We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Milford Sound
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise Including optional Lunch

Save
Share
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$35.94
Date
2 travellers
Options
Overview
Itinerary
+
You'll start at
94 Milford Sound Highway
94 Milford Sound Highway, Milford Sound 9679, New ZealandDeparture Point: Milford Wharf Visitor Centre Address: Milford Wharf Visitor Centre, situated at Freshwater Basin in Milford Sound Dates: Daily Return point: Returns to original departure point
See address & details
  • 1
    Fiordland National Park
    Stop: 2 hours -
    See details
  • 2
    Milford Sound
    Stop: 2 hours -
    See details
    Pass by Mitre Peak
    Pass by Bowen Falls
    Pass by Stirling Falls
    Pass by Sinbad Gully
  • 3
    Southern Discoveries - Milford Sound Visitor Centre
    Stop: 10 minutes - Admission included
    See details
You'll return to the starting point
Highlights
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    94 Milford Sound Highway, Milford Sound 9679, New Zealand
    Duration
    2h
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    Inclusions
    • Sightseeing cruise on Milford Sound
    • Lunch (if option selected)
    • Full commentary
    • Tea and coffee are provided complimentary to all passengers
    • Entry/Admission - Southern Discoveries - Milford Sound Visitor Centre
    Exclusions
    • Hotel pickup and drop-off
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • All passengers please advise country of origin at the time of booking
    • Car Park: On arrival at Milford Sound you can park at the Milford Sound carpark. Please allow 10 minutes to walk from the carpark to the Milford Wharf Visitor Centre. Alternatively a complimentary shuttle service is provided from Discover Milford Sound.
    • Wheelchair accessible onto boat but no disabled toilets onboard. Vessel has large viewing windows, ideal for wheelchairs.
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Infant seats available
    • Car parking in Milford Sound incurs a $10 hourly fee payable only by credit card. There are a limited number of free car parks and a complimentary shuttle service available in the Park & Ride area. We recommend arriving into Milford Sound at least 1-1-5 hours prior to your scheduled cruise departure.
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 100 travelers
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    120Reviews4Q&A
    Traveller rating
    • 12
    • 4
    • 1
    • 3
    • 1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    Selected filters
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    Booked this company as their boats are smaller than some on offer and therefore it can get up close to the waterfalls and wildlife. Amazing scenery which was narrated by the skipper. Boat clean and plenty of places to stand and sit, inside and out. Plenty of hot tea and coffee
    Read more
    My review is a reflection of the company, not the geography. Milford sound is amazing and you should absolutely see it. The company (southern discoveries) on the other hand, we had trouble with. The boat we were supposed to take was broken. They got us on another boat, but we
    Read more
    Response from Southern D, General Manager at Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise Including optional Lunch
    Responded 2 weeks ago
    Hi Jake We are incredibly sorry and would like to discuss this with you so that we can follow up with the driver, as you are in Queenstown, it would be great if we could organise to discuss this in person. Could you contact us at kerry.myers@southerndiscoveries.co.nz so we can discuss further. Kind regards,
    Read more
    The drive to get there was amazing. We had the chance to see big waterfalls due to the earlier rain. Great landscape. - the car park (10$/h) x(
    Read more
    Went yesterday to Milford and was unfortunate to be a one of their bigger boats at 11.30 which was there basically for the Chinese ... There was a buffet just for them ( entirely fine) and when they had finished eating they came onto the upper deck ,,,,,it was a selfie stick
    Read more
    Don't get me wrong. Milford is absolutely stunning. But Southern Discoveries is not. We weren't able to visit the underwater observatory due to weather condition, which is understandable. However, what surprised us is that Southern Discoveries way of processing refunds. We
    Read more
    Response from Southern D, Reservations Manager at Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise Including optional Lunch
    Responded 14 Jan 2020
    Hi pychang001 Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're sorry to hear you weren't able to visit the underwater observatory but I'm sure you can appreciate when the weather is not in our favour the safety of our guests is what is most important. I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience when getting a refund, if you could contact us directly at reservations@southerndiscoveries we will be able to rectify this issue. Kind regards,
    Read more
    Previous
    About the operator
    By: Southern Discoveries - Milford Sound Cruises
    SWallace Family
    10
    Epic Adventure
    Epic is the best word our family can use to describe our experience and the breathtaking landscape of Milford
    Read more
    DurhamEvvo
    Crook, United Kingdom
    267165
    Fantastic experience.
    Was one of the many highlights of our recent NZ tour. Drove from Te Anau which in itself a great trip. We went 2
    Read more
    YvySurrey_UK
    Banstead, United Kingdom
    21555
    Small cruise boat!
    Booked this company as their boats are smaller than some on offer and therefore it can get up close to the
    Read more
    wsarah2018
    Jerusalem, Israel
    9512
    All of Milford Sound is Remarkable!!!!
    Milford Sound is simply remarkable. It was a highlight of our trip to New Zealand. The Milford Sound Nature
    Read more
    luce l
    United Kingdom
    16554
    Incredible
    Great staff. The observatory was really interesting and worth a visit. The cruise took us right under a waterfall
    Read more
    Margo
    61
    Milford Sound...wow!
    We had a bus tour to Milford Sound and back...about 11 hours all told between the bus tour and the boat tour. Our
    Read more
    Meander&Co
    708
    Encounter Nature cruise
    We drove down ourselves and were very lucky with the weather and road conditions, a smooth drive down very winding
    Read more
    Megan B
    Centennial, Colorado
    51
    Road closure
    Southern discoveries was very good, rebooked out Milford sound trip because of unexpected rain and road closure.
    Read more
    Ian J
    Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
    2511
    A total shambles
    Booked on the "Encounter Nature" cruise from Te Anau.(small boat, limited passenger numbers, no tour groups & a
    Read more
    Vicki G
    Iluka, Australia
    113
    Great cruise
    We were lucky enough to go on a rainy day and waterfalls were pouring out of the mountains everywhere. We went on
    Read more
    Key Details
    • Duration: 2h
    • Mobile Ticket Accepted
    • Instant confirmation
    • Languages Offered: English
    Why Book on Tripadvisor?
    • Reserve Now & Pay Later
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall:+852 30184991
    Travellers Also Viewed
    Milford Sound Nature Cruise
    83 Reviews
    from US$49.00*
    Likely To Sell Out
    Milford Sound Scenic Cruise
    70 Reviews
    from US$37.24*
    Likely To Sell Out
    Cruise Milford NZ Small Boutique...
    868 Reviews
    from US$64.69*
    Milford Sound Scenic Cruise
    500 Reviews
    from US$62.07*
    Likely To Sell Out
    Cruise Milford NZ Small Boutique...
    868 Reviews
    from US$64.69*
    Likely To Sell Out
    Milford Sound Scenic Cruise
    70 Reviews
    from US$37.24*
    Milford Sound Cruise Including...
    23 Reviews
    from US$55.54*
    Milford Sound Nature Cruise
    83 Reviews
    from US$49.00*