We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Nice golf course at a reasonable price

Nce place. Very playable with some excellent views. I really enjoyed the course. Conditions... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
robertalans2017
,
Bluffton, SC, United States
Beautiful views, fun course.

This was our first time playing in Hilton Head. We were greeted promptly and with great southern... read more

Reviewed 18 July 2018
Dorothy F
via mobile
Read all 178 reviews
25
All photos (25)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good34%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“old south”(19 reviews)
“pro shop”(19 reviews)
“in great shape”(21 reviews)
About
Excellent golf course that rolls from an open pasture to dense forests, to marsh,wetlands and spectacular views of the intra-coastal waterway.
Contact
50 Buckingham Plantation Dr, Bluffton, SC 29910-6542
Website
+1 843-785-5353
Call
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
87
61
16
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
87
61
16
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold southpro shopin great shapehilton headtee timeschallenging holesinland waterwaynice mixfun layoutthe grillmemorable holesrolled truegreat staffgreat place to playbaconworth the short drivebag drop
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nce place. Very playable with some excellent views. I really enjoyed the course. Conditions could be improved some, but with the over-saturation of courses in Bluffton/Hilton Head, many struggle financially, and it is hard to keep them "perfect".

1  Thank robertalans2017
Bonnie R, Manager at Old South Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We appreciate your 4 star review and hope you get to play Old South again soon.

Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

This was our first time playing in Hilton Head. We were greeted promptly and with great southern hospitality at bag drop off. Check-in was quick. 6 of us were golfing. Only 2 play on a regular basis. I golfed with my 2 sons. I was...More

Thank Dorothy F
Bonnie R, Manager at Old South Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

We appreciate your 5 star review. Old South is a very special place with great golf and staff. We hope to see you and your family here again for another round.

Reviewed 15 June 2018

Some courses on the island were closed, had just aerated or had planned group outings so we came to Bluffton to play Old South based on a recommendation. This is the only golf course on the inland waterway in the area and they have many...More

Thank Jim437106
Bonnie R, Manager at Old South Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know how much you enjoyed your day of golf at Old South Golf Links. It is a true gem with great scenery, variety of holes and the best breakfast in Bluffton. We hope to see you...More

Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

Prices for golf accessories are prohibitively expensive in the Pro Shop. For example, I went to get a box of 12 Titleist soft golf balls and the price was $44. Anywhere else this same box of golf balls cost $34.95. The explanation that was given...More

Thank Emorris33
Bonnie R, Manager at Old South Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

You neglected to mention you wanted to use points which are free to you. The golf balls would have only cost you the sales tax but they cost the business the wholesale price plus shipping. I don’t know why you would complain about free merchandise.

Reviewed 4 April 2018

Very nice course. It was a great value. The people there were very nice. For early April, I thought that the course was a good shape. We paid $57 for 18 holes and cart.

Thank teammillar
Reviewed 10 February 2018

This is a great place to play golf. I have played it twice this month already. The course is well groomed and ready for players even with the difficult weather HHI. The staff help with any of your questions s on needs

Thank Patricia K
Bonnie R, Manager at Old South Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

We appreciate your great review and strive to maintain excellent course conditions and a friendly atmosphere at Old South. We hope you will play again and bring your friends.

Reviewed 5 November 2017

I enjoyed my round here. It was slow due to the crowd. Some basic holes, some tricky holes. Greens were nice, fairways were plush. For $50 it was a steal. We'll be back on our next trip.

1  Thank NotARounder
Bonnie R, Manager at Old South Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

We are glad you enjoyed the golf course and appreciate your patience on a very busy day. We strive to keep our rates reasonable and hope you do return for another round.

Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

I just spent a miserable day on the golf course. I spent over $70 to play a golf course that wasn't worth $30. The course was not maintained at all. The greens were slow and bumpy. But worst of all, the round took over five...More

Thank Kenneth R
Bonnie R, Manager at Old South Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your day at Old South. Most courses here will be over-seeding their greens this week but ours were done two weeks ago. They greens were a bit sandy until the rain we received yesterday but...More

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I visited with resident of Hilton Head. We called the night before to see if we could take a rider as my husband nor her 80 year old friend does not golf. They said certainly and no fee is charged. We hence...More

Thank sag591
Bonnie R, Manager at Old South Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

We regret you were misinformed about the rider policy. You played on an exceptionally busy day and the person you spoke with should have been better educated on our policy. We must accommodate all golfers first and usually charge for riders. The exception being if...More

Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Beautiful golf course, views are spectacular. Loved the course but the greens were very sandy which I think they should have told us upon arrival.More

Thank Trudy L
Bonnie R, Manager at Old South Golf Links, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

WE are glad you loved the golf course...we do too! Weather conditions were perfect for over-seeding which MUST be done in the early fall so our maintenance crew did this about a week ago and top-dressed with sand. The greens were rolling true so the...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Bluffton
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
970 reviews
.99 km away
Suburban Extended Stay Hilton Head
143 reviews
1.21 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bluffton at Hilton Head Area
406 reviews
4.32 km away
Comfort Suites Bluffton
278 reviews
6.05 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 211 restaurants in Bluffton
HogsHead Kitchen and Wine Bar
235 reviews
.81 km away
Salty Dog Bluffton
110 reviews
.77 km away
Kilwin's
65 reviews
.89 km away
Mulberry Street
169 reviews
.56 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 78 attractions in Bluffton
Tanger Outlets Hilton Head
386 reviews
.74 km away
Studio B Marketplace
6 reviews
.54 km away
Hilton Head National
208 reviews
1.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Old South Golf Links staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines