We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Riverwoods

Room/Suite (30)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Room review highlights
... lit and ventilated for a comfortable stay. Every corner and room in the homestay has wonderful art and antiques which takes...
... stay at Riverwoods amongst the best. Even while sharing my room with my other friend, I never felt it to be crowded, pretty...
... our Adda!, not complaining that it was close to the drawing room and kitchen, and overlooked the back garden.It also connects...
Featured room amenities
Kitchenette
Laundry Service
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Smoking rooms available
Non-smoking rooms
Non-smoking hotel

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Rohan K wrote a review Jun 2018
2 contributions
we stayed in Riverwoods for 3 nights a few weeks back .. and from that experience I can say that it is one of the most scenic and comfortable stay in chikamagalur.
To start off with it one of the most easy to find homestays yet far from the noise and chaos. Once you enter the gate, its a good 1 km drive inside their estate surrounded by coffee, pepper, fig trees, coconut trees etc.
Well if you feel this is not enough then the river Bhadra flows through the estate. So you can have a dip whenever you feel like

The houses and cottages are not only beautiful to look at, but its also well lit and ventilated for a comfortable stay. Every corner and room in the homestay has wonderful art and antiques which takes you back in time.

To top it all they have a very rustic and earthy looking bath tub which made me book the place again.

This stay comes along with all the 3 meals included so you never have to leave the place to wander around.
Along with this you can always ask for a cup of coffee while enjoying the nature.

On your treks inside the estate, you can spot different species of birds. I was able to spot Crested hawk eagle, minivet, cuckoo hawk, woodpecker (greater flameback, black rumped, lesser yellownape,) drongos, sunbirds, oriental honey buzzard, velvet nuthatch, ashy wood swallow, crested serpent eagle, plum headed parakeet, vernal hanging parrot, hill myna, chestnut headed bee eater, white cheeked barbet, doves, brahminy starlings, kingfisher (pied & whitebreasted), black named oriole, spotted fantail, spotted owlet etc.

