We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
    South PacificNew ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionQueenstownQueenstown AttractionsTours and Tickets

Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown - with unbiased reviews

Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown

Save
Share
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$93.14
Date
2 travellers
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Low Price GuaranteeNo Booking Fees
Overview
Churning rapids and towering cliffs make the Shotover River a thrilling experience by jet boat, and this high-speed tour gets you spinning, fishtailing, and skimming across the surface. Frequent departures from Queenstown means you can easily tailor a time to fit your schedule, while the included round-trip transport means you don’t need a car and ensures maximum adventure time on the Shotover River.
Highlights
  • Shotover River jet boat tour offers frequent departures from Queenstown
  • Maneuverable jet boat can perform 360-degree spins and turns
  • Experience Queenstown's legendary adrenaline sports just outside of town
  • Round-trip transport from a walkable departure point
What to Expect
Your jet boat excursion starts at a central location in Queenstown. Meet a shuttle bus for the trip to the Shotover River. Departures are available throughout the morning and afternoon, and may be selected when booking. It’s a quick trip from downtown Queenstown to the departure point on the Shotover River. Upon arrival, suit up for the jet boat with personal flotation devices and wet gear to keep out the splashing white water. Hold on tight as the jet boat driver maneuvers through the Shotover River’s narrow canyon walls, squeezing past tight corners and rocky outcroppings. At the end of the trip, get the opportunity to purchase souvenir photos if desired, or simply hop on the shuttle back to Queenstown, where you'll be walking distance from many of the city’s top attractions, restaurants, and hotels.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
Arthurs Point Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Duration
25m
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Jet boat ride
  • Complimentary shuttle bus
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Minimum age is 5 years and child must be at least 3 feet (1 meter) in height; dependent on water conditions, the operator reserves the right to increase the minimum height to 4 feet (1.2 meters)
  • Lifejackets and full-length spray jackets are provided
  • Please allow 1.5 hours for return trip from Queenstown if taking shuttle bus
  • There is a cafe on-site
  • Locker facilities available for personal belongings
  • Check-in is 45-min prior to jet boat ride departure
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • Most travellers can participate
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
1,268Review
9Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 1,015
  • 144
  • 29
  • 13
  • 9
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
More
Popular mentions
Gareth P wrote a review 11 Dec
107 contributions40 helpful votes
What a brilliant experience. Right from the staff in the visitor centre to Ryan (our boat driver) everyone was so keen and helpful. The boat ride is thrilling, the power and speed is immense. Such a great experience. Would also add they’re extremely safety-conscious, in fact the
Read more
Prakash wrote a review 8 Dec
667 contributions149 helpful votes
This has to be one of the most disappointing reviews I have had to write - I've done over 600 reviews on TA, and it's a little upsetting having to vent about Shotover Jet on here. Before I begin, I emailed the company weeks ago to give them my feedback and, as yet, no reply.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Response from ZoeWood21, Marketing Manager at Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown
Responded 5 days ago
Kia ora Prakesh, We were alarmed to receive your feedback. We have followed up with our Customer Service Manager and a reply to your email was sent on 20 November as we did and still do take this very seriously. The only thing I can think of is that perhaps it has gone into your junk mail- could you please check? We do appreciate you for raising it again here as it gives us another opportunity to connect with you. It is concerning to receive this type of feedback and we’re gutted you didn’t have a great experience with us. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service and care to all of our customers, therefore it is disappointing to read that your interactions with one of our kaimahi (team) was not satisfactory. We have spoken to our team on duty that day and they are also really disappointed by your feedback as our business spends a lot of time focused on being inclusive of others and delivering an excellent customer experience. If you could let me know your trip time or booking name, so that I can investigate further, that would be greatly appreciated. You can email us on reservations@shotoverjet.co.nz. I would like to thank you again for your honest feedback and also for noting that the rest of the team were brilliant. Please do not hesitate to contact me again should you have any further comments of queries. Ngā Mihi (many thanks), Zoe
Read more
Penny R wrote a review 7 Dec
14 contributions5 helpful votes
A “must do” when visiting Queenstown. Absolute thrill zooming down the Shotover river at speeds of up to 90kph! Phil, our driver was funny and very entertaining, highly experienced and we had every confidence in him as we came within centremetres of rocks before he’d veer with
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Response from SOJ_CustomerService, Retail & Photography Dept. at Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown
Responded 6 days ago
Kia ora Penny, Wow, that's awesome feedback & we are flattered with your review!. Our drivers really are incredible with the skills and great personalities they bring to the experience. We are so happy that you had an awesome experience on the Shotover Jet. Nga mihi / Kind regards, Faith
Read more
philchris72 wrote a review 3 Dec
8 contributions
The Shotover Jet Boat experience is exceptional . The staff especially Pieter were professional supplying a memorable experience.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Response from ZoeWood21, Marketing Intern at Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown
Responded 1 week ago
Kia ora philchris72! Thank you very much for your 5 star review! We're thrilled that you had a great time. We will make sure to let Pieter and the staff know of these comments. We hope to see you again soon! Ngā mihi, Oscar
Read more
Jackie B wrote a review 1 Dec
22 contributions4 helpful votes
We could see the Shotover jet boats going up and down the river from our accommodation. After 4 days we finally decided to give it a go and thank goodness we did. It was awesome! Do yourselves a favour and book directly through the Shotover website not through an agent. It's
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Response from SOJ_CustomerService, Photo & Retail Dept. at Shotover River Extreme Jet Boat Ride from Queenstown
Responded 1 week ago
Kia Ora Jackie, Thank you for your 5-star review and awesome recommendation! So glad to hear how much fun you had with us here at Shotover Jet. The $19 instant replay is so awesome to do if you want to go again and enjoy the thrills one more time through our stunning canyons! We hope to see you again in the near future! Enjoy the rest of your travels. Nga Mihi (kind regards), Molly.
Read more
Key Details
  • Shotover Jet
  • Duration: 25m
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Hotel Pickup
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071