Tours and Tickets
Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1
4
LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1

By Mountain Riders
Combine a biking tour with a chance to catch the beautiful sunrise above Haleakala while vacationing in Hawaii. Along with round-trip transport, bike rental, and entrance fees, your tour is led by a guide who knows the area well: meaning they're the best person to get you safely through Haleakala National Park. Plus, hotel pickup and drop-off are included for added convenience.
from
HK$2,001.28
per adult
from
HK$2,001.28
per adult

Lowest price guarantee

Ages 12-99, max of 10 per group
Duration: 8h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
English

Highlights
  • Watch the sunrise at Haleakala before taking off on a bike tour 
  • Enjoy coffee, water, juice, and snacks before the bike ride 
  • No need to bring your own stuff—all equipment and rentals are included

  • Bottled water
  • Snacks
  • Local guide
  • Use of helmet and chrome cruiser bike
  • Entry/Admission - Haleakala Crater
What's not included
  • Gratuities
  • Lunch

Your bike tour starts with an early morning in Maui. Before you board the vehicle, enjoy some morning snacks, juice, and coffee while you listen to your upcoming itinerary. Once you hop in the vehicle, relax on the ride over to Haleakala National Park. Learn about the history of the volcano from your guide as you ride to the top. At Haleakala, your guide takes you to the rim of the crater to catch sight of the stunning sunrise. Afterward, your bike tour starts at 6,500 feet (1,981 meters) below the crater. Get comfortable with a bike and helmet, and follow your guide down to the sands of Paia Bay. Pass through the towns Kula and Makawao on your way down. Your tour ends with a ride back to your hotel in Maui.

Departure details
  • 497 Baldwin Ave, Paia, HI 96779, USA Departure Point: Guests will need to arrange their own transportation to meet at our Office at Mountain Riders 497 Baldwin Ave, Paia, HI 96779, USA Return point: Returns to original departure point (times will vary depending on the season).
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Not wheelchair accessible
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 9133P1

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • Weight restrictions apply; maximum weight is 280 lbs
  • Minimum height required is 5 feet
  • Age restriction; riders must be over the age of 15 years.
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travellers

  • All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties.

A note from Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1
  • Hand sanitizer will be provided. Masks must be worn in accordance with State and County mandates. Masks are required when 6 feet physical distancing isn’t possible. Protocol - vehicles, bicycles and helmets will be sanitized before and after tours.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Which attractions will I visit with Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1?
How much is Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1?
Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1 price starts from HK$1,949.14. Discover and book Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1 on Tripadvisor
What is the Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1 cancellation policy?
Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1 cancellation policy: All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties. Discover and book Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1 on Tripadvisor
Which company provides Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1?
Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1 is hosted by Mountain Riders. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Mountain Riders on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1 on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 9133P1

Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    497 Baldwin Ave
    497 Baldwin Ave, Paia, HI 96779, USA
    Departure Point: Guests will need to arrange their own transportation to meet at our Office at Mountain Riders 497 Baldwin Ave, Paia, HI 96779, USA Return point: Returns to original departure point (times will vary depending on the season).
    See address & details
  • 1
    Haleakala Crater
    Stop: 30 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    Mountain Riders
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    Haleakala National Park
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • 4
    Historic Makawao Town
    Stop: 20 minutes
    See details
    Pass by
    Kula
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