You can always get help from the hosts and their do-it-all manager.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew P, Owner at Riverwoods
Responded 21 Jun 2018
Hi Rohan Thank you for your wonderful review. I'm amazed about your knowledge on birds . Did you manage to get pictures of the above mentioned birds .If so could you share them with us. We stopped using pesticides and harsh chemicals and that probably has helped with the birds . I will communicate your appreciation with the staff Thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rudresh M wrote a review Jun 2018
1 contribution
I've been on many biking expeditions with my friends and have stayed at numerous homestay, I would rate my recent stay at Riverwoods amongst the best. Even while sharing my room with my other friend, I never felt it to be crowded, pretty large, huge space in the front and back allowed us to have some space for ourselves. Being vegetarians, we felt we had enough to eat, and the taste was excellent. Comfortable beds, very neat showers, after a long day, a great place to relax.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew P, Owner at Riverwoods
Responded 21 Jun 2018
Hi Rudresh Thank you for your review . Of recent we have received a lot of bikers passing through our property.A lot of scenic routes in the neighborhood I guess . I will communicate your appreciation to the staff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avinash B wrote a review Jun 2018
Bengaluru, India5 contributions1 helpful vote
We are a group of bikers belonging to the group Royal Roadies
We were looking for a serene and tranquil retreat in Chikmagalur, A Home away from home, to relax nd unwind.
Our lives in Bangalore are stressful and the one thing we enjoy is a great bike ride to a beautiful location.We love the wind in our hair and the cool fresh breeze of the mountains, the breath taking greenery as we whizz by!Riverwoods gave us all this and More
We were pleasantly surprised by Riverwoods, A Quaint Home amidst a large planataion of Coffee, Pepper and Areca.The Home is tasteful and warm, It's Red oxide floors remind you of a bygone era.Each piece is tastefully placed and each painting and artefact unique.The home is rustic and yet very comfortable.
It is very well maintained and clean.Each area has some interesting pieces of art work and furniture- like faceted, wooden roof elements, ancient masala boxes, Huge Buttermilk Churning bowls converted into tea tables,a gramaphone table, masks,the most curious of wall mirrors, interesting bric a brak.
The food is home cooked, delicious and what I would call Cooked with Love.We are big eaters and Live to Eat!The cook pampered us silly!
We took over the veranda with rustic tree like chairs and made it our Adda!, not complaining that it was close to the drawing room and kitchen, and overlooked the back garden.It also connects to the Barbeque and Bonfire Yard.The Barbeque was yummy and we also participated in Barbequing while enjoying the bonfire after a huge thunderstorm.There is nothing quite like this peace and quiet amidst the gift of nature.
We enjoyed riding our bikes in and around the property, took a dip in the river Bhadra which surrounds this property. All.in all we were very happy
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew P, Owner at Riverwoods
Responded 7 Jun 2018
Hi Avinash Thank you for your review. I will convey your appreciation to the Riverwoods team . Glad you loved the food . We are trying to add more local recipes , such as wild mushrooms and bamboo shoot pickle. Mrinal has taken a lot of effort in collecting antiques and art work. Next time you could try the bike ride from our place to kudremukha. Riverwoods
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaival s wrote a review Mar 2018
Bengaluru, India51 contributions5 helpful votes
👍: Beautiful homestay , peaceful, serene place, rooms clean, hospitality 👌👌
Food is awesome..
Mr. Javed, the manager is very helpful n is available round the clock if u need anything..
BBQ n campfire is great..
The stay is very close to few sightseeing spots..
👎: fan not wrkng well in one of the room, no fan in main sitting area..
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew P, Owner at Riverwoods
Responded 7 Jun 2018
Hi Shaival Thank you for your review. I will recheck about the fans . Till about a couple of years back we didn't even need fans . I will convey your regards to Javed and the staff. Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan_SRS wrote a review Dec 2017
Bangalore District, India43 contributions34 helpful votes
Sorry for the long review, but this story needs to be told! I have been to this place as a big group of friends and family members (with kids) and have decided on it after going through the positive reviews, but I was thoroughly disappointed by the overall experience. To begin with, the place is good for staying, we have no complaints regarding that. Nice clean rooms and wash rooms and the whole house is good. But one negative here is the common dining area where all other guests come to dine all 3 meals and your bedroom doors open into this area leaving no room for privacy as against what we were told that the entire house will be for our grp! But that's just one of the things which were misleading, there are many more!
Food, home stays are expected to usually provide good food and we had good feedback of this place but I would say from my experience its also wrong. Food was pathetic, no taste, lunch served cold, had a microwave but didn't bother to heat the stuff too! It was expected to be south Indian food but didn't expect such low standard, even the rice used was very low quality and yeah there was no dal at all! Informed Javed (care taker) and he assured dinner would be better. Evening snacks had onion bhajjis and 2 members found plastic pieces in them and showed it to him too! Then comes barbecue, which was shocking! Carrots, onions in chilly paste for veg and you are lucky if you can find a paneer piece. Equally bad, non-veg and the worst thing, using same grills to cooks non-veg first and then veg items! Informed Javed again of all this and he says he has no items other than this for barbecue, the kitchen had no stock of things..At this point I messaged the owner, lady named Mrinal, called her too but she didn't pickup the call. After the lunch, snacks and now the quality of barbecue made me think, is this place really worth the money this lady is charging us? We were travelling with small kids and the lack of proper food really put us off. Even the drinking water we were scared to drink as the Aquaguard that was there in the stinking kitchen was not working. Then the lady sent the estate manager to listen to our grievances and all the guests (including one other family staying in the cottage) explained him of what all we had faced regarding lunch, snacks and the barbecue. Most shocking was the plastic thing, when we told him, and Javed confirmed, it was found that he had bought those bhajjis from roadside somewhere and this estate manager was least concerned that guests are being fed such food and said whatever has happened you forget and tell us what you want next! Very positive attitude towards life! We were given dinner (night 10pm) of half cooked bhindi, again egg curry, rasam and same rice from lunch. Later for next serving they served us a better quality rice which was cooked in the kitchen there, rest food was brought from outside.
Next day morning the owner calls me and says it appears that our group cannot be made happy with whatever their staff is trying. I told her to first listen to what all issues we had faced and don't put a blame on us that we are a difficult to please grp..I told her very clearly that I have no issues with the place or house but your food service sucks. When you are charging so much why can't you arrange proper cook? The lady herself is based in Bangalore and is well aware that guests coming from Bangalore, will have some basic expectations of good hygienic food in a home stay instead of taking care of that she labels us as a difficult to please group. She goes on to tell me that you are free to leave (we booked for 2 nights) as 1 night stay was over and that they can't make us happy but if we decide to continue, to pay the balance amount to them immediately then only they will arrange lunch! I was disgusted as it was completely spoiling our vacation and it appeared that these ppl just want to trap the guests by making them pay the money first! Fortunately we had not paid
the full amt at the time of booking. As we had traveled all the way and it was difficult to get new booking on x-mas eve, I offered her that we can stay provided she takes care of things and reduces the charges as the service they are giving is definitely not worth the money I am paying them. To this she didn't agree and even we felt like leaving this place as the attitude of this lady was very very disgusting. Some how we planned something and decided to leave the place after breakfast. After so much feedback given the previous night and have told them upfront what we want for breakfast, we were lucky to be served hot breakfast that day.
I left this place with a very bad memory of the interaction with this lady who seems to be very well versed in fooling people. My request to fellow travelers is, please don't get misguided by good reviews about this place like me! If you are fine with cold, low quality, in sufficient food, please come here. Stay wise no issues. Activities - nothing to do just a trek and dirty river bank with ppl washing utensils. Also, please make sure you don't pay full money in advance no matter how much these ppl force you (which in fact they really do under the pretext that other party is waiting to book). Best is to pay as minimum as possible at the time of booking and pay rest later based on the service provided. Negotiate and make sure you get yourself heard as this lady would not listen to you and would not give you opportunity to speak. She told me we have many cases of guests returning from riverwoods, which was no surprise to my ears after seeing their service and her attitude. Also, make sure you tell your expectations about food very clearly because these people have no cook, one village maid who cooked the food of us when we created so much issue, else they were bringing food from outside somewhere and telling us we are getting from another house. I can't believe a word she says after all this. No proper drinking water available, better make your own arrangements if travelling with young kids. Don't expect a barbecue like what we think barbecue is, here the definition itself is something else and to explain I am told, you know some people like to pay for this different experience! Well, not me! Best tip would be to avoid this place as there are many really good home stays in and around Chikmanglur. A little humility and good service could have earned more stars to this otherwise good place.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew P, Owner at Riverwoods
Responded 18 Feb 2018
Thank you for your review .A homestay is just that a Home . All common areas are shared . This concept only suits a more experienced Traveller who can connect and be at peace with nature . We will review your comments about our food strongly , we do not serve food from outside . We had requested you leave due to your inappropriate comments to the staff ( lady) . There is zero tolerance for this .
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous