We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Goltho Gardens

59 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Goltho Gardens

59 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
59Reviews1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 35
  • 13
  • 5
  • 4
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jandjwalton wrote a review Sep 2019
Dereham, United Kingdom15 contributions2 helpful votes
Our second visit here. The gardens were still beautiful even though we visited in September when a lot of gardens are “going over”. This one is still in top form. A lot to see as you walk round and there is a huge area of cyclamen under the trees at this time of year. A really lovely restful garden to wander round with a lot to see. The following day we went back to have our lunch in the tea room. It was superb. A lovely clean comfortable place to relax overlooking the gravel garden. Nothing too much trouble. So friendly. The meal was so good. We had our lunch here every day two years ago when on holiday and it was really good then. The standards haven’t dropped. Would definitely suggest having a meal or tea/coffee and cake here.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from DJHollies, Owner at Goltho Gardens
Responded 8 Sep 2019
Thank you for your lovely review and it was great to see you again. I look forward to seeing you again next time you are down this way
Read more
755wendy wrote a review Aug 2019
Manchester, United Kingdom13 contributions5 helpful votes
Visited whilst on holiday nearby. Very pretty gardens with interesting little areas to explore, and a good variety of plants. Enjoyed the visit very much, but would not recommend anyone driving any distance to see the gardens as they are so small. Lower rating because I feel that for the size of the garden it was a little overpriced. Good that children are admitted free of charge, but what about a senior concession? £10 for a couple of senior citizens to spend less than an hour seems a bit steep. Or maybe a drink in the tearoom included?
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from DJHollies, Owner at Goltho Gardens
Responded 13 Aug 2019
I am sorry you felt that your time at Goltho was expensive. We have been £5.00 entry for many years and have had thousands of happy customers and as a private garden of 4.5 acres it considered quite large. We do not do concessions as our core audience tends to be on the retired side, we do, do the Gardeners World 2 for 1 entry which is very popular.
Read more
Vicki Challis wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution
After parking in the free car park, went to see where to pay, unfortunately there were no signs saying pay this way or pay at the barn, so we headed towards the gardens, to be caught up by someone saying you have to pay at the barn. Looking round the gardens we were looking forward to seeing the ponds unfortunately the are covered in Lilly pads and flowers, now don’t get me wrong they are very pretty but if there are fish in there you can’t see them. Walking through the gardens, quite a lot of the paths have plants or grasses growing over them or dangling over them which made it a little difficult to get round, even more so as it was damp. So although we were really looking forward to looking round we feel that it is not wot the money.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from DJHollies, Owner at Goltho Gardens
Responded 22 Jul 2019
Hi I am sorry you were disappointed with your experience at Goltho. We are having some work done on the barn and the sign has been taken down for a few days for some electrical work. Unsure about the paths as the majority of them are several metres wide, you would have been directed into the main garden with a map when you paid in the barn. I realise that my more natural and less manicured way of gardening is not everyone’s cup of tea, but thank you for your thoughts.
Read more
andreamehew57 wrote a review Jul 2019
Louth, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
We chose Goltho Gardens from the Lincolnshire Gardens leaflet as our Sunday afternoon outing and made our 20 mile trip from just outside Louth accompanied by our very quiet 4 month old puppy Ellie with the intention of browsing the apparently lovely gardens. Within minutes of our arrival whilst looking for somewhere to pay our entrance fee, we were pounced on by someone who made us feel as though we were trying to "sneak" in and who immediately informed us that DOGS were not allowed ! We proceeded to the payment desk where I offered to carry Ellie around the garden and was told " Sorry, we have had a lot of trouble with DOGS!!!, but we will look after her for you while you (put £10 in the funds !!!)and look around the garden. No Thank You Goltho, anyone who considers a baby "mans best friend " to be TROUBLE is not going to be trusted with our little girl. Grizzly Goltho if you don't like dogs then at least make it clear on your information! WE shall not be back!! We carried on our journey to Gunby Hall Gardens where we recieved a welcome.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from DJHollies, Owner at Goltho Gardens
Responded 8 Jul 2019
Sorry to hear you had a problem here at Goltho and I am sure your puppy is lovely and well behaved but unfortunately we have had problems with dogs in the garden and because of this we have stopped allowing them in. Unfortunately it is the few who spoil it for the many. As dog owners ourselves we appreciate your views but can not let one dog in and not others.
Read more
Sez StevO wrote a review Jul 2019
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Very warm welcome. Visited with my parents who both have walkers. Most pathways through the gardens were ok, only ‘obstacle’ was the gravel in the car park and entrance to the garden. Gravel is difficult to wheel over but once in the garden no problems. The gardens are well worth a visit. Lots of interesting areas. Very pretty. Lunch in the cafe was lovely. Great choice and as a party of 8 we all had something different and we all enjoyed our choices.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from DJHollies, Owner at Goltho Gardens
Responded 8 Jul 2019
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate any feedback. We do have plans to try to make the gravel areas easier to manage with ‘wheels’
Read more
Previous