We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cape Point Nature Reserve

Features Animals
Book In Advance
5,934
All photos (5,934)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good22%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“cape point”(1,688 reviews)
“light house”(334 reviews)
“two oceans meet”(126 reviews)
About
At the tip of the Cape Peninsula, 60km SouthWest of Cape Town, lies Cape Point. Located within the southern section of Table Mountain National Park; a declared World Heritage site, as part of the Cape Floral region. The Park encompasses 7750Ha of...more
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
As featured in 3 Days in Cape Town
Contact
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Website
+27 21 551 0288
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Cape Point Nature Reserve
from US$86.50
More Info
from US$66.40
More Info
from US$70.30
More Info
from US$90.00
More Info
Reviews (7,869)
Filter reviews
5,254 results
Traveller rating
3,806
1,206
190
31
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
3,806
1,206
190
31
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cape point light house two oceans meet funicular railway southernmost point flying dutchman african continent indian ocean walk up two oceans restaurant national park spectacular views day trip entrance fee simons town false bay worth the trip
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 5,254 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

It would seem strange to visit Cape Town and not visit Cape point. Lovely views. Diverse flora, and some game too. A number of companies offer day trips. The red sightseeing tour bus trip is good value.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Sian N
Reviewed 2 days ago

What an amazing experience.The views are out of this world, especially if you take the flying Dutchman all the way up to the lighthouse. A breath taking experience to see the Antlantic and Indian Oceans. A nice strawl in the park will make you bump...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank makrobbymak
Reviewed 2 days ago

We enjoyed walking around Cape Point. The trails can be a bit tricky so you do need sensible shoes or boots. It gets busy but there is plenty of space so does not seem crowded. There is plenty of wildlife around especially lizards , so...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Mary G
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Fabulous views, scenery etc, but annoying tourists are charged over 4 times what SA residents are charged just to go in! Won’t be taking a return visit.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Lottielola
Reviewed 2 days ago

Got spare time, go visit the reserve. But its not anything special. Experience it once , but you're unlikely to go there again.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Jason R
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Such a gorgeous venue, views and seas. Sadly extremely overpriced shops (for just water) and targeting tourists instead of locals. Otherwise stunning.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank CarrieNissiotis
Reviewed 3 days ago

Amazing nature ... can understand why some historic sailors met their faith here ... wild waters ... Remnants of WWII to be seen ... yes, lots to see on a sunny day!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Kobus T
Reviewed 3 days ago

This park is exhileratingly gorgeous. It si the sole place to find numerous species of fauna and flora confined to this small area. there is a track car up to the point. Although a definite tourist trap the park is still extremely peaceful. There are...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank CultjaVultja
Reviewed 3 days ago

The national park covers a big area and the admission fees keep out any casual visitors (the human kind, anyway) so it’s a serene and safe place to visit. It’s worth visiting Cape Point as well as the Cape of Good Hope as the views...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank KazzaTCotswolds
Reviewed 3 days ago

We had our own vehicle so we could stay as long as we wished. The funicular was great and saved our legs. The view from the lighthouse top is spectacular. We had a great seafood lunch at the Two Oceans restaurant. Keep your windows rolled...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Linda B
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 114 nearby hotels
aha Simon's Town Quayside Hotel
489 reviews
18.20 km away
Calders Hotel & Conference Centre
56 reviews
23.91 km away
Check Inn
40 reviews
27.04 km away
The Last Word Long Beach
248 reviews
27.69 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,298 nearby restaurants
Two Oceans Restaurant
1,818 reviews
.05 km away
Two Oceans Restaurant
22 reviews
.07 km away
Doppio Zero Greenpoint
21 reviews
5.98 km away
Rhapsody's Green Point
6 reviews
5.98 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 883 nearby attractions
Old Cape Point Lighthouse
22 reviews
.64 km away
Cape of Good Hope
6,498 reviews
1.19 km away
Cape Point
90 reviews
.61 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
72frederickt
9 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Vixter38 | Reviewed this property |
Hi sorry for the delay, there is transport almost to the top so I would say yes for the views but you wouldn’t be able to get right up to the lighthouse as that’s very narrow, steep and with steps. Hope this helps
1
Vote
yissis2015
17 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Martynjw | Reviewed this property |
I used Uber extensively around town but think this would be a big ask for them. We hired a car very cheaply Less than $20 per day from our hotel Marriott victoria Junction
0
Votes
Liezl C
17 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from BobMarshall666 | Reviewed this property |
Hi. Liezel. The walk up is steep, but there are plenty of points to sit for a rest or to take pictures. If you want to eat there you will need allow a lot more time as the restaurant is very slow; we were told 45 minutes... More
0
Votes