Kearny Tours
NYC Open Door Helicopter Photo Experience
4

NYC Open Door Helicopter Photo Experience

By FlyNYON
About
This experience is the ultimate helicopter photo adventure in NYC! Catered for everyone ranging from photographers to adventure seekers, this 15-minute photo flight provides the best and only doors-off helicopter ride over New York City! Whether you are looking to snap our signature ‘shoe selfie’ or looking for fresh content for your photography portfolio, we provide both the helicopter and digital knowledge to advise you on how to shoot pictures worthy of your social media feeds! iPhones, Galaxy, GoPro, Canon, Nikon all welcomed on our flights!

Ages 11-90, max of 5 per group
Duration: 15m
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: Arabic, Chinese, English, Spanish
More


  • 15-minute photo flight experience in open door helicopter
  • Coffee & Tea Lounge
  • GoPro Footage (available for purchase)
  • Heliport Departure Logistics
  • Safety Briefing
  • Social Media Expertise
What's not included
  • Transportation to/from attractions


Start:
  • Queens, Queens, New York
Pickup details
  • Location Name: Kearny, NJ Heliport Location Address: FlyNYON HQ 78 John Miller Way, Kearny, NJ 07032
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Wheelchair accessible
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 58403P1

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Participants are encouraged to arrive early to settle in and enjoy a Virtual Reality Headset Experience prior to your flight
    • Sunset flight times vary during each season. Please refer to the voucher for your departure time based on your date selected at checkout
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 5 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 58403P1

    Currently unavailable
    This product is unavailable to book via Tripadvisor.
    Explore other options
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • FlyNYON
      1,030
      Kearny, United States
      Joined in June 2015
    • lucasdS2516CG
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Avoid at all costs - terrible experience
      Absolutely terrible experience with FlyNyon. Despite the breathtaking views and our amazing pilot Juan, the company scammed us by charging $135 each for side seats we didn’t need ($405 lost). There were 5 of us and the helicopter seats precisely 5, so window seats were already guaranteed. The relentless upsells were a nightmare. Our safety concerns, given their fatal 2018 accident, were unnecessary, but the rest was a disaster. Avoid this place at all costs, find another heli ride in NYC. Lots of options.
      Written 13 July 2024
    • rosaiselal577
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Find a new job if your customer service is going to be horrible
      At time of booking never mention that we will be sharing a helicopter. Then when we arrive the girl at reception was rude well booth were like we are from here and know how they function. Never gave us instructions on what we need to do or the stupid email that they say we received. Then they take u to a room to see a video and the stupid control to let us know that we were next the stupid guy came in the room mad like it was out fault it didn’t go off. Then the driver that took us to the terminal had a face like he was having a bad day. Will the exception our our pilot everyone else was fuming horrible… the money that they charge this F…. service was the worse… then at the en stupid reception asked how was your flight I’m like ready you pissed me off 😡😡😡
      Written 8 July 2024
    • Destination64600
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Buy from another helicopter company and have a great experience!
      Our FLYNYON experience August 15, 2023, was VERY disappointing. I have asked for a refund 4 times. It has been 11 months. I have yet to get any response from FLYNYON whatsoever. Any business with integrity would have apologized and issued a refund. Buy your tickets from another company and have a wonderful experience. I purchased 2 seats with FLYNYON at $590.00 each. 30 minute sunset tour. Both seats were supposed to be “Guaranteed shoe selfie with Doors off and Unobstructed view.” See attached sales brochure and pictures of our seats. When we arrived at the FLYNYON office, staff verbally confirmed that we both have “Guaranteed shoe selfie seats with Doors off and Unobstructed view. We will be able to turn are bodies at a 90’ angle when the pilot says it is OK and we can hang our feet out to take shoe selfies.” Then different staff vanned us to another location. Then we walked a distance to the helicopter pad. Then the helicopter pilot tells everyone their seat assignment. When we noticed my son got a crappy seat with a POCKET DOOR, and not a Guaranteed Shoe Selfie Seat with Doors Off and unobstructed view, I brought this to the pilots attention. “Our seat assignment was not what I paid for. My seat was fine. My sons seat was all wrong.” The pilot said “the office staff assigns the seats and he has no authority to change the seats.” We could have booked with any helicopter company if we didn’t care about GUARANTEED SHOE SELFIE, DOORS OFF, AND UNOBSTRICTED VIEW. I paid a total of $1,180.00 for two seats. $590.00 each. This ruined our whole experience. I have asked FLYNYON 4 times for a refund for the POCKET DOOR seat. FLYNYON does not care about our experience, they only care that they got our money. If they had any integrity, the first time I called to express our experience, they would have apologized and issued a refund for the POCKET DOOR seat. Buy tickets from another company.
      Written 6 July 2024
    • Tracey H
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Wow just wow!
      Absolutely fantastic! From start to finish you feel in very safe hands, we upgraded our flight time when we arrived, but no hard sell to do so. All staff so lovely and professional. The trip itself was just awesome! Do the longer trip worth every penny!! Start if the art base it ran like clockwork! Thank you guys for awesome memories!!
      Written 28 June 2024
    • julierJ2915AJ
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      They'll Take You On More Ride Than Just One
      We missed our bus from NYC by minutes which threw our schedule off-course. Arriving ten minutes late to FlyNYON, we were stressed and worried as we waited in line. When we got to check-in, the girl said because we were late, we would have to reschedule for another time (not very feasible for travelers & this place takes a lot to get to as it's in the middle of nowhere). Otherwise, we could pay an additional $75 each and retain our same flight. I asked if the fee could be waived and was given a firm NO. There was no one else around to take our spots, nothing deviating from the original plan. We were shown into a conference room to view a safety video, then waited about 15-20 minutes to be shown where to put our belongings. We were then harnessed and shuttled out to the landing area to wait some more. The ride was nice-- we luckily got seats by the windows and enjoyed our ride. Upon arriving home, I disputed the charge with my credit card company. FlyNYON lied in their response, saying I made the purchase of the tickets in front of their representative at their building and agreed fully to the charges. For reference, I booked these tickets several weeks in advance, at home on a Sunday evening, about 11PM EST. It was as if they were cutting and pasting old responses. I had to dispute this twice before I was granted the $150 back. So--FlyNYON will try everything in their power to rip you off an additional fee and attempt to keep it from you. I cannot recommend this company. Their is no empathy. If we had held up the flight, intruded on their timeline, I would feel bad and willingly pay the late fee. However, this was not the case and they need to be a little more chill and stop trying to gouge you for an already expensive experience!
      Written 26 June 2024
    • 868natalijad
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      FRAUD!!!
      Fraud! They charge my card every month for the membership, and you can't cancel it because they don't respond to emails. I had to cancel the card.
      Written 24 June 2024
    • Paradise514830
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      SCAAAAAM
      SCAAAAAM, charging us 5,99$ monthly for membership we did not ask for. Cancelation not possible. Had to block my credit card and ask for a new one. DO NOT FLY WITH FLYNYON!
      Written 24 June 2024
    • mattias648
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Unfair society, flight with others!!
      Very dissatisfied with the treatment we received. To briefly summarize, we arrive 25 min late and are asked to pay the penalty of $75 each. We decide to pay it, but are told that we can't go up for the 5 p.m. ride anyway and that MAYBE, if someone didn't show up we could take the 6 p.m. ride, or by paying an additional $125 each take the half-hour ride also at 5 p.m. So for the 15-minute ride leaving at 5 p.m. we were late, while still for the same flight but 30 minutes and $250 more we were on time, in the meantime it was 4:40 p.m. witnessing that we could safely board the other helicopter. We felt practically blackmailed at the desk. PS the 70% discount is pretty much always on year round, so it's not a real
      Written 17 June 2024
    • Louise M
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Best experience ever!
      One of the best and most surreal experiences of all time! I was so lucky to be placed beside the pilot and my view was excellent! The whole process was very comfortable and non-stress, the workers was nice and our pilot was very welcomming, professional and loved his job we could tell. Overall a perfect experience and I would definitely do it again 😄
      Written 26 May 2024
    • PinUp_Traveler
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      A Truly Memorable Experience!
      I booked the doors off flight for my daughter and myself as a birthday gift for her. FlyNYON did not disappoint! Check in was very easy and all the staff were friendly and helpful. There's a reason why you are asked to arrive early as there are safety briefings and also hands on understanding of how procedures work. Our pilot Dave also gave our group another briefing and safety equipment overview before takeoff. While in the air, we could hear him on the headset explaining the maneuvers so we could get our cameras ready for optimum pictures. This was an ultimate experience and I highly recommend it!!!! Tips: - The heliport is outside of Manhattan in Kearney, NJ. So if you're staying in NYC, plan your commute to Kearney accordingly. It took us an hour from Mid-town Manhattan on a Sunday. - Read the FAQs. Everything including seating and weather are explained there. When I read some of the poor reviews, those situations are actually addressed and explained in the FAQs. Understand that you may not necessarily be seated right next to someone in your group. Seating is based on weight to keep the helo balanced. I prepared my daughter for that possibility. - And simply, be on time and pay attention. We were fortunate to leave as as scheduled, but I can see where delays can happen when others don't show up on time. Everything was on a very detailed schedule. Again, we had a very positive and memorable experience and we look forward to flying with FlyNYON again!
      Written 23 May 2024
    • wendolinev2024
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Worst experience in NYC
      The service was great, but I'm very disappointed and mad about the ride. I got the worst seat. I paid for a doors-off flight to enjoy the view and put my feet outside, as all the publicity I saw promised. I really wanted that. What did I receive? A seat in the middle of two people, making it very difficult to take pictures because the people next to me were, of course, also taking photos and blocking my view. I couldn't take my feet out, I don’t have decent photos, and overall, I feel scammed because I didn't receive what I paid for. This was the worst experience ever. I suggest limiting the ride to 4 people instead of 5 so everyone can have a decent experience. Being in the middle was horrible. I was really excited, and this was the worst part of my trip to NYC. If you are planning to book with them, good luck not being assigned the middle seat!
      Written 21 May 2024
    • Faith L
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Shambles of a company!
      Had my ride booked for 21:40 on the 07/05/2024, flew out to New York from the UK as I was celebrating my 21st birthday and had it booked for the night on my actual birthday so I was really looking forward to this. Received an email at 16:15 only to be told FLYNYON cancelled the ride and to reschedule for another date and time without any reason for the cancellation. I emailed FLYNYON and said I wasn’t able to move things around as I go back to the UK tomorrow, so I requested a refund. They emailed back saying that I wasn’t able to get a refund as they don’t offer them but that I could have a 12 month rescheduling credit, even though it was a cancellation on their end and they’re fine with charging tourists a $75 late fee. Looking at the recent reviews, FLYNYON have done this many times. I don’t understand how activities such as these which are aimed at tourists, can be cancelled too soon with no refund but can offer rescheduling credits up to 12 months. We aren’t locals and don’t plan on coming back to the US within this period as this was a special occasion so we’ve been robbed nearly $500. Please fly with some other company who will actually have your best interests.
      Written 9 May 2024
    • Safari61764534799
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Dazzler
      On the day of the flight, flynyon canceled my sunset flight for no reason. After consulting and calling, we got a flight at 6 p.m. Flynyon simply keeps the additional costs for the sunset flight, which is of course also a business model. I can definitely recommend the flight to my friends and family who come here and also take a flight, but not their company. It's a shame about the pilot, he flew us very well and was very courteous. Michael Zähnke
      Written 8 May 2024
    • J5444HXellies
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      The best experience ever! A MUST DO when going to NYC. Can’t recommend it enough,it was the best thing we have ever done
      We had the most amazing experience! I was very worried after reading the reviews online and very reluctant to book. However, we have never been more thankful that we did due to having one of the best nights ever. I spoke to a man on the phone before booking, he gave great advice and told me to book it at the start of my trip so if they do need to reschedule they will have time to do so while your still there…. This is because a lot of people leave it until their last day and then when it gets cancelled they can’t rebook. Unfortunately, they did reschedule our original flight time, however it was only a hour earlier but we were actually happy they did this as it worked out better for us. The whole team were so lovely and helpful. I genuinely could not recommend this experience enough, it was something we will remember forever! We did the night flight doors off and the views were just incredible, I definitely recommend doing doors off. This is a must do when going to New York!!!! The best thing I have ever done
      Written 3 May 2024
    • pricerowe
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Steer Well Clear of this Company Unless You Want to be Robbed
      I’m in the military, and, a few weeks ago, my 17-year-old cousin took a trip to visit me at my duty station on the East Coast. Hoping to see the best of New York City, he booked an evening helicopter tour with NYONAIR. He was so excited about the tour that it was the only thing he talked about for the weeks preceding his trip. Unfortunately, rain forced NYONAIR to cancel the trip, but instead of refunding the cost of the ticket, NYONAIR pocket the money and told my cousin to pound sand. This is no way to run a business: it is unethical, immoral, and it is not conducive to having positive customer relations. If you consider booking an aerial tour with NYONAIR, consider also the possibility that your trip could experience a weather cancelation, allowing this company to pocket your deposit. Through this company, my cousin unfortunately saw the worst of NYC’s greed.
      Written 9 April 2024
    See all 1,030 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    4.0
    4.0 of 5 bubbles174 reviews
    Excellent
    116
    Very good
    6
    Average
    8
    Poor
    10
    Terrible
    34

