Tours and Tickets
The 10 Tastings of Hong Kong With Locals: Private Street Food Tour
4.5
LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

The 10 Tastings of Hong Kong With Locals: Private Street Food Tour

By Withlocals
Recommended by 90% of travellers
90% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
Unless you know how to read and speak Chinese, navigating Hong Kong’s street food scene without a guide can be difficult. Discover the best of Hong Kong Island’s street eats during a private tour that can be customized according to your dietary requirements and preferences. Plus, you have ample time to ask your private guide questions.
from
HK$1,228.89
per adult (price varies by group size)
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99
Duration: 3h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More

Highlights
  • Indulge your love of street food during a private culinary tour
  • Get a glimpse into local life at a market
  • Overcome the language barrier as you explore with a guide
  • Receive tailored recommendations to last the rest of your trip

  • Private Tour
  • Local Guide
  • 10 Food & Drinks Tastings
  • Vegetarian alternatives
What's not included
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Extra food and drinks


Start:
  • Eco Tree Hotel Hong Kong 香港頤庭酒店, 156, 160 Des Voeux Rd W, Sai Ying Pun, Hong Kong
    Entrance of Eco Tree Sheung Wan, in front of MTR Sai Ying Pun Station exit A2.
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Near public transportation
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 24380P383

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    • Private tour: only you & your local guide
    • Includes city highlights in between food stops
    • Alternatives offered for those with dietary restrictions
    • Post Covid-19 regulations are applied to this product with regards to the number of participants, delivery methods of the tour and content of the tour.
    • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    Which attractions will I visit with The 10 Tastings of Hong Kong With Locals: Private Street Food Tour?
    How much is The 10 Tastings of Hong Kong With Locals: Private Street Food Tour?
    The 10 Tastings of Hong Kong With Locals: Private Street Food Tour price starts from HK$1,268.99. Discover and book The 10 Tastings of Hong Kong With Locals: Private Street Food Tour on Tripadvisor
    What is the The 10 Tastings of Hong Kong With Locals: Private Street Food Tour cancellation policy?
    The 10 Tastings of Hong Kong With Locals: Private Street Food Tour cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book The 10 Tastings of Hong Kong With Locals: Private Street Food Tour on Tripadvisor
    Which company provides The 10 Tastings of Hong Kong With Locals: Private Street Food Tour?
    The 10 Tastings of Hong Kong With Locals: Private Street Food Tour is hosted by Withlocals. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Withlocals on Tripadvisor. Discover and book The 10 Tastings of Hong Kong With Locals: Private Street Food Tour on Tripadvisor

