Tours and Tickets

Canyoning in the Lost Canyon provided by Desafio Adventure Company

Canyoning in the Lost Canyon

Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this experience is taking.Read more
Select Date and Travellers
From
HK$788.10
Date
2 adults
Options
Select tour language
Low Price Guarantee
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during this experience
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Hand sanitizer available to travellers and staff
Read more
Updated 28/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Canyoning in the Lost Canyon
Ask about our "Pure Private - Pura Vida" upgrades to make your tour completely PRIVATE. We also have locally-handmade, 3-ply fabric masks and plastic masks for sale. Let us know if there is anything we can assist with for making your travels as safe & comfortable as possible.
Read more
Updated 28/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Overview
Climb, hike, and splash through the Costa Rican rain forest on this adrenaline-pumping adventure that takes you into the depths of the Lost Canyon, a natural playground near Arenal Volcano. Rappel down cliffs and waterfalls reaching up to 200 feet (60 meters), drop into jungle pools, and scramble over boulders while an expert guide ensures your safety. After emerging from the canyon, recap your feats over a typical Costa Rican lunch.
Highlights
  • Complete three cliff rappels and a free drop into water
  • Swim in waterfall-fed pools and hike through the jungle
  • Great option for adventurous travelers ready to go beyond ziplines
  • Includes lunch and hotel pickup from La Fortuna
Important Information
Duration
4h
Inclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Local guide
  • Lunch
  • Safety equipment and briefing
Exclusions
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age is 10 years
  • It is recommended that you wear comfortable walking shoes
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
138Reviews
3Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 114
  • 5
  • 2
  • 0
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
duncanjohnhamilton wrote a review Apr 2021
Orem, Utah2 contributions
The experience itself was great. We signed up for gravity falls but it was raining too much the day we got there so we had to switch to the lost canyon tour instead. They made it worth our time and were very nice. My big problem comes in that they tried to double charge me for
Read more
Date of experience: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from DesafioAdventures, Owner at Canyoning in the Lost Canyon
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi duncanjohnhamilton, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy you enjoyed our tours, but it is very disheartening to hear we were unable to get your refund back to you in time and that you are calling us thieves. The double charge was an honest mistake and we hadn't noticed we charged you twice because of your change in tours. Our bank notified us you did a back charge and that you received your refund. We do hope you come back and give us another try and that future clients understand we have been in business for nearly 30 years and stealing people's money is certainly not part of our company culture. Thank you again and best wishes.
Read more
Halie wrote a review Feb 2021
13 contributions1 helpful vote
I signed myself and 3 friends up for the canyoneering experience while in CR because my friend highly recommended this group. The tour was nice and it is convenient to be able to communicate in English through whatsapp however we had a very unprofessional experience once
Read more
Date of experience: February 2021
Helpful
Share
jtwtdz13 wrote a review Feb 2021
3 contributions
I went in Jan 2020 and the experience was great. I was using my personal drone afterwards while waiting for other groups and the drone got lost. Defasio employees Diego and Klisman were beyond amazing as they volunteered to help find it. Diego went on his personal time to the
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Sebastian R wrote a review Dec 2020
11 contributions
It was like going back to being a child. WOW what a tour, you rappel down waterfalls, you walk among a river, jump into a little natural pool, and the sunami experience they create with the river has to be to best thing Ive done in a couple years. Their experience staff are
Read more
Date of experience: December 2020
Helpful
Share
canadianfamily2017 wrote a review Mar 2020
Fort St. John, Canada7 contributions2 helpful votes
Two Canadian families with teenagers went rappelling in the Lost Canyon for the day, in mid March 2020. The staff was really fun and attentive, the trip was well organized with great transportation and equipment. Bathrooms, change facilities and lockers all good. This activity
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Desafio Adventure Company
Thirst4Travel1
Thirst4Travel1
00
Horseback Riding to La Fortuna
As someone who has been riding horses since childhood, this was by far my favorite excursion of our honeymoon! Our
Sarah G
Sarah G
00
Fun birthday adventure!
One of my new friends and I decided to do whitewater rafting for her birthday. Since we were the only two from our
tabolden
tabolden
00
Moderate hike beautiful view
This was a moderately difficult hike with a very friendly, very prompt tour guide. Jason showed up right at the ti
776stephenr
776stephenr
00
Cooking class
Wonderful personal cooking class with Tami. We started with a Cacique drink and finished with casada, picadillo and
Departure742781
Departure742781
00
Great Professional Service
I took a private van from La Fortuna to Nosaro. The ride was great, and the driver, Tower, was superlative. In addi
776stephenr
776stephenr
00
Wonderful Experience
Day one adventure: we went to the hanging bridges, arenal hike and the la fortuna waterfall. Our guide, Santos, was
X7287SEcarlyb
X7287SEcarlyb
00
La Fortuna Day Tour with Santos
From start to finish the tour was amazing. Ask for Santos! He was the BEST So knowledgeable and kind. We started th
Michellebass
Michellebass
00
Professional & Dependable
We used Desafaio for many of our tours including, ATV, rafting, and spending time at their beautiful property. Our
leroyt539
leroyt539
00
Mi amigo Santos es numero uno!
We did a combination volcano walk and trip to hot springs. Our guide, Santos, was the best! He has a genuine love
555tanaw
555tanaw
00
Great tours
We used this company for a private sloth tour and a rafting trip. Both guides were excellent, very informative and
610janaka
610janaka
00
Best combo ever!
Waterfall rappelling and class3 rafting! Be forewarned this is a high adrenaline experience. Safe enough but you s
Sue K
Sue K
00
Service is great but whitewater experience is mediocre
Our guide was nice and fun. The roundtrip drive to the river was close to 3 hours (30 minutes for picking everyone
T6226UXmarkw
T6226UXmarkw
00
Desafio was great
We used this tour company for a transfer from Manuel Antonio to Arenal. We also used them for the hanging bridges a
HowlinWolf123
HowlinWolf123
00
Great adventure into Arenal canyons!
Super fun experience in the Costa Rican jungle. Guided by incredible experts with a focus on safety, we rappelled d
Susanne B
Susanne B
00
Fun family time rafting!
Our family greatly enjoyed our time on the river. Our guide Steve was fun and informative. He made our trip extra s
Key Details
  • Desafio Adventure Company, Arenal Volcano, and 2 more
  • Duration: 4h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Pickup offered
  • Languages Offered: English, French, Spanish
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+852 30184991

Frequently bought together

Two Volcano Extreme Hike in La Fortuna
from HK$597.05*
Popular: Booked by 1,174 travellers!
Venado Caves Underground Experience from La Fortuna
from HK$872.00*
Popular: Booked by 226 travellers!

Climbing

from HK$987.11* HK$1,233.89
Popular: Booked by 114 travellers!
Zipline Experience in La Fortuna with Hotel Pick Up
from HK$236.83*
Popular: Booked by 135 travellers!
Canyoning in the Lost Canyon
from HK$788.10*
Popular: Booked by 508 travellers!
Frequently Asked Questions about Canyoning in the Lost Canyon