RAF Air Defence Radar Museum

RAF Air Defence Radar Museum

Military Museums
Read more
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Write a review
About
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

5.0
513 reviews
Excellent
418
Very good
75
Average
15
Poor
3
Terrible
2

minkyhove
Seaford, UK214 contributions
Nov 2022 • Family
A family visit with my family that live in Norwich & my uncle was in the RAF & was based there. The people are so friendly & informative. The whole place is so interesting. One part in the radar room my uncle was able to still see where he sat at his radar! Well worth a visit.
Written 9 November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Fiona W
Stamford, UK2 contributions
Nov 2022
A most interesting day out and one that we would really recommend. During our visit we had two very thought provoking talks, one on the Cold War and one on WW2 from people who had actually worked on the radar. There is a lot to see and the staff could not have been more helpful and informative. We came away feeling very grateful for the work that the RAF did to protect us. The restaurant and loos were spotlessly clean too!
Written 6 November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Cara L
Leicestershire153 contributions
Oct 2022
What an unexpected find! We were staying in Norwich over my birthday weekend and whilst driving to the Broads noted an egg shaped structure in the nearby field, on driving towards said structure (Which was a radar), we stumbled upon this museum staffed by volunteers.

We've always had a soft spot for radars given its historical significance to the UK in particular during World War II, so it was a huge pleasure to be able to visit this very informative site. I even got to sit in the cockpit of a plane! :D

Everyone was very pleasant and we found the control room talk particularly interesting. There is also a cafe on site for cakes/tea.

Highly highly recommended and thank you for having us! :)
Written 3 November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Michael G
Baldock, UK140 contributions
Oct 2022 • Family
Wonderful experience, lovely helpful dedicated volunteers, the man on the entrance even repaid us our daughters entrance fee as we had booked on the internet and during half term children were free. Spent it on tea and cake in the lovely and reasonably priced cafe. Lovely and interesting few hours couldn’t fault it and will go again as it’s immense and couldn’t take everything in.
Written 27 October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

minxpinx
London, UK29 contributions
Oct 2022 • Family
Such a facinating place. Extremely knowledgeable staff and volunteers. We all learnt loads and could have spent a lot longer.
Written 26 October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Lynx555
Alton, UK92 contributions
Oct 2022
For anyone who likes aircraft, radar or military history, this is a must-see place. It's an extraordinary collection of equipment and memorabilia, housed in a site with a rambling building that can easily swallow 2 hours of your time (or more). An entire Cold War air defence room (imagine Cape Canaveral, but focused on air defence) that you can immerse yourself in. Enjoy, images, stories, models, memorabilia, and rooms dedicated to Britain's radar history and air defence. Sit at the console used to train operators manning Bloodhound missiles - the switches and controls all work. All areas are manned by volunteers. Sit on a Jaguar or Tornado cockpit - my helpful volunteer was an ex-RAF Jaguar mechanic, so talked me through the whole thing. The Cold War room volunteer was an ex-RAF leader who ran the base!
Written 10 October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your lovely review! I think you've perfectly summed up what our museum offers, so thank you for sharing it with other potential visitors. I'm glad you nejoyed your visit and hopefully we can welcome you again soon.
Written 18 October 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Heather D
Oxford, UK14 contributions
Sep 2022
The welcome was warm, the volunteers friendly and very knowledgeable. So much to see in this museum. Our visit included two fascinating presentations by experienced volunteers - one in the World War II room, the other in the Cold War Control Room. A Tornado cockpit to view up close and a Jaguar cockpit to sit in. Many, many other exhibits - lots of well labelled and explained original artefacts. A brilliant place to visit. Lots of steps -so best to check beforehand if mobility is an issue.
The cafe served hot drinks and tasty savouries and cake.
Do try to visit if in the area.
Written 1 October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you very much for your brilliant review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to the museum and had a chance to attend both of the talks. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon!
Written 5 October 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Neil
Chesterfield, UK142 contributions
Sep 2022
This place is like the Tardis, it has a small entrance into the reception and an inconspicuous doorway leads off into a Labyrinth of very interesting, nay riveting exhibitions and a couple of highly interesting talks on the development of Radar and the Cold War.
To be honest we decided to have a look having run out of places to go and I suspect that a lot of other people have thought the same before us and the entrance and the car park do little to excite. However, once you start to look around the place is awesome and huge. There is an on-site Cafe that sells snacks and hot and cold drinks visitor toilets and volunteers on hand to explain the finer aspects of some of the exhibits which I have to say proved to be very interesting in many cases.
The Cold war room is the highlight of the museum for me as it is more or less as it was during its live operation days and it was just amazing to think it was used to defend our airspace not so long ago.
There are two cockpits of a Jaguar and a Tornado which you can get in and feel what it was like to be a pilot in a fast jet and always someone on hand to explain the controls and so it goes on and on, in fact, we spent 4 hours here and still missed some exhibits.
All in all, probably the best trip on our holiday by far so don't be fooled it's a cracking place to visit and I fully recommend.
Written 25 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit and thank you very much for the detailed review. Like you said, we're a bit like the Tardis - much bigger on the inside! Unfortunately, due to being in an old military building, we lack some 'curb' appeal' but hopefully make up for it in our displays. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday!
Written 5 October 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

caravanmysteryvisits
Dartford, UK256 contributions
Sep 2022 • Family
The Museum has interesting exhibits and the volunteers are friendly. However their leaflet has many omissions which partly are covered on website. However when on holiday often Internet is lacking or some older people struggle to use the Internet.

I am a wheelchair user and turned up and saw a lovely wheelchair ramp at entrance and disabled bays, all good so far, I realised at further notice it had a standard door. So my electric wheelchair wouldn't fit, so thought use my crutches, was told a small flight of stairs, thought fine. Then started looking around and kept coming across more stairs, the public chairs either had arms so we're too narrow or silly thin plastic chairs .

If you are able bodied or some reduced mobility fine check their website and decide if it is going to be suitable for you.

If you need a wheelchair or electric scooter then currently not suitable.

The site are trying to improve the site but this is not going to be easy as it was built for the military.

Also dogs are not allowed.

The cafe on level floor is clean and reasonably priced.

Toilets are tidy and several sets including Disabled and baby changing. Although it wasn't suitable for my needs if you do not have accessibility issues I would say give it a go.

Also if you have a car and enjoy aviation then why not combine the day with a visit to Norfolk Aviation Museum only 12 miles apart approx 30 mins.
Written 21 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you very much for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. It's very helpful to have feedback on accessibility, as this is an area that we're continually trying to improve. You're very right to point out the problem with the front door being too small. We've got a new wider door on order which will be installed shortly. Thank you for making us aware of the issue with the chairs. We'll address this and make sure that we have armless chairs available throughout the museum. As you pointed out, the nature of the building makes it difficult to ensure full accessibility, particularly to the Cold War room, which is a shame, but we'll be sure to include more information on accessibility in next season's edition of the leaflet.
Written 22 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Pete J
3 contributions
Sep 2022
Turned up to visit, accompanied by my dog.
At reception, was told that no dogs allowed. This important restriction is not in the publicity brochure, but is - apparently - hidden somewhere on their website. To add insult to injury, the fact that they have a kennel where you can leave your dog was not mentioned at all.
Completely wasted journey. Having emailed the manager after my failed visit, I was informed that they 'might' update their information in the future to make it clearer that dogs are not allowed.
Not good enough I'm afraid, they should update their publicity media immediately to prevent others suffering the same fate, as I'm sure I haven't been the only person to suffer this totally avoidable situation.
Written 20 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Pete, I was disappointed to read your one-star review of the museum. As I stated in my email to you, I'm very sorry you had a wasted journey. Although it does state our policy on dogs on the website, we will make this clearer in our literature. I've also reminded our volunteers to offer the kennel to our visitors. However, I think there must be some onus on the visitor not to assume that a museum would be dog-friendly. Indeed, as a dog owner myself, I'm not aware of any indoor museums where dogs are allowed. A quick search on our website or a phone call would have revealed this information. We tried our best to make it up to you by offering you a free admission ticket for a return visit, which you declined. I believe that if you had visited, you would have seen the reason for our dog policy. As much as we'd love to welcome to dogs, many of our rooms are to small to allow an easy flow of people and canine companions. Again, I'm sorry that you felt you had to leave this review based on your experience.
Written 22 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 511
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

RAF Air Defence Radar Museum, Neatishead

Frequently Asked Questions about RAF Air Defence Radar Museum

RAF Air Defence Radar Museum is open:
  • Tue - Sat 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM


Restaurants near RAF Air Defence Radar Museum: View all restaurants near RAF Air Defence Radar Museum on Tripadvisor