We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ugly Duckling Wines

7790 West Swan Rd, West Swan, Swan Valley, Western Australia 6055, Australia
+61 428 349 855
Website
Save
Review Highlights
What a spot!!

After hearing fab reviews of Ugly Duckling from friends, i decided to treat my family visiting from... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
mkmpriston
,
Perth, Australia
A must stop on any visit to the Swan Valley!

What a beautiful little winery! We stopped in on the weekend and were greeted and accommodated... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Aleeca
,
Perth, Australia
Read all 129 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Ugly Duckling Wines is a small boutique vineyard and cellar door located in the heart of the Swan Valley. We pride ourselves in offering premium wines, all hand-picked and locally crafted, coupled with old fashioned personal touch. While you are here, indulge in a mouth-watering gourmet pie made by the Bindoon Bakehaus, alongside a fresh garden salad. Using our wines in the steak, mushroom and shiraz pie and the chicken, leek and chardonnay pie, you will not be disappointed! Or be tempted by our delicious cheese and meat platters while you relax and soak up the fantastic views across the Swan Valley to the Perth hills. We also have a small selection of beautifully crafted cheese boards made from wine barrels, olives, olive oil and linen napkins with funky duck designs now available for sale. So come and enjoy tasting our wines and indulging your taste buds when you visit our charming, rustic cottage at 7790 West Swan Road. We look forward to seeing you soon.
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good29%
  • Average5%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pies” (14 reviews)
“live music” (13 reviews)
“salad” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
LOCATION
7790 West Swan Rd, West Swan, Swan Valley, Western Australia 6055, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 428 349 855

Similar Things to Do in West Swan

Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After hearing fab reviews of Ugly Duckling from friends, i decided to treat my family visiting from New Zealand to a wine tasting lunch here. What a great place to sit back and relax with a view to enjoy some tasty food and wine. Lovely...More

Thank mkmpriston
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

What wonderful feedback, thank you. I am so glad you dropped in and enjoyed what we had to offer. I will certainly pass your comments onto our staff. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes Joanne

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a beautiful little winery! We stopped in on the weekend and were greeted and accommodated quickly by a lovely friendly staff member. The food was delicious and the wine even better! I could not recommend this place anymore, it really is a must stop...More

Thank Aleeca
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Aleeca for the lovely feedback. So glad you enjoyed what we had to offer. Sounds like you had a great afternoon and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes Joanne

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A small nice winery, very friendly and polite by email but at the end after having paid the deposit for a winetasting for a group of 15 had to cancel my reservation and change location because I was told that I needed to preorder the...More

Thank Queenofhearts12
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

This review is a huge disappointment after doing our best to try and accommodate this person. Firstly, no deposit was ever made, this is simply not true. This person initially requested a wine and cheese tasting for only 10 people, when she was told she...More

Reviewed 26 September 2017

The Swan Valley's Ugly Duckling Winery, which we happened upon, is a must for all wine lovers. Not much to look at only outdoor dining area, but welcoming and comfortable setting. I thoroughly enjoyed the wines and bought a few bottles to take back to...More

Thank AvantGardeFoodie
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi Giulia I have passed on your lovely comments to our staff. Thank you. So glad you had such a nice time and I agree the Sparkling Shiraz is pretty good!! We certainly appreciate you spreading the word for us and hopefully we get the...More

Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

It was a public holiday so a 10% surcharge was the order of the day. It was a warm day mid 30's. We had not booked, arriving around 1pm to find plenty of tables. The menu is limited to nibbles where you can choose from...More

Thank Jason B
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi Jason So glad you enjoyed the food. Best wishes Joanne

Reviewed 28 August 2017

My husband and I stopped by this winery during our two days in WA during our honeymoon. We loved it! The woman who helped us (whose name I have sadly forgotten, but I know she's originally from New Zealand) was amazing! She was very friendly,...More

Thank Samantha421
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Hi Samantha Jasmine was absolutely delighted you had such a wonderful time. She said you were a lovely couple and we hope you had a fabulous honeymoon. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, enjoy the wine and we do hope...More

Reviewed 17 August 2017

Casual - great platters with very good quality produce. Staff are excellent, they can cater for big groups which have been there when I have gone but they still seem to keep the feeling of being a smaller winery which you can go to and...More

Thank Karen B
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you so much for the lovely review Karen. Our staff always enjoy the opportunity to chat with customers and we are really pleased you enjoyed both the platters and wine. Look forward to seeing you and your family again soon. Best wishes Joanne

Reviewed 2 July 2017

We dropped into Ugly Duckling as part of a wine tour recently. The wine selection was good and there a couple of standouts as well. The staff were very attentive considering the number of people there at the time. We had lunch included here during...More

Thank Mark B
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you so much for such lovely feedback Mark. Yes we can get busy, so it's great to hear our staff were so attentive and that you really enjoyed our platters as well. I certainly look forward to passing your comments onto the staff. Best...More

Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Came here with family for our daughter's 20th birthday wine tour. Staff were attentive, friendly and very informative. Location was beautiful and to top it off live music was playing. Wines were lovely. Could have stayed longer.

Thank Cathryn C
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Hi Cathryn It was an absolute pleasure to have you all visit us. Nice way to celebrate a birthday. Thanks for the great feedback and look forward to seeing you again. Hopefully you can stay longer next time. Kind regards Joanne

Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Came here as a part of our wine tour for lunch. Great venue, delicious wines, live music and yummy food. Couldn't complain - recommend.

Thank Samantha W
Joanne H, Owner at Ugly Duckling Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Hi Samantha Glad you had such a great time. Thanks for the feedback. Look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Joanne

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sittella Winery and Cafe Restaurant
310 reviews
.93 km away
Chesters Of Heafod Glen
219 reviews
.88 km away
Cottage Tea Rooms
84 reviews
.77 km away
Little River Winery & Cafe
72 reviews
.77 km away
Nearby Attractions
Top Gun Tours
141 reviews
1.62 km away
The House of Honey
155 reviews
2.39 km away
Oasis Supa Golf and Adventure Putt Miniature Golf
83 reviews
2.40 km away
Whistlers Chocolate Co
157 reviews
2.73 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
patsy666
17 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Ruth P | Reviewed this property |
Saturday and Sunday afternoons. From midday I'm pretty sure.
0
Votes