iluv2trlv
iluv2trlv
00
Tip request was unfortunate
We never watched got to watch ‘the Maui bike industry’s only safety video’ and we never had to provide proof of ins
paulkosling
paulkosling
00
Gorgeous early morning vista's of Maui from a very unique perspective!
Our guides, Bobby and Monnie (?sp) were knowledgeable and informative! We learned some great intel about the Halea
Z6022XAzachb
Z6022XAzachb
00
Amazing experience recommended to everyone
Joe was a blast to talk with and hear information from during our trip, dean the driver was also a delight. We had
668kentong
668kentong
00
This is a must "do" in Maui. We do it every time we come.
Dress warm! It's cool and breezy at the top of the mountain! We love this trip. No peddling just a beautiful downhi
richardcJ2908NK
richardcJ2908NK
00
Excellent Bike Tour
They went the extra mile for us. The provided women's bicycles for our ladies without us having to make a special r
Holly L
Holly L
00
Great experience for a thrilling, but safe, bike excursion down Haleakalā!
This was an awesome experience! With Manny as our guide and Shane as our driver, we were guided up Haleakalā with l
176anishap
176anishap
00
AWESOME, DEF. RECOMMEND
This adventure was recommended by a friend, and I could not be more pleased! It was a Great Experience!!! and the v
yeahmon510
yeahmon510
00
Amazing time!
Amazing trip - we’ll organized and safety was a priority! Did this trip with our teen daughters and everyone had a
L8170QJpaulc
L8170QJpaulc
00
Guided vs. Self Guided
If you don’t want TA wake up super early and only want to bike, this is an excellent tour. The difference between
maxwellm469
maxwellm469
00
Awful - book elsewhere
They will hang up on you. They will refuse to rebook you at an inconvenient time for them. They will not call you.
LelandT_12
LelandT_12
00
Great trip
Tour guide was great. Could have been slightly shorter, but overall an amazing experience. Would recommend
lx2labrie
lx2labrie
00
Amazing biking experience!
We totally enjoyed this tour and would highly recommend it. Bobby and Nauni were great guides. They were educatio
toddgT7987SQ
toddgT7987SQ
00
Fast and efficient
We did not have a guide because we had done the ride before. It was perfect for our family. It was great to ride fa
Svirag1
Svirag1
00
Amazing!
Had a super great day with Bobby and Bobby Jr.! Lots of information and loads of fun. Easy ride! Thanks
pamf338
pamf338
00
Epic Bike Ride
Joe was fantastic! The entire experience was AWESOME! Will definitely do it again. How many times do you get to
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
109 reviews
Excellent
74
Very good
10
Average
7
Poor
4
Terrible
14

Susie K
Olathe, KS5 contributions
Jun 2022
This is a really beautiful tour! it can not be understated how cold the top of the summit is at sunrise. We were there with 65 mph winds, it was so cold but very beautiful. The Van driver parked perfectly that when we got too cold we could sit in the van and still watch the sunset. I would have never thought Maui could get that cold. We did bring many layers but should have also packed a hat and gloves.
I would suggest labeling the parking site as "Park here for Mountain Riders"- just makes it easier when it is so dark and one is not familiar with the area.
The bike guides were great and were very reassuring. They did get ahead but would stop and let everyone catch up. It was a very knowledgeable tour and very friendly staff.
Written 15 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
troytanga
It definitely gets cold at the top but it's definitely worth it glad you had fun see you in the future
Written 30 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jannibrooke
New York4 contributions
Nov 2021 • Couples
It’s all about Nani and Bobby. You will think at first you made a mistake, it seems thrown together and it is cold! Bring more than a sweatshirt, wear
pants and socks and have layers. You meet early and in the dark (they stop along the way and you can get breakfast, and they give you granola bars and water early but if they doesn’t work, bring coffee and a snack), but once you get to the top and see the colors and Bobby gives you so much Maui info
and he rides on a way you can’t imagine actually possible (really cool). But then you cruise in the morning sun all the way down with fun photos and cool stops and all of a sudden you are like, THIS IS AWESOME! Don’t miss the bakery in Makawao either.

