Zoo Aquarium de Madrid
Zoo Aquarium de Madrid
4
Write a review
About
Madrid Zoo Aquarium is a zoo is park of animales where you can find more than 4,000 animals of 500 different species along its 22 hectares spread over in five continents. You can visit our giant panda family, koalas, our big habitants Africasn or our great tropical marine aquarium of the Indo Pacific.
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience Zoo Aquarium de Madrid and nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
3,049 reviews
Excellent
1,071
Very good
1,071
Average
482
Poor
236
Terrible
189

Stu151
Wickford, UK1,354 contributions
Sep 2022
Nice, general zoo, located on the outskirts of Madrid

Then there are the baby pandas - what else can you say really. The youngsters are around a year old (at Sept 2022), so 75% grown. The star attraction beyond doubt.

(Easy to get to on the metro, but around 800m walk from the metro stop. Downhill on the way to the zoo, but uphill on the way back - might be difficult if you have any problems walking - there is a bus, but pretty infrequent service)
Written 24 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

sarahdombrick
London, UK37 contributions
Sep 2022 • Friends
Very disappointed with the whole experience of the zoo. Considering people from all over the world go to the zoo when in Madrid there was hardly any staff who could speak other languages. Very difficult to get any help, especially as I use a walking stick. Trying to find any assistance was impossible.
In my opinion there are far too many animals. The enclosures are small, concrete worlds that are dirty. No enrichment for the animals at all. In the elephants enclosure it looked like dung hadn’t been picked up for days. There was no food, or activities. In fact I didn’t see any keepers with the animals except at the “shows”. My heart broke seeing the penguins in a pool smaller than my dogs paddling pool. Lots of the animals were on their own without anything to do or eat. They still have dolphin/ sealion shows in very small pools. They looked sad.
Not many places to eat and the ones that are open you have to order from a machine, not great if you don’t speak Spanish. Same if you buy the refillable cup to save money. There are only 2 machines you can use, both in Spanish and not near anyone to ask for help.
I think the owners need to take a long hard look at the zoo and give it a major overhaul. Update everything, make things more accessible and look after the animals & make their care & enclosures the number 1 priority.
Actually broke my heart.
Written 13 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks for visiting us. We want to share, for your peace of mind, that above all animal welfare is our priority. All the species found in the park receive the best care, complying with all animal welfare standards, their facilities are appropriate for their species, they have specific diets and a team of keepers and veterinarians take care of them 7 days a week. week. This includes all older animals that are cared for with geriatric care, they may not present the best appearance to the public but we always try to offer the greatest care to those who need it most and it is an educational and awareness example for children as well. The most beautiful is not always in public view and therefore, you have to know their stories, their habits, age, relationship with caregivers, etc. We will be happy to resolve these and other doubts when you visit us and observe this type of appreciation. All the best.
Written 19 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Joanne M
8 contributions
Jul 2022 • Family
I loved the zoo a lovely large grounds to walk around and all the shows we're brilliant even the girl That took the photographs was brilliant the only reason it was 4 star was the restaurant being very expensive and the staff very rude everything was practical Thrown at us I know there was language barrier but the girl that served us was running from till to serving counter and not properly communicating with us and it felt as if it was are fault it spoilt are day a bit
Written 9 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Joanne. Thank you for your visit and we are glad that you enjoyed it. Regarding the experience in our restaurant, we are sorry if it was not to your liking and we take note of your comment to improve the user experience for the future. All the best.
Written 23 August 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ellegiers
Newport, Ireland9 contributions
Jun 2022
The dolphin show was great made several pics of them my best one I uploaded
You have to take your time. Only critic is there are few places where you can drink and relax
Written 26 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi. Thanks for your visit and your score. All the best.
Written 29 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Shannon B
Gloucester, UK4 contributions
Apr 2022 • Couples
This is possibly the WORST zoo I have ever been to in terms of animal care/maintenance. The enclosures are not well looked after, you can tell they aren't designed for the animals needs. The animals all look sick and bored, the enclosures are too small also. The water in them is absolutely vile. Theres overgrown weeds where the zookeepers are supposed to be going in and out of enclosures to clean/feed. The whole place is concrete. Monkeys have no trees to climb/toys to swing off. The bears are pacing as they are so bored and have nothing in their enclosures to play with/climb. The staff are nowhere to been seen once you've entered the front gate. Animals have matted fur/sores. Really terrible animal welfare from this zoo. Please don't put your money into this as it needs closing down!!
Written 26 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks for visiting us. We are sorry that this is his opinion of us. We want to share, for your peace of mind, that above all animal welfare is our priority. All the species found in the park receive the best care, complying with all animal welfare standards, they have specific diets and a team of keepers and veterinarians take care of them 7 days a week. As members of the European Association of Zoos and Aquariums, all animal enclosures meet the quality parameters established according to the species. All the best.
Written 7 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TracieAG
North Cheshire30 contributions
Mar 2022 • Couples
Many enclosures far too small eg. numerous brown bears taking up one small space each. Many of the animals looked sad. Particularly felt sorry for the birds of prey & the tiger.
I realise money would be required to improve the zoo but I couldn’t recommend or visit again.
Written 23 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Tracie. Thanks for your visit. All the species found in the park receive the best care, complying with all animal welfare standards. As members of the European Association of Zoos and Aquariums, all animal enclosures meet the quality parameters established according to the species. The Zoo's facilities have been declared a Site of Cultural Interest as the work of the architect Javier Carvajal and, therefore, are protected by Heritage. Throughout almost 50 years of history, there are many facilities that have adapted to new species or expanded meadows, but others must respect their original structure. All the best.
Written 7 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Denise A
Liverpool, UK7 contributions
Mar 2022 • Family
Went for the day.
We took our own food - good job as only 1 restaurant open and no kiosk - but that wasnt a problem - able to get a nice coffee before setting off home.
Very quiet - we were able to see the animals close up.
We are used to Chester Zoo which has bigger enclosures but as others report - the animals looked well cared for.
The 2 members off staff we dealt with were very helpful and pointed out the board with times of the displays.
3 adults 1 child aged 2 - we thought it was good value @ €24
( adults,).
I have lived in Madrid 8 months now and this was my 1st visit.
My guests have visited numerous zoos and enjoyed their time.
I would recommend the zoo fir a visit .
Written 22 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello . Thank you for your 5 stars and for visiting us and we are glad that you enjoyed it. All the species found in the park receive the best care, complying with all animal welfare standards. As members of the European Association of Zoos and Aquariums, all animal enclosures meet the quality parameters established according to the species. All the best.
Written 7 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