    Karim B
    Barcelona, Spain9 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Feb 2020
    Be careful this company charge our credit card every month since our flight in January. They use fake discounts on their websites to charge every month after the flight.

    I contacted them by email and they never sent me the cancelation confirmation pour what they call "SkyClub membership"

    And when you told them that you never ask for this membership, they simply tell you that you had to read the terms and conditions before paying. Of course the terms and conditions are so long that you will never read every single phrase of it. And they never tell you on the checkout that you are going to be charge every month !!

    Finally my and my wife we were terribly disappointed by the overall experience with flynon. We paid lot of money for the doors off, and my wife was squeezed between 2 people, so she didn't enjoy it at all as you can understand. Of course they don't inform you about that.

    My friends told us before going to NYC to don't book the flight because those companies don't care about their customers, they know we are all tourists, but it was a dream to do it for my wife so...

    Seriously better to pay more and go for professional companies guys!
    Written 8 May 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Samrat H
    7 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Dec 2020
    I booked an open-door helicopter ride in November during one of their sale. The flight experience was good but the management and customer service was horrible. After two months of my flight booking, I noticed this company was charging me $5.99 every month! After digging further into it, I realized this is their SKYCLUB membership - the fun fact is when you book a flight they will automatically include this in your package and will never mention it anywhere in your receipt or in any email communication and thereafter keep on charging you this small amount every month! This is horrible and if you try to reach them by email they will say this fee is non-refundable. This is a trap and I suggest stay away from such a company.
    Written 18 January 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Olga V
    Jersey City, NJ1 contribution
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Oct 2020
    Paid hundreds to be seated on the middle seat.
    They never warn you that there is a middle seat. I paid hundreds of dollars for manhattan doors-off flight to end up in the middle seat. FYI, on the helicopter you are tied up so much, it is hard to move your hands and nearly impossible to turn your body. I was stuck in between 2 people (my husband on the left and a random person on the right) and all I was able to do is to feel the heavy wind and see landscapes that are far away. There is no way to see what is underneath the helicopter, if you are seated in the middle. I was the only one out of 6 people who paid the price for the doors-off experience and wasn't able to stick my feet out for the photos.
    Before I had this flight I thought I'd buy the second flight for the summer sunset views, but after this bitter experience there is no way I'd pay hundreds for the chance to stuck in between the people and sit there like a statue.
    There is no way to know upfront where you'd be seated. My husband felt even more terrible for me, because not only that he wanted me being able to film videos and take pictures but also because we weight the exact same amount of pounds and out height is only 1 inch different.
    What added the sourness is that the girl who flirted heavily with a stuff in front of computer (my assumption is that he decides on the seating of the people) was told by him "you'll seat there" and it ended up that she got a place in the pilots cabin. How ridiculous is that?
    Not worth the price.
    Written 10 December 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Thamy R
    1 contribution
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Feb 2020 • Couples
    I bought the experience as a gift for Valentine’s Day. They had to cancel due the weather, so I re-schedule my flight for the next weekend, they simply pack their stuff and leave Miami.
    I asked for a refund, it is March 31st and I still don’t have my money back yet.
    They first started with “it takes 14 business days” to “it takes 25 business day” (such bullsh..!) and I still don’t have my money back yet.
    In other words, they take your money, use it and run away.
    I am reporting this business.
    Written 31 March 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    pierones
    New York City, NY23 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Aug 2020
    We arrived one hour before our night tour. And they told us we were late and they have to cancel the fly, because we had to arrive two hours before. At the end they made us fly, so this was just an unnecessary way to make us to feel uncomfortable, scaring us for not reason. Then there are zero reason to make people come two hours before, since you have just to watch a video of 5 minutes before landing, and then just other 10 minutes to set up.
    Written 2 August 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    dotc314
    1 contribution
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Dec 2020
    They are total scammers. They auto subscribe you to the membership, which is completely useless. After calling their number, which is exactly what the email says you can do in order to cancel the membership, the rep told me I actually had to email then. Why provide both a phone and email option to cancel if only one option works?

    Either way, I emailed immediately and received an auto response saying they'd respond within 24-48 hours.

    A month later and they still tried to charge me again. Completely useless management.
    Written 13 January 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Magdalena B
    5 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Nov 2019 • Friends
    A couple of hours after I booked a flight over NY I received an email from FLYON that there are airspace restrictions due to UN conference and my trip has been cancelled. My only option was to change date of the flight. I live in the UK and I was leaving NY next day so I asked for refund but it was refused. They do only credits. Later I checked that there was a notification on the NY aviation website about the restrictions but FLYON was still selling tickets for services they knew they won’t be able to provide on these days. I lost $350. I think this company doesn’t it in purpose as a majority of their customers are tourist.
    Written 6 October 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Nadia S
    5 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jul 2020
    What an unforgettable experience. Thanks to the staff and Pilot (Roy) at Flynyon for making us feel so safe. I would absolutely fly again in the future!
    To my fellow New Yorkers, this is one of the best ways to experience the city. I was born and raised here and this truly topped anything I’ve ever done. The staff makes every effort to ensure that you are prepared for your flight.
    Written 18 July 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Layane A
    1 contribution
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Sept 2020 • Couples
    just now
    1- I bought my ticket with door On and wanted to change it to Off, it took me a week of emails and the delay of response until I got it. 2 - on the day of the tour, there are 6 seats and they put me in the middle, the only seat you can't see is tight. It is unfair for you to pay the same amount and not enjoy it like the others. I didn't have a good experience and I couldn't take pictures.
    Written 14 September 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Chris H
    1 contribution
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Sept 2020 • Couples
    I’d be very cautious with this company. They’re constantly trying to find ways to get money out out you. Arrived 5 mins late and was told I had to pay 100 dollar late fee OR 150 dollar upgrade. I know it’s partially on me, but that’s outrageous on top of the hefty standard prices. They’re always running “promos”. Be careful.
    Written 27 September 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Showing results 1-10 of 146

    NYC Open Door Helicopter Photo Experience provided by FlyNYON

    All Kearny HotelsKearny Hotel Deals
    RestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire