We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City

Room/Suite (69)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$103
Booking.comUS$103
TripadvisorUS$102
ZenHotels.com
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... to my hen party. Caitriona accommodated us in a family room to enjoy with 3 friends as restrictions had put a stop to...
... covid regulations adhered to. The two girls in the breakfast room work very hard. Maybe if there was a duty manager to help...
... leave your car there and walk around the city. We stayed in Room 504 which was big and cosy with very comfortable beds! The...
Most popular question about the rooms
can the room deposit be paid on a credit card?
Answer from Tracy N
Jan 2017 |
... 021-4529200 we can talk you through paying the deposit on a room with credit card. Kind Regards, Robert McCarthy, General...
Read more

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
MajellaCremin wrote a review Sep 2020
Cork, Ireland20 contributions1 helpful vote
Had a fantastic stay at this hotel, as a alternative to my hen party. Caitriona accommodated us in a family room to enjoy with 3 friends as restrictions had put a stop to the big party we originally planned. The staff were so helpful, and the set up put us as immediate ease. The rooms were spacious and spotless clean and we arrived to a lovely thoughtful treat in the room. The breakfast staff were a dream and table service was provided to ensure social distancing. I couldn’t recommend this hotel enough, I will definitely return.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Shandon, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Majella, Thank you for the great review of our Hotel. I am glad to read that you and your party enjoyed your stay, food, staff and rooms. We are really looking forward meeting you here again. Sincerely, Mantas Kriauciunas Front office manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rebeccawex wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions
Myself and my fiance stayed here for two nights and we had a fantastic stay. Maria checked us in on reception and she was so friendly and informative. The hotel is spotless and all covid regulations adhered to. The two girls in the breakfast room work very hard. Maybe if there was a duty manager to help clear tables it would make their life easier because they were ran off their feet but stayed friendly and professional all the same. Would definitely stay again
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Shandon, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City
Responded 3 Sep 2020
Dear Rebeccawex, Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judita S wrote a review Sep 2020
Ireland13 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, we were welcomed by a very professional and informative lady in the reception.The Hotel was spotless clean and spacious
There's also limited parking outside so I reccomend to leave your car there and walk around the city. We stayed in Room 504 which was big and cosy with very comfortable beds! The iron in the room was broken and it was replaced with a new one within minutes, very attentive staff!
Had breakfast one of the mornings and it's very good for the price we paid, although it was not very hot when it came out so we presume it wasnt cooked to order. For lunch and cocktails my boyfriend got the pizza which he was happy with and I got the seafood chowder, which would of been very good if they didn't put extra star anise herbs in it as it gave it to much flavour and all I could taste was the herb and it ruined the beautiful chowder. But the cocktails were tasty!
For Dinner we both had the Thai Green Curry and we found it very spicy, but the lovely waitress got more cream put into it and it was perfect. The hotel had hand sanitisers on every table in the restaurant and Lobby which was a great idea as I havent seen that in any other hotels. One thing I would reccomend is putting some background music on in the lobby and bar even it being instrumental as it would of gave it a more relaxed feeling as it's the first hotel I've been to with no background music at all.
Special mention to the waitress Gulliana as she couldn't do enough for every guest, so attentive and kind always with a smile and she was the only one running the bar restaurant as we watched her and couldnt believe how hard working that girl is! Definitely a Gem to this place! as for the Blond lady in the suit, and the Bar man, I know its extremely different and hard time but wouldnt hurt to crack a smile once in a while.
Over all, a very good stay and would return.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Shandon, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City
Responded 3 Sep 2020
Dear 723juditas , Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your lovely comments to Guiliana We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaunagh O wrote a review Aug 2020
Limerick, Ireland35 contributions3 helpful votes
So myself and partner booked 2 nights including breakfast in a double room for 300 euro. Staff are beyond friendly very accommodating I couldn’t speak more highly about them. Bathrooms are very small and water splashes everywhere when having a shower (even with shower curtain inside the bath) most of our towels were used in wiping up the water. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful we went for an evening swim the second day and it was nice also, which you had to book a time slot for. Lunch in the Maldron was expensive but was nice.
Location wise - short stroll to the town but hotel located on the the top of a hill which didn’t suit me personally
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Shandon, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City
Responded 3 Sep 2020
Dear ShaunaghO , Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom Fay wrote a review Aug 2020
Dublin, Ireland36 contributions
I was away in West Cork for the day with my 2 year old child and partner. We arrived in the evening for check in to stay there for 2 nights only to find that there was no parking space outside and on the street surrounding the hotel it is all disk parking only. I had to park the car in a Local Q Park Carpark which I was told was 8 mins away walking (12-15 mins with a 2 year old) in the lashing rain.

The room we were also given was terrible. It was a wet room with no bath so again with a 2 year old it isn’t great.

You also have to book the leisure centre to use the swimming pool. All the places were fully booked when we checked in which defeated the whole purpose of booking to stay there in the first place.

The hotel is suitable for a couple or someone looking to stay without children or a car.

Then finally to make things worse the pillow which was meant to be clean had fungus on it. Overall a dreadful time and experience
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Shandon, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City
Responded 27 Aug 2020
Dear Tom, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. Let us apologize for the experience you had here. Unfortunately, we have very limited spaces at the hotel as we are in the city center. But we have discounted rates at Carrols Quay car park, and we do have drop off area, so guests can conveniently drop off their bags etc. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Mantas Kriauciunas Front office manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous

Questions & answers about the rooms

Themorganator_4 asked a question Jan 2017
Chichester, United Kingdom20 contributions17 helpful votes
can the room deposit be paid on a credit card?
Answer from Tracy N
Jan 2017 |
Hi Themorganator_4, If you contact the reservations team on 021-4529200 we can talk you through paying the deposit on a room with credit card. Kind Regards, Robert McCarthy, General Manager.
0 votes
Show all answers
Answer from Michael L
Feb 2015 |
That's no problem.
0 votes
Answer from Michael L
Sep 2014 |
Bathrooms are being refurbished in September/October. New boiler and pump system installed during the summer which addressed most of the reoccurring issues, would not expect any issues for a stay in December.
1 vote
PreviousNext
1