We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Northern Lights Small-Group Tour from Reykjavik

  • See the northern lights without the distraction of bright city lights 
  • A guide helps you find the perfect viewing spot during this northern lights tour
  • Enjoy hassle-free pickup and drop-off from Reykjavik 
Northern Lights Small-Group Tour from Reykjavik
From US$90.80
Check Availability
  • Overview
  • What to Expect
  • Important Information
  • Reviews
  • Q&A
Select Date and Travellers
20:00 / 08:00 PM DepartureMost Popular
Tour Departs at 20:00 / 08:00 pm
From US$90.80
21:00 / 09:00 PM Departure
Tour Departs at 21:00 / 09:00 pm
From US$90.80
Catching sight of the northern lights while in a populous area can be more difficult due to the bright city lights. Head out into the Icelandic countryside's darkness during this guided tour with round-trip transport from Reykjavik. Your guide finds the best spot for viewing the aurora borealis, giving you a better chance to view the light show than if setting out alone.
What to Expect
Your evening begins with pickup at your Reykjavik hotel by small car or minibus. From there you’ll head out deep into the darkened countryside where your tour guide will scout the sky for the first signs of the aurora borealis.

When your guide finds the best place for viewing the northern lights, you'll have plenty of opportunity to get out of the car to view and snap some photos of the dancing lights. Make sure to dress warmly and bring along a few extra layers since you will be standing outside to view the lights.

Although your guide takes you to a location with the best chance of viewing the northern lights, seeing them is not guaranteed. If you don’t get to see the lights on your tour, don’t worry; you’re welcome to join another night’s tour free of charge.

Your northern lights tour ends with a drop-off back in Reykjavik.
Reviews (78)
1 - 5 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago
Expert guide

I was prepared for the unpredictable and possible disappointment of the lack of northern lights. The Guide was very good at talking through all the different camera and phone options on how to photograph the lights. The lights were barely visible to the naked eye...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Sofia G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Excellent tour

Picked up from our hotel - be prepared that the picks ups start from 7.30pm and doesn't mean you will be picked up at exactly 7.30pm. the mini bus was comfortable and has WiFi. Magnus our guide was informative and friendly. He gave us tips...More

1  Thank Claire H
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Northern Lights Spotting is Unpredictable but Rewarding

We chose this tour our first night in Reykjavik just in case our tour was not successful. We were fortunate on a cold and clear night to see the northern lights, but they were easier to see with the camera on the northern horizon. The...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank waynedR3547TP
Makremson, General Manager at Go To Joy Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Wayne Thank you for taken time to tell about you experience withour service, we really appreciate your understanding and the weather in Iceland, this review support us to do better. Wish you all the Best. BestRegards, Go to joy Iceland Team.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Awful customer service. Avoid!

I strongly advise against using this company because their customer service is extremely bad. After making several attempts to contact them via WhatsApp and e-mail, they eventually offered me a booking for a Northern Lights tour. I confirmed to them that I would like to...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Economister
Makremson, General Manager at Go To Joy Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Economister, all our clients book a tour on our website or TripAdvisor/Viator or any other booking system if there is availability, it is same as everyone else. We do not reserve any to no one. We never promise any seats to any of our...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Was cancelled twice

Cancelled 2 nights in a row. I understand it's the weather and not their fault but it's very disappointing. Might as well not take any bookings for this month since the weather is terrible instead of getting people's hopes up until the last minute.. twice!.....More

2  Thank amenoera
Makremson, Director of Sales at Go To Joy Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear amenoera, Thank you for booking with us. Unfortunately we must have a clear sky or partly clear sky and some activity to be able to see the lights. Therefore cancellation may apply, for our northern lights tours, when the weather is not in our...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
5 November 2018|
Response from Go_to_joy_Team | Property representative |
Hi, unfortunately the Northern Lights is available only fron September until end Mars middle April.
4 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from MarkE3330 | Reviewed this property |
Hi We stayed at The Center Hotel which was directly next to bus stop 13 where we were picked up. I guess some hotels would have a short walk but we also picked up at the Hilton and another large chain hotel (cant remember... More