nemesisofpop
London, UK964 contributions
Mar 2022 • Family
The zoo has a huge range of animals. It is a massive site and a whole day may not be enough to see everything. Some exhibits seemed good while others looked too small and are hopefully being upgraded. I really like the fact that there are Storks living all over the site seemingly where they like. It gives the place a wild feel to have them flying around abs making the distinctive clicking sound.
The food is as bad as reported elsewhere!
Written 21 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello. We are very glad that you enjoyed and thank you for your rating. We are sorry if you did not like the food and we take note of your comment. All the best.
Written 7 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mariluz M
Seville, Spain2 contributions
Feb 2022
Very disappointed!! I thought the zoo of a capital city such Madrid would have much more to offer. Animals live in tiny spaces of concrete blocks surrounded by stagnant water. Spaces supposedly designed by an awarded architect (not animal lover at all!!!). They look really sad. The conditions of the leopard were appalling.
The price was ridiculously expensive. We even had to pay 5 euros extra to leave our 3-year-old son's mini scooter at the information office (when trolleys and prams are allowed). Very poor value for the money!!!

¡¡¡Muy decepcionados!!! Pensábamos que el zoo de una capital europea como es Madrid tendría más que ofrecer. Los animales viven hacinados en montículos de hormigón rodeados de aguas estancadas (con a veces basura flotando). Las condiciones del leopardo son horribles. Además, es carísimo!! Tuvimos que incluso pagar 5 euros extra por dejar el patinete de mi hijo de 3 años (que para él es como un carrito y nos hubiera evitado cogerlo en brazos). Una experiencia para no volver.
Written 3 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hola Mari Luz. Gracias por la visita. Todas las especies que se encuentran en el parque reciben los mejores cuidados cumpliendo con todos los estándares de bienestar animal. Como miembros de la Asociación Europea de Zoos y Acuarios todos los recintos de animales cumplen con los parámetros de calidad establecidos según la especie. Las instalaciones del Zoo están declaradas Bien de Interés Cultural como obra del arquitecto Javier Carvajal y, por lo tanto, están protegidos por Patrimonio. A lo largo de casi 50 años de historia son muchas las instalaciones que se han adaptado a nuevas especies o ampliado praderas, pero otras deben respetar su estructura original.  Un saludo.
Written 7 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jennifer B
Aboyne, UK75 contributions
Feb 2022 • Family
A really lovely zoo. Easy to get around and animals were on form for our visit. A few were in what felt like too cramped conditions but majority seemed happy. I believe zoos are working on this these day and upgrading exhibit spaces - moving animals to more appropriate areas. This certainly felt the case for some of the animals here. Others were still waiting. Most were up and munching away quite happily or playing (otters / baby pandas) Definitely avoid the food - crisis are safe :) food was expensive and only managed a few mouthfuls as it was pretty nasty.
Written 14 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello. Thank you for leaving us your score and for your visit. All the best. We appreciate the opinions and suggestions that you send us to improve and we are sorry if you did not like the food. Greetings.
Written 7 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 647
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Zoo Aquarium de Madrid - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about Zoo Aquarium de Madrid


Restaurants near Zoo Aquarium de Madrid: View all restaurants near Zoo Aquarium de Madrid on Tripadvisor