We loved it!
Written 5 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

mhornbecker
Lebanon, IN5 contributions
We did the sunrise bike tour down Haleakala. Our bus driver, Billy, was wonderful. He explained a great deal about Haleakala and its cultural significance. He also prepared us well for the sunrise, positioned us well to see it, and even gave us advice on places to eat and things to do. The bike ride was led by Manny with Shane in the van. It was very well organized. As a parent of teenagers, I felt they did an excellent job leading us safely yet keeping everyone entertained. Manny took our pictures, he recommended a quaint spot for a quick bite for breakfast on one of our breaks. The entire experience was awesome. Of note, we live in EST, so we opted to do this tour the day after we arrived in Maui so it didn’t seem so miserable getting up at 2 am to be able to meet the bus at 315 am. Still on east coast time, this was not a problem!
Written 24 October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

alma
Chicago, IL11 contributions
Mar 2021
To start Nani greeted us at 3a with a negative attitude when asking what the options are for a reschedule or refund if the weather is unfit for biking down since it was down pouring when we arrived. When we asked about it she said that is not an option. Telling us we would only receive $100 back if we wanted to not go up now or only if they decide it is unfit - continuing with an attitude to tell us how she could have filled our two spots. The negativity when arriving at 3am and paying for something that is suppose to be a magical experience is not what we expected. They let us know only 4 tour groups can go up to the National Park. Do yourself a favor and look for any of those other 3 groups!

We decided since it would be the same amount refunded either way we may as well try to go up to the top. It was complete fog and rained the whole way up and no sunset view was seen which is okay because they can not control the weather.

When we got to the biking portion the bikes condition is not good with no splash guards, breaks squeaking the whole time. We started our way down which was okay in the start and after a few miles the rain started again getting extreme. All of us where soaking in water, shoes were filled with water, and no one wanted to continue - honestly it was not safe to continue one women could not see anything in front of her. On our way back, we went in a smaller van, which it was NOT covid friendly at all. Half the guests did not have masks and in no way where you even 6ft apart. We had someone from another party next to us with no mask. It was about 13 people inside a small van with half the people wearing no mask.

All in all this was a waste of our money and we are shocked that no partial refund or not even a credit for a future visit was offered for a shortened experience. I would NOT recommend this at all if the weather is spotty and honestly would just say look for another company all together that gives more flexibility. The best part of the day was knowing that the experience was over 2 hours early and we could get back to feeling safe distance from people.
Written 17 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
troytanga
So sorry for your experience. As you mentioned we do not control the weather. It does rain frequently this is Hawaii. We have put in covid safety rules and have cameras across the property. Seems the people on your tour were wearing masks. All the tours have the same cancelation policy. Once again sorry for the bad weather
Written 28 March 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Angelica W
Los Angeles, CA2 contributions
Mar 2021 • Couples
Extremely disappointed with this company.

First, I got received texts about 2 weeks before our booked trip telling us we might have our tour cancelled because it wasn’t the one at sunrise. They offered to add us to the sunrise tour (to go we’d have to get up at 3am while on vacation), but we opted to wait it out and see if more people booked the later tour. I was told I’d be given 48 hours notice when/ if the tour time we wanted would be cancelled. But, the same day I was contacted via text, I got a confirmation email from the company confirming our tour during the later time frame (my understanding is that if the later time frame was to be cancelled, we wouldn’t get a confirmation email).

The day before our booked tour (less than 24 hours), I received another text that just said “Your tour tomorrow is cancelled...” Totally unprofessional. I mentioned the confirmation email I got after the texts 2 weeks before and there was no response. I asked for an email confirming a full refund and a screen shot of the refund in process. They said they’d start the refund process.

It has almost been a month since this happened. I got a confirmation email that the refund was processing (seeing that I got a confirmation email that our tour was confirmed, I don’t trust this company’s confirmation emails), but no refund has posted whatsoever. I’ve tried to call multiple times and it goes straight to voicemail. I’ve left voicemails and get no calls back. I’ve emailed and gotten no response.

I’ll be filing a claim with my credit card company today to get my money back. I gave them the benefit of the doubt when it comes to communication, but Its been weeks and enough is enough.

This company is completely unprofessional. Don’t waste your time.
Written 22 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
troytanga
Wow we are so sorry for your negative experience. Of course communication has been incredibly difficult since Covid. I did check our phone log and it seems we did respond to both your call and your email request as well as provided a monetary refund?
Written 4 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Samannaaz K
Pittsburgh, PA12 contributions
Jan 2020
I want to start off by saying that I think the staff, the drivers and our tour guides were amazing people! They were welcoming, made us feel comfortable and safe throughout the trip. They provided pick up close to your hotel (depending on location) During the tour, our guides shared with us a lot of interesting stories about Maui, its history, geography etc. They even provided us with weatherproof jackets and blankets while we camped out on the mountain waiting for the sunrise. Mt. Haleakala sunrise comes highly recommended and it is definitely a majestic view of the sunrise (especially when you are seeing it above the clouds at 10,000 feet above sea level).
However, if sunrise is really not your thing and riding downhill is not what gets you excited, please skip this tour, and instead drive up to Mt. Haleakala in your private vehicle to view the sunset. It will save you a lot of time and $$$.
However, if this is something you are looking forward to, I highly, highly, recommend that you dress warmly AND take some HOT HANDS (gel hand warmers) with you, because even five layers of clothing was not enough to keep us from freezing. It was 14 degrees F up on the mountain with winds as strong as 40-50 mph.
The low rating of this trip reflects my personal experience with this activity. I did not enjoy the tour as much the other avid bikers in the group, and some of it had to do with being out on the cold mountain for two hours, the rain towards the end of our bike ride and because the whole activity took up nearly 10 hours of the day. The hairpin turns down the mountain were intimidating and I could not keep pace with the group. Mind you, the ride itself is not physically demanding, but it challenged your biking skills and confidence going round those bends.
Written 11 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Kristin S
9 contributions
Sep 2021 • Couples
Very poor attention to COVID measures. None of the staff wore masks in the office or more importantly in the 40 minute bus ride up the mountain. The van held 12 people, no windows open, staff didn’t wear masks and didn’t ask or enforce guests to wear them. Very awkward ride up for anyone being conscientious.
Written 18 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
troytanga
Our number one concern at Mountain Riders is the health and safety of our staff and guests. We follow all State and County Mandates and Regulations regarding COVID and have from the beginning. All travelers coming into Maui are mandated to show proof of vaccination and/or have a recent negative COVID test. The bus for Sunrise is a 25 passenger vehicle which currently is running at half capacity with 12 passengers as per the mandates and regulations. We are conscientious of all of our guests, the tours for the most part are conducted outdoors on a bike.
Written 20 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kelly K
1 contribution
My husband and I had an amazing experience. We both had been to the crater before but the sunrise trip was a very different experience. We had a beautiful clear day and it was breath taking. Yes, cold so dress in layers. The bike down was exhilarating and a once in a lifetime experience. I have done multiple century rides but had an accident on a downhill years ago so I was apprehensive about doing this ride. I did this downhill ride because of the fantastic group leader Kaulana and Joe driving the van. I can’t say enough about how they gave me confidence to not only do this but love it! They are skilled riders that can read the groups ability and adjust so that everyone has a great time. I definitely recommend this and especially this guide group.
Written 6 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Kirsten R
2 contributions
Oct 2021 • Couples
This was one of our favorite things we have ever done. The sunrise was unreal and the bike ride was amazing. As everyone before said, dress in layers, if you think you will be warm enough, bring more layers (maybe even those hand heat packs that you can break open). The company doesn’t pick up at hotels during our trip so make sure you have your transportation sorted out. It’s an early morning but wow it’s worth it. Billy the bus driver gave us great information on the history of Hawaii and Haleakala and ensured we had the absolute best spot on the mountain for the sunrise. Bobby and Nani gave us an incredible bike ride down the mountain, keeping a great pace and ensured we were safe the entire way. Absolutely recommend this tour.
Written 12 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Shannon B
2 contributions
Aug 2021 • Couples
Awesome experience. The staff was incredibly knowledgeable and fun, made for a great day so early in the day from 3-10 am! Billy was a great driver and got us to the top with tons of safety information and park facts. Manny was a great bike leader and gave us tons of safety and park info as well and was super fun as we navigated down. He helped people who were scared bike the entire ride.
Written 30 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 109
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.

2023 Maui Haleakala Sunrise Downhill Bike Tour with Mountain Riders Rated #1