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 24380P383

    Reserve your spot

    Similar experiences

    Itinerary
    • You'll start at
      Eco Tree Hotel Hong Kong 香港頤庭酒店
      156, 160 Des Voeux Rd W, Sai Ying Pun, Hong Kong
      Entrance of Eco Tree Sheung Wan, in front of MTR Sai Ying Pun Station exit A2.
      See address & details
    • 1
      Sai Ying Pun MTR station exit B1
      Stop: 20 minutes
      See details
    • 2
      Sheung Wan
      Stop: 60 minutes
      See details
    • 3
      The Center
      Stop: 20 minutes
      See details
    • 4
      Hollywood Mural
      Stop: 20 minutes
      See details
    • 5
      Graham Street Market
      Stop: 20 minutes
      See details
    • 6
      Wan Chai
      Stop: 20 minutes
      See details
    • 7
      ie exit station (Spring Garden Street)
      Stop: 20 minutes
      See details
    • 8
      Mid-levels Escalator
      Stop: 15 minutes
      See details
    • 9
      Stone Slab Street
      Stop: 15 minutes
      See details
    • You'll return to the starting point
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Withlocals
      354
      Hong Kong, China
      Joined in December 2015
    • eleonoreh624
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Excellent
      Many thanks to Wing Wing for the informative Hong Kong city tour. I had a three-hour tour with Wing Wing. The tour was fantastic. I've done a lot of tours in a lot of cities, but with Ms. Wing Wing it was something very special. I learned so much about the culture and the city in those three hours. I love this city thanks to Wang Wang. I really enjoyed my time with Wing Wing. She told me a lot about life in Hong Kong, showed me a lot of interesting places and told me a lot of interesting stories. Just a massive 10 points. I can really recommend Ms. Wang Wang to everyone.
      Written 9 April 2024
    • O2399FZrobertb
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great Tour
      Cosmo is an Aberdeen local and his knowledge of the area is fantastic. His links to the fishing industry gave some great insights. The dim sum lunch was great. Travelling to other areas such as Repulse Bay and meant another side of Hong Kong was discovered. Cosmo was easygoing and helpful at the market. At the end of the tour Cosmo went out of his way to ensure l was able to find some art galleries and where the public transport was located. A great time was enjoyed.
      Written 3 April 2024
    • kallen0637
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Excellent Tastings Tour in Hong Kong with Emcee!
      We booked the tastings and night markets tour with Emcee, and were thrilled that we did. Emcee was very flexible with our limited time in Hong Kong, and gave us a great overview of a number of different food spots we never would have found on our own. She also provided us with a number of great recommendations for the rest of our stay in Hong Kong. We cannot recommend Emcee enough!
      Written 22 March 2024
    • Momrojas1
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Don’t use this tour!
      When we called to find out where our guide was he said that our call had just woken him up! It was a 6 pm food tour! I texted him later for a confirmation of the canceled tour, he said that we canceled on him. This guy is crazy! Looking back on other comments, I see that he has done this before. He should not be allowed to offer tours with Trip Advisor. Ruined our last night in Hong Kong
      Written 21 March 2024
    • ymgur
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      There’s nothing like a personal tour
      My husband and I are very happy to recommend Wing Wing to anyone visiting Hong Kong. She shared so many personal stories and memories of growing up in the area as well as historical information that it made the city come to life. There’s nothing like a personal tour!
      Written 18 March 2024
    • Lesusc
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Aberdeen Fishermen Cultural Tour with Delicious Dim Sums Lunch
      We cannot say enough good things about our time with Cosmo. We are older and have some mobility issues. Cosmo adjusted the pace to match our comfort level and adjusted the program to fit our capabilities. We recommend him strongly.
      Written 15 March 2024
    • HazelWorcestershire
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      A Disaster
      It’s hard to review something that didn’t take place! Our guide Samuel did not turn up at the meeting point. We waited for 50 minutes, sent him lots of messages. He replied to only one, stating that he was at the meeting point but couldn’t see us which was absolute rubbish. We’d got photographic evidence that we were at the right place, at the right time. Fortunately for us, another ‘With locals’ host arrived after 45 minutes and approached us thinking we were his guests. He was therefore able to confirm we were correct and Samuel appeared to have got confused. I immediately tried to reclaim the extortionate cost of this tour. It took 5 days and several emails to convince With locals that Samuel definitely did not arrive. before the tour was ‘cancelled’ and we got a refund although we were still out of pocket due to differing exchange rates and our travel costs to the meeting point. I’ve just tried to review this tour on the With locals website but it’s showing that it’s already been reviewed - they obviously don’t want prospective guests to see what a shambles this was. Perhaps we were just unlucky but I will never book anything with this Company again and would recommend avoiding host Samuel.
      Written 5 March 2024
    • terryglandfield
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great walking tour in Hong Kong
      I meet angel at the meeting point As soon as I meet her I could tell that she had great knowledge and experience I sore 2 temples which was great lovely gardens and even had time for lunch which was very nice As this was my first time in Hong Kong I was asking loads of questions and it was no trouble for Angel to answer I would highly recommend any one going to Hong Kong to book this tour as all the knowledge really did help me Thank you again for a nice day Angel
      Written 2 March 2024
    • terryglandfield
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Roof to bars with views
      This was my first night in Hong Kong So to meet Isabella that lives here and with all her knowledge was great for me I asked her loads of questions and she helped me a lot we went to two roof top bars and even sore the light show which was ok but I would recommend to see the light show from a boat as they play music that goes along with the lights But for any one travelling to Hong Kong I cannot recommend Isabella enough Thank you again for your knowledge and help
      Written 2 March 2024
    • 348AnneE
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Cosmo showed us what it was like to be a local in Lantau Island
      From the moment we started communicating with Cosmo we knew he was a "Local" and loved what he was doing. Meeting him in Lantau Island we started our journey on the cable car up to the Buddha. An amazing 25 minute ride in comfort up to the top of the mountain - wow Hong Kong looks amazing from there. Then a leisurely walk around the summit and into the beautiful temple and then up the 268 steps to the Buddha. What a great story of dedication and resilience in building this monument. We then boarded a bus and went into a little fishing village which was quaint and "set back in time". Going for a little boat ride around the waterways and then out to the sea looking at the amazing structure of the bridge (that goes underwater) and looking for dolphins. Back on land we stopped for looking around the village and having some lunch. After this heading back to the bus and down the hill, like a local, finishing back at our starting point. A full day of wonder and history. Cosmo is interesting and knows the history of the area. Thanks for a great day! Highly recommend.
      Written 25 February 2024
    • Travelover101
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Fantastic experience
      My family and I had a great tour, Angel is friendly and her knowledge of Hong Kong and the Mongkok area is second to none. Angel was able to guide us through the area, explain where we were and the history of the area and answer any questions we had on the topic of Hong Kong in general. We tried foods at places we'd have never known about before and gave us information on places to try through the rest of our trip. My 8yo daughter especially took a liking to Angel commented on how friendly Angel was and how Angel could be her teacher at school. Loved every minute of this tour, would do it again in a heartbeat.
      Written 23 February 2024
    • kevinwT5547QP
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great Tour
      Great few hours with Matteo. We saw Hong Kong in a totally different way as Matteo was very informative and took us to places we’d never see if we’d been on our own.
      Written 19 February 2024
    • kerstinkK4943LT
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great street experience
      I booked the tour „Taste of Hongkong“ with street-market and street food experience and my guide was Wing Wing. I had a really good time and so nice tastings. Even though I had touched the area around Tempel Street before, it gave me a complete new view, so many more details and of course great street foot experience, which I would never had experienced on my own. Strolling through the busy streets with Wing Wing was a real pleasure. She explained the best food, the best spots in the area, and I had a really good time. The task 2 1/2 hour and it felt like it was over in no time, because it was so entertaining and delightful. Apart from that, Wing Wing is a very amiable, knowledgeable and sympathic person, with whom I really liked to spend time. She told me so much about the New Year’s tradition, about Hong Kong, about how to have a good time. Great experience, thank you so much!
      Written 4 February 2024
    • ppatrick123
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Walking and eating around HK
      Great food tour , it was excellent showing us around HK. Going to the different sites and trying the foods that are unique to the city
      Written 29 January 2024
    • StuSarni
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Excellent Kowloon Walking Tour
      We were a group of 4 and signed up for the Off The Beaten Track Kowloon tour through Withlocals. We were happy we did as you got to see real life Hong Kong versus the big city glitz of HK Island. Angel was our guide and did a fabulous job taking us around and providing historical commentary on all the relevant sites. We toured the markets, housing areas, a local museum, etc. About 2.5 hours in total. Just the right amount of time. Great job!!!
      Written 26 January 2024
    See all 354 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    4.5
    4.5 of 5 bubbles82 reviews
    Excellent
    71
    Very good
    3
    Average
    1
    Poor
    1
    Terrible
    6

    Ashley D
    4 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    First, I believe the tour company should have advised us to move the private tour to another day as many places were closed due to CNY. The guide suggested we move to another neighborhood to have more selection, which we did. He did not suggest rescheduling.

    Upon arrival, it became clear that the guide did not have a plan for the tour and was wandering around looking for any open restaurant and made us feel silly for booking on CNY (we are not local..so we didn’t know would still be closed days later. I’m not clear why they accepted the booking). we suggested rescheduling but he said it was too late.

    Second, when we found any open restaurants (that the guide had never tried), he did not provide recommendations on what to try. He just said ‘what do you want to try’ and when we asked for his recommendation, he shrugged his shoulders. He even commented that some of the dishes we had were not the best (ie. the goose from this place was prepared too salty). After 8 tastings, he told us that we ‘went over budget’ which made the experience even more uncomfortable. It was supposed to be ten and we even shared many of the dishes to avoid being wasteful, and it was not our fault that he did not have a plan set out in advance.

    Ultimately, we could have had the same experience wandering around the neighborhood ourselves and looking up reviews online. And saved a lot of money. I expected the guide to at least call a few places in advance and have a sense of where he was going to take us - even if some first choices were closed. Disappointing as we’ve done food tours in other places (with other companies) and they’ve always been a lot of fun.
    Written 31 January 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi there, at Withlocals we want our guests to have the best experience of their trip so we are very disappointed to find out about your negative tour experience. As we cannot directly get in touch with you from here, please email us at info@withlocals.com and we will make sure to follow up on this issue. We are looking forward to your email. Thank you and please accept our apology on behalf of Withlocals. Have a great day, Withlocals
    Written 1 February 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    US Traveler
    1 contribution
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jun 2023 • Family
    Stay away. I made an online reservation for a private tour. Two days before the tour the Company charged my credit card for the cost of the tour (48 hours before the tour is its policy to charge the fee). The very next day, 24 hours before the tour, it cancelled as it stated its only tour guide could not provide the tour due to personal reasons. The Company offered to provide the tour the following day but our itinerary was already set. I requested a refund and have yet to receive it, nor any communications that it would be refunded.
    Written 10 June 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear guest, Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention regarding the cancellation of your tour and the refund process. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the cancellation and the delay in providing you with a refund. We understand the frustration you experienced when your tour was canceled just 24 hours prior to the scheduled time. The policy is to charge the tour fee 48 hours in advance to ensure the availability of our guides and to secure the reservation. However, we deeply regret that our only tour guide encountered unexpected personal reasons, which led to the cancellation of your tour. Regarding your refund, we apologize for the delay in processing it and for the lack of communication regarding its status. Please be assured that we take this matter seriously, and we are committed to resolving it promptly. If you did not receive the refund yet, you will receive an email notification shortly confirming the refund and providing any additional details you may need. If you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out to our customer support team directly at info@withlocals.com. We are dedicated to ensuring that our guests have a positive experience with us, even in situations like this, and we appreciate your understanding. Once again, we apologize for any inconvenience caused, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you on one of our tours in the future to provide you with a more enjoyable and hassle-free experience. Thank you for your understanding. Sincerely, Withlocals team
    Written 13 June 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Joseph
    Seoul, South Korea1 contribution
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    The tour did not include half of the advertised itinerary. It was basically taking you to 2 restaurants and 2 bakeries. The restaurant was tim ho wan, a famous chain located in the basement of IFC. No fruit at the market. This was a scam.
    Written 19 January 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear guest, We sincerely apologize for the disappointment you experienced during The 10 Tastings of Hong Kong With Locals: Private Street Food Tour. Your feedback is of great concern to us, and we would like to investigate this matter thoroughly to understand and address the issues you've raised. We are genuinely sorry that the tour did not meet your expectations and that the itinerary was not as advertised. This is certainly not the experience we aim to provide, and we take this matter seriously. To assist us in conducting a comprehensive investigation, we kindly request that you reach out to us directly at info@withlocals.com and provide your booking ID. This will enable us to identify the specific details of your tour and address the situation promptly. We understand the importance of transparency and want to assure you that we are committed to resolving this matter to your satisfaction. Your input is invaluable as we work to improve our services and prevent such issues from occurring in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we look forward to resolving this matter with you directly. Best regards, Withlocals team
    Written 22 January 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Kerstin K
    2 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Feb 2024 • Solo
    I had the 10 Tastings of Honkong: Streetfood with Cosmo and that was great. I had such a good and delicious time. Apart from the restaurants, which I never would have been able to enjoy as a tourist, also the walks and public transport was really great. If not for Cosmo, I would most likely not have used the charming tram for instance. And he showed and explained to me so much about the food (caterpillars, fish stomach, abalones, exotic fruit and many more), that is sold in the little shops and street stalls. He also shared historical and other interesting details about Hongkong, taking all of my questions into account. It was not all about food, also lifestyle, art and other offerings of Hongkong were brought to me. The Yum Cha in the genuine restaurant will always be a special thing to remember.
    Written 2 February 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Becca V
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Nov 2022
    Cosmo did a great job showing us around Hong Kong (and the food was a nice bonus)! He was extremely accommodating of our vegan friends who tagged along, adjusting on the fly to ensure they had something to eat. Since we were here on a short layover, he also worked around the 3-day quarantine rule by getting us food to eat outside. Super appreciative of his flexibility and the fascinating stories he told!
    Written 7 December 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    laureen
    Seattle, WA17 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    We had a wonderful tour with Angel on our recent visit to Hong Kong. Not only did we sample some amazing local food but as a local herself Angel gave us great insight and personal stories. We learned a lot about local history, current events and food! I highly recommend doing this tour with Angel.
    Written 26 September 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Edyta P
    22 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    This has been the best food tour we ever been on! It felt like you
    spending day out with your friend tasing amazing food and drinking
    local tea. Armie is so knowledgable about the dishes we tried and
    history of food in HK. I highly recommend Armie as the tour guide!
    Written 17 January 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Nicholas F
    Prague13 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Feb 2023 • Couples
    Would be great with more discussion about the food, cooking and ingredients, but this is really just a stop at 2 restaurants and a couple of side vendors with little said about them, or structure to the tour. No markets etc. Our guide seemed nice but wasn't wild about the food or content of the tour. If uou had literally no idea about Chinese food this may be worth it otherwise you could do better alone.
    Written 27 February 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi there, at Withlocals we want our guests to have the best experience of their trip so we are very disappointed to find out about your negative tour experience. As we cannot directly get in touch with you from here, please email us at info@withlocals.com and we will make sure to follow up on this issue. We are looking forward to your email. Thank you and please accept our apology on behalf of Withlocals. Have a great day, Withlocals
    Written 1 March 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Greg
    Winchcombe, UK2 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Spent a lovely 3 hours with Cosmo on the food tasting tour of HK, he took us to some places that we most definitely wouldn’t have ventured into otherwise. Also he took us for a ride on the tram and went up the escalators to mid levels and a tour ofthe old prison. Would definitely book Cosmo again.
    Written 8 April 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Margaret C
    Edmonton, Canada1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Dec 2022 • Couples
    What a fantastic tour! Angel, our tour guide provided a perfect blend of culture, history, personal experiences, and of course, tasty food. We highly recommend this tour. Thank you Angel!
    Written 28 December 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Showing results 1-10 of 76
    *Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.

    The 10 Tastings of Hong Kong With Locals: Private Street Food Tour provided by Withlocals

    All Hong Kong HotelsHong Kong Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Hong Kong
    All things to do in Hong Kong
    RestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire