We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Reeftours Milne Bay

Alotau, Papua New Guinea
More
About Reeftours Milne Bay
Reeftours Milne Bay is Located and operated at the eastern tip of Papua New Guinea (Milne Bay Province Alotau town). We are a small local sightseeing tour company. Our aim is to provide a safe, reliable, fun and informative tours to all our visitors, young as well as the oldies amongst us.
Read more
Recommended experiences in and around Alotau
from US$138.75
More Info

Reeftours Milne Bay
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
102Reviews41Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 89
  • 10
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Rav4Toyota wrote a review Mar 2020
Kangaroo Flat, Australia22 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
If your heading to PNG especially visiting Alatou, booking a tour with Shanniah at Reef Resorts is a must. We had the most memorable day ever on this cruise ship stop and left with wonderful memories. This is not just a tour it’s sharing and experiencing the real life of families and children for a short time. My one tip, if your bringing gifts for the school make sure you get your immigration form and clearance done. I left mine too late and couldn’t take what I had bought for the kids. A lady on our trip took frisbees and the kids were so excited at this simple gift. We experienced Shanniah’s wonderful family and they shared their life with us from tribal dance to Knocking coconuts down from the trees. It’s an experience I’ll never forget.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Adi O wrote a review Feb 2020
Sydney, Australia25 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
I had a great day with my 2 grandchildren aged 9 and 13 . So happy we chose Reeftours .We were met off the Cruise ship by Shanniah and bused to the boats that whisked us across the bay to an amazing snorkel spot. The coral was pristine and water warm and clear. Our next stop was at the wreck dive. Visability wasn't the best here but I can imagine on a good day this would be a great spot to snorkel. Then we were taken to an island in the middle of the bay where a lovely tropical lunch had been prepared for us. Serenaded by singing and guitar players. After lunch back on the boat and back to the mainland. After a short bus ride we had a tour of Shanniah's village. We were shown traditional weaving and got a good sense of village live.My grandchildren joined in the dancing. The day was awesome, we were so happy we had chosen this tour, I had done so after the Tripadvisor reviews and we weren't disappointed.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shanniah L, Owner at Reeftours Milne Bay
Responded 7 Feb 2020
Dear Ada, thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy you had a great time with us. We wish we had more time so we can show you more of Alotau. We hope to see you in your next trip to Alotau, maybe you can Join us at our new retreat-lodge. Thank you again for choosing reeftours Milne Bay and for a fabulous time with you and your grand children. Best wishes Shanniah
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
margail wrote a review Jan 2020
Brisbane, Australia2 contributions2 helpful votes
We were collected from our cruise ship by Shanniah. The day started with a long snorkel on the reef, followed by a picnic lunch on a deserted island where we snorkelled on a sunken ship just off shore. The ship was covered in fabulous coral and gorgeous reef fish. Later we drove to Shanniah's village, where we were treated to local dancing and history. The local people have constructed a "visitor's" hut in the middle of the village compound. It looked very comfortable, and to stay there would be a great experience, as the people are the most friendly and hospitable you could ever meet. A day to remember. Our best experience in New Guinea.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rbben wrote a review Jan 2020
Miami, Florida87 contributions96 helpful votes
We took this tour from our cruise ship. We had booked online and worked with Shanniah. We had difficulty getting the deposit for the tour to her and she accepted cash payment (US dollars) on the day of the tour. We were met at the quayside and we joined 3 other couples in van. First, we went to the crafts market. Then went to the local produce market. But the best was yet to come! We went to her village where we were warmly greeted. We were given demonstrations of local dances and “war” techniques, a talk on their history and then local fruits for a snack. We were shown their coconut gathering and drying. their use and weaving of palm eaves for their roofs. We also shown local cooking methods and the making of coconut milk. The most memorable part was how warm and friendly everyone was. One of the best travel days I have had!
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Patty H wrote a review Dec 2019
Eagle River, Alaska18 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
We booked a tour with ReefTours Milne Bay prior to our cruise through PNG. We were looking to swim, snorkel and learn about the culture -we got that and much more! Shanniah was there to greet us at the cruise ship terminal, she took us to the boat ride to go snorkeling at two different and incredible locations, a deserted island for lunch, and then a trip to her village. The performers were great, the education that we got from her uncle was excellent, the walk through the village, meeting the family, seeing the kids, etc. was a great experience. It was great that only 10 people could go on the entire tour, so it was very personal and manageable. The funniest thing was the van we had take us on land had a door that didn't really work, so a gentleman would stand inside the van and hold the door -things you would never see in the US, Australia, etc. but things you do see in many other countries. We loved it. Shanniah is a smart young lady that is doing amazing work to help her village and educate visitors to this amazing country! Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456