We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Galapagos Alternative

Features Animals
Avenida Charles Darwin S/N, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
+593 99 465 5018
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Galapagos Alternative is an excellent choice!

We spent 8 days in the Galapagos which was arranged by Maria at Galapagos Alternatives. Maria... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
judikloper
,
Portland, Oregon
Amazing experience with Galapagos Alternative!!

We couldn't have imagined a better trip to the Galapagos! The staff at Galapagos Alternative was... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
jschwab91
,
Boston, Massachusetts
Read all 305 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
At Galapagos Alternative we specialize in personalized land-based tour packages. We offer unique experiences of the islands the way we see them: as locals. Choose the sights and activities most interesting to you, stay at local places, eat at local restaurants, and of course, get up-close experiences with the amazing animals that make the Galapagos Islands so special. We can help you find the best options to fit your timeframe, budget and preferences. We can help with all aspects of your trip, from booking unique accommodations to daily activities and transport between the islands. We are Jill and Javier Moreno, and we'd like to welcome you to our home. We look forward to treating you like family, showing you our favorite places, and ensuring that you have the experience of a lifetime in the amazing and beautiful Galapagos!
  • Excellent89%
  • Very good7%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“vip lounge” (11 reviews)
“los tuneles” (9 reviews)
“santa cruz” (99 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM
LOCATION
Avenida Charles Darwin S/N, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
CONTACT
Website
+593 99 465 5018
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"vip lounge"
in 11 reviews
"los tuneles"
in 9 reviews
"santa cruz"
in 99 reviews
"local economy"
in 12 reviews
"day trip"
in 27 reviews
"land based tour"
in 17 reviews
"la casa de marita"
in 8 reviews
"every evening"
in 15 reviews
"restaurant recommendations"
in 6 reviews
"blue footed boobies"
in 18 reviews
"sea lions"
in 31 reviews
"great trip"
in 14 reviews
"isabela island"
in 17 reviews
"baltra airport"
in 13 reviews
"planning process"
in 4 reviews
"vip treatment"
in 4 reviews
"pick ups"
in 5 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 8 days in the Galapagos which was arranged by Maria at Galapagos Alternatives. Maria responded promptly to our emails and arranged the trip within our budget and time frame. We arrived to Baltra after two weeks on the mainland so it was a...More

Thank judikloper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We are pleased to know you had a lovely time and that our team was able to make it extra special. And thanks for sharing the tips about how to beat the motion...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We couldn't have imagined a better trip to the Galapagos! The staff at Galapagos Alternative was all wonderful - Karina was fantastic to communicate with over email and help us plan the perfect trip, Maria was super helpful when we first arrived to Santa Cruz,...More

Thank jschwab91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the glowing review! We certainly have a wonderful team that goes above and beyond. Your enjoyment and wellbeing are our priority during your visit. We are pleased to know you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our day trips through Galapagos Alternative were fantastic. A representative met us at our hostel the day of our arrival to go over some details about the boats and she gave us great recommendations for dining options in Puerto Ayora. She even went and rented...More

1  Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Never having booked a tour myself to another country and unsure of details to consider, I choose Galapagos Alternative after reading reviews. I was not disappointed! The trip was organized according preferences for my husband and I, and Maria did a great job seeing to...More

1  Thank SJ_Koc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for sharing your positive experience. We are very pleased to know you had such an amazing trip and that we were able to exceed your expectations! It´s comments like these that make our day. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a wonderful time at Galapagos with the assistance of Galapagos Alternative team. I was travelling on my own and it was all very organised from the moment I stepped off from the plane. When I arrived at the hotel, Maria was already there...More

Thank KatieKYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the kind recommendation and positive feedback! We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your visit and that our team was able to make it extra special. And good for you for trying something new! The underwater world in Galapagos is just as...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Galapagos Alternative was wonderful to work with! Maria came to our hotel every evening and went over what we could expect the following day. Everything was so well organized and high quality. We wouldn't use anyone else!!

Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thanks, Nancy! Our pleasure. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Oh. My. God. This is all I can say about my experience with this company. From the moment we stepped off the plane in Baltra, to the time we headed back to the mainland, Galapagos Alternative provided us with the best travel experience I've ever...More

Thank chadaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Oh my! I hope we didn't spoil you too much. ;) We do our best, the animals do the rest! We find that the positive and adventurous travelers attract the animals to them. I agree it's certainly difficult to do the regular tourist thing after...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

From the moment I sent a query on-line, to the moment we boarded the airplane to leave the islands, Galapagos Alternative was absolutely amazing! The booking process was informative and easy - Susanna walked us through lots of options, and worked with us to tailor...More

Thank Kim0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thanks Kim! What a lovely review. We are very pleased to know you found our team so helpful. Thank you for recommending us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Im in my 50s and the Galapagos islands were my life dreams and Galapagos Alternative made it possible. The hotels they booked were impressive rooms large, locations amazing and staff very family like. The Alternative staff were so amazjng, they meet me and made sure...More

Thank Clarice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Our absolute pleasure, Clarice! Thank you very much for the kind review. We knew you were a little nervous about the trip since you were traveling alone. We are pleased to know everything worked out so well. It was nice running into you in Guayaquil,...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

We were coming to the end of a 3 month trip around South America and really wanted to see the Galapagos but thought it may be too expensive on a budget. After getting in touch with Sabine we felt this was instantly possible with her...More

Thank Bradley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jilapagos, Owner at Galapagos Alternative, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Our pleasure! Thanks for taking the time to share your positive experience with future travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 26 hotels in Santa Cruz
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
193 reviews
44.31 km away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
496 reviews
48.95 km away
Pikaia Lodge
61 reviews
50.39 km away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
94 reviews
51.89 km away
Nearby Restaurants
ANKER mar to table
88 reviews
57.78 km away
Almar
79 reviews
57.75 km away
Los Kioskos
169 reviews
57.81 km away
IslaGrill
843 reviews
57.79 km away
Nearby Attractions
North Seymour Island
259 reviews
31.54 km away
Archipell
14 reviews
57.44 km away
MC Adriana
27 reviews
57.63 km away
Reserva El Chato
1,480 reviews
44.92 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
4acadia
7 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Kim0429 | Reviewed this property |
We spent 8 days, and felt like that was perfect, but you can certainly still do LOTS in 6-7 days. I would highly recommend splitting time between Santa Cruz and Isabela. And while on Isabela, definitely book the Los Tuneles... More
1
Vote
emily b
7 February 2017|
Answer
Response from jilapagos | Property representative |
The best way to contact us is through our website or email us directly.
0
Votes
aj0reilly
3 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from aj0reilly |
Thanks Jill, my husband is already in dialogue with Leone.
0
Votes
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor