decided to ignore and go to the pool… where he hunted us down to harass us about not going on the tour that he never actually asked if we wanted to go on in the first place. We then reluctantly agreed to the next day at 11am for the tour. Cut to the evening and us going to the buffet again (remember it is Sunday and now it is the only restaurant). Tex-Mex was the theme and it was unbelievably worse than the first night. We realized that our all-inclusive experience would require us eat dinner outside of the grounds every night. I expressed my frustration with the front desk as we left to eat somewhere else. Word travels fast there because when I went to the front desk Monday morning to let them know that I would not be taking any tours and that the food was the worst buffet or all inclusive experience I had ever had, the man insisted that we have the same cooks prepare us a special meal each day. I explained how could these same cooks get any better than the inedible food they had already been preparing. We took a pass and opted to eat out each night. In response on our third day he had a fruit basket prepared and left in our room… with old and moldy fruit! So our all inclusive experience at Grand Matlali required multiple cab rides every day and purchasing food (if you’ve already booked you should add this to your budget). To the Grand Matlali, no need to respond to this below with a half-hearted apology and invitation to return. How about refund the upgrades cost of the master suite since our pool wasn’t cleaned and we could not use? Oh and we found out about the tour. It is a pushy sales pitch to book another vacation on the newer and more improved grounds where sometimes they leave you in a room until you do! Lastly, a baby defecated in the top pool next to the pool bar midway through our stay. This prompted the staff to rope off the area and throw a powder like substance on the “problem”. The pool was shut down for the evening. Grand Matlali: F-
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4 Helpful votes
Amairani Ramírez wrote a review Apr 2021
2 contributions
This resort’s amazing, I fell completely in love. The staff is SO NICE, Eren at the front desk made us feel so welcomed, bellboys and all waiters are super friendly and attentive! Our room and the view was beyond beautiful, and the beach club is just WOW. The food.. absolutely delish. Thank you so much for such a pleasant stay! Cheers to all the staff, hopefully we’ll visit again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Matlali Resort , Director General at Grand Matlali Hills Resort & Spa
Responded 6 May 2021
Dear Customer. It is a pleasure to know that your stay was exceptional and that we exceeded your expectations in every way. It will be a pleasure to welcome you on your next vacation. Best regards.
Read more
Marc-Antoine B wrote a review Apr 2021
Guadalajara, Mexico3 contributions10 helpful votes
The hotel is alright. The pool is nice. Food is disappointing for the price you'll pay. The worst is the 'life' people who will lure you to attend a presentation. They will offer you free weekend stays. DO NOT DO IT. They will find ALLLL reasons in the world not to honour it. We started trying to book in October 2020. It's May 2021 and we still don't have a booking. First, they said it can't be used on holidays, fine. Then they were charging 3500 pesos for the food. Then, it was 12 000. Then we can't use two certificates at the same time. Then, they made us wait (no response to our booking for 1 month) and told us sorry, the weekend you are trying to book, so you can't book. Try again another date. This is A BIG SCAM. DO NOT EVER SAY YES TO THEIR PRESENTATIONS!!! Don't waste your time with something that will not give you ANYTHING. Don't get caught like we did. Enjoy the pool, or book at the Riu in Nuevo V. Much better food and ambiance. Cheers to those incompetents we talked to trying to book who were yelling at us.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't book this hotel.
See more room tips
4 Helpful votes
Response from Matlali Resort , Director General at Grand Matlali Hills Resort & Spa
Responded 6 May 2021
Dear Customer. We regret that you have had any confusion regarding the gift that the vacation club provided to you. We inform you that the coupons are not cumulative and also come with European plan since these are free and do not include meals, for this reason this charge is made. Another point is that it is only valid in low season and subject to availability. Feel free to use your coupons, the life department will be attentive to reserve your next vacation. Best regards.
Read more
US$146 - US$258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Matlali Hotel
MexicoPacific CoastNayaritRiviera NayaritLa Cruz de Huanacaxtle
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Matlali Hills Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Matlali Hills Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include La Cruz Market (2.2 km), Splash of Glass (4.9 km), and La Cruz de Huancaxtle Market (2.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Matlali Hills Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Matlali Hills Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Matlali Hills Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a poolside bar, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Matlali Hills Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Matlali Hills Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Venazú, La Casona, and Armando´s Place.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Matlali Hills Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grand Matlali Hills Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Grand Matlali Hills Resort & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.